Shop smart, stay safe: Our latest response to COVID-19.

Far from the Tree (Hardcover)

Average Rating:(4.5)out of 5 stars
$14.86$14.86
Free delivery

Arrives by Tuesday, Jun 16

Pickup not available

Sold & shipped byBooksXpress
<p><strong>National Book Award Winner, PEN America Award Winner, and <em>New York Times</em> Bestseller!</strong></p> <p><strong>Perfect for fans of <em>This Is Us</em>, Robin Benway's beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms--how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it. </strong><strong>This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.</strong></p> <p>Being the middle child has its ups and downs.</p> <p>But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including--</p> <p><strong>Maya</strong>, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she's quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family's long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can't help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.</p> <p>And <strong>Joaquin</strong>, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he's learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can't hurt anyone but him.</p> <p><strong>Don't miss this moving novel that addresses such important topics as adoption, teen pregnancy, and foster care.</strong></p>

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.

National Book Award Winner, PEN America Award Winner, and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of This Is Us, Robin Benway's beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms--how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Being the middle child has its ups and downs.

But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including--

Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she's quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family's long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can't help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.

And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he's learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can't hurt anyone but him.

Don't miss this moving novel that addresses such important topics as adoption, teen pregnancy, and foster care.

FAR FROM THE TREE

Specifications

Series Title
Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2
Publisher
HarperCollins
Book Format
Hardcover
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
384
Author
Robin Benway
ISBN-13
9780062330628
Publication Date
October, 2017
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
9.00 x 6.00 x 1.50 Inches
ISBN-10
0062330624

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:(4.5)out of 5 stars
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Frequent mentions

1-5 of 13 reviews
Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

Three adopted siblings...

Three adopted siblings discover each other and learn the true meaning of 'family' is deeper than biology. Grace, an only child, is haunted by perfection and high expectations. Maya stands out as a dark-haired child in a bio family of light-skinned caucasians. Joaquin, half Mexican, has never known a real family and is shunted from foster home to home. The dialogue and pacing are superb and it is sure to speak to teens in all kinds of family settings. On the down side, each sib has a slew of problems which are After-School-Special-ish in terms of scope. More troubling, each seems remarkably articulate and self aware (older than their years). A minor quibble for a good book.

Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

This was a fantastic b...

This was a fantastic book. Robin Benway really has created a treasure with this story. The book moves between Grace, Maya, and Joaquin's points of view. Three siblings who have only just met and who have very different stories. This a book about heartbreak and love. It's about discovery and fear. And most of all, it's about the true meaning of family. A must read. So far, my top pick in 2018!

Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

My goodness! When I sa...

My goodness! When I saw that this was a young adult novel, I knew that it would approach all kinds of issues with a punch you generally don't find in adult novels. I was completely unprepared for the number of issues that Robin addressed telling the stories of these three siblings who have just found each other. It was an intelligent novel, and the emotional impact it has is not to be ignored. If you read this novel, prepare to be blindsided by emotions you don't expect. You might even find yourself changed after you finish the last page.

Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

When Grace gives her b...

When Grace gives her baby up for adoption, it sets her on a path to find her biological mom. Grace, Joaquin, and Maya are bio-siblings who find each other after all of them had adopted or put in the foster system. Each of them is working through a large amount of trauma related to not knowing their roots and the angst of growing up. They develop a bond and support system and find themselves on a quest to find their bio-mom. This was an emotional read full of trauma, overcoming hardships, and trying to find hope.

Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

Three teens - Joaquin ...

Three teens - Joaquin (in foster care), Grace (adopted, just gave a baby up for adoption), and Maya (adopted) all share a mother who could not support them. They find each other and form their own little family where they can share their deepest fears and hopes. Even though they have the same biological mother, they are very different, a product of their upbringing. This story really brings out the unique issues that kids who are adopted or in the system have. I really grew to like these three kids and think that teens will appreciate their story big time.


Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.

webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-d0824217-ff4f-4c94-bc8b-c11d1600b32b, DC-wus-prod-a3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-35.3.0, SHA-07c8200f8bec4e34b57e6f3462dad589f86cab05, CID-021abb65-006-1727c823c52ee2, Generated: Wed, 03 Jun 2020 23:26:49 GMT