Check out these related products

Our Great Big American God: A Short History of Our Ever-growing Deity

Our Great Big American God: A Short History of Our Ever-growing Deity

About this item

Hardcover, Grand Central Pub, 2014, ISBN13 9781455547340, ISBN10 1455547344
$11.49
$11.49
List price $20.00
Save $8.51

Out of stock

Sold & Shipped by Walmart
Shipping not available
Pickup not available  
Loading options...
Sold & Shipped by Walmart

Shipping not available

 

Shipping

This item is not available for shipping.

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
Shipping not available
Pickup not available  

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
Describes how America changed the idea of God through an examination of the history of faith, politics, and Christian religions , from the Puritans to progressives and mega-churches.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Describes how America changed the idea of God through an examination of the history of faith, politics, and Christian religions , from the Puritans to progressives and mega-churches.

Statistics that suggest a shrinking Christian population make media headlines, yet it's impossible to deny America's deep connection with Christianity. In this observant expose, Matthew Paul Turner demonstrates that just as Americans are trying to squeeze into skinny jeans and still enjoy our buckets of Kentucky fried chicken, we're also trying to squeeze God into the areas of our lives that are most convenient for us--so, basically, everywhere. God is, Turner argues, our greatest export.
In the vein of David Sedaris and Anne Lamott, this provocative, hilarious, and thought-provoking book explores how specific American ideas and historical events have altered our perception of God. We try to manipulate this God to fit our culture's understanding of the Bible, life and death, sex, politics, family, and more. But in our quest to follow our own "big" God, we miss his bigger picture for our lives, and a true, fulfilling understanding of God Himself. Along the way, Turner examines and answers the ultimate question: Does God really control the future of America--or is it the other way around?

Specifications

Number of Pages: 241
Original Languages: English
Author: Turner, Matthew Paul
Publisher: Grand Central Pub
Publication Date: August, 2014
ISBN-13: 9781455547340
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 6.50 x 9.25 x 1.00 Inches
ISBN-10: 1455547344
Show
Best seller ranking:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review this item. Share your rating and review so that other customers can decide if this is the right item for them.

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 0 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

The following available options may be selected during checkout:
Gift message: Add a personal note that we'll include with your gift.
Gift receipt: When you add other gift options, we'll include a receipt that keeps the price a secret but makes it easy to exchange or return an item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Returns

Returns are easy at Walmart
Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.