Lance Armstrong's War (Paperback)

Average Rating:(3.8)out of 5 stars
Walmart # 558645431
$14.85$14.85

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.
"A velvety mix of vivid, sophisticated prose, Raymond Carver's unerring eye for nuance, and John Irving's irreverent, unflinching humor....An intimate look inside the maelstrom of professional cycling."
-- Boston Globe

Daniel Coyne's New York Times bestseller Lance Armstrong's War takes a fascinating, in-depth look at a staggeringly talented yet flawed sports hero as he faced his greatest test: a record sixth straight Tour de France victory. Now with a new epilogue covering Armstrong's quest to win an 8th Tour de France, this "intimate, insightful, unflinching look at the greatest athlete of our time" (Jon Krakauer) explores the remarkable drive and accomplishments of a controversial champion--a must read for fans of John Feinstein and David Halberstam, as well as readers of Lance Armstrong's own It's Not About the Bike and Every Second Counts.

Specifications

Series Title
Tales of the City
Publisher
HarperCollins
Book Format
Paperback
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
375
Author
Daniel Coyle
ISBN-13
9780061783715
Publication Date
April, 2010
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
9.00 x 6.00 x 1.50 Inches
ISBN-10
0061783714

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:(3.8)out of 5 stars
5 stars
0
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Frequent mentions

1-5 of 6 reviews
Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

Ive enjoyed Armstrong...

I've enjoyed Armstrong's two autobiographies, but this biography by Coyle really enhanced my understanding of Lance and the Tour de France. He looks not only at Lance, but also at other key personalities that impact Lance and his time on the tour, like Jan Ullrich, Tyler Hamilton, and (particularly interesting now during the 2006 tour) Floyd Landis.

Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

The author, Daniel Coy...

The author, Daniel Coyle, moved in with Armstrong during the year preceding his 6th win at the Tour de France. I'm a huge LA fan, active in the cancer advocacy movement, so don't try to badmouth LA in front of me without expecting me to argue a bit. But Coyle accomplishes true balanced reporting here. The book is riviting, the pages turn effortlessly, as he introduces us to Lance's obsessive training regimen and the day-to-day life of readying his body for the grueling ride. What I loved most here is that Armstrong comes off as real, not all good, not all bad. He's no god, he's flawed like the rest of us. But Coyle truly captures the complexity of the man, as well as the sport.

Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

Dont you just love bi...

Don't you just love biographies? This book not only display LA as a person with all his strengths and flaws, but it also opened up my eyes to sport of cycling. The page kept turning, I just couldn't put the book down.

Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

Dont you just love bi...

Don't you just love biographies? This book not only display LA as a person with all his strengths and flaws, but it also opened up my eyes to sport of cycling. The page kept turning, I just couldn't put the book down.

Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

Really liked this book...

Really liked this book...it was honest. And since Le Tour is going on right now it seemed an appropriate book to read!


Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.

webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-283873765, DC-prod-dfw6, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-35.6.0, SHA-f95edb26c6303b9104d139d7924e2c5c68cf6d7d, CID-68fc9d6f-cc8-173365a83d01e7, Generated: Fri, 10 Jul 2020 01:32:48 GMT