Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium

Loading options...
Sold by SoftwareCWSoftwareCW | Return policy

Shipping not available

 

Shipping

This item is not available for shipping.

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
  • Microsoft
  • GFC-00019
  • 882224883412
Customers also viewed these products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Windows 7 Home Premium makes it easy to create a home network and share all of your favorite photos, videos, and music. You can even watch, pause, rewind, and record TV (a broadcast TV tuner may be required). Get the best entertainment experience with Windows 7 Home Premium. Do you use your PC for work, run Windows XP programs, or require enhanced security? Consider Windows 7 Professional.

Specifications

Original Languages: English
Condition: New
Compatible Devices: PC
Manufacturer Part Number: GFC-00019
System Requirements:

Processor:

  • 1 GHz or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64)

Hard Disk:

  • 16 GB (32-bit)
  • 20 GB (64-bit)

Memory:

  • 1 GB RAM (32-bit)
  • 2 GB RAM (64-bit)

Optical Drive:

  • DVD/CD

Others:

  • DirectX 9 graphics processor with WDDM 1.0 or later driver
  • Music and sound require audio output
  • Depending on resolution, video playback may require additional memory and advanced graphics hardware
  • Internet access required to use certain features
Operating System: Microsoft Windows
Brand: Microsoft
Features: Includes: 32 and 64-bit versions ,  Pause and rewind ,  Watch internet TV ,  Record TV
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 30 questions
1-3 of 30 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
Ok I’m confused on what to get. I read the questions about this product and I’m still a little lost on what to buy. I have Windows Xp Home Premium on my desktop that I got from Wal-Mart in early 2005. Various people tell me that I can’t go directly to Windows 7 from Windows Xp. I don’t care about most of my programs except for a game that I bought and pictures. So should I get the full version or the upgrade version? Can someone please help me??
by CassieW88 12/22/2010
6 answers
  • A. You will need the full version....but save all your files , pictures, etc. onto a disc, an external HD
    by Dorisfive010/26/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Get the full version. Upgrade versions sometimes don't install well. However All installation discs from Microsoft offer the option of upgrade or fresh install. Choose the latter and you can opt to save your files and personal settings. Save those files you want to keep to a CD or DVD before you begin as a precaution so that they can be reinstalled after you install the new System. Good luck. Windows 7 is great!
    by goodbuyfan3/17/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I would definitely use the full version as it will eliminate any problems with previous operating systems.
    by gooddeal0811/6/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. You have to have the program/version before you can add to the program/version or up grade the program/version. You don't have it to up grade it. Get the Windows 7. Once you have it you can think about adding to it as in a up grade. Windows 7 Premiun has a lot going for it and you shouldn't need to up grade for a few years. Right now you have Windows XP Home Premium. Only after you download Windows 7 Home Premiumm will you have it as your program. You have to have it to add to it. Did you look for a Windows XP Home Premium UpGrade. Maybe the program you are running has a newer version, up grade, you can download. A up grade is a newer version of a program that already is in use.
    by keywestflamingo2/20/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (4)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. You can't go directly from Win xp to Win 7. You'll have to do a backup onto an external hard drive if you wish to save some of your settings from XP. If you can afford it, go with the full version. The reason is if you lose that drive for some reason you will have to install win xp on the new drive before you can upgrade to win 7. You can not install an upgrade on a new drive. That even goes for win xp upgrade or full!
    by Peckjr466/1/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (2)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Before you upgrade, I recommend that you download and run the free Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor. It helps find potential issues with your computer’s hardware, devices, or programs that might affect installing Windows 7, and gives recommendations on what to do. Also, you may want to visit the Windows 7 Compatibility Center to confirm that your game will run in Windows 7.
    by MicrosoftOutreachTeam6/1/2012
    Written by a verified representative from MicrosoftOutreachTeam
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 30 questions See all
1-3 of 30 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 440 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

440 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

440 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
320
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
12
1 stars
18
1-10 of 420 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Best from Microsoft
4/25/2011

Customer review by ashali

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by ashali
by ashali

Microsoft is offering six versions of Windows 7: Starter, Home Premium, Professional, Ultimate, OEM, and Enterprise. The three versions that Redmond will be promoting most heavily are Home Premium, Professional, and Ultimate, although Starter will also be available to consumers. Windows 7 will support both 32-bit and 64-bit systems. The bare minimum requirements for the 32-bit include a 1GHz processor, 1GB RAM, 16GB available hard-disk space, and a DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver. 64-bit systems will require at least a 1 GHz processor, 2GB RAM, 20GB of free space on your hard drive, and a Direct X 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver. A touch-screen monitor is required to take advantage of the native touch features. Do note that some users have claimed to have limited success running the Windows 7 beta with less than 1GB of RAM, but that’s not recommended. The Good : Strong Design, Security and Quality The Bad : Performance not much of Win Xp

ashali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best OS Yet!!
11/14/2009

Customer review by goodbuyfan

5.0 stars 11/14/2009 by goodbuyfan
by goodbuyfan

I purchased Windows 7 Home Premium a week or so ago. I installed it on a Saturday. Had minimal issues with installation. The operating system is GREAT!!!! I am an old XP fan and hated to give up that system but I am so pleasantly surprised with the New Windows 7. If you are planning on an upgrade then WAIT NO LONGER, you'll love the new system. From the new User interface to all the new applications as well as native DVD and CD burning it is a real step up!! I am running an AMD Athlon 64 dual core processor with 4 G of Ram, NVidia 7300 Graphics card,500G Sata WD hard drive with onboard ALC 97 sound chip. The sound is even much much better!! I love this new OS. You will too!!!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodbuyfan
mid west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Windows 7, To Each Their Own
8/5/2013

Customer review by SnakeMan7

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by SnakeMan7
by SnakeMan7

I have a Dell with XP, and I have a HP with 7. I really like 7 a whole lot better than the XP. It is way more up to date, has better features, and it is just a whole lot better all the way around. When I first got my HP with 7 on it, it was a little strange, and it took some getting used to, but after I got used to 7, I stored my Dell with the XP. The XP is almost out of date, and trying to get updates on it is next to impossible. I have used almost all of the Windows operating systems. Windows 98, 98 second, ME, 2000, XP and now the 7. I have never used the Vista, but I have heard about the good and bad with it. I haven't tried the newer 8 either, but as with 7, some like it and some don't. I prefer the 7, and so does my sister. My brother-in-law on the other hand, prefers the XP because he says the 7 is just too strange for him, so as the title states..."To Each Their Own" but I would recommend the 7 if a person wants a faster process and more options with ease of access, so I have to give the 7 the ultimate grade.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SnakeMan7
Shannon Hills, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Windows 7, for real.
11/6/2009

Customer review by kadubs

5.0 stars 11/6/2009 by kadubs
by kadubs

So, honestly? Windows 7 is a bit overhyped, but understandably so. Critics don't trust, and long-time fans always gush. However, I'll admit that I was really excited for it to come out. I never really had problems with Windows Vista, but wanted some of the great, new, and much-needed features Windows 7 was offering. It's a nice operating system. It's cleaner than it's predecessors, a bit zippier with daily tasks, and responds better to the things I "ask" it to do. I would definitely recommend 7 to anyone looking for a fresh start on their PC experience. Install was quick and painless (really, the complaints about backing up XP are ridiculous - ANY computer should be backed up regularly, which means that ANY computer should be ready for this install). The taskbar is fantastic, jumplists are definitely helpful, the new theme options are a delight, and lots of tiny tweaks to the interface, color schemes, and old and new tools make it a pleasure to use. So far, I also haven't run into any real computability issues with hardware or software designed when XP was in its prime. Overall, Windows 7 has been smooth sailing with a ton of small changes that add up to something big that looks - and feels - like we always thought Windows should. My only con? The price. I decided to go with only Home Premium (full edition) to get the full experience without destroying my bank account. But it does what I need it to, and should be able to do anything you need it to as well. I say go for it. After all, 7 is a pretty lucky number.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kadubs
East Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This product is reliable and dependable
2/22/2011

Customer review by WindowsLover

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by WindowsLover
by WindowsLover

Windows 7 Home Premium comes with all the features and more I want and need. Partitioning a hard drive is really easy thanks to the Windows computer management in Windows 7 and Vista. Windows 7 also brought back the Internet games I love: Spades, Backgammon, and Checkers. Windows 7 is all around beautiful and not only that, it is also dependable. Windows Internet Explorer has never crashed during my years of using it. Windows 7 has only crashed one time, and that was after a big change I made to my system. Windows 7 is touch-reliable. It is made for touch-screens. With all the aero features, these are all great for non-touchscreens. But they are excellent for touch-screens. That maximize button may be a little too small for your fingers... Just drag the window to the top of the screen and the window is maximized ---it's just that easy thanks to the new aero snap feature in Windows 7. The only thing I don't like about Windows 7 is ---NOTHING!!! Windows 7 is a great product all-around. I recommend this product to everyone buying a new computer.

WindowsLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Win7 is here, and its here to stay.
11/5/2009

Customer review by IApproveOfWindows

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by IApproveOfWindows
by IApproveOfWindows

This product is PERFECT. I would recommend it to anyone. Runs great on my new desktop computer. Great for anything you do really. Yeah, the prices are a bit high, but give it awhile and it'll soon become affordable. A++ This product was a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IApproveOfWindows
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 7 IS Amazing
4/24/2011

Customer review by ChristianY

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by ChristianY
by ChristianY

This is undoubtedly the best Windows OS release ever, and don't let anyone else tell you otherwise. If you're a professional-minded, technology-savvy individual who EXPECTS a lot of performance, stability, and reliability from their PC then look no further than Windows 7. Aside from the new features added such as side-by-side or stacked window viewing (awesome BTW), the ability to pin prgrams and websites to the taskbar for easier access to your favorites, a new and improved "Library" file organization system that integrates seamlessly with Windows Explorer, Windows 7 is more stable and reliable as any previous OS and then some. XP was the precursor, and Windows 7 is the new kid on the block. All your computing needs can be handled and handled again on a PC running Windows 7 Home Premium - do yourself a favor and get into the new age of PC computing by picking up a copy Windows 7 Home Premium today!

ChristianY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Windows so far
4/24/2011

Customer review by JerryE

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by JerryE
by JerryE

I started with Windows 3 or 3.1 and have used every one except ME, 2000. So far it's been great. A whole lot less problems with it. It's easier to use and learn than the others excluding 3.1, 3.11 for Workgroups. I do see performance enhancements with 7. Only thing I don't like is the Action Center and the UAC stuff. Action center keeps telling me my Norton Antivirus isn't turned on or my firewall isn't turned on. Some programs like Legacy Family Tree Maker doesn't like it when UAC is turned on. So I have turned it off. Only things I wish Windows 7 Premium had are the ability to run dos programs I miss playing Duke Nukem 3D and Windows XP mode like you get in the Pro version. If the rumors I have read about Windows 8 are true it's going to be even better than 7. Finally Windows has came up with an awesome operating system. XP and lower I used to get Blue Screen of Death a lot. I got the Home Premium the year it was first released and have never seen a BSD yet. It also starts up faster too. I am using 1.25 Gigs of ram and 250 gig HD on an Athlon 3500+ computer in 32bit mode.

JerryE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keyzzzzcomputers
3/20/2011

Customer review by keywestflamingo

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by keywestflamingo
by keywestflamingo
Top 250 contributor

Very easy to down load. Just follow the on screen directions. Best price, speedy and safe delivery. I looked at a lot of web sites, but WalMart had the best price and S/H cost for the Premium. Windows has several Windows 7 to pick from as Up Grades. Be careful reading the title on the box. WalMart was the only site that made it clear between up-grade and full premium. You have to get the program (full premiun) before you can start up grading or adding to the program. I went from Windows Vista Basic to Windows 7 Premium. Windows is the best for home computing.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keywestflamingo
Key West, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
awesome
3/25/2011

Customer review by pete

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by pete
by pete

What if a new version of Windows didn't try to dazzle you? What if, instead, it tried to disappear except when you needed it? Such an operating system would dispense with glitzy effects in favor of low-key, useful new features. Rather than pelting you with alerts, warnings, and requests, it would try to stay out of your face. And if any bundled applications weren't essential, it would dump 'em. It's not a what-if scenario. Windows 7, set to arrive on new PCs and as a shrinkwrapped upgrade on October 22, has a minimalist feel and attempts to fix an­­noyances old and new. In contrast, Windows Vista offered a flashy new interface, but its poor performance, compatibility gotchas, and lack of compelling features made some folks regret upgrading and others refuse to leave Windows XP. Windows 7 is hardly flawless. Some features feel unfinished; others won't realize their potential without heavy lifting by third parties. And some long-standing annoyances remain intact. But overall, the final shipping version I test-drove appears to be the worthy successor to Windows XP that Vista never was.

pete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-10 of 420 total reviews See all
1-10 of 420 reviews

Customer Reviews | 440 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.