Customers also viewed these products

Rival Fold-Up Electric Food Slicer

Q&A
By: Rival
Walmart #: 001565525
Rival Fold-Up Electric Food Slicer
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.
Consider these popular products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Rival 1042-WN Food Slicer is a useful kitchen tool that makes your work faster and more convenient than usual. With this electric food slicer, you can make even slices of meat, vegetables, bread, and fruits without spending too much time. You can easily adjust and set the thickness of the slice you need with the thickness control feature. This Rival food slicer has a removable stainless steel blade, which can be washed and cleaned easily. It is a fold-up food slicer that can be put away easily for storage after use, although this white appliance will blend well with kitchen decor. With this efficient slicer that works on electricity, cutting up equal slices like a professional chef will be a breeze.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Rival 1042-WN Food Slicer is a useful kitchen tool that makes your work faster and more convenient than usual. With this electric food slicer, you can make even slices of meat, vegetables, bread, and fruits without spending too much time. You can easily adjust and set the thickness of the slice you need with the thickness control feature. This Rival food slicer has a removable stainless steel blade, which can be washed and cleaned easily. It is a fold-up food slicer that can be put away easily for storage after use, although this white appliance will blend well with kitchen decor. With this efficient slicer that works on electricity, cutting up equal slices like a professional chef will be a breeze.

Rival Fold-Up Electric Food Slicer:

  • Rival Electric Fold Up Food Slicer
  • Removable Stainless Steel Blade
  • Adjustable Thickness Control
  • Reinforced Safety System
  • Folds up for easy Storage
  • Specifications

    Color: White
    Manufacturer Part Number: 1042-WN
    Model: 1042-WN
    Brand: Rival
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 12.50 x 10.00 x 8.00 Inches
    Show

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    200 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    200 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

    80%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    78
    4 stars
    75
    3 stars
    13
    2 stars
    13
    1 stars
    21
    1-10 of 163 total reviews
    80%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    It is ok for the price
    3/13/2009

    Customer review by ltownmom17340

    4.0 stars 3/13/2009 by ltownmom17340
    by ltownmom17340

    This slicer is ok for the price. It has a machine oil smell when I slice my things. There was at first some black grease on the white part that you hold the food against. But I wiped it away and had no problems after that. I am right handed and had to push the food with my left hand. That was a little diffucult until I got used to it. I like it and hope that It will work for a long time. I have 3 kids that like lunch meat. So, with this I can cook off meats and slice them thinly for lunch meats. I will know what my kids are eating, cause I am cooking it and not adding junk like the processed things. My first thing to slice was a stick of butcher bologna. The kids never wanted to eat it much before cutting it, Now I they want to eat it cause it is thin enough they can chew it. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a low cost slicer. It is kind of quite too. The only biggest problem I had was the meat stick kept moving from the position I wanted to cut when pulling the slider back. My block cheese did it too.

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    ltownmom17340
    Littlestown, Pa
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    Works better than the previous one
    10/25/2010

    Customer review by Moozennuts

    4.0 stars 10/25/2010 by Moozennuts
    by Moozennuts

    I previously owned an older model Rival Slicer that was showing its years. The dependability plus the fold up features were a plus so I decided to purchase another Rival. It meets all of my expectations and has better safety features than my older one. However, I wish the blade was enclosed like my previous model. In addition, the thickness adjustment seems to change a tiny bit during use, so I have to pay attention. I realize this is not a professional model, but for the price and the work that it does it is just what I need. Keep in mind that it is constructed of plastic but is fashioned soundly. It works for me and I like it!

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Moozennuts
    Las Vegas, NV
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Once per week
    total garbage
    10/14/2009

    Customer review by mrsray

    1.0 stars 10/14/2009 by mrsray
    by mrsray

    ok, I thought since most of the reviews were pretty good about this item that i'd give it a try. bad idea! the bad reviews that I should have listened to almost seemed as if "maybe" they werent using it right or something .... since there were lots more good reviews then bad it's flimsy, the cutter blade doesnt stay stationary and it is hard to get the adjustment set not worth the price AT ALL hard to clean YES cheese was really bad, stuck to the blade and grease was coming out of the unit on the cheese (block of crackerbarrel), couldnt cut potatoes for potato chips, wont slice thin enough slicing mechanism is flimsy and could easy break just during washing do yourself a favor and dont get this TRUST ME

    Was this review helpful? (74) (17)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    mrsray
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Usage:Once per week
    Food Slicer
    7/7/2007

    Customer review by lovetoscrap727

    5.0 stars 7/7/2007 by lovetoscrap727
    by lovetoscrap727

    This is another great product bought from WalMart! And the price was great! We sliced an entire corned beef in a matter of minutes and clean up was a breeze!

    Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    lovetoscrap727
    Dubuque, Ia
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Rival Fold-up electric food slicer
    12/31/2012

    Customer review by EducatedCook

    2.0 stars 12/31/2012 by EducatedCook
    by EducatedCook

    First I have to say, save your money and put it toward a "real" slicer! It's appearance is nice, it folds up compactly for storage but that's the only positive I can really give this slicer. It is left-handed and there is no way of switching it around for right-handed slicing. It slides all over the counter, there is no way of holding it in place while trying to slice. Next, the food holder that slides back and forth gets caught on the end every pass. There are two buttons to hold down simultaneously while moving your food back and forth which is awkward as god only knows and causes hand and wrist strain with small slicing jobs. There is no tray or any way to put a plate or food catcher on the output side, your food simply falls onto the counter. Lastly, unless you like "thick" slices it doesn't cut thin enough. I would NOT recommend this product to my worst enemy and am sorry after having it for almost a year, that I didn't put my money toward a better slicer. Planning on buying a better slicer as soon as I can!

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    EducatedCook
    Brooklyn, MI
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Excellent little slicer
    5/27/2008

    Customer review by TarheelJD

    5.0 stars 5/27/2008 by TarheelJD
    by TarheelJD

    This is a great slicer for occasional users. I am planning on using this slicer about once or twice a week. I have used it for homemade bread and turkey breast. It worked well for both. I finally have uniform bread slices that are thin enough to use for sandwiches! And my turkey came out paper thin! Turkey sandwiches here I come! The slicer is plastic, so I do not know how well it would hold up to hard, constant use. I did find out that the piece that controls the size of the slices can fall out if you turn it too far when trying to align it with the blade for storage. Easy fix, though, just stick it back in and turn slightly the other way. This slicer is exactly what I needed and a great value.

    Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    TarheelJD
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Once per week
    Love It!
    7/27/2007

    Customer review by CJKatl

    5.0 stars 7/27/2007 by CJKatl
    by CJKatl

    I bought this several years ago - on sale - at WalMart and really love it. It works very well, is easy to clean up, and takes up almost no storage space. Recently, I took a cheap cut of meat - from WalMart - roasted it, and ran it through the slicer to serve for snobby company. Everyone commented on how great the meat was. If only the knew it was a $10 cut that served 20 people! Viva la Slicer!! In fact, the reason I clicked on this product today is to buy it as a birthday present for a friend who is jealous of mine.

    Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    CJKatl
    Atlanta, GA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per month
    what I wanted
    1/19/2011

    Customer review by tooblonde

    5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by tooblonde
    by tooblonde

    The fold up slicer is exactly what I wanted. Did what I wanted it to do. Very useful!!

    Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    tooblonde
    new mexico
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Poor product
    9/27/2010

    Customer review by Grannie3times

    1.0 stars 9/27/2010 by Grannie3times
    by Grannie3times

    I have this product. It is too late to take it back where I purchased it, so I will most likely donate it to the local GoodWill store in the hope that someone can make it work for them. The problems I had with it are that it is difficult to clean, the slices were never uniform because the blade "wobbled" even when it was locked in place, I had to reach in the back and pull the cheese or meat out because it would not completely slice the end....these are just a few of the reasons that I do not recommend this product. The cost is very reasonable, but you "get what you pay for" for sure with this product. I suggest that you put a little more money into a sturdier model if you want to use this for anything more than soft cheese etc...

    Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Grannie3times
    Reese, MI
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Once per week
    great slicer
    8/22/2007

    Customer review by fredsbaby

    4.0 stars 8/22/2007 by fredsbaby
    by fredsbaby

    the only negative thing I can say is, you have to learn how to hold 2 buttons to start it, and still hold onto the object which you're slicing at the same time. but I got the hang of it, and it slices great, and the 2 buttons are for protection of not slicing something that wasn't meant to be sliced like your fingers, so that makes it a good thing and not negative, just took a minute or two to figure that part out.

    Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    fredsbaby
    Marysville, WA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    1-10 of 163 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 163 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 17 questions
    1-3 of 17 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    1-3 of 17 questions See all
    1-3 of 17 questions

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  year Years See details

    Warranty Information: Service Instructions: 1. Do NOT attempt to repair or adjust any electrical or mechanical functions on this unit. Doing so will void the Waranty. 2. If you need to exchange the unit, please return it in its original carton, with a sales receipt to the store where you purchased it. If you are returning the unit more than 30 days after the date of purchase, please see the enclosed Warranty. 3. If you have any questions or comments regarding this unit's operation or believe any repair is necessary, please write our Consumer Service Department or visit our website at www.rivalproducts.com Rival c/o The Holmes Group, Inc. Consumer Service Dept. 13052 JURUPA AVE. FONTANA, CA 92337 ONE (1) YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY SAVE THIS WARRANTY INFORMATION A. This Warranty applies only to the original purchaser of this product. B. This Warranty applies ONLY to repair or replacement of any supplied or manufactured parts of this product that, upon inspection by The Holmes Group, Inc. authorized personnel, is shown to have failed in normal use do to defects or material or workmanship. The Holmes Group will determine whether to repair or replace the unit. The Warranty does not apply to installation expenses. C. Operating this unit under conditions other than those recommended or at voltages other than the voltage indicated on the unit, or attempting to service or modify the unit, will render this WARRANTY VOID. D. Unless otherwise proscribed by law, The Holmes Group shall not be liable for any personal injury, property or any incidental or consequential damage of any kind resulting from malfunctions, defects, misuse, improper installation or alteration of this product. E. All parts of this product are guaranteed for a period of 1 year as follows: 1. Within the first 30 days from date of purchase, the store from which you purchased the product should replace this product if it is defective in material or workmanship (provided the store has in stock replacement.) *If you intend to assert any claim in connection with the product, please follow instructions in paragragh F. 2 Within the first twelve months from date of purchase, The Holmes Group will repair or replace the product if it is defective in material or workmanship, subject to the conditions in paragraph F. If you have any other problem or claim in connection with this product, please write to our Consumer Service Department. G. IMPORTANT RETURN INSTRUCTIONS. Your Warranty depends on your following these instructions if you are returnin the unit to The Holmes Group, Inc. 1. Carefully pack the item in its original carton or other suitable box to avoid damage in shipping. 2. Before packing your unit for return, be sure to enclose. A. Your name, full address with zip code and telephone number. B. A dated sales receipt or PROOF OF PURCHASE. C. A check for return prepaid shipping and handling, and D. The model number of the unit and the problem you are having. ( Enclose in an envelope and tape directly to the unit before the box is sealed.) 3. The Holmes Group recommends you ship the package U.P.S. ground service for tracking purposes. 4. All shipping charges must be paid by you. 5 Mark the outside of your package. Rival c/o The Holmes Group, Inc. 13052 JURUPA AVENUE FONTANA, CA 92337. This Warranty gives you specific legal rights, and you may have other rights which vary from state to state. The provision of this Warranty are in addition to, and not a modification of, or subtraction from, the statutory warranties and other rights and remedies contained in any applicable legislation. To the extent that any provision of this Warranty in inconsistant with any applicable law, such provision shall be deemed voided or amended, as necessary, to comply with such law.
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.