Generated at Wed, 20 Nov 2019 06:21:29 GMT exp-ck: undefined; xpa: undefined;
Electrode, Comp-701311942, DC-prod-cdc03, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-19.1.31, SHA-771c9ce79737366b1d5f53d21cad4086bf722e21, CID-6484d94e-ba5-16e877915e5979, Generated: Wed, 20 Nov 2019 06:21:29 GMT

The Girl Who Slept with God : A Novel

Walmart # 560492457
$10.99$10.99
-
$12.34$12.34
List Was $16.00

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.
"Fine, carefully wrought . . . reading this novel [is] a heartening experience." --The New York Times Book Review

"Brelinski's page-turning debut is full of humor, insight, and imaginative sympathy. Think of it as the annunciation of a new talent." --The Wall Street Journal

"A revelation." --Vanity Fair

"[Brelinski] had readers hooked from page 1." --Elle

For Fans of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Meg Wolitzer's The Interestings, an entrancing literary debut about religion, science, secrets, and the power and burden of family from recent Wallace Stegner Fellow Val Brelinski

Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski's powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace. Their father, Oren, is a respected member of the community and science professor at the local college. Yet their mother's depression and Grace's religious fervor threaten the seemingly perfect family, whose world is upended when Grace returns from a missionary trip to Mexico and discovers she's pregnant with--she believes--the child of God.

Distraught, Oren sends Jory and Grace to an isolated home at the edge of the town. There, they prepare for the much-awaited arrival of the baby while building a makeshift family that includes an elderly eccentric neighbor and a tattooed social outcast who drives an ice cream truck.

The Girl Who Slept with God is a literary achievement about a family's desperate need for truth, love, purity, and redemption. “Fine, carefully wrought . . . reading this novel [is] a heartening experience.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Brelinski’s page-turning debut is full of humor, insight, and imaginative sympathy. Think of it as the annunciation of a new talent.” The Wall Street Journal

“A revelation.” —Vanity Fair

“[Brelinski] had readers hooked from page 1.” —Elle

For Fans of Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You and Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings, an entrancing literary debut about religion, science, secrets, and the power and burden of family from recent Wallace Stegner Fellow Val Brelinski

Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski’s powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace. Their father, Oren, is a respected member of the community and science professor at the local college. Yet their mother’s depression and Grace’s religious fervor threaten the seemingly perfect family, whose world is upended when Grace returns from a missionary trip to Mexico and discovers she’s pregnant with—she believes—the child of God.

Distraught, Oren sends Jory and Grace to an isolated home at the edge of the town. There, they prepare for the much-awaited arrival of the baby while building a makeshift family that includes an elderly eccentric neighbor and a tattooed social outcast who drives an ice cream truck.

The Girl Who Slept with God is a literary achievement about a family’s desperate need for truth, love, purity, and redemption.

Specifications

Publisher
Penguin Publishing Group
Book Format
Paperback
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
384
Author
Val Brelinski
ISBN-13
9780143109433
Publication Date
July, 2016
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
8.30 x 5.40 x 0.80 Inches
ISBN-10
014310943X

Customer Reviews

5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1-4 of 4 reviews

This is a very well wr...

This is a very well written and compelling novel about sisters growing up in a fundamentalist Christian family. One leaves the country to do missionary work and comes back pregnant. She insists there was no man involved (virgin birth). The other girl is a bit wild and she struggles against all her parent's rules. The sisters befriend an ice cream truck driver just out of prison who opens up their world to new adventures. I can't emphasize how much I liked this book. This is a movie script in the making. A great new author.

Review in progress, bu...

Review in progress, but to start with, it was an emotional read with complex characters. The author succeeded in creating depth of plot, character, and setting, even if it's disturbing. I would recommend this book to anyone who's interested in characters struggling to find their own identities in an environment where they've been groomed to push personal interests under the rug in favor of outward religious fervor.

I had a bit of a reser...

I had a bit of a reservation about reading this book. I was not sure what I was going to get. Would it be too preachy and way out there to almost unbelievable or somewhere in the middle? Well let me tell you that after reading this book it was in the middle. Which was just fine with me. I don't like when stories are too preachy. Although I must comment by saying that I thought the author gave an insightful look into what a truly devout evangelical Christian family life must be like. I am a Christian but my family was not like this. In a way I found the three sisters to be more disjointed then close knit. Out of the three sisters I found Jory to be the strongest of them all. I had mixed emotions about the ending of the story. Not to give anything away. It was just because of how all of the events lead to the ending. This book is a pretty good read.

As I read Val Brelinsk...

As I read Val Brelinski's debut novel The Girl Who Slept With God, I kept waiting for something to happen. There's a long setup for what I found to be a rather slight payout. The narrative, a coming of age story set in 1970, is about a young teen, Jorie, whose devout older sister Grace returns from a Mexican mission trip claiming that she's expecting God's child. The girls' heavy-handed father sends them to live in an isolated house in rural Idaho to await the miraculous birth. Jorie goes to public high school for the first time (her prior education had been in Christian schools) and strikes up a friendship with Grip, an ice-cream truck driver with a secret past. The narrative raises many questions (how did Grace get pregnant? What's the big secret in Grip's past, and why did his parents name him Grip, anyway?) and answers them slowly. I read through pages detailing early 1970s clothing and perfume fashions, Jorie's pubescent changes and her predictable travails in high school, all the while wondering how the main plot point would be resolved. Finally, the resolution comes, but at the end Grace is as mysterious a figure as she is in the beginning. I liked The Girl Who Slept with God but I didn't love it. I expected more from it than it actually delivered.

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.
webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-389269113, DC-prod-cdc04, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-30.0.3, SHA-fe0221a6ef49da0ab2505dfeca6fe7a05293b900, CID-3064f2b6-c55-16e877c600fa02, Generated: Wed, 20 Nov 2019 06:25:05 GMT