Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 18 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for New England. Works well on light snow. Constantly jamming with wet snow. Not enough power to throw snow far enough. On heavy snow from plows at end of driveway needs to be manually pushed. The single speed drive does not have enough power to get through the pile. Can only attack the pile by cutting into it a few inches at a time instead of the entire 22" cut. Starts easily. Doesn't use a lot of gas. Transmission slipping after two seasons. Repair costs almost as much as new one. For heavy New England snows this just doesn't make the grade. 01/12/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Buy This snow blower was junk right from the beginning. In the first year i used it once then the pull string seized up and wouldn't start back up. 2nd year used it 3 times on the forth time went to use it and it wouldn't start at all. I took it to the repair shop for the 3rd time in 2 years and the shop said the piston was shot. All i can say is i got a lemon !!!!!!!!! 02/06/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by So far so good Haven't had a chance to use it for a heavy snowfall yet, but cleared basic snow well after a 3-4 inch fall. Doesn't handle ice/slush well, but that's not unexpected. The chute is a little flimsy - concerned that it will break in a short period of time. 01/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over 20 yrs and still going strong! I just had to write a review for this snowblower after reading the bad reviews people have left. I have owned this same exact snowblower that I purchased from Walmart in 1992..yes 1992! That is 21 years. I want to also state that I live in upstate New York where we average 100+ inches of snow per winter and I love this snowblower. It has never failed us. In 20 yrs all we have had to do is replace a spark plug every few years and after maybe 15 yrs and 100s of uses the pull string. I would recommend this too anyone and would buy another one in a heart beat. So judge for yourself not by these bad reviews... 11/27/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by life saver My hisband and I have used this snow blower for our business twice this year. It was a really big help. It did not do so well in the slush , but I have not yet seen the first one that does do well in the slush. It is a real back saver. You wont regret buying it. ( It really paid for itself in just two driveways) 02/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Give it a chance, it won't disappoint! I'm not sure what other reviewers were expecting? My only problem with this is I didn't buy it five years ago. I went to store to purchase single stage( I didn't want to spend 500-600 ) we got 7-8 inches yesterday and this was last one at store. Not wanting to shovel, bought this. Right out of truck filled with gas, pushed primer 4 or 5 times, started on first pull. WHAT? Plowing down driveway, not throwing snow very far like other review said, tip chute up a bit. Throws snow easily 25-30 feet across my yard. If you need more power than this, you need a 4x4 with a plow. Only downside is it's over $500. - Told my wife I'm actually looking forward to getting more snow! 12/15/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worked so far Used it in the first snow (1/26/11) and it worked OK. We had a heavy wet snow and the Yard Machine didn't seem to have enough power to throw the snow very far so it had the move the same snow several times. The only bad thing I found was that the second stag blades are made of platic so they where nicked when it picked up an accational rock. However, it was easy to start, and easy to use and it moved 11 inches of wet snow pretty well. 01/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by stopped running ran for 2 minutes and then stopped defeated the purpose of on line ordering and delivery as i had to load it in my car and take it back 12/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Snow shovel I was excited to try this out after our first snowfall. I was very dissapointed. It did not throw snow very far at all maybe 2-3 feet. It was as if the auger could not push the snow into the thrower. It would just pile up infront of the auger as it pushed the snow out of the way. I wasn't trying to move very much snow either maybe 4 inches. It does come with a handy little plastic stick but that was about the only thing usefull on it. I took it back to the store they were very nice about returning it. 12/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by great snowblower for convenience this yardman snowblower is priced reasonable and is easy to use and received it in a few days. highly recommended. 01/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have had mine 18 years and love it I am not certain about the poor reviews , I can tell you this after 18 years I have changed the oil 1 time and broken 2 sheer pins hitting newspapers that were buried , plus gas used .. total expense. I would not give this up unless I move to Florida or Arizona . It does not do well in the super wet slushy snow but will easily handle a normal 6-12 in snow with no issues . if someone stole it I would buy the Exact same .. dont need elect start 01/04/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lasted three weeks before breaking down Purchased 1-9-2014 and put it to immediate use clearing my driveway and sidewalk. Started fine and did a good job for as long as it lasted. Worked great four times but halfway through the fifth snowfall in three weeks the blades and auger stopped turning. Checked the four shear pins but they were intact. I suspect an internal belt or something broke so I returned it on 1-29-14, 20 days after purchase. Our driveway and sidewalks are normal paved surfaces, nothing a normal snowblower shouldn't be able to handle. 02/03/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bought this thrower 2 yrs ago it soaked in oil and was told nothing could be done . Cute does clog often. Just now went to start it for 5th time in 2 yrs and pull cord broke. Does not start easily either. It is a lemon. 12/30/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not start Went to start this and nothing. Upon further review I found out the primer hose has a hole in it. Called Yard Machine and they said they will send me another hose to install. Why should I have to do this? 03/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for our needs We bought this before the last storm that hit our area. We have an electric snow blower that did well with 20" of snow, but it took a long time to clear the driveway. This time we had 10" and this machine cut through it like a hot knife through butter. It performed as we expected and were very satisfied with it. The only thing I would change is to add a reverse speed. 03/07/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty good I have had no problems with this blower during the four seasons of use. My only complaint is the self-propel could move at a quicker pace. My suggestion for Yard Machine is to upgrade this machine to multiple self-propel speeds. 01/06/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this at the end of the year, but I did get to use it in Ohio's winter weather a few times. Performed better than I thought it would. Went through 1.5" drifts with ease. 10" of snow was nothing for it. This was a wet snow. Does the chute need to be cleared out? Yes, but not too much that makes the blower not perform, or annoying. Starts easy. Can't comment to much how long the blower will last, but I didn't buy it for commercial usage. 10/21/2013
1-18 of 18 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw109
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp