Jane Eyre (Anamorphic Widescreen)

Jane Eyre (Anamorphic Widescreen)

About this item

JANE EYRE [DVD] [1 DISC] [REGION 1]
$10.71
$10.71
Loading options...

Shipping not available

 

Shipping

Choose your options
We will display shipping prices and delivery dates once you choose the options for this item.

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

Choose your options
We will display free store pickup prices and delivery dates once you choose the options for this item.
Customers also viewed these products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
JANE EYRE [DVD] [1 DISC] [REGION 1]

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

JANE EYRE [DVD] [1 DISC] [REGION 1]

Mia Wasikowska ("Alice in Wonderland"), Michael Fassbender ("Inglourious Basterds") and Academy Award(R) winner Judi Dench ("Shakespeare in Love") star in acclaimed director Cary Fukunaga's daring new adaptation of the timeless romance. When orphaned governess Jane Eyre (Wasikowska) arrives at imposing Thornfield Hall, she's intrigued by her brooding wealthy employer, Rochester (Fassbender). His dark moods and the strange occurrences in the house lead her to discover a terrible secret that he had hoped to hide from her forever. Critics proclaim this captivating, sensual film is "Beautiful. A splendid example of how to turn a beloved work of classic literature into a movie." (A.O. Scott, The New York Times).

Deleted Scenes, A Look Inside Jane Eyre, To Score Jane Eyre: Cary Fukunaga and Dario Marianelli Team Up, The Mysterious Light of Jane Eyre, Feature Commentary with Director Cary Fukunaga.

Languages: English and Spanish, Subtitles: English SDH (Subtitles for Deaf and Hearing Impaired), French and Spanish.

Specifications

Aspect Ratio: Anamorphic Widescreen
Original Languages: English
Edition: First
Duration: 121
Actors: Mia Wasikowska, Michael Fassbender, Jamie Bell, Judy Dench, Holliday Grainger, Tamzin Merchant, Sally Hawkins
Condition: New
Studio & Production Company: Universal Pictures Home Entertainment
Color: Y
Container Type: PACKAGE NOT AVAILABLE
Record Label: Universal
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 5.50 x 0.50 x 7.44 Inches
Release Date: 08/16/2011
Show

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 4 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

4 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

4 reviews | 5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-4 of 4 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Takes you to another time...
10/1/2011

Customer review by Rosalee

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by Rosalee
by Rosalee

Must see great Movie...Great Story line...Great Special Effects...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosalee
Woodland, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/3/2012

Customer review by native2heart

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by native2heart
by native2heart

Great adaptation of a great novel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
native2heart
Antioch, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
excellent price!!!
10/10/2011

Customer review by MRB233

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by MRB233
by MRB233

Great selection of movies!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRB233
Princeton,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
19th Century Classic For A 21st Century Generation
4/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First off, I must confess that I bought the book 11 years ago, but it sat on my shelf or packed in a box for the whole time; that is, until I watched this version. It may be 600+ pages, but I highly recommend taking the time to read it! Also, if you're interested in a semi-biographical summary of Charlotte and her family's life, you might want check out the BBC docu-drama "In Search of the Brontës" - starring Victoria Hamilton as Charlotte. _________ Contrary to this movies preview trailers, there really is no added "preternatural" elements at least in the movie itself (which truth be told, was what put me off from watching it right away). *Although, 2 of the deleted scenes have it (specifically the extended scene when Jane is leaving Thornfield Manor, and her lengthened wandering on the moors).* ...If that's what you're looking for, you'll be sure to find it in "Wuthering Heights" by Emily Brontë. (**Semi-Spoiler**: The movie starts off, basically in the middle or last two thirds of the book. Which may be a bit confusing to those unfamiliar with the story. I did read a review though, of a person who went to this film festival, and heard first hand the script writers (Moira Buffini) interpretation of why she chose to write the story the way she did, and the reason the movie starts with Jane leaving Thornfield, is so the viewer could be pulled into Jane's story right away.) Ideally, it would have been nice if they gave at least 20+ minutes more time to showcase the deeper conversations that Rochester & Jane had, and to prove that it was more than a sudden infatuation that spurred the proceeding relationship (despite their 20 year age difference). As noted earlier, the novel is some 500+ pages, so really only a miniseries could do it proper justice. However, as a stand alone (2 hour) m-o-v-i-e, all that could be condensed into that time frame without seeming too disjointed, or confusing- was. In my opinion, it captured the essence of the story quite well! I particularly enjoyed the scenery, costumes, cinematography, musical score. And last but not least, the cast- especially the leads: Michael Fassbender, & Mia Wasikowska, whose portrayals resonated with me more than most (if not all) of the previous I've seen. Dame Judi Dench is my favorite Mrs. Fairfax to date! _____ Just a quick mention... There's a lot of interesting interviews on YT with the director, and cast. I just finished watching one called "Q&A with Director Cary Fukunaga and Actress Mia Wasikowska Interview Part 1" filmed March 1, 2011 in front of a live audience (pt. 2 being a Q&A with the audience themselves). If you fast-forward to 5:10 you'll hear his take on how he approached the film. ____ Because of the time constraint, here are some of the more notable omissions/changes (**SPOILER ALERT**): - Grace Poole (Bertha's nurse). She was given about 1 minute screen time. In the book she was mentioned, and seen by Jane (as well has had a conversation with) before the whole revelation. - Various extended conversations between Rochester & Jane (namely the proposal, before Jane's leaving Thornfield, and their reunion at the end). - They should have kept one or two of the "deleted scenes" (included on the disc). Specifically the (Jane/Rochester) "Badminton in the Garden" conversation; and if not the whole veil ripping scene, at least the part where Jane's recounts it to Rochester, and his response. - The Rochester "Gypsy" scene was missing (Rochester's attempt at ascertaining Jane's true feelings towards him). I realize this is probably a difficult scene-- likely one that would require multiple re-takes because I can imagine it would be hard for the leads to keep a straight face during it. Both Michael Jayston ('73), and Timothy Dalton ('83) managed to pull it off, but it would have been interesting to see another attempt (even if it ended up as a bonus "deleted scene"). - Also, it could have been made clear as to who the Rivers siblings were in relation to Jane (cousins); which was what ultimately prompted her to divide her 20,000 pound (equal to 1.7 million pounds, or $14.0 million USD in today's value) inheritance equally between herself and the 3 of them. - The tweaked ending (Mrs. Fairfax moved away after the fire; book ending location: Ferndean manor -neither of which are major issues, but worth a mention. Also, Rochester not only lost his sight, but he also lost a hand and an eye in the fire- which only the '83 has yet to faithfully show), and again- REALLY shortened dialogue. _______ If you're not willing to read the whole book, I recommend the following chapters (which can be found online for free): - 14 (Second Rochester/Jane conversation--Insight into their characters nature) - 15 (Rochester's Celine Varens revelation; the fire) - 19 (Rochester as the old Gypsy lady) - 20 (Mason attacked; Sunrise garden conversation) - 23 (Proposal) - 27 (Jane/Rochester conversation before she leaves Thornfield) - 37 & 38 (Jane's return, and reconciliation with Rochester) ______ In conclusion, if you're looking for a stand alone movie of "Jane Eyre", this is definitely worth viewing. Otherwise, I recommend checking out one of the 3 BBC miniseries (1973, 1983, or 2007). I've seen all 3, and feel the 1973 & 83 are truest to the book. While productions from this era are theatrical/stagy, with unforgiving lighting, and a bit of a hollow sounding echo they still have their merits. Personally I enjoyed the acting of the '73 over the '83. The 2007 will likely appeal to audiences that like the modern cinema & acting experience, but it lacks the exact book dialogue (a bit "dumbed down"). There is also 3 notable changes made to the story line that I did not care for at all (**Semi Spoiler**: the worst offender being the scene between Rochester/Jane before she leaves Thornfield-- it's sadly spiced up, cheapened, utterly gratuitous, and very untrue to the book). I also felt that the actor playing Mr. Rochester (Toby Stephens) wasn't as suited for the part as MJ or MF.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer Reviews | 4 reviews | 5 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 0 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Customers also bought these products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Returns

Returns are easy at Walmart
Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.