Similar items in stock

LeapFrog LeapsterGS Explorer

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
Create a fun learning experience for your kids using this LeapFrog LeapsterGS Explorer. It puts kids in charge of the action with new motion-based play. This tablet also features a built-in camera, kid-friendly controls and much more. A library of more than 300 apps and action-packed educational games teach skills like math, science, social studies and reading. It even allows you to upload your own study lists in select games. Take control with personalized learning when you bring home this LeapFrog tablet. It comes in green and pink and is designed for children ages 4 to 9. A quick-start guide, parental guide and USB cable is included in the package. With 2GB of onboard memory, it has enough space to hold you and your child's favorites. The learning games nurture over 2,500 skills. You child can even access math sets and spelling lists from school with select apps.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Create a fun learning experience for your kids using this LeapFrog LeapsterGS Explorer. It puts kids in charge of the action with new motion-based play. This tablet also features a built-in camera, kid-friendly controls and much more. A library of more than 300 apps and action-packed educational games teach skills like math, science, social studies and reading. It even allows you to upload your own study lists in select games. Take control with personalized learning when you bring home this LeapFrog tablet. It comes in green and pink and is designed for children ages 4 to 9. A quick-start guide, parental guide and USB cable is included in the package. With 2GB of onboard memory, it has enough space to hold you and your child's favorites. The learning games nurture over 2,500 skills. You child can even access math sets and spelling lists from school with select apps.

Parents can see and share their child's learning progress through the online LeapFrog Learning Path. This tablet combines learning and fun making it an ideal gift.
LeapFrog LeapsterGS Explorer:

  • Handheld learning tablet for on-the-go educational gaming
  • 2GB of onboard memory
  • Comes with 3 kid-friendly apps:
    • Pet Pad
    • Escape of the Sillies (LeapsterGS-exclusive)
    • 1 app of your choice
  • The kid's learning tablet has an all-new motion sensor for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer gameplay
  • Navigate the LeapsterGS Explorer interface using D-pad controls, touch guidance or the included stylus
  • Built-in camera/video recorder
  • Works with LeapsterGS Explorer cartridges and apps (sold separately)
  • Learning games nurture over 2,500 skills with select games that auto-level
  • Enter math sets and spelling lists from school with select games
  • Parents can see and share their child's learning progress through the online LeapFrog Learning Path
  • This LeapFrog tablet requires 4 AA batteries (not included)
  • Includes Quick Start CD, parent guide and USB cable
  • Ideal for children 4-9 years old
  • Comes in green and pink

Specifications

Color: Green
Gender: Boys ,  Girls
Video Game Platform: LeapFrog LeapsterGS
Battery Size: AA
Age Range: 8 to 11 Years ,  3 to 4 Years ,  5 to 7 Years
Educational Focus: Early Development ,  Electronic Learning
Material: Other
Manufacturer Part Number: 39700
Model: 39700
Brand: LeapFrog
Features:

Requires 4 AA Batteries

Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 13.00 x 9.50 x 2.38 Inches
Show
Show
Best seller ranking:

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 34 questions
1-3 of 34 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
It appears that the stylus is connected on the Leapster Explorer, but I cannot tell if it is connected on the Leapster Explorer GS. This would be a determining factor in purchasing the GS because of the chance of the child losing the stylus.
by TJ 12/13/2012
7 answers
  • A. The stylus is attached to the device with a strong string which can only be broken if you cut it.
    by Busyworkingmom1312/21/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes its connected !my youngest son keeps carrying his around by holding his stylus.
    by momofaAspie11/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes
    by bargainshoppermom3411/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. it is attached by a string and also has a little compartment in the game, unless you cut it off it is attached.
    by Swenholz12/7/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it is attached.
    by pcraft11/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it is connected. It has a string attached to it, and a special slot to place it back in once they are done!
    by lotsofluvin2011/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, the stylus has a tether that has a tie point on the bottom of the device. The Stylus has a storage well on the device itself for when it is not in use.
    by LeapFrog11/18/2014
    Written by a verified representative from LeapFrog
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
We have not been able to get the battery compartment open for the Leapster Explorer GS. We just bought it because our son's Leapster Explorer wasn't working properly anymore. The directions say to push with your thumbs upwards. It has been impossible. My husband whose hands are strong from working in manufacturing wasn't able to get it. Any suggestions??
by Frustrated 12/24/2012
6 answers
  • A. I did at first.but kept working at it...it got easyer
    by momofaAspie2/27/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it is hard. Just wiggle it open....once done it gets a little easier.
    by Clownfishred1/7/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. i had that same problem..you have to push down on the arrows and slide out
    by bargainshoppermom3411/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. my husband says to push down where the arrows are and then try sliding it off its much easier that way
    by Swenholz11/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. My husband had to use his pocket knife to pry them open.
    by pcraft12/31/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. We had this same problem. We were able to open the compartment by using a screwdriver to pry it open. It seems like after it is done once it becomes much easier. We can now open it without prying it. Hope this helps.
    by Anonymous8907511/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 34 questions See all
1-3 of 34 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 160 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
37
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-10 of 139 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Same great features of the LeapPad for less!
8/4/2012

Customer review by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by LifeSongsOfABusyMom
by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

My soon to be 5 year old daughter absolutely LOVES the new LeapsterGS. She also owns a LeapPad and the new LeapsterGS has a lot of the same great features of the LeapPad (Built in camera/video, motion-based play, touch screen, tons of great educational games and apps) for less money. If you're looking for a great, educational gaming system for a great price, I would definitely recommend the LeapsterGS. LeapFrog was gracious enough to send my daughter her LeapsterGS free of charge and my opinions above are honest and completely my own. If you own anything from LeapFrog, you'll probably agree that you love all of their great products!

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LifeSongsOfABusyMom
Eastern Shore MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Might as well by a real tablet, not worth $50
7/20/2014

Customer review by Qweenie1770

1.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Qweenie1770
by Qweenie1770

I bought this yesterday for my 4 year old son and the screen is cracked already. That is not the part I am even upset about. I hate the fact that this device is $50 dollars and the 3 free apps aren't even enjoyable. Two of the apps are for editing pictures and one is a idiotic pet game that doesn't interest my 4 year old. So I went online to purchase and download him a few games and a lot of the bundles were $80! I may as well buy him a regular tablet for $100 and download FREE games in the Google play store!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qweenie1770
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love it!
12/10/2014

Customer review by Madismommy1

5.0 stars 12/10/2014 by Madismommy1
by Madismommy1

I purchased this for my just turned 5 year old daughter. She has an Ipad which she loves but I was looking for something that was educational and needed less assistance from adults. She just loves this thing and told me that she didn't want to play with her Ipad anymore. I understand that the Ipad has more capabilities but I would much rather her play on a device that is educational. I am constantly having to delete apps from her Ipad that are "free" but require additional in app purchases to even be able to use them. I did a lot of research before purchasing the leapster gs and noticed a lot of people complaining about the cost of apps. Do your research people, you can buy used cartridges from ebay and amazon that cost much less. I purchased the rechargeable battery packs from another retailer because the cost was half of what most places ask for. The setup was quick and easy. My only complaint was that the cd that came with the device for setup did not work on my macbook pro.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madismommy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too many things go wrong; not made well
11/30/2013

Customer review by LC1978

2.0 stars 11/30/2013 by LC1978
by LC1978

I honestly do not know why this got so many good ratings. Every Leapster we have had has gone bad in no time, and it is not because our son wears it out because he doesn't play it that much. The first one I got was a Leapster Explorer and the A and B rubbed off on the buttons so I took it back to exchange it for another one. Then the touch screen quit working on the second one, so I took it back to exchange it and by then there was only the Leapster GS, so I went with it. Our son has had fun playing it, but now the speaker has gone out and the only way he can hear is to use headphones. I also do not like that they changed the Leapster GS so that you have to use regular batteries instead of being able to use a rechargeable base like the Explorer, so now the batteries run down in no time. I will never buy anything from Leap Frog again after 3 times of things going wrong. I have also talked to a few others who said the touch screen quit on theirs, too.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LC1978
Amory, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good learning toy
11/22/2013

Customer review by millash22

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by millash22
by millash22
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I brought this for my two year old son and my 4 year old girl. They love it, but my only complaint is that you have to buy eveything. None if the apps are free. Overall, if you put enough games on it the kids will stay entertained.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
millash22
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great LeapFrog Product
1/4/2013

Customer review by dlgrowe

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by dlgrowe
by dlgrowe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are total LeapFrog junkies, but when this initially came out, I was adamantly opposed to getting one because it used different software that I'd have to purchase and was not compatible with the 30 cartridges we already had for our 3 Leapsters. But when WalMart put this on sale, I bought the bullet because it was similar to my older daughter's Nintendo DSi and the younger daughter's VTech MobiGo2 (another AWESOME buy)! It has been perfect! The battery compartments were beasts to get off at first. And after watching 1 Dora 30-min video on it, the batteries needed to be replaced. This isn't a problem for us because I implemented the rule that she cannot watch any videos unless the Explorer is plugged into the adapter that fits all the other LeapFrog products we own. I would definitely recommend this to others, but compare it to the MobiGo and its cheaper apps and cartridges. But the Explorer's apps we've purchased will be compatible with the LeapPad I think I may get her for her birthday this spring. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlgrowe
Mansfield, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vast improvement from the Leapster Explorer
7/30/2012

Customer review by MarinoBambinos

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by MarinoBambinos
by MarinoBambinos

I'm a big LeapFrog fan because I have seen both of my children learn from their products. My 4.5 year old daughter has a Leapster Explorer that she received last Christmas and she really enjoys playing with it. As a blogger, I had the opportunity to test out the Leapster GS and I was highly impressed with its vast improvements from the Leapster Explorer. The built in camera, video recorder, and 2 GB of internal memory are what make the Leapster GS a stand-out product. My daughter feels like she now has her own camera and video recorder (just like mama!), and can easily take photos and video on her own. The Leapster GS comes with free game apps, including her favorite one called "Escape of the Sillies". My daughter loves this app because she is able to become a silly monster character, by adding her own picture and recording her voice in the "silly lab". The game cultivates math skills, while face-morphing technology entertains and captures her interest as she is literally the face (and voice) of all the characters. I like the fact that the device is compatible with the Leapster Explorer game cartridges, so she able to enjoy all of her previously owned games on her new device. I also like the size and sleek design of the device because it is so easy for her little hands to manipulate and small enough to tuck into my purse. LeapFrog produced another great product that strengthens math, science, reading and logic skills all while having fun. I highly recommend this product for the parent who wants screen time to be educational.

Was this review helpful? (78) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarinoBambinos
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/10/2012

Customer review by ItsALongStory

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by ItsALongStory
by ItsALongStory

We have always been big LeapFrog fans in my house, so when we got the chance to review a LeapsterGS I was thrilled! We got our LeapsterGS just before we left for a road trip, and it was a life saver. My daughter is 3, so she falls just below the recommended age range. However, LeapFrog has done a great job making sure that there are games that are appropriate for little ones. My daughter loves the Word World app, as well as the Sillies game. What I love is that she is being challenged. She is already starting to play games on her own that she needed help with before. I see many years of play ahead of us with the LeapsterGS!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsALongStory
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big improvement over Leapster Explorer
8/9/2012

Customer review by bonggamom1

4.0 stars 8/9/2012 by bonggamom1
by bonggamom1

With the introduction of the LeapPad in 2011, and now the LeapPad 2, the Leapster Explorer has been left in the dust -- in fact, my kids' Leapster Explorer has been gathering dust on our shelf. But with the introduction of the Leapster GS, parents will definitely be taking notice! This latest version of the Leapster had definitely "leapfrogged" its predecessor. Almost everything I didn't like about the Leapster has been resolved: * I found the Leapster too chunky; the Leapster GS is much sleeker and more streamlined. * The Leapster did not have a built-in camera (it was sold as a separate accessory, and it was pretty clunky and pixelated); the Leapster GS has a built-in camera and videocamera. * It was so difficult to change the Leapster's batteries (you needed to twist the locking mechanism with a quarter coin in order to open the battery cover); the Leapster GS battery cover simply slides open. What's more, the Leapster GS has a larger screen, faster processors (for faster response times), and more built-in memory (so it can hold more apps). It even has a built-in motion sensor so kids can play the motion-based games that they love on other videogaming platforms -- but of course, Leapfrog's games have an educational component so parents are much happier to let their kids play! Kids can use their old Leapster Explorer game cartridges in the new Leapster GS; in there are also new games available that utilize the new features of the GS (built-in camera so you can put your face on avatars, motion-based games, etc..). I'm glad to see that the Explorer GS still has the tethered stylus and the ability to create 3 separate accounts for 3 kids -- these are 2 features that I really loved in the old Leapster Explorer. However, I'm sad to see that the GS still does not use rechargeable batteries -- it requires uses 4 AA batteries, which, with constant game play, can go dead in about 1 week. * Disclosure: I received a Leapster GS and games to review, but the views and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bonggamom1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent edutainment!
8/5/2012

Customer review by UnknownMami

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by UnknownMami
by UnknownMami

I’m a big fan of LeapFrog products as they are a great way to provide edutainment to children. The LeapsterGS came into our home and my four year old daughter took to it instantly. The LeapsterGS comes with “The Escape of the Sillies” app (which actually had me laughing out loud when I added my daughter’s picture and voice to it), the Pet Pad writing app, and your choice of one of their popular apps. The device is built well and the perfect for little hands. It has a stylus that is attached securely and stores away conveniently. It seems to be able to withstand some drops and bumps, which are bound to happen. My youngest daughter “plays” with it too, but at a year and a half she is mostly just dropping it and poking at it with the stylus and the device seems no worse for wear. Great features on the device: • Built in camera, video recorder, and microphone. • It can be preset with up to 3 kids’ information and also has a guest option. • Adjusts to individual child’s skills. Progress is remembered to keep the interaction challenging. • Apps, ebooks, and cartridges are available for purchase to expand your content library. Areas that could be improved upon: • Battery life. It would be great if it came with a rechargeable battery pack included. It is my understanding that this will soon be available for purchase, but I’d love it if it was just standard. • The apps and game cartridges are a bit pricey in my opinion, would love to see those prices lowered. I would recommend (and have) this device to friends and family. It is a great educational and entertainment tool that can grow with your child(ren) for a few years. I received a sample of the LeapsterGS and two game cartridges to facilitate my review. All statements and opinions are mine and mine alone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UnknownMami
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-10 of 139 total reviews See all
1-10 of 139 reviews

Customer Reviews | 160 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  3 months See details

Warranty Information: This LeapFrog product is warranted only to the original purchaser for a period of three months from the original purchase date, under normal use and service, against defective workmanship and material. This warranty is void if the product has been damaged by accident or unreasonable use, immersion in water, neglect, abuse, battery leakage or improper installation, improper service, or other causes not arising out of defects in workmanship or materials of the product. All warranty claims are subject to: LeapFrog being notified of the warranty claim within the warranty period, LeapFrog verifying the existence of a defect in the product, Receipt of valid proof of your purchase date. Before returning a product for any reason, please notify the LeapFrog Consumer Service Department. If the service representative is unable to solve the problem, you will be provided with instructions as to how to go about having the unit repaired or replaced if it is under warranty. Return of a product under warranty is governed by the following rules -- you must return your product, shipping prepaid and with proof of purchase date, as instructed by a LeapFrog service representative. In the event that a product under warranty is repaired or replaced, the replacement will be covered under the original warranty or for 30 days, whichever is longer. Repair or replacement is your exclusive remedy, and LeapFrog's exclusive liability, under this warranty. Replacement may consist of replacing the product with the same product or with a different product of the same value. LeapFrog shall not be liable for any incidental or consequential damages for the breach of any warranty on this product. Any implied warranty of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose on this product is limited to the duration of this warranty. Some states do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, or limitation on how long an implied warranty lasts, so the above limitations or exclusions may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may also have other rights, which vary from state to state and country to country.
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.