Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter

Q&A
By: Tetra
Walmart #: 000886994
Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter
$11.56
$11.56
FREE shipping on orders $50 +
If your order totals $50 or more and you select Value shipping, this item and any other qualifying items ship for free!
Loading options...
Protect your purchase with a Care Plan
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping available

 on $50+ orders
 

Shipping

Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
$5.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$7.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$6.32
Rush
Data unavailable
$10.04

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

Want to pick up your package for free?
Walmart offers free pickup for most orders placed online - for many items as soon as today! Tell us where you are and we'll show you which Walmart stores and partner locations near you are available for package pickup.
    Compact Power Filter with 3 stage filtration
  • Floss Pad Screens Out Dirt, Debris.
  • Activated Carbon Removes odors and discoloration.
  • Bio-Foam Eliminates Toxic Ammonia and Nitrite on Contact.
  • Color coded carbon filter cartridges are e

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
For convenience and quiet, choose a Tetra Whisper 10i Filter. These Tetra Whisper Aquarium Filter mount on the inside of the aquarium, rather than hanging from the outside, making it possible to place the tank flush against a wall. These 2-10i Tetra Whisper Power Filter are unusually quiet, since the motor is under the water. Offering the same quality and performance as an external filter, the Tetra Whisper 10i Filter will function in as little as two inches of water, allowing it to be used for turtle tanks or for creating a waterfall inside the tank. Designed for aquariums up to 10-gallons, the Tetra Whisper Aquarium Filter features adjust easily to high or low water levels with mounting suction cups and/or brackets. Each Tetra Whisper 10i Filter comes with one pre-assembled whisper filter cartridge.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

For convenience and quiet, choose a Tetra Whisper 10i Filter. These Tetra Whisper Aquarium Filter mount on the inside of the aquarium, rather than hanging from the outside, making it possible to place the tank flush against a wall. These 2-10i Tetra Whisper Power Filter are unusually quiet, since the motor is under the water. Offering the same quality and performance as an external filter, the Tetra Whisper 10i Filter will function in as little as two inches of water, allowing it to be used for turtle tanks or for creating a waterfall inside the tank. Designed for aquariums up to 10-gallons, the Tetra Whisper Aquarium Filter features adjust easily to high or low water levels with mounting suction cups and/or brackets. Each Tetra Whisper 10i Filter comes with one pre-assembled whisper filter cartridge.

Tetra Whisper 2-10i Power Filter:

  • Unusually quiet, since the motor is under the water
  • Mounts on the inside of the aquarium
  • Function in as little as two inches of water
  • Can be used for turtle tanks or for creating a waterfall inside the tank
  • Designed for aquariums up to 10-gallons
  • Features adjust easily to high or low water levels with mounting suction cups and/or bracket
  • Comes with one pre-assembled whisper filter cartridge

Specifications

Color: Black
Watts: 4 Watts
Count: 1 Count
Size: 1 ,  FOR 2 - 10 GALLON TANKS
Form: Pet Grooming
Container Type: Box
Model: WIF2-10
Brand: Tetra
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 4.00 x 3.80 x 8.00 Inches
Show
Show
Best seller ranking:

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

96 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

96 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-5 of 93 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Works fine!
4/30/2010

Customer review by BettaMommy

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by BettaMommy
by BettaMommy

I have 3 of these pumps in our 3gal. Betta tanks. In the kids rooms and on my desk. They do the job, but needed some 'adjusting'. The current was too disturbing for our Bettas. I cut the air tube in two spots and added a back flow valve and a regulating valve (a splitter so you can hook up an air stone or something like that.) I opened the second outlet a bit to let some air from the pump just blow out, and it made the current a lot more suitable for our Bettas! The filters have been running for about 3 years now, and only one broke. The rubber membrane inside the air pump ripped. The vibration can be a bit noisy, so I attached the air pump to a stuffed animal with rubber bands :o) Works fine, looks cute! The water stays clean for a long time and replacing the filter pads takes only seconds. I will switch to an external nano filter but not because of the filters performance! Our tanks are six sided and they look just too bulky in there! Oh, the lid keeps falling off, but is not really needed anyways!

Was this review helpful? (39) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaMommy
Palmer, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I like it
9/7/2010

Customer review by Tyler361549

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by Tyler361549
by Tyler361549

I got this for my fiddler crab tank and its in about one and a half gallons of water that is less than 3 inches deep. Its really quiet and its just what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tyler361549
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for my turtle tank
10/15/2011

Customer review by Ritz6

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Ritz6
by Ritz6

We have a baby mud turtle in a ten gallon tank, full to a depth of approximately 2 inches. I set-up the tank about a month ago using this filter, and so far it is working really well. I have not had to change the water yet - this filter has kept the water nice and clear (and stink-free). That is pretty impressive for a turtle tank since turtles produce a lot of waste. Our turtle is still very little, so I am sure as he grows this filter will be put to the test, but so far, so good. A couple of times the filter stopped pumping water -I thought it was broken- but as soon as I added more water to the tank, the filter started right back up again. Now I just make sure that there is enough water in the tank to cover the intake slots near the bottom of the filter. In my set-up, this filter makes quite a bit of noise because of how far the water has to fall; it sounds like a babbling brook in my living room. I don't really mind the noise though, it can be kind of soothing.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ritz6
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
The Whisper 5-15 Filter
12/27/2015

Customer review by SooperFreak

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by SooperFreak
by SooperFreak

This filter came in a 5 gallon aquarium kit i bought at walmart. it was a "glow light" kit, so it has blue lights and white. anyway, back to the filter...it's very quiet. i can't even hear it running when i'm right next to it. one negative is that there is no way to adjust the power, and IF you have a male betta, this filter may be too strong in a 5 gallon tank. it doesn't create a lot of surface agitation, but the "waterfall" it makes IS a strong enough current to really knock around my betta when he swam under it. it's better in a 10 gallon tank, OR with fish that like some current, like neon's or something similar. aside from there being no way to adjust the flow, the only other issue is with the recommendation that you replace the cartridge once a month.....that cartridge is where all your beneficial bacteria live. throwing it out means having to cycle your tank again. INSTEAD...just take it out and swish it around in old tank water (when u do water changes just take that moment to take out cartridge and swish it around in that old fish water, then put it back in the filter. don't change it until it's literally falling apart. and as long as there is good flow coming out of the filter u know it's working and filtering properly

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SooperFreak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic little pump
9/16/2016

Customer review by CheriM

5.0 stars 9/16/2016 by CheriM
by CheriM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked great in my 10 gallon hexagon tank. Cleared the water right up. Extremely quiet. I'm happy and my fish are happy:D

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheriM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-5 of 93 total reviews See all
1-5 of 93 reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 23 questions
1-3 of 23 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by an anonymous customer 7/31/2009
7 answers
  • A. It comes with everything you need. I use this for my goldfish who lives in a 5gal tank, it works like a charm. It also reduces how often I have to do a water change.
    by Equestriad1/17/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I wouldn't put extremely small fish with this filter. They might get sucked in. And no you don't. It comes with all you need. Just replace the filter as it gets dirty.
    by Animalestatic11/25/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Do not need an air filter, just an outlet. This filter is fine for small fish, just note that goldfish are very dirty/messy fish so get more filter that you think you'll need.
    by MandyJumper8811/25/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, it comes with the air pump. You just need to buy extra filter cartridges. I recommend change the cartridge every two weeks or so. They are okay for tanks from 1 gallon to 10 gallons. It works wonders in goldfish tanks.
    by SilverGemini3/22/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (8) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, it comes with everything you need. And its great for small fish. I have a betta and he doesn't mind it at all
    by cheergirl918/15/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. 1) No the power filter doesn't use an air pump. It has removable cartridges. You can buy the replacements in the stores. 2)It is suitable for small tanks, but be careful about the goldfish. They produce more waste and ammonia than any other fish, and some of them have a tendency to outgrow their tanks.
    by tallygirldaughter11/25/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (2)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It's entirely self-contained. Hang it on your tank and plug it in. Nothing else is needed. Goldfish shouldn't be in a small fish tank but that's relative to what your small is. I have these in a 2-1/2 & 5 gallon tanks with tiny inhabitants and no problems. My starfish climbs inside it and always comes back out unharmed.
    by Smoker5104/18/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (10) (3)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by an anonymous customer 8/21/2010
6 answers
  • A. No it won't fit to a bowl
    by VIVZ11/18/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The current is pretty strong in a 5gal tank, it'd be too strong for any smaller. I'd upgrade that bowl, anyway. The animals living in it need a bigger space. (well, unless they're snails or any other small crustacean) I'd go at least 5gal upgrade, especially if you have a Betta or goldfish.
    by Equestriad7/11/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. sadly no. It is used for 2 to 10 gallon aquariums.
    by Animalestatic10/1/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It can, but in my experience, the suction cups don't like to stick to curved surfaces that well.
    by SilverGemini7/3/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No it can not. In order for it to be stable and not shift it must be against a flat surface. It is approx 3" long and 2 " wide.
    by Casey2121/26/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I wouldn't, I got this filter in a 3 gallon tank kit and it is way to big for that. I actually found a filter small enough for a 1 gallon bowl, though. It's called a Red Sea Nano filter(Also called Azoo Palm filter). It hangs on the side, uses minimal power, and costs between $6- $10. They have them at petco in the stores. They work great, I have 3! Also, if you have a petsmart near you, they have a 2.5 gallon tank( just the tank) for $12. A bit sturdier than a bowl.
    by tallygirldaughter11/25/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by an anonymous customer 1/26/2011
6 answers
  • A. anything else for the tank? no
    by daMommaX33/26/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I would say you also need to provide oxygen. I spoke to pet stores to find this out. I use the 5-15 gallon aquarium air pump from Aqua Culture. It is quiet if you use a bubble stone with it. Both are also sold at Walmart.
    by diny1360111/25/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Everything is included in the filter, you really don't need anything. If you want your filter to provide oxygen, lower the water level a bit so the water falls and aerates the water. Otherwise I'd get an aerator.
    by Equestriad11/25/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes. I've had mine for 10 months. And all my fish are still living. And i've only had to clean it twice.
    by Animalestatic11/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Nope, it comes with the air pump. Just remember to buy extra filter cartridges.
    by SilverGemini6/21/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I need filter refills for this but not offered on line.
    by Rabbitbunny9/9/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 23 questions See all
1-3 of 23 questions
Customers also viewed these products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  years Years See details

Warranty Information: Tetra will repair or replace (manufacturer's option) your Power Filter for any defect deemed to be due to workmanship or materials for a period of two years from the date of original purchase. Damages or injuries resulting form neglegence or misuse are not covered under this warranty. This warranty gives you specific legal rights. Incidental or consequential damages are specifically excluded unless disallowed by your state. You may also have other rights which vary from state to state. Please call 800-526-0650 for further warranty information and return address.
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Returns

Returns are easy at Walmart
Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.