Steve Friedman

In Search of Courage: An Introvert's Story - eBook

Average Rating:out of 5 stars
$1.99$1.99
Digital delivery to your
or Kobo eReader
<p>&quot;After a brutal evening trying to network amongst a conference hall of strangers, I wrote an email to my wife Jennifer: <strong>&quot;It zapped my energy just trying to maintain such a fa&ccedil;ade.</strong> I describe myself lately as puny, timid, socially regressive - basically fragile. I've never prided myself as a social butterfly. But lately, I feel more like a social wallflower, unable to hold even basic conversations let alone strike up a discussion of any depth.</p> <p>Realizing the depressed tone of my letter and not wanting to scare Jennifer from halfway around the world, I tried to reassure her: &quot;However, <strong>I must emphasize, I'm okay. I'm not going off the deep end.&quot; But in reality, I felt like I was.</strong> In the pit of my stomach, I was scared. I felt like I was losing my use of basic logic and communication skills. I was overcome by fear every day: of people, of losing, of speaking, of being quiet, of not providing, of not being enough, of not being courageous.&quot;</p> <p>Are you shy, reserved, introverted? Are you frustrated by forced socializing? Do you feel you have to pretend to be someone else?</p> <p><strong>In the award-winning memoir, In Search of Courage: An Introvert's Story</strong>, author Steve Friedman shares his struggles both at work and at home. His long path to overcome countless roadblocks is both &quot;heart-wrenching and heartbreaking.&quot;</p> <p>&quot;In the tradition of Maya Angelou and Paul Monette, In Search of Courage, illuminates, through a very personal lens, universal insights bright with wisdom and heart.&quot;<br />— Roger Leslie, Ph.D., author of From Inspiration to Publication</p> <p>&quot;Friedman's story is an authentic one of self-discovery — the pains, joys, and acceptance of embracing who you are in spite of the influence of our extroverted society.&quot;<br />— Norma T. Hollis, author of Ten Steps to Authenticity</p> <p>&quot;Wow! What a compelling life story. I enjoyed it and found myself pausing to reflect often.&quot;<br />— Blaise Dismer, MSW author of Homebound No More</p> <p>&quot;Kudos to Steve Friedman for sharing such a personal journey through the challenges of being an introvert in an extroverted world.&quot;<br />— Stephanie Chandler, CEO of the Nonfiction Authors Association</p> <p>People who are finding Susan Cain's Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking are finding In Search of Courage an inspiring, personal, and relatable story.</p> <p>Photos accompany each chapter when you purchase the eBook or paperback.</p>

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.

"After a brutal evening trying to network amongst a conference hall of strangers, I wrote an email to my wife Jennifer: "It zapped my energy just trying to maintain such a façade. I describe myself lately as puny, timid, socially regressive - basically fragile. I've never prided myself as a social butterfly. But lately, I feel more like a social wallflower, unable to hold even basic conversations let alone strike up a discussion of any depth.

Realizing the depressed tone of my letter and not wanting to scare Jennifer from halfway around the world, I tried to reassure her: "However, I must emphasize, I'm okay. I'm not going off the deep end." But in reality, I felt like I was. In the pit of my stomach, I was scared. I felt like I was losing my use of basic logic and communication skills. I was overcome by fear every day: of people, of losing, of speaking, of being quiet, of not providing, of not being enough, of not being courageous."

Are you shy, reserved, introverted? Are you frustrated by forced socializing? Do you feel you have to pretend to be someone else?

In the award-winning memoir, In Search of Courage: An Introvert's Story, author Steve Friedman shares his struggles both at work and at home. His long path to overcome countless roadblocks is both "heart-wrenching and heartbreaking."

"In the tradition of Maya Angelou and Paul Monette, In Search of Courage, illuminates, through a very personal lens, universal insights bright with wisdom and heart."
— Roger Leslie, Ph.D., author of From Inspiration to Publication

"Friedman's story is an authentic one of self-discovery — the pains, joys, and acceptance of embracing who you are in spite of the influence of our extroverted society."
— Norma T. Hollis, author of Ten Steps to Authenticity

"Wow! What a compelling life story. I enjoyed it and found myself pausing to reflect often."
— Blaise Dismer, MSW author of Homebound No More

"Kudos to Steve Friedman for sharing such a personal journey through the challenges of being an introvert in an extroverted world."
— Stephanie Chandler, CEO of the Nonfiction Authors Association

People who are finding Susan Cain's Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking are finding In Search of Courage an inspiring, personal, and relatable story.

Photos accompany each chapter when you purchase the eBook or paperback.

In Search of Courage: An Introvert's Story - eBook

Specifications

Read This On
Android,Ereader,Desktop,IOS,Windows
Is Downloadable Content Available
Y
Digital Reader Format
Epub (No)
Language
en
Publisher
Kobo
Author
Steve Friedman
ISBN-13
9781734221107
ISBN-10
1734221100

Customer Reviews

Write a review

Be the first to review this item!


Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.

webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-d5f6a468-604d-4b13-b240-1d12de608b60, DC-scus-prod-a2, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-36.5.0, SHA-1e7e562741c42b3e4340c969ae68540802a9ebd4, CID-97d3e372-007-173d52e7d9180b, Generated: Sun, 09 Aug 2020 21:44:21 GMT