Gateway 15.6" NE56R31u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B830 Processor and Windows 8

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.
Consider these popular products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Gateway 15.6" NE Laptop PC exists to fulfill one goal: To be just what you need. This any day, everywhere laptop is simple to use, letting you focus on your tasks at hand. And it delivers the time-tested technologies you desire even as it offers the kind of efficiencies you love.


Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Gateway 15.6" NE Laptop PC exists to fulfill one goal: To be just what you need. This any day, everywhere laptop is simple to use, letting you focus on your tasks at hand. And it delivers the time-tested technologies you desire even as it offers the kind of efficiencies you love.


Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store

Gateway 15.6" NE56R31u Laptop PC:

Key Features and Benefits:

  • Intel Celeron Processor Laptop PC with B830 Processor

1.80GHz, 2MB L3 Cache

  • 4GB DDR3 SDRAM system memory (expandable to 8GB)

The Gateway 15.6" Laptop PC gives you the options for surfing, video conferencing, documents, basic photo editing and simple computer tasks

  • 320GB hard drive

Store 213,000 photos, 91,000 songs or 168 hours of HD video and more on the Intel Celeron Processor Laptop PC with B830 Processor

  • 8x SuperMulti DVD Burner

Watch movies, and read and write CDs and DVDs in multiple formats on the Gateway 15.6" Laptop PC

  • 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet, 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN

Connect to a broadband modem with wired Ethernet or wirelessly connect to a Wi-Fi signal or hotspot with the 802.11b/g/n connection built into your PC

  • 15.6" HD Ultrabright LED-backlit display

Intel HD Graphics with 128MB of dedicated graphics memory and support for Microsoft DirectX 10.1
Additional Features of the Intel Celeron Processor Laptop PC with B830 Processor:
  • 1.3MP HD webcam with built-in microphone
  • 5-in-1 memory card reader
  • 3 x USB 2.0 ports, 1 x headphone jack, 1 x microphone jack, 1 x RJ-45 Ethernet port, 1 x VGA port, 1 x HDMI with HDCP port
  • 6-cell lithium-ion battery, up to 4 h 30 min battery life

Software:
  • Windows 8 Microsoft
  • Microsoft Office 2010 Trial (After or during the 60-day trial, purchase an Office 2010 Product Key to activate one of the following Office 2010 suites preloaded on this PC: Office Home and Student 2010, Office Home and Business 2010, Office Professional 2010)
  • Norton Internet Security 2013 trial
  • Gateway MyBackup Solution and Recovery Management

Support and Warranty:
  • 1-year parts and labor limited warranty
  • Restore discs are not included (unless specified by supplier). We recommend you use the installed software to create your own restore and backup DVD the first week you use the computer.

What's In The Box:
  • Power cord
  • 6-cell lithium-ion battery
  • Quick Start Guide

To see the manufacturer's specifications for this product, click here.

To see a list of our PC Accessories, click here.

Trade in your used computer and electronics for more cash to spend at Walmart. Good for your wallet and the environment - click here.


ENERGY STAR®
Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.

Specifications

Processor Type: Intel Celeron
Hard Drive Capacity: 320 GB
Color: Black
Display Technology: LED ,  HD
Resolution: Ultrabright LED-backlit Display (1366 x 768)
Processor Speed: 1.80 GHz
Contained Battery Type: Lithium Ion
Maximum RAM Supported: 8GB RAM
Connector Type: 1 x DC-in, 1 x Ethernet, 1 x HDMI, 1 x Headphone, 1 x Microphone, 3 x USB 2.0, 1 x VGA
Operating System: Windows 8 64-bit
Battery Life: 4 hours 30 minutes
Model: NE56R31u
Screen Size: 15.6"
Interface Type: 5-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader
Brand: Gateway
Video Game Platform: PC
Is Energy Star-Certified: Y
Manufacturer Part Number: NX.Y1UAA.016
RAM Memory: 4 GB
Accessories Included: AC Power Cord ,  Battery ,  AC Adapter
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 58 questions
1-3 of 58 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-3 of 58 questions See all
1-3 of 58 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
51
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-10 of 136 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent Product! Excellent Value!
11/26/2012

Customer review by KingLonny

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by KingLonny
by KingLonny

This laptop has exceeded my expectations both in value and execution! It is whisper quiet, but lightning fast! You can barely tell that it is operating until you open up say Internet Explorer and the page loads in microseconds! (And this is with a wireless/router Comcast cable connection; NOT directly ethernet connected). It has everything that I was looking for: 4 Gigs of RAM, expandable to 8; good hard drive space, 320 Gigs; HDMI out; 15.6" screen; numeric keypad; Windows 8; & 3 USB ports. I am totally and completely satisfied with this product. Gateway, you have earned my utmost respect . This is a MUST-BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingLonny
Sicklerville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
11/12/2012

Customer review by Barkatan

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Barkatan
by Barkatan

This is the first laptop I've ever owned and so far, I'm very happy. The price was great and the size is just perfect. Was a little bit intimidated by Windows 8 but my son, the computer whiz, was able to set it up to look like Windows 7. My old computer is a 9 year old Dell desktop that I truly love but it's gotten outdated and it was time to graduate to a laptop. A friend bought a Gateway and was really happy with it so she recommended it to me. And you can't beat the price for a "first" laptop. I also like that it has a 10-key on the keyboard. So many of the other laptops at higher prices don't have one. Can't wait to learn all the new features!

Was this review helpful? (90) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barkatan
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Seems like an AWESOME laptop.
11/6/2012

Customer review by JRLShopper

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by JRLShopper
by JRLShopper

Well I just bought this at my local walmart about 5 hours ago, and it seems like an amazing machine for the price. about 340 with tax the screen is WIDE and beautiful HD, and Its gona be awesome playing movies on this :D. EXTREMELY FAST! Couldn't be any faster!! I downloaded garys mod, and it runs beautifully..so you can definitely play some games on this no problems. Whisper quiet ...no sound from this laptop whatsoever... overall 5/5..i doubt you'll find better for the price! I'll update this review if it crashes or something, but i really don't see that happening!

Was this review helpful? (245) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRLShopper
Delhi, Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
amazing product and worth the money
11/10/2012

Customer review by Rfergie

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Rfergie
by Rfergie

this gateway laptop is full of words to explain lol . i just purchased this product on November 9 , 2012 it fits all the qualification that i needed . its great for college students like myself , good for all the music people out there and works wonderful for watching and making movies so therefore i would totally recommend this product to anyone and everyone that's shopping for the right laptop :)

Was this review helpful? (117) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rfergie
FAYETTEVILLE , NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for a great price!
1/15/2013

Customer review by shpray

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by shpray
by shpray

I don't do a lot of gaming so I don't know if the processor is fast enough for that. I do some programming and design web pages and I couldn't have asked for a better computer for those purposes. I also like to watch videos on Netflix and I haven't had any problems doing that either. The laptop is light, the screen is very big and bright, and the mouse and camera work great. The only complaint that I can think of is that the speakers are not very loud. Although, if I'm watching a video I usually use headphones so I don't think that will be an issue either. I've noticed a few reviews that complain about the laptop getting hot. I haven't had that problem. It stays a whole lot cooler than my old Dell Latitude that used to actually get uncomfortably hot on my legs. The battery lasts a long time, too. It will last over four hours if I'm using it continuously for work or surfing. It lasts nearly three hours if I'm watching videos. If I'm turning it on and off periodically throughout the day it will last all day long. I love this laptop. Especially since it is about $100 less than a comparable system at another store. Wal-Mart knocked it out of the part with this one. Thanks!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shpray
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This was purchased for a friend
2/3/2013

Customer review by Wilie1

4.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Wilie1
by Wilie1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Gateway NE56R3u Laptop PC has worked better than expected. It is a good value for the price. It has a Celeron B820 processor which I did not expect would offer much in relation to processing speed for my friend. But it performs well with Windows 8, and has adequate RAM as well. The 320 GB hard drive is adequate, however we would have preferred 500 GB. The wireless connection operates very well also. (My friend's home is near a public library and school) He cannot afford internet for himself. But with a Hawking wireless extender was able to pull in the library's unsecured internet connection on the Gateway, and amazingly it has full strength reception. It comes with a trial version of Microsoft office and Norton Internet Security. My friend is very pleased with this Gateway, It will help him in his work, and daily routines required by both his employer, and family. The Gateway is a better than average laptop. Don't be afraid to purchase this model for your everyday needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wilie1
Castle Rock, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like It
11/25/2012

Customer review by camarodude

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by camarodude
by camarodude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Its fast,plenty of stuff for what my need are for.Nice HD graphics,DVD burner.Was super easy setup,and Im far from an expert.But for the 300 range you can not go wrong with this one!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camarodude
Osceola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
11/18/2012

Customer review by excel4ever

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by excel4ever
by excel4ever

This is a good basic computer. The Celeron processor is faster than expected. However, if you are interested in gaming I would upgrade to an Intel i5 or i7. Do not be concerned about Windows 8, it is very easy to get used to.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
excel4ever
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Best Laptop I've Had Thus Far!
11/12/2012

Customer review by ThatTechPerson

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by ThatTechPerson
by ThatTechPerson

I really love my Gateway Laptop because, it lets me play games in HD, watch all my favorite movies, and videos in HD. The screen is very clear and HUGE! The RAM is good and the speed of this bad boy is pretty fast. I use this laptop for school, and personal use. I mainly use Photoshop CS6 and it runs pretty smooth. I would highly recommend this product to everyone, and the price is practically begging you to buy it!

Was this review helpful? (80) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThatTechPerson
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good but has some quirks
12/9/2012

Customer review by skierbri10

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by skierbri10
by skierbri10

The main quirks? Windows 8 and the speakers. This is actually a nice computer, runs fairly fast and can play some games. The real issues come from Windows 8 that is totally user unfriendly. You can get it pretty close to how Win7 or XP is, but not completely. The speakers have no base to them at all. I know this is a budget pc, but the speakers are insulting. My phone plays music 100 x's better. Both those quirks are half star deductions. Where this computer does good things is the design, the keyboard, and the quality. The design is nice, it is very thin for a budget pc and the is light weight. Could it be better? Yeah probably, but you have to remember you are getting a computer that is at least $100 cheaper than others. The keyboard is good looking and quiet and has a number pad. It is still a keyboard with space to eat crumbs, but it is a good design. The quality is outstanding. I have had this computer for only a day, so reliability remains to be seen, but they put a lot of thought into the quality of this computer. It really does show. The hard drive is a bit slow, but not horrible. If you haven't been around computers long or haven't paid attention you wont notice it is just slightly slower than some I have used. I plan on replacing it with an SSD drive to hopefully turn the throttle way up. It is also nice to see they used only one memory slot and left one open. Pricing out memory you can double it for under $20. All-in-all this is a great computer, definitely a step up from a netbook or tablet. It will handle some gaming and has more than enough power for normal computer uses.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skierbri10
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-10 of 136 total reviews See all
1-10 of 136 reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.