Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown 12.1MP Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom

Q&A
By: Nikon
Walmart #: 000690926
Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown 12.1MP Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
Get the shot without the fuss with the Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom. The Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom high resolution allows you to get stunning enlargements made up to 16 x 20 inches. The 3.5-inch touch-panel OLED monitor has an anti-glare coating and enables easy touch control of all camera functions. The S70's VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake for sharper, clearer pictures. Additional highlights on the Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom include face detection, blink-proof function, in-camera red-eye fix, and HD video shooting with sound.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Get the shot without the fuss with the Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom. The Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom high resolution allows you to get stunning enlargements made up to 16 x 20 inches. The 3.5-inch touch-panel OLED monitor has an anti-glare coating and enables easy touch control of all camera functions. The S70's VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake for sharper, clearer pictures. Additional highlights on the Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom include face detection, blink-proof function, in-camera red-eye fix, and HD video shooting with sound.

Nikon Coolpix S70 Brown 12.1MP Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom:

  • 5x wide-angle Nikkor glass lens
  • 4x digital zoom
  • The Nikon Coolpix 12.1MP Digital Camera features macro shooting as close as 1.2 inches to get those great pictures of flowers and other interesting subjects
  • Sensitive-response, touch-panel display enables effortless use of touch panel by ensuring sensitive response to even the lightest tapping and touch for smooth operation.
  • With the swipe of a finger users can scroll through images and use a pinching motion with two fingers to zoom in or out on displayed images
  • The Nikon Coolpix 12.1MP Digital Camera Touch Shutter and Autofocus let you simply tap the OLED display to have the camera focus and even shoot the picture.
  • Scene Effect Adjustment by using the touch screen sliders in various scene modes images can be modified as necessary
  • HD Movie with sound compatible with 720p HD movies for high image quality
  • Enjoy HD playback on your computer
  • Nikon's Hybrid Optical and Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake for sharper, clearer pictures
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement
  • High ISO up to 6400 capability helps give you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects (ISO 3200 and ISO 6400 are available at 3MP or lower resolution.)
  • Nikon's original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image
  • Slim, metal dual-texture surface design slips right into your shirt pocket or purse
  • Subject Tracking will track a moving subject even if he/she temporarily moves out of the frame
  • Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts camera setting
  • New Skin Softening smoothes skin tone at three different levels for optimal portraits
  • In-camera red-eye fix automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera
  • Face-priority, AF face-finding technology automatically focuses on up to 12 faces
  • Smile timer, blink-proof function and blink warning make sure you'll always catch the decisive moment
  • The Nikon HD Digital Camera blink-proof function shoots two pictures and automatically saves the one in which the subjects eyes remain open
  • Blink warning, when activated, alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed
  • 20 MB of internal memory
  • SD/SDHC memory card slot (card not included)
  • The Nikon HD Digital Camera includes a rechargeable li-ion battery with charging adapter for use with USB-equipped computers

Specifications

Aspect Ratio: 16:9
Camera Lens Type: Zoom lens
Focal Length: 28 - 140mm
Color: Brown
Exposure Modes: Program, automatic
Optical Zoom: 5x ,  2x - 8x
Display Technology: OLED
Digital Zoom: 4x ,  4 x
Resolution: 288,000 pixels
Memory Card Type: SD Memory Card, SDHC Memory Card ,  SD card
Display Resolution: 288000 Pixel ,  1280 x 720
Color Category: Gold
Contained Battery Type: Nikon EN-EL12
Connector Type: 1 x USB ? 1 x composite video/audio output
Battery Life: 200 Shot
Model: S70 Brown
Number of Megapixels: 12MP - 13MP
Screen Size: 3.5"
Brand: Nikon
Flash Type: Built-in Flash
Has Touchscreen: Y
Focus Type: TTL contrast detection ,  Automatic
Compatible Devices: SD ,  SDHC
Manufacturer Part Number: 26175
RAM Memory: 20 MB
Accessories Included: Carrying strap, power adapter, USB cable, audio / video cable
Sensor Resolution: 12.1 Megapixel
Contains Batteries: Y
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 3 questions
1-3 of 3 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-3 of 3 questions See all

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
25
1-10 of 76 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Pretty good camera
2/10/2010

Customer review by VenDesT

5.0 stars 2/10/2010 by VenDesT
by VenDesT

although most of the reviews stated negative remarks about the s70, from bad image quality to difficulty to handle, it turned out to be not true at all. if you leave the camera on its default settings, the pictures won't be great of course, but if you play with it a bit the resolution is just great! Concerning the handling, well if ur an old school and never owned an iPhone, this camera is definitely not for you :) To say the least, I'm glad I did not take those negative reviews in consideration. the battery life is perfect, and I just love its sleek design! the Brown-champagne one is so classy.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VenDesT
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Fun & Versatile Camera
6/3/2010

Customer review by teojhw

4.0 stars 6/3/2010 by teojhw
by teojhw

This is a moderate priced Nikon that is clearly a superior camera that can do it all. The 3x5 touch screen controls an unbelievable number of functions. It is index card size and less than an inch thick. The pictures & video are clear and excellent color balance. Tcamera stablization is effective. Would recommend this camera to anyone not afraid of electronics.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teojhw
Westchester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Will NOT be buying refurbished again.
10/8/2013

Customer review by TreeTreeTree

1.0 stars 10/8/2013 by TreeTreeTree
by TreeTreeTree

I purchased the Coolpix S70 as a gift for my wife. On opening the package, I found the camera to be badly smudged with fingerprints. I cleaned the screen, charged the camera, took a few pictures, and set the opening background screen to display a picture of our children when she turned it on. (An inspiration to USE it!) It was a great present. My wife was very pleased. About two months later, I asked again how she liked the camera. She said it doesn't work. I was disappointed to hear that she never got it to work without shutting off mid session. I contacted Nikon with a battery complaint. They said "No Warranty on battery" Having no other way to test it, I purchased two new batteries. These failed in the S70 as well. Jump ahead 18 months with the purchase of a new AW-100... which uses the same battery. All of the batteries are in good working order. It now seems that the S70 was never cleaned or refurbished before being sent to my home.

TreeTreeTree
Western PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
awesome
12/20/2009

Customer review by Chuckyboy2000

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by Chuckyboy2000
by Chuckyboy2000

very nice camera sleek and very easy to operate.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuckyboy2000
New Castle De,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bad Camera
6/11/2011

Customer review by Nikon - Hema

1.0 stars 6/11/2011 by Nikon - Hema
by Nikon - Hema

Have bought this about one and half year ago for Sister. After using we realize that this was not the one that thought. All the pictures taken by this Camera so far is blurry. The touch screen technology makes the picture shooting worse and causing blurryness. I have D5000 too which we bought together with 2 nos. of S70. D5000 is great starting DSLR but for point and shoot technology i would recommend not to by any Nikon product. I am not a professional in taking pictures but from experience I have learnt a lot. I also had Sony SR11 and Canon Power shot which i bought in year 2008. Both of these camera give a great result even in shooting vedeo. We stay about 6 month each year to India and finaly got a chance to inform Nikon Support about this issue of S70. Nikon is working on that. Hoping to get the positive result. I hope Nikon comes with conclusion the i or my sister dont know how to take the picture and S70 is not our bad choice. will post the review once the Nikon resolves the issue, but till then I would not recommend S70 or any other Point to Shoot technology to anyone.

Nikon - Hema
Burbank, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice product
5/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I like this product because of its slik design and has rechargable battery so that I do not have to enter time and date everytime I change the battery.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Middletown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stay Far Away from the Nikon Coolpix S70 Camera
10/23/2010

Customer review by morninflower

1.0 stars 10/23/2010 by morninflower
by morninflower

Barely 6 months after purchasing the Nikon S70 Coolpix Camera, I started to experience problems with the screen and the camera in general as follows :- 1. Screen would freeze up and I would need to remove the battery in order for the camera to work properly again. 2. A "System Error" Message started to apper and would not go away until I shut down the camera and gave it a few moments before attempting to take a picture. 3. I would need to wait atleast 1 to 2 minutes between taking pictures because if I attempted to take a picture too soon, i would get a message on the screen that reads "please wait, images processing". 4. Blurry and inconsistent images. ETC There are additional problems with this camera and knowing what I know now, I would not have purchased it. It is probably one of the worst camera's that I have ever had although I have been a loyal Nikon Customer for 24 years.

morninflower
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Satisfaction Guaranteed
5/10/2012

Customer review by Yahweh

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by Yahweh
by Yahweh

I almost did not buy the Nikon CoolPix S70 Champagne and Light Brown 12.1 MP 5X Zoom Digital Camera but I'm glad I did :-). I love the touch screen feature, Its amazing to be able to touch the screen and not have to use the buttons. I travel alot and I impress alot of classy people with the touch screen action. It makes meeting new friends easy. Everyone looks like a movie star in this camera. No, I'm not the paparazzi I live out of a lot of hostels and this camera is a great conversation piece. The best thing is the warranty, that will replace the camera or refund you the total amount by check in the mail, within 10 days. Cons I only hope that the LCD does not crack on this one. With the price being so steep for such a Multi-Functional camera, you would think that Gorilla Glass would be the best option. The one I bought last year LCD had a hair-line fracture and it was not worth replacing. I suggest getting the warranty on this camera. I love it!!! Review Looking for an awesome camera with a great warranty? The Nikon CoolPix S70 Champagne and Light Brown is the best choice. You will not be disapointed.

Yahweh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Quality Images
7/8/2011

Customer review by franD

4.0 stars 7/8/2011 by franD
by franD

This is a great camera it's light weight and easy to take around, and has really good quality images especially with flowers and nature. It's also fairly good with action shots and sports. I don't have many problems with this camera it's perfect to take anywhere especially vacations. The touch screen makes it even better, by expanding the features on the camera giving you the option to snap a pic with the screen or the button. It also lets you edit photos right on the camera which is a nice feature. A problem I have with it would be the flash, I find my images sometimes turn out really bad with it on. Overall it's a good camera that takes really good pictures and takes great HD video! I'm not sure if it was worth the money, but if you are looking into purchasing this product I would go for used or refurbished to make it worth he money.

franD
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love Nikon, But Touch Screen Really Annoying
1/1/2011

Customer review by PixGirl

3.0 stars 1/1/2011 by PixGirl
by PixGirl

I love Nikon, and have several different Nikon cameras. This camera is well made, but poorly designed. The designers evidently wanted to wow users with the big touch screen, but overdid it. It's laid out in a way that is inconvenient, not as user friendly and not as self explanatory as some other models. You can hardly handle the camera in normal operation without acidentally changing a setting or taking a picture. I also still like to have a viewfinder on my point-and-shoot cameras, for sunny conditions where the screen is more difficult to see. I've taken some excellent pictures with it, but I've taken a lot of junk in between. All that said, I'd still choose this camera if it came down to a choice between Nikon and most other brands. Many years of excellent reliability and trouble free operation has made me a loyal user.

PixGirl
Midwest USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-10 of 76 total reviews See all
1-10 of 76 reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  Year Years See details

Warranty Information: One year parts and labor warranty on manufacturing defects.
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.