Aroma 16-Cup Digital Rice Cooker and Food Steamer

Q&A
By: Aroma
Walmart #: 001595611
Aroma 16-Cup Digital Rice Cooker and Food Steamer
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Aroma 16-Cup Digital Rice Cooker and Food Steamer is designed to make your cooking simpler and quicker. With this automatic cooker you can cook rice, steam meat, steam vegetables, make soups, and stews. The easy-to-use digital control panel in this automatic cooker is programmed with special functions for white rice, brown rice, steaming, delaying time, and keeping food warm. The water reservoir in the rice cooker keeps away excess vapor to make the rice fluffy. The removable inner pot is of non-stick material, providing easy serving and cleaning. The cool-touch exterior and an easy-to-open lid ensure safe cooking. The Cooker includes a serving spatula, measuring cup, and steam tray that come handy while cooking and steaming. The Aroma 16 Cup Digital Rice Cooker and Food Steamer will indeed make cooking a pleasure.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Aroma 16-Cup Digital Rice Cooker and Food Steamer is designed to make your cooking simpler and quicker. With this automatic cooker you can cook rice, steam meat, steam vegetables, make soups, and stews. The easy-to-use digital control panel in this automatic cooker is programmed with special functions for white rice, brown rice, steaming, delaying time, and keeping food warm. The water reservoir in the rice cooker keeps away excess vapor to make the rice fluffy. The removable inner pot is of non-stick material, providing easy serving and cleaning. The cool-touch exterior and an easy-to-open lid ensure safe cooking. The Cooker includes a serving spatula, measuring cup, and steam tray that come handy while cooking and steaming. The Aroma 16 Cup Digital Rice Cooker and Food Steamer will indeed make cooking a pleasure.

Aroma 16 Cup Digital Rice Cooker and Food Steamer:

  • Prepares 4 to 16 cups of cooked rice
  • Specialized digital functions for White Rice, Brown Rice, Steam and Keep-Warm
  • Cooks and steams simultaneously
  • Easy-to-clean, nonstick removable inner pot
  • Safe, cool-touch exterior
  • Automatic keep-warm
  • Includes serving spatula, measuring cup and steam tray
  • Model# ARC-978


  • See all kitchen appliances on Walmart.com. Save money. Live better.

    Specifications

    Volts: 110 V AC
    Color: White
    Capacity: 16 cup
    Manufacturer Part Number: ARC-978
    Container Type: Box
    Model: ARC-978
    Brand: Aroma
    Features: Non-stick Coating
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 11.00 x 10.30 x 10.40 Inches
    Show

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    83 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    83 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    82%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    48
    4 stars
    16
    3 stars
    9
    2 stars
    3
    1 stars
    7
    1-10 of 68 total reviews
    82%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    A good present
    11/19/2008

    Customer review by btowngirl4life

    5.0 stars 11/19/2008 by btowngirl4life
    by btowngirl4life

    I bought this product for my mother last Christmas, and let me tell you what, we have used it alot since then. Yes it is true that it takes awhile for it to cook, but it beeps when it is done, and it keeps it nice and warm until you unplug it. If you are looking for a sleek, durable product that not only cooks white rice, but brown rice and steams veggies as well, then you are in the right place. My mother absolutely loved it and I know you will too.

    Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    btowngirl4life
    Bethalto, IL
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:18 - 24
    Ownership:11 - 12 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    its a rice cooker
    5/13/2009

    Customer review by rdy4fn24

    4.0 stars 5/13/2009 by rdy4fn24
    by rdy4fn24

    This is my first rice cooker and I have used it quite a few times now since I bought it a few months ago. I had to experiment with it a little to get it right, like making sure I soak my brown and wild rice first a little, with a good rinse and to be sure to cook the rice with some oil, or butter( i like butter) to keep it from sticking to the bottom and browning. It does tend to overcook if I don't do this. As for taking a long time to cook, it doesnt' seem to take any longer then the directions suggest for the rices I buy, and I have never had another one to compare too. I do like that I can start it same time as my other dinners and forget about it without taking up some needed burners. I love the color and the look.ma

    Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    rdy4fn24
    MA
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Rice cooking
    2/9/2009

    Customer review by ignats

    5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by ignats
    by ignats

    For thirty bucks this is my favorite kitchen appliance!! Trust me! I'm an appliance repairman. I got this to make life alittle simpler with my three kids and job. I make rice about twenty days a month and dump something on it. Before I got this the rice didn't cook right every time. Now I set it and forget it. It also keeps the rice warm until everything is done!! It's easy to clean and maintain and almost fool proof to operate. Get one and get OFF POTATOES!!!

    Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    ignats
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Great Product
    11/6/2007

    Customer review by ckjb

    4.0 stars 11/6/2007 by ckjb
    by ckjb

    This item was bigger than expected! However it does seem to take much longer to cook rice, than my old rice cooker, but it was fun using it. I would buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    ckjb
    Calhoun, GA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    great rice cooker
    2/20/2008

    Customer review by starrynight79

    5.0 stars 2/20/2008 by starrynight79
    by starrynight79

    I really like this rice cooker...It cooks the rice perfectly easy to use, and the price was right.

    Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    starrynight79
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Aroma Rice cooker
    12/12/2007

    Customer review by TexasPainter

    1.0 stars 12/12/2007 by TexasPainter
    by TexasPainter

    My opinion on this product -- it is EXTREMELY slow. I would not recommend it. It leaks water out the steam vent and runs down on the counter. The booklet that came with it indicated it takes 2-4 hours to cook the rice, depending on whether it's white or brown--after an hour it was hardly warm. Plan an all evening cook-out if you buy this one. I returned it -- usually when I want to cook rice, I am preparing for a meal in the next hour - so this was not a good product -- it had nice "electronic settings" and looked good - but didn't work well. I did buy another Aroma brand from another store--it did not have the electronic settings -- just a cook and warm button -- turns itself off automatically -- has the nice "sealed" lid the first one I bought, but does not leak out the top and cooks very fast.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    TexasPainter
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Takes a looooong time!!!
    11/11/2008

    Customer review by wiscman

    4.0 stars 11/11/2008 by wiscman
    by wiscman

    I will write another review after I have used this for a few months. This is a review after my first use. The "cup" is about 3/4 of a real cup, so I am not quite sure about what the vendor means when they talk about adding cups of water. Which cups??? OK. I made three "cups" of rice, adding the water after smoothing out the rice. WELL OVER TWO HOURS LATER, the cooker switched to warm. I lost track of the time, but I will watch it more carefully next time. The rice was good, with a small amount of crusty rice on the bottom. As I said, I will report later on long term use. I like it, and it is helpful to be sure the rice is done before you start making ther est of the meal.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    wiscman
    Yuma, AZ
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Help for Multi-task Meals
    7/17/2009

    Customer review by WesternKentuckian

    5.0 stars 7/17/2009 by WesternKentuckian
    by WesternKentuckian

    This product was given as a gift to our daughter who loves to cook and has many years of experience in the kitchen. She is absolutely pleased with it. It allows her to fix several foods at the same time without spoiling the outcome of the rice. Timing is everything when it comes to cooking the vegetables and rice along with whatever is being served with the meal. This attractive and efficient cooker does its job and gives her the time she needs to make all the foods finished at the same time and perfect. The whole ordering, shipping and gift wrapped process in getting the item to her (she lives across country from us) was also trouble-free and easy

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    WesternKentuckian
    Hopkinsville, KY
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    Started out great...
    4/14/2011

    Customer review by PoodlePaw

    3.0 stars 4/14/2011 by PoodlePaw
    by PoodlePaw

    We received this product as a wedding gift around one year ago. We were very excited because we love to have sushi nights and this product was large enough to accommodate larger get-togethers. It worked wonderfully, though it occasionally burned the bottom of the rice if it sat too long before we got to it. Not a huge issue. At around 8 months of occasional use (once to twice a month, tops) it started acting up. It would overcook some of the rice and undercook the rest of the rice in the same batch. During that time, we also purchased a smaller Aroma rice cooker. It started doing the same thing within a month of owning it. I'm really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    PoodlePaw
    Little Rock, AR
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:18 - 24
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Good Rice Cooker
    12/21/2009

    Customer review by wm4rhea

    4.0 stars 12/21/2009 by wm4rhea
    by wm4rhea

    We prepare rice (white) quite often at our home. The previous cooker lasted over 2 years and was losing the non-stick coating. Saw this Aroma cooker at a friend's place. It looked sleek. Immediately got from walmart (got discount ordering online using bing cashback). Have been using for over 3 weeks now. Works great. Con: 1. Takes a little longer (compared to our old cooker) to prepare rice. 2. No way to take the lid off. So can be cleaned only by wiping it off. It would have been nice to take the lid off and wash once in a while. 3. Walmart Site-to-store takes a long time to ship items. But it's free, so cannot complain. Pros: Everything else.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    wm4rhea
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    1-10 of 68 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 68 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 10 questions
    1-3 of 10 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    1-3 of 10 questions See all
    1-3 of 10 questions
    Consider these popular products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  Year Years See details

    Warranty Information: Aroma Housewares Company warrants this product free from defects in material and workmanship for one year from provable date of purchase in the continental United States.Within this warranty period, Aroma Housewares Company will repair or replace, at its option, defective parts at no charge, provided the product is returned, freight prepaid with proof of purchase and U.S. $8.00 for shipping and handling charges payable to Aroma Housewares Company. Before returning an item, please call the toll free number below for a return authorization number. Allow 2-4 weeks for return shipping.This warranty does not cover improper installation, misuse, abuse or neglect on the part of the owner. Warranty is also invalid in any case that the product is taken apart or serviced by an unauthorized service station.This warranty gives you specific legal rights and which may vary from state to state and does not cover areas outside the United States.AROMA HOUSEWARES COMPANY 6469 Flanders Drive San Diego, California 92121 1-800-276-6286M-F, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM, Pacific Time Website: www.aromaco.com
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.