Generated at Tue, 22 Oct 2019 02:28:00 GMT exp-ck: 1-oU611rVaj12SxOL12gfpk1Acxdr1DdoE01GNE8U1Ga74A1HFKNj1PfiSA1PpW_j1SJi9U1Uygpn2Veu_B1VomOs1WvJhK1ZbZEW1h42T_1kAmPw2kbPic1r3M9y1sbfBc2u1ISE1yDaby1; xpa: 1-oU6|1rVaj|2SxOL|2gfpk|Acxdr|AeD0g|DdoE0|GNE8U|Ga74A|HFKNj|PfiSA|PpW_j|SJi9U|Uygpn|Veu_B|VomOs|WvJhK|ZbZEW|h42T_|kAmPw|kbPic|r3M9y|sbfBc|u1ISE|yDaby;
Electrode, Comp-701332491, DC-prod-dfw03, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-19.1.28, SHA-f0c74a35c2e08b07720c4b50a72461c9af18ea9d, CID-106c9086-cbb-16df14ae472f54, Generated: Tue, 22 Oct 2019 02:28:00 GMT

King Jack and the Dragon

Walmart # 558757718
$8.89$8.89
-
$14.39$14.39
List Was $17.99

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.
Jack, Zak, and Caspar build a castle fort, then spend a day fighting dragons and beasts, but at day's end giants carry away first Sir Zak, then Caspar, and King Jack is left to face night creatures alone. A lively playtime adventure that becomes a warm and cozy bedtime bookperfect for every little knight-in-training. From the illustrator of the award-winning We’re Going on a Bear Hunt.
 
Night is falling and playtime is nearly over. But brave King Jack and his faithful knights Zak and Caspar are still protecting their castle fort from fierce dragons and terrible beasts. This captivating, joyful make-believe adventure is the perfect bedtime story for brave children everywhere. Fans of  Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Dinosaur Roar will especially enjoy this imaginative tale.

An ALA Notable Book
Bank Street Book Committee Best Children’s Books of the Year
Kate Greenaway Award

“It’s an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent’s embrace.”— Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again.”— School Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Sure to be read aloud again and again, this testament to imaginative play exudes warmth.”— Kirkus Reviews

Specifications

Publisher
Penguin Young Readers Group
Book Format
Hardcover
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
32
Author
Peter Bently
ISBN-13
9780803736986
Publication Date
August, 2011
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
11.50 x 9.44 x 0.37 Inches
ISBN-10
0803736983

Customer Reviews

5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1-4 of 4 reviews

Jack makes a castle fo...

Jack makes a castle for himself and his friends and they spend the day fighting dragons and other beasts. Then night comes and, slowly, one by one, the friends go home to bed. Jack tries to be brave and stay the night, but soon his parents come and carry him off to bed. Beautiful illustrations and rhyming text make for a lovely story. "Jack, Zack, and Caspar were making a den--- a mighty great fort for King Jack and his men.... 'Prepare to do battle, brave knights!' cried King Jack. 'Protect your king's castle from dragon attack!'"

Wonderful portrait of ...

Wonderful portrait of childhood imagination and play.

 The book King jack a...

 The book "King jack and the dragon" is a story that revolves around three little boys who like to play pretend as knights fighting dragons. The story is told from the perspective of a little child and it has its own unique literary style to it. For example, they call the parents "giants" when they come and take away the children for bed. Also when King Jacks parents come to get him he didn't understand that it was his parents further showing the child like perspective of the book. It uses a poetic style to tell the story like rhyming sticks with bricks, and Jack with attack. This story has three children of different ages and of different races, and is a great book to foster creativity.

I really liked the art...

I really liked the art in this book. Plus, i'm a sucker for rhyming book. It's a story about three boys making believe. Very sweet.

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.
webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-447756048, DC-prod-dfw6, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-30.0.0, SHA-4c05261de7b7524702d8d137579365498522abc0, CID-1c484ba4-960-16df14ae4319f5, Generated: Tue, 22 Oct 2019 02:28:00 GMT