Check out these related products

Nikon D5100 16.2MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens

Q&A
By: Nikon
Walmart #: 000608367
Nikon D5100 16.2MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
This Nikon digital SLR camera (body only) offers a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full-time auto focus. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

This Nikon digital SLR camera (body only) offers a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full-time auto focus. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.

  • 3-inch, 921,000-dot Super-Density horizontal type Vari-Angle LCD Monitor
  • In-camera Special Effects Mode, 1 Yr Camera / 5 Yrs Lens
  • In-camera HDR (High Dynamic Range)
  • Stunning Full 1080p HD Movies with Full Time Autofocus
  • ISO Sensitivity: 100-6400 (Extended Mode: 100-25600)

Specifications

Self-Timer Delay: 10 sec, 2 sec, 5 sec, 20 sec
Coverage Area: 95%
Color: Black
Exposure Modes: Program, bulb, automatic, manual, aperture-priority, shutter-priority, i-TTL program flash ,  Center-weighted, 3D color matrix II, color matrix II, spot (2.5%) ,  3D-tracking AF, Face-priority AF, Subject-tracking AF
Display Technology: Display brightness control
Resolution: 921,000 pixels
Memory Card Type: SD Memory Card, SDXC Memory Card, SDHC Memory Card, SDHC UHS-I Memory Card, SDXC UHS-I Memory Card ,  SD card
Display Resolution: 1920 x 1080
Contained Battery Type: Nikon EN-EL14
Connector Type: 1 x USB 2.0 ? 1 x HDMI output ? 1 x composite video/audio output ? 1 x microphone
Minimum Shutter Speed: 30 sec
Model: Nikon D5100 body
Number of Megapixels: 14MP & Up
Screen Size: 3"
Brand: Nikon
Flash Type: Pop-up Flash
Maximum Shutter Speed: 1/4000 sec
Magnification: 0.78x
Original Languages: Italian ,  Russian ,  Polish ,  Korean ,  German ,  Chinese (Simplified and Traditional) ,  Japanese ,  Swedish ,  Turkish ,  English ,  Arabic ,  French ,  Portuguese ,  Indonesian ,  Finnish ,  Danish ,  Spanish ,  Czech ,  Thai ,  Norwegian ,  Dutch
Focus Type: TTL contrast and phase detection
Condition: New
Has Flash: Y
Compatible Devices: USB port, CD-ROM drive
Accessories Included: Battery charger, body cap, neck strap, USB cable, eyecup, shoe cap, audio / video cable
Sensor Resolution: 16.2 Megapixel
Contains Batteries: Y
Features: High Definition Video
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 10 questions
1-3 of 10 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-3 of 10 questions See all
1-3 of 10 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 666 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

666 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

666 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
520
4 stars
99
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-10 of 665 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

nikon d5100 is a MUST HAVE
12/16/2011

Customer review by cruzz903

4.0 stars 12/16/2011 by cruzz903
by cruzz903

I have had this camera for 1 month now with the kit lens. i use it mostly for skating video's for youtube. it was a tough decision between the canon t3i. why? cause of AF-F on d5100 and manual controls on the t3i for video. generally speaking controls isn't such a big deal unless you are in bizarre conditions such as low light or when you want to create an artistic video. i have been begging for a firmware update which enables manual video control. if nikon does this, the nikon d5100 will become a godly camera! i am part of an amateur video production group we all had d5100 (mostly cause of the price, the screen and the AF-F) 5 of my friends in the group already changed to either t3i or 60d. i am the only one sticking with the d5100. the pictures on this baby are just amazing. the batery life is enough bought another battery and it can last me up to 2 hours straight video shoot 1080p the screen is also amazing. compared to the d3100 this screen just destroys the d3100's. also it's fairly light viewfinder is nice but in nightclub's it's just impossible to take a picture.

cruzz903
Aruba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is JUST what I was looking for
9/8/2011

Customer review by AMAZING

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by AMAZING
by AMAZING

I am 14 years old and have been doing photography for the past 2-3 Years. I am currently showing my art in a gallery around where I live. I like to photograph nature and animals-mostly dogs and horses. I horseback ride and when it is time for my shows my dad, who is quite the amateur, is able to take AMAZING pictures. Also, the modes and effects they have are GREAT! I use the color select and silhouette modes the most next to auto. The auto mode has done no wrong for me yet. The only complaint I have is the movie mode. The quality is AMAZING but once you download the movie to your computer there can be a lag in it. That is my own small complaint but over all its a great camera and has amazing qualities.

AMAZING
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the jump
1/19/2012

Customer review by Magnum

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by Magnum
by Magnum

I had a D50 which worked great for me, but before a recent vacation trip I wanted a camera with more resolution and capabilities. Being a Nikon diehard i bought the D5100 and have never been happier. The pictures are sharp, crisp and of course the camera used my lenses I had from my D50. an easy upgrade. On thing I did not count on using much was the 1080p video feature. But it has been a very good feature. Unfortunately I loved the D5100 so much I bought a D7000 for pictures and I take my D5100 as my backup and for video on picture shoots now.

Magnum
Huntsville, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed
8/25/2011

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by Chris
by Chris

I got the D5100 for a trip to Tanzania because I needed the following features: 1. The ability to take multiple shots rapidly, as soon as I release the shutter, to capture wildlife. I learned from trying to capture whales and bears in Alaska that point-and-shoots can't do it - they have to "think" before each shot and end up missing the action. The D5100 shoots multiple frames per second in the Sports/Action setting and got great shots of a leopard kill, hunting lions, and birds in flight. I never missed a shot because of the camera. 2. High-def video right from the camera - no separate video camera needed. Video quality is amazing. 3. Ease of use for a high-quality camera. I'm not technology savvy, but figured out the basic functions of the D5100 quickly and easily with minimal reading of the manual. I'd recommend the D5100 for all the reasons above, and the battery life was great - over 2 weeks with heavy use the battery lasted for almost 3 days at a time before it needed changing.

Chris
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First DSLR since my 35mm SLR days
3/27/2012

Customer review by GLJ in AZ

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by GLJ in AZ
by GLJ in AZ

I received this as a Christmas present and have enjoyed learning all the features of this camera, as well as, accessorizing it for my first photo "adventure." So much to learn and relearn (since my SLR days) for it is a new adventure every time I pick up the camera to learn something new. I have been using a point and shoot Coolpix E7900 succesfully for quite a number of years and will continue to do so for those impromptu images. I just added a DX 55-300mm lens w/VR and WOW, will this be fun at the ballpark or looking to get that nature shot that will be suitable for reproducing and framing. My only criticism with the package was that the manual for the unit is woefully inadequate, so I purchased Dave Busch's book. I try to work on something new each weekend. The ability to rely on auto settings while having the flexibility to become "creative" and become a "real" photographer is exciting and encouraging to someone who is again foraging into photography as a renewed hobby. Thanks Nikon!

GLJ in AZ
Arizona, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality pictures, many features
8/5/2012

Customer review by Jimmy G

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Jimmy G
by Jimmy G

I only have been using it for a few weeks, but found that all the basic functions allow me to take great pictures. So far I've only used pre-set modes. I was impressed with how the camera night landscape mode produced a stunning photo of our pool at night (using a tripod of course). I put this photo as my laptop's desktop background. One thing I would really love if Nikon included a tutorial of all the advanced features (manual mode) that this camera has. I could not find anything user friendly on Internet. It leaves the user with a choice of self trial and error or going to a photography class. I think it should be beneficial to Nikon to see that the users had a good reference tool to take great pictures using ALL the capabilities this camera offers. Lastly, I've got more than a decent quality video on first try, both motion and sound. D5100 is by far superior to what smart phones could do, it is well worth lugging with you when you need great quality pictures for life memories

Jimmy G
Southborough, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recently bought this camera. I was in between D7000 and D5100. I'm a happy camper!
7/29/2012

Customer review by Photochicken

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Photochicken
by Photochicken

I did extensive research on what to buy just to make sure I get the most bang for my buck. And so far I love my camera I recently took it on a trip to North Carolina and I'm so glad I did. I bought mine with the 18-55 mm lens and I felt it was especially good and crisp on this camera. The tilt screen is really handy with doing self portraits or pictures with friends. I am still learning how to use the camera and have had it about a week. So far no complaints! Very user friendly it even shows which setting are best for what you may be trying to shoot right on the screen. With and ISO the same as the D7000 and the camera much cheaper I had more money for another lens. I'm very happy with my purchase. Here are some pictures I have taken on auto mode as I figure out manual on Nikon cameras as I'm not used to it. Though I am not a complete amateur, I have had 2 years of photo classes and have worked with manual on film cameras for over a year. I have been taking photos for 3 years.

Photochicken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera for Beginner/Intermediates
4/18/2012

Customer review by Andrew

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by Andrew
by Andrew

This is a great camera if you're serious about getting into photography. Looking back, I now wish I got a different one because I feel like DX format and a number of other options that are found on higher end models are holding me back. Perhaps, I'm a fast learner. Perhaps, I don't use the novelty modes such as selective color or night vision, video etc.. That's just me though. I've loved the camera aside from those niggles. For a non-pro, it's a great option! Camera definitely delivers. It kind of falls in that weird area that's not beginner, yet not pro. Not intermediate, yet not high end.. The image quality is great for the price. Definitely look into faster glass for the camera however. The kit lens is nothing to be sneered at if you know how to work with it (just look at this very blue "break room", wide angle "city steps" sample picture below) but there are better options such as the 35mm f1.8G for it's low light capabilities as seen in the "lighter" picture.

Andrew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Some nice features in too small a body!
9/6/2012

Customer review by Yank

2.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Yank
by Yank

Good Day, I had the displeasure of owning a D5100 for 67 days (then I returned it!!!) and during that time failed to reach a happy medium with the awkward size and performance of this model. First, the body is so small that my right hand heel kept hitting the rocker knob and changing the settings for focus. Second, I could not set the flash to not go off and then change the dial on the top and it would return to default (flash auto). Had to reset every time. Third, set the ISO in manual or any mode that it would allow changing and go back to auto and it would default to auto ISO. Fourth, using the flip out screen (this is one of the features that prompted me to purchase this model) and putting it in live view it had to fumble to get focused and it would not capture the imiage when I hit the shutter release. Overall, totally frustrated with this model!! I have been a Nikon user for 25 years and will continue to be one. My next purchase will be the D7000, Larger body, more personized settings can be made, YEH!!

Yank
Brownwood TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Pics Low Price
4/25/2011

Customer review by Phillyphil66

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Phillyphil66
by Phillyphil66

I was shooting with a Canon 5D Mark II and had to struggle to get good Pictures The Video was great but just never was satisfied with the feel of the Canon, I was reading about the Nikon D5100 and liked what was offered, I bought one as soon as they arrived, I started shooting with it as soon as the battery was charged, I got great results and it was fun to use, Nice extras and quick response, its smaller than the so called semi pro and Pro models and is 16+ Mega Pixels The 5D was 23+ I think the Pictures from the Nikon look better and I did not have to struggle to get the shots I wanted. The the Lens that comes with it a Nikor 18-55 1:3.5 is not a very good Lens a better lens is a must. This is like a D7000 with out the Price plus you get Auto focus in Video mode that the D7000 does not offer, being in the Broadcast industry I was impressed with the Video shot in HD, I know some reviews complain about the Auto focus but when used in the right situation it fine.

Phillyphil66
Washington TWP NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-10 of 665 total reviews See all
1-10 of 665 reviews

Customer Reviews | 666 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  year Years See details

Warranty Information: Y
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.