See All Reviews
Zune HD 16GB Digital Media Player
Zune HD 16GB Digital Media Player
$169.00
List Price: $199.00
You Save: $30.00 (15%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 282 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zune HD > iPod Touch My girlfriend and I both picked up our Zune HDs on monday at midnite. The Zune HD user interface is so smooth and logical, we love it! The player is definitely smaller than it looks in pictures and videos. It's super light weight, and the screen is amazing. The capacitive multi-touch screen is every bit as responsive as any iPod I've ever used. The battery has been great so far, and videos look fantastic on the OLED screen. The zune software offers 9 APPS so far and they are all free. 7 of them are games, and 2 are calulator and MSN weather apps. Don't fret, third party app developer support is rumored to be right around the corner. We both share a Zune Pass starting yesterday. 15 bucks a month for unlimited downloads. Makes having a brand new state-of-the-art zune even better. I think I downloaded 15 albums last night. The ONLY gripe I have so far is that the internet browser does not support Flash videos, YET. 2 giant thumbs up on this one, microsoft really pulled out all the stops this time. ZUNE HD FTW!! 09/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience I bought my Zune HD at Park City Walmart. Luckily the store had just 1 left. I could get 16 GB only (no 32 GB was available). Though I bought this unit to try and if I like it especially since I have been using iPhone all along. I must admit, I love it. I simply adore this beautifull piece of technology. The Good: - Excellent intutive Interface - gorgeous video - Beautiful experience - Just play your favourite .mp3 file and see Zune finding all related Album graphics, and pick Singer's Pic, Name and other details and the way these are all played on that gorgeous screen - it's just very engaging and fulfilling - good Audio quality (If you are into instrumentals and love full spectrum of Audio signal, I would suggest buy better Headphone/earbuds). - apps/games are amazingly slick - Zune software 4.0; Well this doesn't come in the box; but trust me, once you have downloded Zune 4.0 software on your computer/laptop - you will never turn to any other media player again - light weight - Excellent responsive ness - far far better than ipod (no multiple time pressing) - super fast Accelerometer - you will never have to wait few seconds after changing the orientation on Zune. I hate it on iPhone, when I am visiting a website and have to wait few seconds to switch between horizontal/vertical orientations - battery life The Bad: - Limited browsing capabilities; Don't take me wrong here. It's an excellent browser (fast and full featured - no flash though). But no tabs, Poor pop-up handling. - Ear buds are not premium quality; I tried earbuds which come with iPhone and Zune HD both for the same song. "Zune HD earbuds are better". But it leave more to expectation. Afterall Microsoft markets it as Portable Perfection. - Doesn't come with a charger *yikes*. This was a total surprise. But comes with a USB cable, so you can charge it through USB. ** I tried using iPhone's charger to charge Zune HD - it worked**. So if you have iphone/iPod touch in your home, you wouldn't have to spend any money on buying charger for Zune HD. Just plub your Zune HD's cable in USB port of iPhone's charger. Overall, I love this Zune HD. I toally love it. My wife already wants it. I would recomment it to all quality music lovers. If you are an Apps lover; iPhone has a far far better library. It will take Zune a year or so to reach there. If you love listening to great music experience and admiring a gorgeous viedos on your media player; you need a Zune. iPod/iPhone looks like a brick in front of Zune HD. 10/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Music and Video, get it. Just apps? don't get it. I'll keep this pretty simple.. If you're an app crazy person then the Zune HD is not for you. If you're an audiophile and love watching movies on the go then the Zune HD will not let you down. Battery life is fantastic! You're looking at about 6-8 hours with normal use. The Zune HD's OLED screen really shows off on games along with watching movies. Music won't sound good with the factory headphones so buy yourself a decent pair I recommend a $20 pair of Sony's. Internet browsing is pretty snappy on the device no flash support unfortunately. I'd say the price is just right here. I am nowhere near disappointed with the device. Boot time: 23 seconds. Time it takes to get from artist to artist or song to song: 2 seconds. There is really no lag at all and it is well worth the money! If you're like me and you were having a tough choice deciding between the Ipod Touch and the Zune HD then I'll help you out. The Zune HD excels in graphics, music, and videos. The Ipod's video and audio support isn't as open as the Zune. The Ipod wins in apps but for a personalized music and video playing the device the Zune is for you. The way the interface is when you touch on an artist's name is really neat. You actually see a picture of the band in the background for most bands. The Zune software itself is very very user friendly. I recommend this to anyone! Even Ipod Touch owners. 01/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by iWhat? Better and cheaper than an iPod. The Zune software is so much better than iTunes. It quickly organized over 10 years of download music from a variety of sources with no problems. It automatically pulls bios, band pics, cover art from the internet and puts it on the Zune which all looks great on the player. The display is great, no problems with the touch screen. I can't recommend this product enough. I'm gonna get another 32gb one soon. 11/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by FLawless victory after having my ipod classic stolen, i wasn't about to buy another mp3 player unless it was worth my money. this is a big investment for me and i am not bias, i buy what is made solid. the only reason i compare it to an ipod is because that is its only competition. beside the lack of apps that will be currected shortly...i hope. the zune HD is beautiful and i wasnt sure at first but after playing with it for a few days. this thing is worth more than what it sells for. i have it hooked up to my WIFI and update my facebook from anywhere i get a signal. i also love how it finds album art and loads them for you. the HD radio is great also. i really cant find anything wrong with it. i plan to have this for at least the next few years. i can not keep my hands off this thing. microsoft finally hit a home run...being able to add a screen saver is great because i can personalize it to my taste...it takes a minute to get use to the controls but after a half hour you will be fine. love this product great buy...finally microsoft got it right. 10/15/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Completely satisfied I waited until the price went down to $162, but it was worth every penny. It seems well built and durable, it's easy to use (though it does take a bit of getting used to, just as most things like this do), and the picture quality is everything I expected. With non-stop use of the screen, the battery lasted about 5 hours, give or take. But without the constant use (meaning, normal music playback) I would say that it does last pretty close to the 30-something hour estimate. So I was pleased with that. My only complaint (though it doesn't bother me that badly), is that the browser doesn't have tabs, and doesn't support flash. But for the most part the browser does very well. I will also add that if you're picky about headphones or like your existing ones, use those or buy new ones instead of the ones that come with the zune. I'd suggest getting a screen guard, I bought one from Xtreme Guard for around $6. It can't hurt, after all, you'll be protecting your investment in the player. --- Tips (things I learned through experience, and things that help me make more of my Zune usage: By going to the mobile version of "eBuddy" online, you can use Google Talk, Facebook Chat, and Windows Live Messenger, etc (AIM is supported but doesn't seem to work, and Yahoo is down for the moment). You can also use Facebook through an app, or you can use Facebook mobile or the main Facebook site, which gives you more features (the main Facebook site can load a little glitchy, but it's usually all there). Gmail has a mobile version that allows you to send and view your email as well. You should be able to find these through Bing search on the Zune as well as other mobile versions of sites you may use. If you want to sync YouTube videos to your Zune, you can use DownloadHelper (an addon) for Mozilla FireFox on your computer and download the .mp4 file of the desired video (usually available though DownloadHelper when you choose "HD" or "720p" while playing the video). You may notice this file won't sync to the Zune, and if that is the case, just open it with Windows Movie Maker or other video software and re-save it as a compatible .mp4 file. Most videos you may want will already be in the Zune marketplace, but who doesn't have a few favorites from YouTube? Something that doesn't seem to be mentioned very much, is that you can delete files while using the zune (without using the computer software). For instance, if you're in the "Songs" list (not to be confused with "Now Playing"), you can touch and hold down on the song in the list you want to delete, and it will bring up a menu allowing you to do so. I find this pretty useful, it makes editing my song list a lot more simple. Overall, I'm happy with my Zune. Further firmware updates will probably make it even better in the future. 06/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by So much beter than the Ipod Touch! I bought my zune HD almost a month ago now, its still in great condition and it makes all of my friends mad because they have to waste money on every song they want to download, with zune you can get Zune pass where its $15.00 every month for all the songs you want, plus you get to keep 10 every month so its very use full if you want to listen to music. PRO'S -------- zune pass strong screen OLED screen Price Wifi very clear music & picture CON'S -------- no built in speaker not the best charging battery can't stream video's finger print magnet (can't prevent though) really easy to drop... that's the major stuff on the Zune HD in my opinion, also I like the headphones that come with them but for some reason a lot of people don't... I strongly suggest getting the screen protector from ZAPP Invisible Shield, i have it and it also hides away a lot of the finger prints. lastly, press and hold the top button for about 10 seconds then slide the screen down to turn it off tried it when i first got it and it didn't work until after the update and it has to be on when it charges so do not turn it off. 10/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best. Best display. Best audio quality. Best software. Super fast multi core processor. This Zune tops them all. I love this device. 09/15/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Za-Za-Zune I'm very happy with my purchase of the Zune HD. It was a toss up between this and the iPod touch. Because the Zune had 2x's the gigs at that the iPod did at this price range. The Zune is put together very nicely. The card game apps (free download) are nice, although the iPod has 60,000 apps, and Zune only has 20. I did have the Zune freeze twice on me in the first week (that's microsoft for ya). But haven't had any issues since. I think it was attributed to a bad software download. I love it, and would definately buy another one if I lost this one. Rubber skins and screen protectors can be found on amazon for $0.01 ea. (plus$2.98 s/h). 10/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zune HD Review The Zune HD is an excellent media playback device. It may not have as many "apps" as the Ipod Touch, but I believe it is the superior device. It is smaller, lighter, has a better screen, HD radio, and you get more storage for roughly the same price (comparing the 16 GB Zune to the 8 GB Ipod touch). 07/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zune HD purchase review I am 100% satisfied with my purchase of the Zune HD. The receiver on the radio portion of the Zune HD brings in stations loud and clear. I like the Microsoft operating system on the Zune HD as it is similar to my PCs. The Walmart shipment to the store worked perfectly. I received my shipment within 7 days after I placed the order and I was able to track the shipment. The Zune HD is small and easy to carry on your person. The Zune HD's screen is bright and readable. The price was definitely a strong selling factor in my buying the Zune HD over the Apple IPOD. I would definitely recommend that you buy a wall unit charger for the Zune HD. The Zune HD works perfectly and performs exactly as described in the description of the product. 05/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zune So far I really enjoy my Zune. I am glad that I spent my money on it instead of an IPod. 10/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zunerific I bought the zune for my husband per his request for his 33rd birthday. It is fairly easy to use once you mess with it a bit, the instructions are vague. We are not techie people but have gotten songs on the zune and it's sound is great! 05/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome PMP My first mp3 player was a RIO Sport. I later graduated to the Sansa e250. Then I after falling in love with Sansa I bought their View. After a year of torture with the View I broke down and decided to go with a mp3 player that had support from a bigger company and bought a Zune 8gb player and fell in love with the build quality of the hardware and the simple nature of the software. After ruining the battery on that player I had my eyes on the Zune HD and bought it when it was released. I have never been happier with my choice. I don't mind the closed ecosystem of the Zune software because it takes care of you. The Zune pass is a must to make the most out of the player and an excellent service. Being able to keep 10 songs at the end of every month DRM free is exceptional on top of the Unlimited access to their library. Easy to use software coupled with drop dead gorgeous hardware, what more can you ask for? I honestly would not change a thing. The only issue I have is that the support for 'Apps' on the zune is limited. There have been a couple of random updates, but for the most part it is really barren. That is really only official support as there is a large community making Homebrew apps. A little more complicated, but easy for those who know what they are doing on a computer. The only other complaint is that it does not have a custom equalizer. It honestly doesn't need one though. The audio processing built in is really nice and enhances subtle noises I have not heard in tracks I have listened to repeatedly. Screen is spectacular. Playback with videos is jaw dropping. Pictures are sharp and crisp. Graphics and interface are extremely responsive. The HD radio works extremely well with tagging support. Downloading directly to the player itself (need to have zune pass) is phenomenal. And last but not least the Music playback is wonderful. The screensaver during playback is such a nice touch. Overall a beautiful unit. I absolutely love everything about it. 01/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by dont hesitate! the zune HD is an amazing mp3 player! i just got it in the package! but i bought mine from newegg.com. but still the same thing! the screen froze a couple times, i freaked out, but it was ok. just need to hold the power button for 7 sec. the quality of this thing is amazing. the picture is perfect! my younger sister want to play with it everyday because of the wifi. i can access my email and facebook/myspace/twitter with it too! the bad thing: it is SO hard to find accessories for this zune HD! i cant find a case anywhere! but, its ok. the screen gets dirty a bit, but of course, its a touch. its gonna have to get dirty. there aren't as many apps, but its ok. the games on the zune HD are pretty fun. dont fuss about it. its a fun product! the other good stuff: its lightweight. and its battery life is amazing. i keep it on the whole day, but just kept the screen lock on. overall, dont hesitate to get this product! its wayy better than the touch! the screen is super fast touch response! totally worth the money! 03/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good buy This is an extremely good mp3 player it's using the new nvidia chips so you know it will be faster then its elders and the price of the 16gb is far better than an ipod touch 09/10/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Praise and a warning As a young adult male in my early 20s, I am obviously into mp3s and music. I am also into saving money. The Zune HD 16GB is a perfect marriage between those two and I'm very happy with my purchase. The screen is sharp, the player handles well with the touchscreen, and the user interface is very well done (when you experiment with it for a little bit). The apps you can download are easy to use and understand, it connects well to wireless, and the radio is more powerful than my standalone radio in my office. Overall, it's a really nice mp3 player for an extremely great price (see: Apple's $250 iTouch). Now for the warning: It's a Microsoft product and if there's a company out there that protects itself that's on par with Apple, Sony, etc. it's Microsoft. Just consider that if you aren't very tech savvy and may or may not partake in pirating certain aspects of your PC life. 10/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Awesome!!!! I got this zune for Christmas and I absolutely love it. I don't mind the zune or ipod touch so this is really great. It is also a great product because it can sync all of your ipod songs to the zune. It doesn't have that many apps although the apps are still fun.. AND FREE!!!! My friends really like it and when there is wifi, the internet is really quick. I really like this and hope you get it too!! 01/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful and sleek Best media player ever! love the sleek design. large screen for your movis. all it still needs is a 8gb, 60gb, and a 120gb version, and it should come in more colors like silver. i'm pre-ordering mine Now! 08/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I ♥ Zune [: I've had my Zune HD for quite some time now and I'm still in love with the thing. I have used it every single day since the day I recieved it and I have had absolutely ZERO problems with it. And it also still looks brand new. I HIGHLY recommend Zune HD to anyone. It's easy to learn how to use and it's just fabulous. [: 02/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product I was very skeptical of purchasing the Zune at first,after all, everyone seems to carry iPods and iPhones these days.... however, after comparing the exceptional video playback on the Zune, vs. the iPod, along with exceptional audio clarity, I was hooked on Zune. A great product ! 04/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Awesome I have had this device for a week or 2 now and it hasn't failed to impress me. There is just lots of things to discover. Wireless sync is lifesaver if you don't have the USB cable. Battery life is great. The battery was only at 50% after a days worth of games and apps and listening to music while in those games. Also, this is not a device that has a load of apps but it has some great 3D games and pretty useful apps. The screen is bright, clear and has vivid colours. I love it. Beats the iPod in media experience and power. Zune software is also very visual appealing and quick. Unlike iTunes. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great mobile media device! In the world that seems to be dominated by "cool" Apple gadgets, the Zune HD is a refreshing change that focuses on the idea of providing a different way of having the media you love in the palm of your hand. After owning and using my Zune HD 16GB for two weeks, I can only sing praises for the device. The form factor is sleek. The interface is slick and fluid with only a bare minimum of time to master. I show it to everyone one I meet (I don't care what setting I'm in). I won't get into the debate of Microsoft vs. Apple. I can only say this: if you want a media player that focuses on music (and the ever growing video library), get this device. And then, sign up for a Zune pass to compliment this device. These two coupled with the new Zune 4.0 software, you will be very happy. Well worth the money. I do not regret getting this device. Some other things that come to mind: Access Podcasts? Yes. Audio and Video Music library? Growing marketplace library. Get Zune Pass to get the most of the this (Smart DJ works the best with Zune Pass) Wireless? Yes, as long as there is a wireless network near. Access Marketplace, the Internet, and sync wirelessly with your computer Internet Browser? Yes. Very cool rendering engine with pinch zoom Apps? Small assortment but there's more in the works Camera? No, but then, I want to view videos and pics, not capture them. I have a phone with a cam and actual cameras for that. Internal speaker? No. That's okay with me not to include a tinny sounding speaker when I bought the device to use privately anyways. TV shows and Movies? Yes. Available for purchase (and movie rentals). HD capable? The device sends an HD signal to your HD TV via an optional dock. HD FM? Yep, a HD FM receiver. Listen local and tag a song to add to your marketplace cart for download. 10/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, almost there! Moving my son from an iTouch to Zune... definte pluses: better sound quality, feels more durable (both our kids iTouches developed screen cracks early on in ownership). Need for improvement areas: web browser needs better java & Flash support. A dedicated YouTube player would also be nice; something that Apple and Google do with their respective devices. Great value, esp. when combined with a gift card! 01/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Mp3 Player I bought mine the week they came out as an upgrade from my 1st Generation 32GB Zune. I use it everyday and prefer it over my laptop because it's easier and more fun to use. I was a little nervous when I first got it because I wasn't sure the new technology would function correctly but I've never had a problem. In fact, I call it the Indistructible Mp3 Player. Last week I couldn't find it and finally gave up, thinking it was somewhere in my car and I would look for it later, but whilst doing laundry I heard something banging around in the dryer so I opened the door and there was my Zune; I had left it in my jeans pocket. I said to myself, there is no way this thing made it through the washer AND the dryer. I took it out, hoping that maybe, just maybe it would turn on, no such luck. So I simply set it on the kitchen counter, knowing it wasn't ever going to work again. The next day I was lamenting to my father that my Zune had been washed and he suggested I try to charge it, just to make sure it really was ruined, as soon as I got home I hooked it up to my computer and lo and behold, it turned on! It works fine, in fact, it may even run faster than before. This is truly the best thing I have ever purchased, if you're thinking about buying an iPod, don't. Buy this instead. It's easier to use and the software is so much more simple than iTunes. The apps are great, there isn't that many but Microsoft is always coming out with new ones and upgrades, and the eReader app has totally changed the way I think about reading. The ability to use wifi is fantastic and like I said, I use this more than I do my laptop. This product is perfect. 08/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best MP3 I absolutely love my ZUNE. I take it everywhere I go: school, work, running errands, the bathroom! I am constantly listening to music now because music is so accessible to me now. Great product. I check my email on it as well and check in on the latest news. It's best function is for music though. 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great fun I love my zune hd, I can pick up radio stations inside my building at work that I can't on my desk top radio. great display! 05/31/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome...Much better than iPod touch I started with the iPod touch and nothing worked as it said it would. I took it back and got the Zune HD 16GB and I was blown away. It did everything it was meant to do, and then some. It takes only minutes to get to work, but then the tedious time to rip the CDs and get them on. Don't waste your time with the iPod, get this. 01/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Well Thought Out I've recently purchased one of these and am waiting for it to ship. In the mean time, I've used a friend of mine's Zune HD, and i absolutely love it! The device is very well thought out. The quickplay is a very convenient feature. The accelerometer is the most sensitive I've used to date. And the screen, one word - beautiful! The colors are vibrant and if i wasn't told the screen didn't display in HD, i would believe it was HD. 10/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product all my friend that got a itouch say dat they like my ZuneHD better. 05/07/2010
1-30 of 222 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw419
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp