Shop smart, stay safe: Our latest response to COVID-19.

Five Feet Apart (Hardcover)

Average Rating:(4.4)out of 5 stars
Walmart # 570499728
$9.69$9.69
-
$12.09$12.09
List Was $18.99
<b>Now a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson!</b> <p></p> <b>Goodreads Choice Winner, Best Young Adult Fiction of 2019</b> <br /> <b>A YALSA 2020 Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers</b> <p></p> <b>In this #1 <i>New York Times </i>bestselling novel that's perfect for fans of John Green's <i>The Fault in Our Stars</i>, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication--they can't get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.</b> <p></p> <i>Can you love someone you can never touch?</i> <p></p>Stella Grant likes to be in control--even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions. <p></p>The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn't care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he'll turn eighteen and then he'll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals. <p></p>Will's <i>exactly</i> what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn't feel like safety. It feels like punishment. <p></p>What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.
Now a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson!

Goodreads Choice Winner, Best Young Adult Fiction of 2019
A YALSA 2020 Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers

In this #1 New York Times bestselling novel that's perfect for fans of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication--they can't get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control--even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn't care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he'll turn eighteen and then he'll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will's exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn't feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?Now a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson!

Goodreads Choice Winner, Best Young Adult Fiction of 2019
A YALSA 2020 Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers

In this #1 New York Times bestselling novel that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Specifications

Publisher
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
288
Author
Rachael Lippincott
ISBN-13
9781534437333
Publication Date
November, 2018
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
8.25 x 5.50 x 1.00 Inches
ISBN-10
1534437339

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:(4.4)out of 5 stars
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Frequent mentions

1-5 of 7 reviews
Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

Great listen

I listened to this book at work as I thought it would be easy. It really wasn't. I wasn't drawn in so many times. Smiling, laughing, breaking apart a little. It was so good. I figured it was just a rewash of The Fault in our Stars, but it's not. It's a great book all in it's own right. Now, I'm excited to see the movie to put "faces" to the characters!

Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

Okay, so lets start of...

Okay, so lets start off with the cover of Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott with Mikki Daughtry & Tobias Iaconis. It's beautiful and really captures the premise of the book. The star-crossed background. Uh huh, love is in the air. The vines or roots - think of them as lungs. And the title as the distance that has to be kept between the two main characters - Will and Stella. Will and Stella both have cystic fibrosis. They're in hospital for treatment - Stella is on the transplant list and Will is on a trial drug battling a severe infection. They meet and it's most definitely not love at first sight, not even like really. Which is okay, as they need to maintain a six foot distance from each other, so as not to further compromise their health. But, this is a love story......and five feet is closer than six... I adored Stella! She's smart, funny, kind, determined and more. Will is a bit of a 'bad boy'. He's angry at his disease and regularly refuses to do the treatments that will help him. He would much rather visit the places he's read about while he still can. Stella's best friend Poe will break your heart. Nurse Barb is the strict one that enforces that six foot barrier. I thought the cystic fibrosis premise was done well and I'm sure readers and listeners will learn more about this disease through this novel. The attraction between the two is inevitable. And the path is rocky of course. Exactly what I had expected going in - a love story. Do things happen quickly? Yes. Are there plot points that are a bit of stretch? Yes. Did I enjoy the story? Absolutely yes! (And if you're a John Green fan, you're going to love Five Feet Apart.) I chose to listen to Five Feet Apart. The readers were Joy Osmanski (a perennial favorite of mine) and Corey Brill. Osmanski's voice matches the mental image I had created of Stella. Her voice sounds like a teenager. The tone and diction is crisp and clean. She captures the story well and matches the emotion and tenor of the story. Brill's voice has a nice, gravelly undertone to it. The pace of his reading is measured. He too enunciates well and his voice is pleasant to listen to. His voice also matched the character. I really enjoy audiobooks - the stories seem to come to life for me when I listen. And Five Feet Apart was no exception. Excellent! Five Feet Apart releases as a film in March 2019, starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson.

Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

I read the book and i cried most of the time reading it, especially during chapter 29 😭❤️ I recomend this book

Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

Best

It was in good shape and its a book so far and i would order from walmart.com anytime

Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

I knew going into this...

I knew going into this one that it would most likely make me cry. Yep it did. It's a quick read but it gives you an insight into CF and the struggles of those who have it. A cute love story that has enough drama to pull at your heart strings just a bit. 4


Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.

webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-389264332, DC-prod-cdc01, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-35.3.0, SHA-07c8200f8bec4e34b57e6f3462dad589f86cab05, CID-657226cd-2d3-17275b0e876078, Generated: Tue, 02 Jun 2020 15:40:27 GMT