Similar items in stock

Sony MHC-EC909iP Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System

Q&A
By: Sony
Walmart #: 000511993
Sony MHC-EC909iP Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Sony Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System charges, plays, and controls your iPod or iPhone. This Sony Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System is a complete mini audio system that's still small enough to store out of the way when not in use, or up on a convenient shelf. The Sony Music Shelf System is more than just a stereo and speakers for your iPhone/iPod player, it also sports and CD player, an AM/FM radio, and an alarm clock. The Sony Shelf System has a single-disc CD player with CD-R/RW and MP3 playback capability that accommodates not only factory-pressed CD-Audio discs, but also consumer-recorded CD-R and CD-RW discs, you can play any CD around with this hi fi stereo system. This Sony Music Shelf System also features an AM/FM tuner with 30 station presets, and includes a remote control.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Sony Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System charges, plays, and controls your iPod or iPhone. This Sony Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System is a complete mini audio system that's still small enough to store out of the way when not in use, or up on a convenient shelf. The Sony Music Shelf System is more than just a stereo and speakers for your iPhone/iPod player, it also sports and CD player, an AM/FM radio, and an alarm clock. The Sony Shelf System has a single-disc CD player with CD-R/RW and MP3 playback capability that accommodates not only factory-pressed CD-Audio discs, but also consumer-recorded CD-R and CD-RW discs, you can play any CD around with this hi fi stereo system. This Sony Music Shelf System also features an AM/FM tuner with 30 station presets, and includes a remote control.


Sony MHC-EC909iP Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System:

  • Charges and plays iPod/iPhone when docked
  • Output Power: 540W
  • 30 AM/FM presets increase music selection
  • Plays back CDs, CD-R/RWs, and MP3s: a complete hi fi experience
  • Clock, alarm included in system
  • Sony mini stereo includes remote control

Specifications

Audio Feature: Radio ,  CD/MP3 player
Number of Channels: 30
Display Technology: LCD
Watts: 180 Watt - 12 Ohm - at 1 kHz - THD 10% - 2 channel(s) ( main ) ? 180 Watt - 12 Ohm - at 80 Hz - THD 10% - 1 channel(s) ( subwoofer )
Manufacturer Part Number: MHCEC909IP
Connector Type: 1 x audio line-in ( mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm ) - front ? 1 x IPod docking - front
Dimensions: Main unit : 7.9 in x 15.3 in x 12 in / 12.6 lbs ? Speaker system : 8.7 in x 8.5 in x 12 in / 6.2 lbs ? Speaker system : subwoofer : 11.1 in x 12 in x 12 in / 12.1 lbs
Model: MHCEC909IP
Accessories Included: 2 x speaker cable - 5 ft ,  AM antenna, remote control, FM antenna, antiskid pads, speaker cable
Brand: Sony
Number of Discs: 1
Features: LCD ,  CD/MP3 player, radio ,  Power supply - internal ,  Dynamic Sound Generator X-tra (DSGX) ,  CD - Response Bandwidth - 20 - 20000 Hz - SNR - 90 dB - Dynamic Range - 88 dB ,  Digital clock, timer, sleep timer ,  Yes ,  Playback, sleep
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 21.70 x 20.40 x 17.20 Inches
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 137 questions
1-3 of 137 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
1-3 of 137 questions See all
1-3 of 137 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 203 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
46
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
1-10 of 177 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

GREAT DEAL FEE HEADPHONE FAST FREE SHIPPING
12/30/2011

Customer review by pas1964

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by pas1964
by pas1964

What a great deal not only is this Sony MHC-EC909iP Mini Hi-fi Music Shelf System 100% awesome (gave it to my teenage son 4 Xmas HE LOVES IT!!),...walmart gives you (2) pairs of "free wireless headphones!!" i could not find this cheaper anywhere on the internet INCLUDING E-BAY! the ones on e-bay were $20 to $40 more + a huge shipping charge and NO 1 ELSE BUT WALMART INCLUDED THE FREE WIRELESS HEADPHONES! The shipping was free,the check out was fast easy & secure with paypal as a payment option!(my personal FAVORITE way 2 pay 4 items bought online PERIOD!) Right from the start i could track my order online and arrived much earlier than arrival date quoted on the invoice, shipped via FedEx I was able to track the package on every step of it journey & i opted 4 the FedEx email updates every movement was sent right to my smart phone I was notified what day the package was 2 arrive and a delivery notification was sent when the package arrived Ive been buying & selling on e-bay since 2003, and i can tell you 4 a huge company like WALMART I WAS 100% SATISFIED ON THE PRICE, SHIPPING COST & SPEED OF DELIVERY! I would ABSOLUTELY buy from Walmarts internet site again & refer it 2 my FAMILY AND FRIENDS!!, quixbids,shore it amazon.com & e-bays top sellers have nothing on WALMARTS LOW ITEM PRICE & 5-STAR SPEED-0-LIGHT "FREE" SHIPPING & I would have never guessed i could get a better deal from a "BIG BOX STORE " LIKE WALMART COMPARED 2 THE INTERNET AUCTION SITES. Do your self a favor and check WALMART 1st on big ticket items like this, you just might b pleasantly surprised as i was THANK YOU WALMART YOU MADE MY TEENAGE SON VERY VERY HAPPY THIS CHRISTMAS I WISH ALL OF YOU A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!! PAUL EPPING NH

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pas1964
epping nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!
7/18/2010

Customer review by Cbak78

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by Cbak78
by Cbak78

This system is well worth the $197 price tag. I'd much rather pay the extra $100 to get this over one of those little Ipod docks that doesn't have anywhere near the power this system has. The quality of sound is good, not great as you'd find in a $500+ system, but it sounds good all the way up to max volume. At that point you can hear it clear from outside the house and with the right EQ settings you can really feel the bass. You cannot manually adjust the bass and treble, but it has pre-set equalizers and it also has a mode where it takes the EQ settings from your MP3 player or Ipod. While I would love to have the Sony ZX99i because I have heard it and it's amazing, it is $528 and I can't justify the difference in price when I can have this system and a nice TV for the same price of that system. If you have money floating around go get that system, but if you're looking to add a great system and you're on a budget, this one is perfect. Not only do I love this for music, but with a few inexpensive connector cables I can hook this up to my TV for movies, games and television using the PC input. The only negative I can think of is that it doesn't have a headphone jack, but that doesn't bother me too much because if I want to listen to music using my headphones I'll just plug them directly into my Ipod. All in all this is a great Mini Hi-Fi with a whole lot of UMPH for under $200.

Was this review helpful? (150) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cbak78
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great System
9/2/2010

Customer review by computerman419

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by computerman419
by computerman419

I was doing some research on some different systems and I came across this one. I went to the store and bought it and it exceeded my expectations by 500 percent. The rated wattage is 530 watts, which is very loud. I blast the system every day for 2 hours on full and it still sounds just as good as the first day I got it. This system also has great bass. The only thing that I don't like about it is that you can not control the bass. It is either on or off. Overall, This is a great system!

Was this review helpful? (231) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
computerman419
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Choice!
11/9/2010

Customer review by hatestoreshopping

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by hatestoreshopping
by hatestoreshopping

We bought this for our Annual Halloween Party that we have in our 700 sq ft garage. I was hesitant that it wouldn't have enough volume, but it exceeded my expectations! The sound is excellent and clear. I now have the stereo set up in my game room next to my office. The remote is great for that! I would definitely recommend this CD/Ipod/Iphone playing stereo to anyone for home or garage, even party rooms.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hatestoreshopping
Big Cabin, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing!
11/12/2010

Customer review by KingJane

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by KingJane
by KingJane

I bought this stereo system six months ago and I have never had a single problem with it. The sound quality is amazing even with the volume is cranked way up, unlike some sound systems I've had in the past of the same price range. The only things I don't like about it is that the radio receiver doesn't work very well (possibly because of where I have it set up). Also it doesn't have a RCA audio input, but a cheap adapter can resolve that.

Was this review helpful? (55) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingJane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
GOOD and BAD
9/11/2010

Customer review by trump5

3.0 stars 9/11/2010 by trump5
by trump5

Theres NO way this unit is 500+ Watts, As soon as i saw the needle thin speaker wires and the thin flakeboard speaker enclosures i knew they were really stretching the numbers. Also the power cosumption is 250 watts.how do you get 500+ watts from 250 watts,you dont. My 200 watt Technics consumes 280 watts. THe disc loading door is really flimsy,dont expect it to last long. Now the good. The high end sound is very clear bass is OK but dont expect the bass of a true 500 watt system as its not there. overall if you dont expect to WOW your house parties and dont play high volume very often you should be satisfied.At medium and low volume it sounds very good.There is no high volume as in my opinion it does not get house party loud. CDs sound very good. Theres no bass and tremble controls only a set of different pre-programmed music EQ music types like rock ,jazz,pop,flat,ect. And most functions can only be controlled from the remote so if you lose the remote your in trouble. Its a good thing it is relatively cheap or i would be taking it back. Will use it often while still in the 90 day return period.

Was this review helpful? (21) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trump5
Central Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sound exceeds expectations!
3/9/2011

Customer review by wmisawesome

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by wmisawesome
by wmisawesome

I bought this site to store for $200 after taxes, definitely worth the money. Took it out of the box when I got home to test if it will do the job of providing music for my 14 year old's bday party; wow, she's stoked. The bass, mids and highs are great. Ipod/Iphone function is flawless. I understand that it's not a home theater system, but I'm surprised that there is absolutely no way to hook it up to the tv, hence the low expectations score. If you're looking for a mini hifi, just for music and pc sound, look no further.

Was this review helpful? (74) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wmisawesome
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Stereo
2/12/2011

Customer review by MVorrath

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by MVorrath
by MVorrath

We bought this stereo from Walmart to hook up to the tv to listen to the tv in stereo quality. We couldn't be more satisified with the sound quality. It sounds great and is easy to use. We don't have to switch buttons to listen to the tv or watch a movie. It is all in one setting.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MVorrath
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a system for the price!!
6/17/2011

Customer review by Redburn237

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by Redburn237
by Redburn237

Sharp, polished, LOUD and for a component shelf system it shakes your whole house. As some people have said about the iPod docking station not being so stable, make sure you lock the sliding lock button inside the docking station when it is down to lock it sturdy and level. Walmart price is best I have seen and I did a buy online and pick up at local store with in stock product. Was ready to pick up in my local walmart in like 6hrs. Just get it if you want semi-portable tunes system....worked awesome for our backyard BBQ.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redburn237
Midland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good if you like loud, booming music!
9/24/2010

Customer review by Jeseeka21

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by Jeseeka21
by Jeseeka21

I love this stereo! I think its worth the money fer sure. I use it to listen to music on my zune and on my laptop. I love watching movies on my laptop and this was a great addition to the movies i watch. I can just plug in the cable(which you have to buy, but its only like 5 bucks) to my laptop and it will come out of the stereo sounding like I'm actually in the movie theater. The sub woofer is my fave part about the stereo. It move my whole room! What I'm saying is if you don't know if you should buy it, buy it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeseeka21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-10 of 177 total reviews See all
1-10 of 177 reviews

Customer Reviews | 203 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?
Consider these popular products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  year Years Limited warranty - 1 year 1 year warranty See details

Warranty Information: Sony Electronics Inc. (Sony) warrants this Product (including any accessories) against defects in material or workmanship as follows: 1. LABOR: For a period of one (1) year from the date of purchase, if this Product is determined to be defective, Sony will repair or replace the Product, at its option, at no charge, or pay the labor charges to any Sony authorized service facility. After the Warranty Period, you must pay for all labor charges. 2. PARTS: In addition, Sony will supply, at no charge, new or rebuilt replacements in exchange for defective parts for a period of one (1) year. After the warranty period, you must pay for all parts costs. 3. ACCESSORIES: Parts and labor for all accessories are for one (1) year. To obtain warranty service, you must take the Product, or deliver the Product freight prepaid, in either its original packaging or packaging affording an equal degree of protection, to any authorized Sony service facility. This warranty does not cover customer instruction, installation, set up adjustments or signal reception problems. This warranty does not cover cosmetic damage or damage due to acts of God, accident, misuse, abuse, negligence, commercial use, or modification of, or to any part of the Product, including the antenna. This warranty does not cover damage due to improper operation or maintenance, connection to improper voltage supply, or attempted repair by anyone other than a facility authorized by Sony to service the Product. This warranty does not cover Products sold AS IS or WITH ALL FAULTS, or consumables (such as fuses or batteries). This warranty is valid only in the United States. Proof of purchase in the form of a bill of sale or receipted invoice which is evidence that the unit is within the Warranty period must be presented to obtain warranty service. This warranty is invalid if the factory applied serial number has been altered or removed from the Product.
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.