Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV delivers top-of-the-line picture and audio quality. This Sceptre 42" LCD HDTV features a sleek and slim look that will give your home a new feeling with its eye-catching glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM and TruSurround HD help provide you with vivid images and sound. The high-quality and superieor HD experience make the 42" 1080p HDTV a wise investment for any home.

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV delivers top-of-the-line picture and audio quality. This Sceptre 42" LCD HDTV features a sleek and slim look that will give your home a new feeling with its eye-catching glossy black housing that shines elegantly throughout the room. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM and TruSurround HD help provide you with vivid images and sound. The high-quality and superieor HD experience make the 42" 1080p HDTV a wise investment for any home.

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.

Sceptre 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X425BV-FHD:

  • 16:9 LCD panel
    With 1920 x 1080 Full-HD resolution
  • 42" class screen size
    42" screen of this Sceptre LCD HDTV is measured diagonally from corner to corner
  • Built-in digital tuner
    Watch digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available on this Sceptre 42" LCD HDTV
  • High brightness of 400 cd/m2 with 5-ms. response time
    Place your Sceptre LCD HDTV anywhere
  • 50,000:1dynamic contrast ratio
  • HDMI Inputs: 3
    Enjoy a superior HD experience with the HDMI one-cable solution


TV stand sold separately. See all TV stands.

TV mount sold separately. See all TV mounts.

Specifications

Occasion: Christmas ,  Birthday
Aspect Ratio: 16:9
Color: Black
Display Technology: LCD
Resolution: 1080p
Display Resolution: 1080p (FullHD) ,  1024 x 768 (XGA), 640 x 480 (VGA), 800 x 600 (SVGA), 1920 x 1080
Connector Type: Component, composite, HDMI ,  3 x HDMI input ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) ? 1 x VGA input ( 15 pin HD D-Sub (HD-15) ) ? 1 x audio line-in ( mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm ) ? 1 x component video input ( RCA phono x 3 ) ? 1 x composite video input ( RCA phono ) ? 1 x audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2 ) ? 1 x digital audio output (coaxial) ( RCA phono ) ? 1 x audio line-out ( RCA phono x 2 ) ? 1 x headphones ( mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm ) ? 1 x USB 2.0 ( 4 pin USB Type A ) ,  VGA (HD-15)
Dimensions: With stand ,  Panel with stand - 40.1 in x 11.3 in x 27.4 in x 37.7 lbs ? Panel without stand - 40.1 in x 3.5 in x 24.9 in
Model: X425BV-FHD
Screen Size: 40\" - 49\"
Brand: Sceptre
Is Dark Sky-Compliant: Y
Television Type: Remote control
Maximum Contrast Ratio: 50000:1
Is Energy Star-Certified: Y
Brightness: 400 cd/m2
Manufacturer Part Number: X425BVFHD
Response Time: 5 ms
Refresh Rate: 60 Hz
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 40.10 x 11.30 x 27.40 Inches
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 107 questions
1-3 of 107 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by shlm 1/26/2012
8 answers
  • A. Both the TV and Remote has a Source button and lets you select the difference source of input.
    by TechnicalSupport1/1/2013
    Written by a verified representative from TechnicalSupport
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, there is source button an a side of TV (S).
    by digy4/15/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. You can switch the input from the TV. There are a series of buttons on the side that control the channel, volume, etc. One of them is the "SOURCE" button which lets you shange the input source.
    by chadanuga2/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. There is a button on the TV that allows you to switch between different sources.
    by Giggles20002/26/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes. There are buttons on the right side.
    by Siscokidsgirl2/24/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, there is a button on the side of the set (just above the power button) that changes the input source.
    by jjaws2/24/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes, my son x-box and wii game is hooked up along with surround sound
    by lenejoy4u11/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. from the remote
    by LuanneInNY3/10/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (2)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
does it let you hook computer to it?
by joel5847 1/20/2012
8 answers
  • A. Yes you may connect your computer to this TV through the VGA/HDMI input. The VGA input is only for video so a audio input cable is necessary in order to receive sound.
    by TechnicalSupport1/1/2013
    Written by a verified representative from TechnicalSupport
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The Sceptre TV has a 3.5mm stereo audio input jack for when using VGA video input. VGA cable is video only. A second cable is used for 2-channel (stereo) audio from computer. If you look on eBay, you will see many listings for combination VGA + 3.5mm audio cable, for connecting computer audio + VGA outputs to the Sceptre TV set.
    by eteam12/4/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes. It has an HDMI or VGA access. Also has a usb so you can connect other products to the tv to view pictures or listen to music.
    by Giggles20007/6/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. it doesn't have wi fi but if you have something like a wii you should be able to. yes it hooks to a computer thru the VGA port.
    by azcritter2/17/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, pix and audio only thru a usb memory stick. Can hook computer to it for OS updates if they ever release one
    by herpderpingtonIII1/24/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I have watched netflix using this tv, works fine
    by pete1234Z2/7/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It has the capability to connect with your computer, I have not done so.
    by fuschialover7/6/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes HDMI and VGA but VGA has no sound to it.
    by 01Randy1/23/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by remraf 1/30/2012
8 answers
  • A. Yes this TV comes with 1 S-Video input on the back of the TV.
    by TechnicalSupport12/31/2012
    Written by a verified representative from TechnicalSupport
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. If you read all the answers here, you see there is a conflict. The answer for this model is yes, two. http://www.sceptre.com/pub/Manuals/HDTV/X42BV-FULLHD.pdf The scepter website clearly shows two s-video connections. One on the side and one on the back. Hope this helps...
    by technosavytoo12/15/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, it does not have an S-Video input.
    by chadanuga4/14/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. There is no S video on the TV.
    by Giggles20004/14/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it does.
    by Siscokidsgirl5/7/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (2)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. sadly no. yea let down to me too but it does have a vga so i picked up one of those cables off of ebay for 3 bucks
    by monkeyboio2884/14/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. no s-video has 4 HDMI ports usb port vga SPDIF port standard yellow video, red and white audio. there are more ports that i haven't talked about. their web site SCEPTURE.COM has more info
    by azcritter5/7/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes
    by LuanneInNY5/7/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 107 questions See all
1-3 of 107 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 636 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

636 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

636 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
346
4 stars
184
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 stars
46
1-10 of 475 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Its certainly cheap, but you get what you pay for.
1/15/2012

Customer review by Jeffredo

3.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Jeffredo
by Jeffredo

I was hoping for some great bargain, but as with anything you get what you pay for. The picture quality is fair to mediocre. The picture is fairly dull and dark (even on "Vivid"), there is an odd "rosiness" to skin tones in dark scenes that calibration wouldn't eliminate, and its not particularly sharp. The sound is pretty terrible and I don't mean normal LCD terrible, I mean terrible period. Very uneven tone from channel to channel, HD to SD. The headphone jack is useless since the level is off the scale (even with the volume on "1" its far too loud). I tried turning on and off all the various sound options (of which there are quite a few) and nothing helped much. Its not a piece of junk, but its definitely not the quality of a $600 TV as many reviewers are claiming it to be. Set up was a breeze and there panel had no dead or stuck pixels. As for Walmart's ship to store, it went very well and I'll definitely use it again. This one's going back - going to try an LG 42".

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeffredo
Oroville, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best purchase ever
1/7/2012

Customer review by PatricD

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by PatricD
by PatricD

I know you are probably like me and are thinking, "I'm not buying a Sceptre, what the heck is a Sceptre?" I spent 10 days during Christmas going through every possible web site to purchase a new TV for my bedroom (Best Buy, Target, Sears, etc.). I read at least 200 reviews and found this 42 In Sceptre, 1080. I'm really glad I purchased this TV. It sounds great, looks really nice, and for $350 it is a steal. I actually like it more than my Sony Bravia. Set up was really easy. My only issue was the silly energy saving sticker you have to peel off the bottom, I hate peeling off stickers. I also noticed that you have to push the remote buttons kind of hard, but you probably won't use that remote too often if you have cable or Dish. You will like this TV and don't worry about the name brand. Trust me, I spent so long researching every TV possible and it is really hard finding a 1080 TV this size at this price. Get the 2 year Wal-Mart warranty also and you total cost will be around $420. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatricD
Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, great price!
1/9/2012

Customer review by Loomsky

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Loomsky
by Loomsky

We recently purchased this TV and it's great! Attaching the tv to the base takes about 5 mins, they even have a small screw driver in the package....doesn't get any easier than that. You just need to read the directions! The picture quality needs to be set to vivid, again just read because it's default setting is on power saver mode...takes one sec! The sound is fine! We have a sound bar and have not even attached it yet. We have the sound serring set to standard for regular tv, as we did have in on dynamic and it was getting lower than louder during our favorite tv shows. Not sure why people have complained about the sound in previous reviews, ours is great, and loud! This tv has an excellent picture quality and I would reccommed it to anyone looking to purchase one! We saved a lot of money and it is a quality tv, don't be afraid of name brands! This tv is excellent and if we need another one in the future we would purchase a Sceptre.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loomsky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money.
12/2/2011

Customer review by Nanook1

4.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Nanook1
by Nanook1

I set this television up yesterday in my living room. The picture quality is very good. It can be easily adjusted using the Picture button on the remote. Vivid was the level that brought the most vibrant colors. Low looked to be a little muted to me as did the power save selection. Sound quality really isn't all that great. It's passable, but I would highly recommend getting a set of surround sound speakers to go with this unit. Don't forget to purchase a HDMI cable for this TV. because it doesn't come with one. The remote comes with 2xAAAA batteries. Total set up time from opening the box to watching TV is about 5 minutes. The only assembly required is mounting the base to the bottom of the TV by screwing in 7 small screws. The box includes a small screwdriver to use. As far as picture quality goes, I think that Vizio and Sony have slightly better pictures than this brand. However, the cost of this unit is about $250-$300 less and it's quality is at least on par with the other brands out there that cost much more. If I had to do this all over again and buy a TV, I would purchase this one based on the value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (213) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanook1
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not bad at all for the price
4/18/2012

Customer review by Lilkty

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by Lilkty
by Lilkty

To my taste the colors are a little bit off, but this can only be noticed in a few shows and movies with low saturation, other than that the picture is quite crisp and the size is just perfect for your average sized living room. I'd say the reason this is missing the fifth star is the sound, we bought it in a bundle with a home theater system, which fixes this issue for us but we had to get an audio output cable and we just used the TV without the home theater system meanwhile. The sound wasn't anything great, we noticed it right away. A tiny detail for nitpicky people like me is that I found it hard to turn off the motion interpolation in this TV, I had a hard time going through the menus looking for whatever name they gave to it, but some people actually like the soap-opera effect it gives to movies so I didn't really take it into consideration. Overall this is a good starter for those who enjoy watching some movies or playing HD videogames in it. It's nothing too fancy but it's nice looking and serves it's purpose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilkty
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not bad for the price
12/12/2012

Customer review by pumpkin6689

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by pumpkin6689
by pumpkin6689
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this TV for my living room to replace a nearly 30 year old RCA clunker I had in there that I should not knock since I certainly got my monies worth on that TV I finally got it all set up the other day. It was a breeze to set up everything worked the first time the cables were plugged in (even the use of only having to use one remote that belongs to the cablebox) which believe me is usually not the case when it comes to electronics in my home LOL Nearly every other TV in my home you need to use two remotes the TV remote to turn the TV set on and the cable company remote for all other functions The picture and sound quality are good and for the price I am very very satisfied I have not had the time yet to sit down and experiment with all the settings but the factory settings seem to be working just fine. The only review I read and did change was to change the picture quality to vivid which seemed to make the picture better I would recommend this TV for anyone on a budget

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pumpkin6689
GREAT NECK, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for a Great Price!!!
1/11/2012

Customer review by Driller213

4.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Driller213
by Driller213

I had to order this tv site to store(great experience). My tube TV FINALLY died and it was time to get my 1st HDTV. I spent 2 months comparing prices, brands, and specs (I wanted 4 HDMI) as I'm picky about investing alot of money in something that I want to last me a long time. I found this to be the best deal available anywhere. Picture's awesome. Sound quality's not the greatest, but it's something that surround sound can take care of. Great quality for the price. My only drawback so far is that I've got my cable box hooked up to it and the remote for the cable box interferes at times with the TV. I think they're the same frequency. I think that's something that I can fix.?.? I've already recommended this TV to multiple people. Thanks for the great overall experience!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Driller213
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy great TV so far!
10/22/2011

Customer review by llllll09

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by llllll09
by llllll09

Okay so I looked at this purchase as taking a chance.. I'd buy an off brand and then buy the 3 year extended warranty and hope for the best out of the box... I haven't been disappointed so far! The picture right out of the box is as good as my other flat screen LCD's- All name brands. I guess the only negative so far is that we can't control the TV volume with the Direct TV remote.. We'll figure that out or use two- No biggy! Everything about this TV is fine! Great picture- Great sounds, it's so lightweight we'll bring it inside and outside to the patio as planned.. Game 2 of the World Series was pretty awesome on it- Especially the top o the 9th inning!! :0 Go Rangers!! Awesome TV- Take advantage of the $379.00 price tag and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (338) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llllll09
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Sceptre 42" LCD TV - After years of use
6/4/2012

Customer review by JBHofCO

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by JBHofCO
by JBHofCO

Had to find a replacement for the dinosaur museum's show room's big screen that died and found the Sceptre 42" available as an Internet order item and well worth the time it took to get to our local Walmart store. Now years later it is still running every day 10 hours just like new. I had no second thoughts ordering as an IT manager I knew the name well as I have ordered scores of Sceptre computer monitors since the 80's and have never been disappointed. Now am waiting for my own 40" to arrive for our home - can't wait! Overall quality is fine to me considering it provides a crisp bright display that years ago would cost $800 or more to purchase. Today there seems many brand choices that have very similar features which makes me think like calculators in the 80's, technology has got it down and the prices reflect this. The addition of external speakers would be a no brainer for anyone who cares about the theater experience audio is very important and most any internal TV sound system is not going to sound as well as even with a $140 400W w/Subwoofer PC sound system. Most of us have an AVR and speaker system ready to work with the TV...No? Surge filters and power UPS helps keep things running too here as we do have a lot of lightening in Colorado above 8,000'. I'll review the 40" as soon as I get enough time with it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBHofCO
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/1/2012

Customer review by Rhjwe

1.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Rhjwe
by Rhjwe

I found this great TV online and thought for the price you can't go wrong. It was easy to set up and was working great. After 6 months of use, I turned the TV on one day and the menu display kept showing. I couldn't change the channel or control the volume. The next day the TV would not even turn on.I had a friend come over and look at it to see if there was a reset button or anything and there wasn't. Customer Service was called and they told us how to reset the TV, however that didn't work either and it still would not turn on. I called customer service three more times and no one answered. I left three messages and still have not received a phone call back. This TV will go back to Walmart and they can deal with it. I hope I don't have any problems with the return. Walmart is usually pretty good about that.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhjwe
Gwinner, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-10 of 475 total reviews See all
1-10 of 475 reviews

Customer Reviews | 636 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  Limited warranty - parts and labor - 1 year 1 Year Limited Warranty 1 year warranty See details

Warranty Information: 1 Year Limited Warranty
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.