Walmart+ is here to help make every day easier. Learn more.
Walmart+ is here to help make every day easier.
Torkil Damhaug

Death By Water : An atmospheric, intense thriller you won't forget

Average Rating:out of 5 stars
Walmart # 574210633
$10.77$10.77
Out of stock
Delivery not available
Pickup not available

Sold & shipped byWalmart
Shop Now
<p><b>The second novel in the Oslo Crime Files, a tense and dark quartet of thrillers for fans of Camilla Lackberg and Jo Nesbo.</b></p> <p>Psychologist Mailin Bjerke is due to appear on the notorious TV show <i>Taboo</i>, tackling its most sensational subject yet. But she never arrives at the studio.</p> <p>As the police struggle to find any sign of Mailin, her sister Liss, living on the edge in Amsterdam, takes matters into her own hands. Flying home to Olso, she discovers a complex backdrop of friends and enemies, where no one can be relied upon to tell the truth. Her battle is made harder by the fractured memories of a childhood where Mailin was always her protector, and by the secrets she must keep hidden. </p> <p>And she has no idea that Mailin's disappearance is somehow connected to a chance meeting more than a decade before...</p> <br /> <p><b>Praise for international bestseller </b><b>Torkil Damhaug</b><b> </b></p> <p>'Delivered with maximum psychological intensity' Barry Forshaw, <i>Independent</i></p> <p>'Nothing is as it seems in this sleek and cunning thriller' <i>Evening Standard</i></p>

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.

The second novel in the Oslo Crime Files, a tense and dark quartet of thrillers for fans of Camilla Lackberg and Jo Nesbo.

Psychologist Mailin Bjerke is due to appear on the notorious TV show Taboo, tackling its most sensational subject yet. But she never arrives at the studio.

As the police struggle to find any sign of Mailin, her sister Liss, living on the edge in Amsterdam, takes matters into her own hands. Flying home to Olso, she discovers a complex backdrop of friends and enemies, where no one can be relied upon to tell the truth. Her battle is made harder by the fractured memories of a childhood where Mailin was always her protector, and by the secrets she must keep hidden.

And she has no idea that Mailin's disappearance is somehow connected to a chance meeting more than a decade before...


Praise for international bestseller Torkil Damhaug

'Delivered with maximum psychological intensity' Barry Forshaw, Independent

'Nothing is as it seems in this sleek and cunning thriller' Evening Standard

The second novel in the Oslo Crime Files, a tense and dark quartet of thrillers for fans of Camilla Lackberg and Jo Nesbo.

Psychologist Mailin Bjerke is due to appear on the notorious TV show Taboo, tackling its most sensational subject yet. But she never arrives at the studio.

As the police struggle to find any sign of Mailin, her sister Liss, living on the edge in Amsterdam, takes matters into her own hands. Flying home to Olso, she discovers a complex backdrop of friends and enemies, where no one can be relied upon to tell the truth. Her battle is made harder by the fractured memories of a childhood where Mailin was always her protector, and by the secrets she must keep hidden.

And she has no idea that Mailin's disappearance is somehow connected to a chance meeting more than a decade before...


Praise for international bestseller Torkil Damhaug:

'Delivered with maximum psychological intensity' Barry Forshaw, Independent

'Nothing is as it seems in this sleek and cunning thriller' Evening Standard

Specifications

Language
English
Series Title
Oslo Crime Files
Publisher
Headline
Book Format
Paperback
Original Languages
English
Number of Pages
496
Author
Torkil Damhaug
Title
Death By Water
ISBN-13
9781472206879
Publication Date
September, 2019
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
7.75 x 5.00 x 1.25 Inches
ISBN-10
1472206878

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:(4.5)out of 5 stars
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Average Rating:(5.0)out of 5 stars

It is really fun to re...

It is really fun to read Michael Innes; mostly because you can't get more than a few paragraphs before you're wondering, "what on earth does that word mean?" and hoping that you've got the gist from the context. Appleby has hit retirement age at the point of this story, which makes it a nice slow-paced one for those who aren't insistent that every detective have an Archie Goodwin involved. The puzzle teeters towards the over-convoluted, but the scenery is wonderfully drawn, and it's very enjoyable to work towards solving the mystery. I thought that Appleby missed an obvious key question earlier in the book that would have cut out fifty pages or so, but then my copy only comes in at around 160 already, which by today's standards makes it hardly there at all. A short read, but of course it's made up for since you have to follow Innes' phenomenal command of his language. One of the finest mystery writers of a fine generation of them, and probably the most intellectual of them all.

Helpful?
Average Rating:(4.0)out of 5 stars

One of the better Appl...

One of the better Appleby mysteries I've read so far. Well paced, lots of red herrings, and a healthy dose of humor.

Helpful?

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.

webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-f74d7e5d-e6a1-45b2-8107-f28a7883525f, DC-scus-prod-a2, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-37.3.0, SHA-b3134fce56061453926ca6f342a65ac5c917ad96, CID-17e8c78e-006-174a52e8786f41, Generated: Sat, 19 Sep 2020 07:05:24 GMT