Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR High Power Zoom Lens, DX

Loading options...
Protect your purchase with a Care Plan
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping

 from this seller
 

Shipping

Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
Free
Standard
Data unavailable
$5.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$8.97
Rush
Data unavailable
$10.97

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

Want to pick up your package for free?
Walmart offers free pickup for most orders placed online - for many items as soon as today! Tell us where you are and we'll show you which Walmart stores and partner locations near you are available for package pickup.
 
See 4 more sellers
Starting from $396.95
4 more sellers from $396.95 | Learn more
Showing 5 sellers
  • $396.95
    +Free shipping
    Walmart.com
    |
  • $396.95
    +Free shipping
    Cameta Camera Cameta Camera
    Rating unavailable
    |
  • $396.95
    +Free shipping
    Norman Camera Company Norman Camera Company
    Rating unavailable
    |
  • $396.95
    +Free shipping
    OneCall OneCall
    Rating unavailable
    |
  • $396.95
    +Free shipping
    Focus Camera Focus Camera
    Rating unavailable
    |

Other sellers on Walmart.com

In addition to Walmart.com items, we offer you products from our Marketplace Retailer partners to give you a wide range of choices.

  • Marketplace items are not returnable to Walmart.com or Walmart stores
  • Marketplace Retailers ship the items you buy from them
  • Tracking details (if available) can be found in your Walmart account

Phone: 

Email: 

 Return Policy

  • Focal Length: 55-300mm
  • Magnification: 5.5x
  • Customers also considered
    Check out these related products

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    The Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR Camera Zoom Lens is a compact, 5.5x, DX-format Nikkor AF-S telephoto lens with High Refractive Index lens element and ED glass. This camera lens is ideal for capturing distant subjects at athletic events, family pictures, dramatic sunsets, travel, and more. With built-in VR II image stabilization, this DX Nikon zoom lens gives you handheld shooting at up to four shutter speeds slower than would otherwise is made possible. It assures dramatically sharper still images and stable video captures. This high-power telephoto zoom lens includes a Tripod Deduction Mode that shuns the vibration occurring from shutter release while mounting on a tripod. The special Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM) is present in this Nikon telephoto zoom lens offers accurate, fast and silent autofocus.

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    The Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR Camera Zoom Lens is a compact, 5.5x, DX-format Nikkor AF-S telephoto lens with High Refractive Index lens element and ED glass. This camera lens is ideal for capturing distant subjects at athletic events, family pictures, dramatic sunsets, travel, and more. With built-in VR II image stabilization, this DX Nikon zoom lens gives you handheld shooting at up to four shutter speeds slower than would otherwise is made possible. It assures dramatically sharper still images and stable video captures. This high-power telephoto zoom lens includes a Tripod Deduction Mode that shuns the vibration occurring from shutter release while mounting on a tripod. The special Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM) is present in this Nikon telephoto zoom lens offers accurate, fast and silent autofocus.

    The Nikon 300m VR lens also has Super Integrated Coating (SIC) that escalates light transmission effect and reduces flare, while providing finer color consistency.
    Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm High Power Telephoto Zoom Lens:

    Technical Information
    Nikkor AF-S Focal Length:

    • 55-300mm Magnification
    • DX Nikon zoom lens with 5.5x Aperture Range
    • f/4.5 to 22 Focus Distance
    • 4.6' (1.4m) Filter Attachment Diameter
    • High-power telephoto zoom lens has a 58mm screw-on Lens Construction
    • 17 elements in 11 groups Nikkor AF-S Telephoto Lens Drive
    • Autofocus with Silent Wave Motor (SWM) and manual focus Viewing Angle
    • Nikon Nikkor AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR Camera Zoom Lens has 5 degrees 20' to 28 degrees 50' DX Physical Characteristics


    Nikon 55-300mm zoom lens dimensions:

    • 3.0" diameter x 4.8" long Nikon 55-300mm zoom lens weight
    • 580g Miscellaneous


    Nikon 55-300mm zoom lens compatibility

    • DX, FX in DX crop mode

    Specifications

    Camera Lens Type: Tele, zoom
    Focal Length: 55 mm - 300 mm
    Color: Black
    Lens Type: Telephoto Zoom Lens
    Mount Type: Nikon F
    Diameter: 3"
    Model: 2197 Lens
    Brand: Nikon
    Compatible Brands: Nikon
    Magnification: 0.28
    Maximum Aperture: 4.5
    Fabric Content: 100% Fabric
    Lens Coating: Nikon Super Integrated Coating
    Focus Type: Automatic, manual
    Lens Diameter: 58 Millimeters
    Condition: New
    Manufacturer Part Number: 2197
    Accessories Included: Lens hood, soft case, dust cap, lens cap
    Minimum Aperture: F/22
    Features: ED glass, Silent Wave Motor (SWM), High Refractive Index lens (HRI)
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 4.80 x 3.00 x 3.00 Inches
    Show

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 30 questions
    1-3 of 30 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    1-3 of 30 questions See all
    1-3 of 30 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    175 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    175 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    93%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    118
    4 stars
    45
    3 stars
    7
    2 stars
    2
    1 stars
    3
    1-10 of 162 total reviews
    93%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    I love this lens
    5/14/2011

    Customer review by 1914SIGMA

    5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by 1914SIGMA
    by 1914SIGMA

    I am a beginner when it comes to DSLR camera. However I have a IT degree. At first I started out as a person who took picture for a hobby. Then I decided to use it as a side gig. I purchased the D3100 and it took great shots. After taking portrait shots and family shots I quickly became know as the photographer in my local area. After having a couple gigs under my belt I realized that I need a better lens that will allow me to get closer to the subject from a far. I have book my first wedding and it is tomorrow. A few hours ago I was able to use it during the wedding rehearsal and I am so excited about the quality and now that I don't have to worry if I'm close enough or is the lighting bright enough. The building that I will be shooting in tomorrow is an old building which means the lighting is not the brightest. However this lens was able to still perform with and without the flash. When I first opened and use this lens I decided to take a picture of a subject using the standard lens that come with the d3100 18-55mm lens zoomed all the way. Then compared it to the 55-300 lens zoom all the way and I must say the picture speak for itself. If you are just starting out in photography I would say that this lens is all you need for at least a year, but a course once you get into photography you will notice that every lens has it's own special characteristic.

    Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    1914SIGMA
    RICHMOND, VA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Great Lens
    7/2/2011

    Customer review by Purpose4lyfe

    5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Purpose4lyfe
    by Purpose4lyfe

    I was skeptical about purchasing such a expensive lens from Wal-mart. I'm a true Best Buy customer but decided to give Wal-mart a try. I just received my lens and have had it about a week. To my surprise, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. The lens is GREAT addition to my 18-55mm and does wonderful with my Nikon D60. The zoom gives me the ability to take close-up pictures from a distance. I have a few gigs lined up for the next week which include taking some Senior Pictures and a wedding in a few months. I'm excited and glad that I bought this lens :<)

    Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Purpose4lyfe
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    expand your experience
    3/8/2012

    Customer review by MrWog

    5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by MrWog
    by MrWog

    If you want to expand your photo-taking experience, this one will fill the bill. Get over the F4.5 It's the best you are ever going to get with 300mm. Sharp pictures without having to get too close to mother nature's creatures. You will find it is worth the extra money over the 70-200mm.

    Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    MrWog
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    55-300 Nikon Lens is Awesome
    4/21/2011

    Customer review by Photodeb

    5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Photodeb
    by Photodeb
    Walmart associate

    The 55-300 lens does a great job. I was afraid for the price that I wouldnt get a great lens, but it does an awesome job. The VR is great for hand held at 300. The pictures are sharp and moves smoothly. The lighting holds up well for the 300. For the price you are getting a great lens that does a great job.

    Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Photodeb
    Greenfield,Iowa
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Walmart associate
    I Love this Lens...PHEWWWWWWw
    5/25/2011

    Customer review by sugarlipsguy

    5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by sugarlipsguy
    by sugarlipsguy

    Hi, I totaly agree with its a nice lens ..Recently i bought a Nikon D3000 with a body lens 18-55 & I was supposed to go for a Nikon 70-300...but when I was in the outlet where the Nikon products are being sold ..I found this lens & the seller told me its a very good lens ...though I am an amatuer in photography...I mounted the lens on my cam & had some trial shots...I was not dat happy coz i wasnt used to these types of lenses & neither i had knowledge bout lenses...I bought it & at home I tried clicking ...mannnnnnnnn da output was amazing..I really liked the lens & am happy dat I got dis lens

    Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    sugarlipsguy
    Sanguem Goa, India
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    Great Addition to the DX Line-up
    2/21/2011

    Customer review by PTNDSLR

    5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by PTNDSLR
    by PTNDSLR
    Top 25 contributor

    his lens is fantastic - especially for $399. My first concern was whether it not it had a plastic or metal mount since some DX lenses in this price range have plastic. I even contacted Nikon and they couldn't (or wouldn't) tell me. Well, I was really pleased to see that it does have a metal mount. It has a nice solid feel to it. The zoom movement is smooth and I haven't had any problem with lens creep when I'm aiming it downward. Even when I point the camera downward and shake it, it won't creep. I'm just beginning to get into testing it but my preliminary pictures are coming out nice - really nice. The sharpness is amazing and the lens produces a very nice bokeh. I posted the image of the dragonfly with the chicken wire background (see the customer uploads) Check out the detail in the wings. That shot says it all. It was HAND HELD and cranked all the way out to 300mm. The original image is great but a lot of the detail was lost with the upload to Amazon. But - none the less - it's still pretty sharp. The auto focus on this lens is fast, smooth, quiet and very accurate. It locked right in on the subject. It was set on aperture priority at f/8 1/500sec for the shot that I posted here (shot with a D-90). The VR on this lens is great. The detail I get with hand-helds just amazes me. It has Nikon's VRII image stabilization and it even has a tripod detection mode that reduces any vibration from shutter release when it's on a tripod. Colors are rendered accurately and the contrast is pretty sharp even at the max aperture. The lens is compact for a 300mm and it's lighter than my AF-S DX 18-200mm which I use as my regular walk-around. I'm sure the new 55-300 will be used as my walk around pretty frequently also. All in all for an APS-C lens, Nikon did a great job with this one - especially for the price. It's a welcome addition to the DX line and I'm really glad I have one in my gear bag.

    Was this review helpful? (72) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    PTNDSLR
    NC, USA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Once per week
    Top 25 contributor
    Can't beat the price
    6/21/2012

    Customer review by Jeff

    5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Jeff
    by Jeff

    I really recommend the this over it's 55-200mm counterpart. It's beefier and feels more rugged. The metal attachment ring elevates it outta the "cheap" category IMO. The 300mm really comes in to play at this end, Wet lands, parks and wild life take on a whole new meaning when you can fill the frame from a considerable distance. Not to mention just walking around street photos. it's not ridiculously big that it draws attention to yourself, OK a little but not a crazy amount. This lens actually has VR2. In practice IMO you still need to be steady, and at 300mm in low light at f5.6......forget it, you need a tripod or something to rest the camera on. Images are sharp and look great, focus is quick and accurate. Unless your some kinda serious pro this lens is more than gets the job done. I recommend totally. One last thing it comes with the simple round hood, I wish it came with the cooler looking "flower" type, that's a oh well whatever not gonna sweat that little point.

    Jeff
    British Columbia, Canada
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Excellant product
    1/7/2011

    Customer review by raybug

    5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by raybug
    by raybug

    Great range lens and high quality

    Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    raybug
    Florida
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Once per week
    Great Lens For Good Price
    6/20/2011

    Customer review by BFreeton

    5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by BFreeton
    by BFreeton

    If you need a great lens for outdoor sports photography, this is the one. 55-300mm allows effectively to shoot track and field, football, soccer, and even baseball. For basketball you would need a much faster lens, which would cost 10x the price. This lens is also good for photographing parades and animals in the wild.

    Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    BFreeton
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    Good outdoors lens
    4/14/2011

    Customer review by Nice lens!

    4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Nice lens!
    by Nice lens!

    Recently I bought a Nikkor 55-300VRII lens to use for my sons track meets and baseball games and also for some wild life shots. I tried it out on 3 different occasions and have come to these conclusions. 1. It is lighter then I had expected which is a plus in my book. I tried the 70-300VR and it felt much heavier. 2. This lens is very sharp, especially at the short to mid range. At 300mm it is quite sharp also. 3. The VRII works great. This is my first lens with VR and what a difference it makes. I shot at 300mm at 1/80 of a second and the pictures were tack sharp. 4. The price you pay for what you get, it is a steal. IMO Now for the only negitive. It's not the fastest focusing lens around but it's still not too not bad. It will do for what I need it for and that's why you buy a certain lens in the first place. PS had it been faster focusing I would have given it 5 stars. But as it is I'd give it 4 1/2 stars if I could.

    Nice lens!
    Olyphant, Pa.
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    1-10 of 162 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 162 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?
    Customers also viewed these products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  5 years NIKON USA Warranty See details

    Warranty Information: 5 years NIKON USA Warranty
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Returns

    Returns are easy at Walmart
    Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.