Holding Avery : A Memoir

Walmart # 559060929
$14.99$14.99
Free delivery on $35+ orders

Arrives by Fri, Jan 31

Free pickup Mon, Feb 3

Ships to San Leandro, 1919 Davis St

Sold & shipped byWalmart
<p>In the tradition of <i>The Year of Magical Thinking</i> and <i>The Glass Castle</i> comes Heidi Chandler’s memoir <i>Holding Avery</i>.</p> <p>When Heidi and her husband decide it’s finally time for kids, everything goes just as planned. Heidi, a teacher, needs a summer baby, and her baby girl is set to arrive mid-July. Heidi, an athletic young woman, suffers almost no morning sickness, no disruption to her routine. Still a nervous expectant mother, she is reassured that at each of her check-ups, her growing baby is not just healthy—she is perfect. So when Heidi wakes up on the night of June 30th, blood covering her sheets, she can’t believe that something less than perfect has occurred.</p> <p>When the same doctors who told her not to worry now inform Heidi that her daughter will be stillborn, she is at a complete loss. Cradling her baby’s lifeless body, Heidi realizes that she and her baby—her Avery—will never have the lives she envisioned. When Heidi finally seems recovered enough to leave the hospital, she goes home to face a world which is full of traps for a woman mourning her child; babies at the grocery store, new students asking about her baby, other women who say all of the wrong things, and worse—women who say all the right things. Because nothing for the Chandlers feels right with Avery gone. Heidi has to figure out how to navigate her home, her family, and her friends, familiar territory that suddenly feels strange.</p> <p><i>Holding Avery</i> makes Heidi’s incredibly private pain something universal, an assurance that in the face of loss, the only thing to do is move forward.</p> <p></p>

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.

In the tradition of The Year of Magical Thinking and The Glass Castle comes Heidi Chandler’s memoir Holding Avery.

When Heidi and her husband decide it’s finally time for kids, everything goes just as planned. Heidi, a teacher, needs a summer baby, and her baby girl is set to arrive mid-July. Heidi, an athletic young woman, suffers almost no morning sickness, no disruption to her routine. Still a nervous expectant mother, she is reassured that at each of her check-ups, her growing baby is not just healthy—she is perfect. So when Heidi wakes up on the night of June 30th, blood covering her sheets, she can’t believe that something less than perfect has occurred.

When the same doctors who told her not to worry now inform Heidi that her daughter will be stillborn, she is at a complete loss. Cradling her baby’s lifeless body, Heidi realizes that she and her baby—her Avery—will never have the lives she envisioned. When Heidi finally seems recovered enough to leave the hospital, she goes home to face a world which is full of traps for a woman mourning her child; babies at the grocery store, new students asking about her baby, other women who say all of the wrong things, and worse—women who say all the right things. Because nothing for the Chandlers feels right with Avery gone. Heidi has to figure out how to navigate her home, her family, and her friends, familiar territory that suddenly feels strange.

Holding Avery makes Heidi’s incredibly private pain something universal, an assurance that in the face of loss, the only thing to do is move forward.

Normal0falsefalsefalseEN-GBX-NONEX-NONEMicrosoftInternetExplorer4 When her otherwise healthy, even idyllic, first pregnancy ends in the sudden and terrible stillbirth of daughter Avery, Heidi Chandler and her husband are left at a total loss. Looking into Avery’s perfect face, one that never cooed or cried, Heidi realizes how much her life has changed. Holding Avery is a raw exploration of life after the death of a child. Heidi Chandler unapologetically recounts her heartache — the fears and doubts that come with knowing she is a mother but without a child to care for. The unabashed honesty of her grief will resonate with anyone who has experienced loss and found that the question 'why?' may always go unanswered. But Heidi learns that moving through the tragedy is not impossible.

Specifications

Publisher
MP Publishing Ltd
Book Format
Paperback
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
216
Author
Heidi Chandler
ISBN-13
9781849823043
Publication Date
June, 2014
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
8.40 x 5.40 x 0.60 Inches
ISBN-10
1849823049

Customer Reviews

5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1-1 of 1 reviews

Im not typically a fa...

I'm not typically a fan of memoirs as they tend to come across either preachy or like the writer needs to get a grip and grow up. This is far from how Chandler presents her story. The writing is honest, truthful and touching. How anyone can move past such a loss is something I hope to never understand but this is as close as it gets. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has lost a child. Reading the emotion and understanding that you are not alone in this situation is therapeutic and helpful in ways I can't begin to provide words for. Bring tissues. I received an ARC through a Librarything giveaway in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influenced my opinion.

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.