Disclaimer

Walmart # 559228765
Reduced Price

Disclaimer

Walmart # 559228765
$24.49$24.49
List $34.99
Shipping not available
Pickup not available
Pickup not available
Sold & shipped byBlackstone Audio Inc.
9781504611275

About This Item

CD/Spoken Word, Blackstone Audio Inc, 2015, ISBN13 9781504611275, ISBN10 1504611276
Customer Reviews
3.8 out of 5 Stars
5 stars
3
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-5 of 17 reviews

This is a plot driven sus

This is a plot driven suspense novel told from two perspectives. At first these seem similar but they diverge dramatically as the story unfolds. To her credit, Knight manages to maintain tension and unpredictability by slowly revealing facts and twists. Catherine Ravenscroft discovers a novel (The Perfect Stranger) at her bedside and feels that it is an unflattering version of her life. Unfortunately Knight does not describe the book well enough for the reader to fully appreciate how it could have had such an impact on Catherine. Stephen Brigstocke is responsible for the book and is using it as a device to torment Catherine because he believes she played a role in the death of his beloved son, Jonathan. The premise is unusual for the suspense genre and could have been a compelling read. Unfortunately, Knight's mishandling of her characters is a major detraction to enjoying this story. For her, plot twists are more important than developing characters who behave realistically. Instead she sacrifices their credibility to maintain a high level of suspense and unpredictability in the plot. They seem to go through wildly inconsistent swings making them less believable. At the end, the reader is left wondering if everything revealed is real or just another plot twist. Catherine starts out seeming to be an unfaithful wife and an extremely cold mother, but morphs into a heroine and loving parent. Stephen, at first is threatening and possibly insane but becomes a benevolent and apologetic person by the book's end. Catherine's husband Robert swings from being hurt and totally lacking in empathy for his wife to a fawning apologist. Even Catherine finds his swing difficult to believe. Knight completely "jumps the shark" with Jonathan. His transformation from a nice young man to something more malevolent is impossible to describe without spoiling the story. Catherine's son, Nicholas is not developed well enough to actually understand his fairly bland behavior throughout. None of these characters is likeable primarily because they don't seem well grounded or admirable for anything, either good or evil. Essentially they are just pawns in the service of maintaining a suspenseful plot.

This is a novel in the ve

This is a novel in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. There's an unreliable narrator and a story that twists and turns on itself as each new revelation sheds a different light on the story being told. The novel concerns Catherine, who upon reading a book that just showed up at her house, comes face to face with the events of some fifteen years ago, and sees herself clearly identified as the villain of the piece. It throws her into a tailspin, unable to sleep and uncertain of what to do next. It's a good enough set up for a decent beach novel, but it's uneven in the execution. Too much of the book depended on information being withheld from the reader, although it's known to the main characters. While this strategy kept me reading, it didn't make me trust the storytelling. And just as I started to become bored enough with the initial pattern of the book, Knight stands the entire premise on its head and delivers an unexpected and unexpectedly powerful reveal, which is then marred by the reaction of the main characters. There's one individual whose reaction to a version of the secret being revealed is so unlikely and over the top that I wondered at Catherine's ever allowing them to become a part of her life. Taken as a whole, Disclaimer was a decent enough entertainment, but nothing more.

Documentary filmmaker Cat

Documentary filmmaker Catherine Ravenscroft has just moved into a new house with her husband, Robert. It's here that she finds a novel by her bedside that she didn't put there nor did she buy. As she reads on, she realizes that this is her story, her secret - a secret that only one other person knew about, and that person is dead. But things didn't quite happen the way the book portrays and Catherine's life turns into a nightmare as she is forced to travel back twenty years and finally tell the story the way it really happened.It started off okay, but I found myself impatient and irritated by how slow it was going. I had high hopes for this book, but was a little disappointed in it.I loved this: I bite my fingernails to keep them short, spitting them out and leaving them where they stick, brittle and sharp around my desk. I am not a bloody circus performer, though: I can't do the same with my toenails.

A very twisted story. Fa

A very twisted story. Fast paced, the revelations keep coming and even when I was sold on one theory, another presented itself. A very good suspense filled story, one where it tales a while to like any of these characters, not too sure if I ever did but it didn't seem to matter. Didn't see the ending coming, total surprise which I have to admit I appreciated.

I struggled to get into t

I struggled to get into this book - it was like attempting to fly a kite that keeps getting downed by cross-winds. Every time I thought I had a grip on the characters in the section I was reading and their relationship to each other, we were away and with another set of characters and it was unclear how these characters related to the other ones, or even whether the events were happening simultaneously. It took an age for me to get to grips with it, but once the 'kite' was up and flying, how it soared. I liked the author's writing style - clear, unobtrusive, plot-driven. The twists and turns in the story were impressive. If there was a bum note at the end, it was the ease with which one of the characters appeared to accept that they were in the wrong, despite the zeal with which they had previously held their convictions. That said, I think the author did enough to explain that away. Just about.
Questions & Answers0 question
Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.
Electrode, Comp-447755174, DC-prod-dfw5, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-26.20.0, SHA-38e78de46db1a394393656b0979b8716e9fdfcf0, CID-