Wolf Among the Stars

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
  • Browse Related Products
  •  
Advertisement

Wolf Among the Stars

Format:  Hardcover,

245 pages

Publisher: Pocket Books

Publish Date: Nov 2011

ISBN-13: 9781451637540

ISBN-10: 1451637543

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$17.52

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.
Sequel to "Eagle Against the Stars. "With Earth recently emerged from alien domination, a space-naval officer uncovers a human-alien conspiracy to involve Earth is a deadly war for galactic empire that would destroy Earth's fragile democracy. "New York Times "best-seller (with David Weber) and action-adventure science fiction stalwart Steve White returns with a rousing tale of adventure and space warfare in the near future.
A near-future Earth has shaken off the devastating colonization by alien Lokaran invaders and totalitarian rule by the alien's puppets, the Earth First party. But now Earth is flung into galactic intrigue and war. The Lokaron empire teeters on the edge of a fratricidal meltdown and a cabal of ancient enemies hope to use Earth as a proxy to destroy the empire and rule over a new Galactic Dark Age.
Now Captain Andrew Roark, the son of heroes of the rebellion and an officer trained in Lokaran space warfare tactics, joins with a highly capable Lokar who opposes the empire but wishes to see it transformed rather than destroyed. Together they must uncover a conspiracy to control Earth, and then obtain the secret key to defeating it. War for galactic control looms, and freedom for Earth--so recently escaped from under the boot-heel of one oppressor--is once again in the balance.
About Steve White:
"White offers fast action and historically informed world-building."--"Publishers Weekly"
About Steve White's "Forge of the Titans"
." . . recalls the best of the John Campbell era of SF. White's core audience of hard SF fans will be pleased. . ."--"Publishers Weekly"
." . .engaging entertainment. . .much suspense and many well-handled action scenes. . ."--"Booklist"
About Steve White's "St. Anthony's Fire: "
"Give this one high marks for entertainment."--"Booklist"

Specifications

Publisher: Pocket Books
Publish Date: Nov 2011
ISBN-13: 9781451637540
ISBN-10: 1451637543
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 245
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.95
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 6.75 x 10.0 x 1.25

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2011-10-15)

Having freed itself from the alien Lokar an invaders and the totalitarian Earth First Party, Earth now finds itself embroiled in galactic warfare as enemies of the collapsing Lokar an Empire seek to use the planet as a new battleground. Capt. Andrew Roark, a veteran of the rebellion, joins forces with a Lokar who seeks to transform his race into a non imperialistic society. Together, these former enemies must prevent the return of tyranny to the galaxy.

Verdict: The sequel to Eagle Against the Stars is a strong tale of military sf featuring memorable characters and fast-paced action. Fans of David Weber and David Drake will like this action-packed story of war among the stars.

(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

Sequel to Eagle Against the Stars. With Earth recently emerged from alien domination, a space-naval officer uncovers a human-alien conspiracy to involve Earth is a deadly war for galactic empire that would destroy Earth’s fragile democracy. New York Times best-seller (with David Weber) and action-adventure science fiction stalwart Steve White returns with a rousing tale of adventure and space warfare in the near future.

A near-future Earth has shaken off the devastating colonization by alien Lokar an invaders and totalitarian rule by the alien’s puppets, the Earth First party. But now Earth is flung into galactic intrigue and war. The Lokar on empire teeters on the edge of a fratricidal meltdown and a cabal of ancient enemies hope to use Earth as a proxy to destroy the empire and rule over a new Galactic Dark Age.

Now Captain Andrew Roark, the son of heroes of the rebellion and an officer trained in Lokar an space warfare tactics, joins with a highly capable Lokar who opposes the empire but wishes to see it transformed rather than destroyed. Together they must uncover a conspiracy to control Earth, and then obtain the secret key to defeating it. War for galactic control looms, and freedom for Earth—so recently escaped from under the boot-heel of one oppressor—is once again in the balance.

About Steve White:

White offers fast action and historically informed world-building.— Publishers Weekly

About Steve White’s Forge of the Titans:

... recalls the best of the John Campbell era of SF. White's core audience of hard SF fans will be pleased... .— Publishers Weekly

... engaging entertainment... much suspense and many well-handled action scenes... — Booklist

About Steve White’s St. Anthony’s Fire:

Give this one high marks for entertainment.— Booklist

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now