Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 87 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Works good - uses minimal water We went camping in the desert with limited water. We needed somthing that worked but did not require much water. This unit did the trick. We did showers and hair washes for 4 people. It worked flawlessly. The one unit heater is PLENTY of heat for summer camping. It is capable of heating just fine. Put your water almost as high as the shower head and it has plenty of volume. It was our most popular appliance. Well designed, simple, rugged. The propane and the batteries lasted for the week, there seems to be plenty left. 09/05/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Works! Love it! I am a very frequent camper, “in the middle of no where” camper…I usually jump in a creek to “bath” so this certainly is a step up. If your expectations are something like the Hilton (or even Motel 6) you won’t be happy but if you want a reasonably warm shower in the middle of the woods you’ll be happy. We used about 5 gal for 2 showers in a bucket, (the first time we pulled directly from the creek but it was too cold) the water pressure is akin to a garden hose, not too bad but nothing wonderful. The water temp is less than 100 degrees according to the instructions. It was very cold outside and I chill VERY easily so we boiled about 1 gallon of water and used the machine to “recycle” the water until lukewarm. Once we did that the water was actually hot, I am guess 110-120 degrees – skin red hot. Very important to note that the temp of the water you’re starting out with will directly impact the shower temp. We used creek water about 40 degrees so we boiled to get hot showers. If you’re camping in July this isn’t a problem, if you’re hunting in November you’ll have a different expectation and need for warmer water. The shower head is small but certainly works a million times better than a creek. So…if you’re trying to recreate a hotel exp in the woods this isn’t going to work, but if you’re looking for a warm way to be clean this does a great job. We were able to get 4-6 showers per green disposable tank and about the same per set of batteries. It does “vapor lock” easily which is easy to fix so be sure to read the directions. The carry case is about the size of two standard two boxes on top of each other w/o the propane. Price is a bit steep outside of Walmart ($120 or more) but for $88 it is a good value and worth it because i use it a lot, 5 weeks a year at min. 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 A fine product! I have used this shower a couple of times on camping trips to remote sites in the National Forest. It works better than I had anticipated. It's nice to have a hot shower after a long day of fishing. I would recommend tis unit to anyone. When I received it it had a broken part. One call to Zodi & they shipped me a new one - no questions asked. Great customer service from Zodi !! 08/02/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Payed for itself 1st use! My wife & I travel many times a year in our teardrop trailer and met a another couple in The Grand Teton National Park this past fall who told us about this product. The solar shower that we use doesn't always get it on cold cloudy days... After purchasing this in Cody's Walmart, and going to Yellowstone my wife said after the first use "It payed for itself already". It ain't like home and we didn't expect it to be. By the way you can heat up the water in the container from which you use (an old ice chest for us) and turn off the burner and then you can cycle the pump all you want. 10/23/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by Close, but not quite I tried it, and returned it.. Several things wrong.. First, you cannot turn off the water while the burner is heating.. With an outdoor shower, I shut off the water while I soap up, to save hot water... Second, the pump is not adequate.. It would not pump water from the ground to my head height.. Also, very low volume at even four feet.. I would like a better pump, with 12 vdc power optional, and the ability to shut off the water during the shower.. The heater worked fine... W... 10/14/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by GARBAGE!! I bought this for use in Florida in my hunting camp, the product is GARBAGE!! You BARELY get any water flow, and the water is NOT "Hot" even with the negligable flow! I bought a "Tankless" heater from an RV store for about 20 bucks more and was VERY satisfied with that one, hooked it to my campers water system and can get SCALDING hot water in my kitchen sink if I want it! DO NOT BUY THE ZODI you will be disappointed if you want anything close to a "Shower" 12/12/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly made product As is so common these days, this product cuts corners in many key areas. For one, the battery compartment has a clip on lid that is supposed to remain under pressure at all times to seal water out. Well, the hinge for that lid is made out of . . . plastic, about as thick as a credit card where it attaches to the body and lid. Definitely the weakest point of failure. Needless to say, it didn't last long. Once it broke, water got into the compartment and the batteries quickly rusted. Not a good deal. The hoses are also put on with cheap hose clamps that can't be adjusted like a normal hose clamp. I found this out when a hole formed in one of the hoses from the heat of the water and I had to cut the hose down and try to re-engineer the clamp just to finish my shower. Shower pressure is like a constant stream of dripping water from multiple holes. Getting shampoo out of your hair is not easy. I had to fill a cup up repeatedly and dump it on my head. Lastly, the water temperature can vary greatly by how deep the pump is in the water. Unfortunately, there isn't any clamp or anything to keep it down in the water. Perhaps I am being to critical of a product that is 'better than nothing', but it has a very poor weakest point of failure. I'd look for something a little more durable. 06/09/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by its better than a spit shower Its O.K. But thats all, if the water is real cold it wont heat it to the temp that you need to be comfortable, and that can be a problem for some. but if the water is 65 or 70 deg in the bucket that you are pumping from it dose o.k. it will not work if you are thinking of hooking it up to a garden hose the water coming out of the hose is too cold for the heater to heat, the pump works good as long as the batterys are new, the propane tanks seem to last awile, overall its a shower when one is not avaliable. 05/14/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dioes noit work as advertized I finally got it a position to use this water heater/shower and was sorely disappointed. Everything worked on the unit but the water never got more than tepid at best. I realized that the water source I'm using is pretty cool but I couldn't tell the difference from the temp of the water source and the water coming out of the shower. The pressure was substantially lower than I'd hoped but I needed the shower and all I can say about it was it was quite invigorating. I'm going to try to hook up an alternate heat source for my water source and try to heat that up before it goes through the shower but from what I've read I shouldn't have had to do that. The instructions say that if the water is not warm enough then direct the shower into the water source and run it through again. For the amount of heat generated by this unit I think I would have had to re-cycle the water all night to get it warm. Nice concept but in my experience...it doesn't do what it is advertized to do. 04/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sorely Disappointed Purchased this unit last year after reading all the positive reviews. I used it last year when I couldn't use my kitchen sink to wash dishes. It worked like it was supposed to, so I'm pleased (especially since I bought this behind my husbands back). Fast forward to this past weekend (Memorial Day 2011). The first day of use, both the hoses burned off the heater unit sending steam hissing. I'm ticked, but the pump still worked, so I set the water can in the sun. Well of course the pump stopped working in the middle washing dishes. I changed batteries but that didn't solve the problem. I refuse to throw away $99, so if anyone can tell me if there are heat resistant hoses to fit this thing, I would greatly appreciate the info. It galls me to have to pay for another pump. But after reading the reviews for the competing battery operated pumps, it seems I'm stuck with this Zodi. How sad that Coleman does not sell theirs anymore. 05/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by zodi camper shower when I ordered this shower unit I was rehabbing my 30 foot travel trailer. I needed to shower and I came across this shower on line at Walmart. I have used this device almost every night and it works like a charm. I put water in a six gallon bucket let it circulate and warm up than take my shower. This is one of the best tools I now own. It is worth buying. 03/15/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by for a camp shower its pretty good. but its not like home so if your expecting something like that its not. its also not as good as an rv shower. its worth the money because the alternative is no shower in the woods or a "spit" bath and its much better than a spit bath 04/22/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice for the price! My wife and I camp about 4 times a year and have always used a bag shower to get cleaned up. The problem is they dont get to warm and you have to hang the bag so high, I'm 6'4'' tall. This shower kicks for a cheaply priced unit. It has good pressure with a good set of batteries, even pumping from a card table to 7' high. Could spend more to get a little more but this unit is more than enough for the cool to warm weather camper. Seems to be very durable while transporting even with the soft bag. The only flaw is you need to add something to weigh down the pump or it tends to float. Other than that, it works awesome! 05/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have!!! We have had one of these in the past, we love it! When your in the middle of the woods with no power this is perfect. It doesn't have alot of pressure, but enough, to rinse off soap and rinse out your shampoo and conditioner. Plan ahead for your water source!!! We filled a medium sized tote and we were both able to take a shower. And it's warm not hot. 08/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go to bed clean when camping!!! This unit performed as advertised. Replaced hose to shower head with a longer one which was really simple. Some "sweat" on heating coils when water is cold but no problems with leaking. Less than five gallons of water per shower. Need to combine it with a nice pop up shower stall if modesty is an issue, other than that great price and performance. 07/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome product Works really well, easy to set up. Bigger shower head would be nice, but hey, it's a shower for camping! 10/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worked briefly Purchased online paid for next-day shipping. The water heater worked about 6 times. With new batteries the water flow was too fast to get hot water. With one used battery added it slowed flow enough to give hot water. After the 6th shower the propane valve failed and would not allow enough propane to flow to ignite. Returned to my local Walmart and was out the shipping fee. 11/20/2007
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok For warm weather OK my expectations were a little high I guess, my friend and I tried to use this outdoor shower in weather around 30 to 40 degrees and it did not get near warm enough!! I suspect this shower will work great in the summer/spring though.. also if the water is already warmed that helps.. Then again, we were probably just not doing something right.. (it happens) OVerall, I am happy with the purchase and look forward to using it in the warmer weather.. 01/04/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay if the water is not really cold to start with We took this on our last camping trip and unfortunately the creek water was too cold to even get the water warm. The second time we used it we decided to heat up some water on the stove first to warm up the tub of water and it worked pretty well for taking a shower outdoors. Instant hot it is not but you can get the water warm. 08/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not hot enough Good concept. Happy I had it. But the water is not hot enough. 08/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Although, I thought price was a little high for me,but I it is a great little water heater. This my second one .I am sure if you follow the directions properly, you will not have to purchase a second one. I have had the first one for almost two years, and I wouldn't buy anything other. 08/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect !!!!!! This shower exceeded our expectations in every way. Water heated up very fast, water pressure was great, and it was extremely easy to use. 08/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for MY needs Gotta say for the price and the easy to use guide, i like it..saves me from taken the dogs to the bathtub.....n for emergency situations....the reason i didnt give 5 stars for expectations is because the switch to lit has not worked yet...it sys to light the first time, but not the 2nd,3rd and so on...but lighting is easy tho...but jus one more thing to keep in bag if something happens.. 07/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product Bought this and it seems to be very good as an overall shower. If your buying this as a stand alone unit I would suggest that you get the standing shower pole for it. That way your not holding the water sprayer in your hand the whole time. Unit must be circulating water when the heater is on so you go through the water rather quickly and there is no on off switch while your showering. If you get an extra 5 gallon bucket it helps a lot. cant beat the price camping stores have them at almost twice the price I rate this a 8 out of 10 07/16/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cold Shower This product was not what is was cracked up to be. Maybe we got a lemon. Will return. Bit of advice. Try it out before you go camping expecting a hot shower. 07/10/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice when needed at wilderness campsites I bought this for backwoods campsites, where no facilities are available. It works nice, heats the water and the pump moves the water at a steady rate. It's not a high pressure shower like home, but the compact unit meets expectations after a long day on the trails. 06/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great unit if no showers at campground I used this on a recent camping trip and it performed as described. To get warmer water, it is convenient that all you have to do is recirculate the water by placing the shower end back in the water bucket until the water reaches the desired temperature. The batteries and propane tank lasted through 5 showers which included about 5 minutes each time of pre-heating the water. Also I did not turn off the heater or pump while soaping up--I just kept washing and rinsing without dawdling. Carrying the water in a bucket to the shower area is a minor inconvenience. The amount of the spray is greatly improved if the water bucket, pump and heater are elevated on a table. I can imagine that it would be very inconvenient if the pump batteries and/or propane tank were depleted mid-shower. 06/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Essential for campers! This turns freezing cold creek water hot instantly? I had my doubts! My husband hooked it up and turned it on and showed me how wrong I was! I was so happy to have a warm shower while camping. That's the best money I've ever spent! We will not leave home on our next trip without it! 06/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 great item makes hot water in a second came real fast on delivery 04/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WooHoo Hot Water I am very impressed with this water heater. I was actually very surprised the water got hot so fast when I was expecting to recycle for a while before my shower. I like the reviewer who suggested putting a weight on the intake nozzle; I did not have that trouble, but worried about it floating. The water flow is good, plenty of water to get the job done. No, it's not going to be like home...you're camping...this is a luxury. Suggestion: get the Grand Trunk Shower Tent, Awesome!! Zodi is a Great procuct! I was clean and my dishes were clean.. Yeah 09/18/2012
1-30 of 83 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw165
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp