Zombies: Encounters With the Hungry Dead

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
Advertisement

Zombies: Encounters With the Hungry Dead

Format:  Paperback,

699 pages

Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal Pub

Publish Date: Sep 2009

ISBN-13: 9781579128289

ISBN-10: 1579128289

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$13.63

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.

From a master of zombie fiction and a founding father of splatterpunk comes a mind-bending anthology of 32 new and classic stories from both renowned writers and rising stars

In the tradition of Black Dog & Leventhal's bestselling

Vampires and Ghosts, this anthology of 32 stories is set in a world where the dead have risen from the grave to consume the living. This rich collection showcases the best of the genre from short-story masters such as Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Ray Bradbury, and Poppy Z. Brite; zombie stalwarts such as David J. Schow and Jack Ketchum; bizarro founders such as Carlton Mellick III; and popular up-and-comers such as Max Brooks and S.G. Browne and will satisfy the insatiable hunger of zombie fans everywhere.

A series of captivating essays about zombies in folklore and in popular culture by John Skipp, award-winning zombie anthologist and author, enrich an already extraordinary collection by discussing the past, present, and future of the living dead. And a resources section encompassing the best of long-form fiction, movies, websites, games is included for any reader interested in learning more about the wider world of the undead.

Sure to sate the hungriest zombie fans with classic as well as contemporary servings of tangled entrails and other unspeakable meals, Zombies: Encounters with the Hungry

Dead will be shambling out of bookstores in October 2009.

Specifications

:
Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal Pub
Publish Date: Sep 2009
ISBN-13: 9781579128289
ISBN-10: 1579128289
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 699
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 2.7
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 7.5 x 9.5 x 2.0

About the author

Biography of Brooks, Max

Max Brooks was born in New York City on May 22, 1972. He received a bachelor's degree in history from Pitzer College. From 2001 to 2003, he was a member of the writing team at Saturday Night Live and won an Emmy for his work. He is the author of The Zombie Survival Guide, World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, and The Zombie Survival Guide: Recorded Attacks.

World War Z was made into a movie starring Brad Pitt. He is also a television and voice-over actor. He has appeared on Roseanne, To Be or Not to Be, Pacific Blue, and 7th Heaven. His voice-over work includes Batman Beyond, Buzz Lightyear of Star Command, and Justice League.

Biography of Gaiman, Neil

Neil Gaiman was born in Portchester, England on November 10, 1960. Gaiman worked as a journalist and freelance writer for a time, before deciding to try his hand at comic books. Some of his work has appeared in publications such as Time Out, The Sunday Times, Punch and The Observer. His first comic endeavor was the graphic novel series The Sandman. It is the comic book he is most famous for and the series has won every major industry award, including 9 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, 3 Harvey Awards, and the 1991 World Fantasy Award for best short story, making it the first comic ever to win a literary award.

He writes both children and adult books. His adult books include Stardust, which won the Mythopoeic Award as best novel for adults in 1999; American Gods, which won the Hugo, Nebula, Bram Stoker, SFX, and Locus awards; and Anansi Boys. His children's books include The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish; Coraline, which won the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla, the BSFA, the Hugo, the Nebula, and the Bram Stoker awards; The Wolves in the Walls; and The Graveyard Book, which won the Newbery Award in 2009. He also co-wrote Good Omens with Terry Pratchett. He is currently working on making a film of one of his early books, Neverwhere. His most recent work is entitled Fortunately, the Milk.

Book description

From a master of zombie fiction and a founding father of splatterpunk comes a mind-bending anthology of 32 new and classic stories from both renowned writers and rising stars

In the tradition of Black Dog & Leventhal's bestselling

Vampires and Ghosts, this anthology of 32 stories is set in a world where the dead have risen from the grave to consume the living. This rich collection showcases the best of the genre—from short-story masters such as Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Ray Bradbury, and Poppy Z. Brite; zombie stalwarts such as David J. Schow and Jack Ketchum; bizarro founders such as Carlton Mellick III; and popular up-and-comers such as Max Brooks and S.G. Browne—and will satisfy the insatiable hunger of zombie fans everywhere.

A series of captivating essays about zombies in folklore and in popular culture by John Skipp, award-winning zombie anthologist and author, enrich an already extraordinary collection by discussing the past, present, and future of the living dead. And a resources section encompassing the best of long-form fiction, movies, websites, games is included for any reader interested in learning more about the wider world of the undead.

Sure to sate the hungriest zombie fans with classic as well as contemporary servings of tangled entrails and other unspeakable meals, Zombies: Encounters with the Hungry

Dead will be shambling out of bookstores in October 2009.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now