Similar items in stock

Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Q&A
By: Bissell
Walmart #: 001597165
Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Bissell Vacuum with its Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Function has a detachable canister that easily cleans your stairs and hard-to-reach areas where pets like to sleep. A multi cyclonic system extends suction power for better cleaning performance. This Bissell vacuum is the perfect tool to thoroughly clean pet hair and more from carpet and bare floors.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Bissell Vacuum with its Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Function has a detachable canister that easily cleans your stairs and hard-to-reach areas where pets like to sleep. A multi cyclonic system extends suction power for better cleaning performance. This Bissell vacuum is the perfect tool to thoroughly clean pet hair and more from carpet and bare floors.

Bissell Vacuum, Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Model:

  • Canister detaches to easily clean your stairs and hard-to-reach areas where pets like to sleep
  • Multi-cyclonic system extends suction power for better cleaning performance
  • Bissell Vacuum with Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Function thoroughly cleans pet hair and more from carpet and bare floors
  • Multi-layer filtration
  • Quick-release cord wrap
  • 30-ft. power cord
  • Easy-empty dirt container with no messy bags
  • 7 height adjustments
  • Wide 15" cleaning path
  • Ultra-soft bumper


See all vacuums on Walmart.com. Save money. Live better.

Specifications

Color: Blue
Recommended Use: Residential
Manufacturer Part Number: 89Q9
Container Type: Box
Model: 89Q9
Accessories Included: ASSORTED
Brand: Bissell
Features: Yes
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 13.50 x 15.00 x 44.00 Inches
Show

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

315 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

315 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
190
4 stars
67
3 stars
15
2 stars
13
1 stars
30
1-10 of 305 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

What you need to know
7/1/2014

Customer review by AnAppealToHeaven

3.0 stars 7/1/2014 by AnAppealToHeaven
by AnAppealToHeaven

First the good. I have had it for at least 6 months now and the suction is still great. Light enough for me to carry up and down stairs. I like being able to empty it everytime I vacuum. Now the bad: 1)The pet hair handle, which is one of the main features that I bought this vacuum for, is pretty much useless. Doesn't bother me so much because the vacuum itself is good at getting up the pet hair up. 2)Design Flaw A- There are two sections to the filter/canister portion. There is no way to access and clean the upper part where the filters are. Dirt and hair just stays up there. If there's a way to clean it, I haven't figured it out yet. When you take the lower canister off to empty it, some of the dust and dirt that is still in the upper portion falls out onto the ground and the vacuum cleaner itself! 3)Design flaw B- The 'lift off' part neither stands up, nor lies flat. You constantly wrestle with this thing. It is tall and skinny, with the hose portion attached at the top. The slightest movement of the hose causes it to fall over. The back is where the hose attaches so you can't lay it down on that side. But the front is curved so it doesn't lie flat either. The sides are also a no-go for the same reasons. One side has the hooks for the power cord, for example. It's always rocking, rolling, falling. 4) Design Flaw C- the exhaust is at the back so it blows directly on to you. Use this thing for more than 5 minutes and you are being bathed in hot stinky air. And I only use it to vacuum one bedroom, a hall and an area rug! I dont hate it, but I cannot recommend it. Show details

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnAppealToHeaven
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum
2/2/2014

Customer review by RuralCountryGal

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by RuralCountryGal
by RuralCountryGal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a 2 year old lab that sheds like crazy and this vacuum pickups all of his hair with no problems. The first time I emptied the vacuum, I thought with all the hair I picked up I could of got another pet out of it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuralCountryGal
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best vacuum for Mohawk smartstrand silk carpet
12/5/2013

Customer review by bargaincrazy17

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by bargaincrazy17
by bargaincrazy17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love to vacuum now, really!!! I have been trying to push my older Hoover windtunnel on my new Mohawk Smartstrand Silk carpet for months. It's awful! It was almost impossible to push and left deep grooves. I had read online that finding a vacuum for this type of carpet was near impossible and someone recommended this Bissell 89Q9. I ordered it online with free shipping and it arrived very quickly. My son put it together for me and I put it on the highest setting and started to vacuum. I am absolutely thrilled at the ease that it glides over the carpet. Plus, when I tested the vacuum for the first time I had just vacuumed with my older vacuum so I didn't expect to find any dirt in the canister. I was shocked when I saw how much dust/dirt it still picked up. This vacuum also works great on my hardwood floors. There are two or three other vacuums recommended by others for the silk carpet but this one had all the features I was looking for - good price, bagless, and onboard tools.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargaincrazy17
Plainwell, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works on New Soft Nylon Carpeting
6/30/2014

Customer review by oregonstategrad

4.0 stars 6/30/2014 by oregonstategrad
by oregonstategrad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I LOVED by old vacuum cleaner......however, after purchasing new Soft Nylon Carpets I quickly learned that my old vacuum would NOT work on it!!! I began researching ones that would work. Some of the carpet manufacturers put out lists of vacuums they recommend, so I began by checking those out. The Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9 was one of those. It was in the mid to low price range and got very good reviews. It was one of the only ones that reviewers specifically talked about it working on the New Soft Nylon Carpets!!!! Thus my decision. So far so good....the adjustable carpet/floor heights is what makes the difference. Here is my only complaint: the WEIGHT....It weighs 26 lbs versus my old one which weighed only 10 lbs......I decided that I will keep this new vacuum on our lower floor where the new carpet is and have put our old one upstairs. I can use this one on the stairs as the canister part comes off for this use which is a plus.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oregonstategrad
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great vacuum!
2/13/2010

Customer review by klhanks5

4.0 stars 2/13/2010 by klhanks5
by klhanks5

I have to say I read a lot of reviews before buying this vacuum. I finally settled on this one and knew the issues I would have before buying. The filters on this vacuum do have to be kept clean in order to avoid some of the problems that other people are experiencing. It will lost suction and make a high pitched noise if you don't keep the filters clean. I clean mine after every use and have had the vacuum for 4 years. I was online today looking to see what the price was as I was going to buy another one my husbands office. I think this is an amazing vacuum but you have to be willing to keep the filters clean, which really you should be doing with any vacuum! Just know that this vacuum is worth the money if you are willing to take care of it.

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klhanks5
Spanish Fork, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love, love, love this vacuum
4/9/2014

Customer review by UtahDawn

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by UtahDawn
by UtahDawn

After getting new carpet for my home (soft, plush Mohawk) I almost despaired of ever being able to clean it. Tried the Dyson, Shark, Eureka, Dirt Devil. Kept buying vacuums and brought them home, and couldn't move them on the carpet, so had to keep returning them. And don't try taking a carpet sample in and trying that out. We did that. Took a large piece of carpet into Lowe's and tried all their vacuums on it. The Eureka worked great. Got it home, and I had to struggle to just move it on my carpet. At the store though we didn't have the pad under it. Finally, because of reviews here, I ordered the Bissell 89Q9 from Walmart. It came in just a day, and I can't believe how beautifully it works. I don't even have it on the highest setting, and it moves like a dream. Seems to take up a lot of stuff from carpets that were supposed to be clean. So I highly recommend this vacuum, especially for those very soft plushes.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UtahDawn
Farmington Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Favorite Vacuum
4/7/2010

Customer review by hschoolingmomof2

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by hschoolingmomof2
by hschoolingmomof2

We have owned this vacuum for about 4 years now. It is the first vacuum that has lasted me over a year. We have 5 pets-2 dogs and 3 cats, plus 2 kids. My vacuums have to work and they have to last. I love this bissell. I have never had to replace the belt and the motor has never even waivered. I had a bit of trouble with the hand held vacuum device, but I called Bissell and they sent me out a new one. I also own the Bissel 2x cleaning machine, which I love and the Pet Hair Eraser, that I don't particularly like. The Lift off has convenient attachments and the filters are easily cleaned and emptied. I don't really find them messy, but if you are not familiar with bagless, I can see where you might think they are. This is by far the nicest bagless I have owned. We have owned Dirt Devil, Hoover, Eureka and some Shark kind. Even the Pet Hair Eraser isn't as good as this one. The suction on the Lift off is excellent and REALLY picks up the dog hair. The other thing I like about it is that when the unit is in the upright position, the rotator bar automatically stops. I had a Hoover that ate through my new carpet because the rotator bar kept going. You can also turn the rotator bar off and on and it works well on hard floors. The foam filters can be washed and air dried. I purchased a second set so that I can rotate them without waiting for the filters to dry. I even washed the hepa filter, though you are not suppose to. Having used many kinds of vacuums, I HIGHLY recommend the Lift Off.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hschoolingmomof2
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for six months and then lost all of its suction.
4/12/2014

Customer review by #nastycarpet

1.0 stars 4/12/2014 by #nastycarpet
by #nastycarpet

Very bummed out about this vacuum. I purchased the red lift off a few years ago and it worked great. I ended up buying this one and giving my red one to another family member. For six months this vacuum was the same as far as the red one was. Nice features, I enjoyed the lift off technology for cleaning the stairs and made use out of all of the attachments. I always made sure to clean my filters and replace the hepa filter on the back. The bristles wore down (even with proper floor setting adjustments) and it lost all suction power. It couldn't even vacuum a small feather up, it actually picked it up briefly and spit it back out onto the carpet. Maybe mine had a defect in it. This one didn't have the blockage indicator that the red lift off had, but even so it performed poorly in comparison to the red lift off that wasn't meant for pets. Our family has a friend who works for Bissell and apparently there have been other issues with this vacuum as well which is sad considering the price.

Comment from Lisa - 4/15/2014

Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry there is no suction. We do have a great FAQ section on our website to get your machine working again. Please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1405

#nastycarpet
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Gender:Female
AWESOME!
2/14/2013

Customer review by PATZ5652

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by PATZ5652
by PATZ5652

This vacuum has amazing deep cleaning capacity and is gentle when it needs to be. While I have two rooms & stairs with carpeting, the rest of the house is adobe style tile covered by rugs, 2 being large orientals (not silk). I was unsure how well the vacuum & the rugs would "get along". Having hand carried them from Istanbul they have great meaning to me. Also, they hadn't been cleaned in about 10 yrs when the custom cleaner retired. My concern was needless. This vacuum deep cleaned both the wool and the cotton without incident and they look like new! As to the carpeting, I completely agree with the other reviews. The amount of DIRT being extracted is amazing. Since, I now live in a "dirt bowl" known as Simi Valley, CA, I can finally enjoy the comfort of a truly clean house. What a relief! Thanks Bissell. P.S. Keeping all the filters clean is important. That's why the 15 yr. old vacuum for my NYC apt (no carpet) is still going strong. It just wasn't designed for the cleaning I need here.

PATZ5652
Simi Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Skip this one and buy a better brand
1/31/2010

Customer review by cleaningmommy1985

1.0 stars 1/31/2010 by cleaningmommy1985
by cleaningmommy1985

I thought Bissell was a good name brand and registered for this when my husband and I got married. We had another vacuum so we kept this one in the box till we bought our first home. The first 2 weeks it was nice... and then it started losing suction. It also started making a humming noise. I took it apart and cleaned everything on it. It was so dusty in it... not just the parts that are going to get dusty but all of it. The dirty bin is a big mess to dump and clean. I feel like I have to clean the vacuum more than my carpets. Also it only spreads everything around if you try to use it on hard floors. The attachments are a joke because you get the extender on and then an attachment and all you do is knock the dirt and dust to the floor there is no suction at all. Then the motor broke less than a year after we took it out of the box. Not worth the box it was packaged in! We are not going to wast our money on anything bissell makes any more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cleaningmommy1985
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-10 of 305 total reviews See all
1-10 of 305 reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 10 questions
1-3 of 10 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by Prariegirl 3/10/2014
7 answers
  • A. yes
    by blue1824/15/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes. It has a little switch that will turn off the brush when you don't want it on.
    by UtahDawn9/13/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Only when in locked up position but it does have a switch to turn it off and the carpet brush shouldn't be on when used on bare floors
    by Tinkerbell20054/8/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The beater brush stops in the upright position, it also has a separate power put-on so you can turn off the beater brush whenever you want
    by Broudy4/5/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum features a brush control switch that allows you to turn the spinning brush on and off. The spinning carpet brush automatically stops when the unit is in the locked, upright position.
    by CommunityAnswer3/31/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Stops spinning in locked, upright position.
    by 111PS3/21/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Hi Prariegirl, this unit has a brush switch so you can control when to turn the brush on and off. Its located on the handle.
    by AskBISSELL3/13/2014
    Written by a verified representative from AskBISSELL
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
1-3 of 10 questions See all
1-3 of 10 questions

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  year Years See details

Warranty Information: Click here for the Supplier Warranty:
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.