Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 415 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed I was very surprised by this product! I needed a closet because I moved into my sister-in-law/brother-in-law's basement and there wasn't a closet in the room. I read many reviews for similar standing closets and was worried about buying one because many reviews said that the closet falls apart after only a few pieces of clothes are hung on it. I use this closet for all of my clothes and have not had any problems and do not foresee any either. It holds a ton of clothes and has a lot of extra storage with the shelves. I definitely recommend this closet to anyone who is looking to buy one! 09/06/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough When I moved to a new apartment that had NO closests, this was the perfect alternative. I use it to hold all of my winter gear (several heavy jackets, rain suits, snowpants, boots, etc.) and to store camping gear and other overflow items. The design of the unit is really great and very functional... however it is a little rickety and you have to put in some extra muscle to make sure everything is connected properly. It could be manufactured with stronger materials, but this'll work for now. 09/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for anyone that needs to organize a closet I bought this for my baby's closet because it didn't have any rods. It's perfect!!! It was extremely easy to assemble and it's very sturdy. 08/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUTSTANDING! This stand alone closet is great it took a few moments to put it together and then it was up and running. I use it to the maximum and haven't had any problems I'm loving it! Attach a pic for u to see 09/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good product This is a good product to buy. One person's all the clothing can be accommodated. The one disadvantage of this product is that it does not have castor wheels to move. Once you assemble and hang your clothes, it is hard to move. Everything else is good. 10/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by worth every penny. holds 35 wooden flat hangers on top bar and 35 more on the bottom bar. put my printer on first shelf, and scanner on next, and 2 large canvas bins on the 3rd and 4th shelves to hold jeans and sweaters. Put some nice smaller canvas bins on the top parts for socks, boxers, and uindershirts. the 2 bars dont bend at all. it is a very sturdy device. required no tools. It isnt ugly either. its nice looking once the clothes on canvas bins are on it. the price is great too. will buy again if i need another one. 05/28/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Looked good on paper Purchased this for an extra closet--to hold coats and sweatshirts. It went together easy enough--but was far less than sturdy once it was all together. Too light weight for my purposes. It might be good for light weight items--but not coats. It wouldn't have necessarily fallen over, but it didn't look like it would last either. 08/27/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Is this what we get for $50? I've had it for 2 weeks now. I haven't had it loaded down heavily since I just use it to hang things I've taken from the dryer, so for what I do with it, it works. But here's the biggest complaint: The top wire shelf of the thing is directly above the hanger rod. In fact, one wire of the top shelf is centered directly over the hanger rod. They are so close together (about an inch) that it's tough to get hangers on or off the hanger rod, especially with clothes on them. To remedy this, I took a pair of lineman's pliers and cut and removed the wire directly above the hanger rod. This makes it usable. 01/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good for the price. I really love this product. I have over 150 pieces of clothing on the rods and about 20 pairs of jeans plus shoes on the side racks. If you're looking for a product that will hold an entire wardrobe, this will be great for you. 11/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and Large I have several storage areas throughout my home but not much closet space in the bedrooms. This item is perfect for making a storage area into an extra closet for clothes, without requiring any drilling into my walls to put up clothes racks. The item is very sturdy and nicely placed together, just be very careful when assembling or place a piece on wrong when assembling it – we snapped a plastic piece when trying to pull it back out after realizing we assembled it backwards (nothing a little super glue can’t handle). Overall, very satisfied! 12/08/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too Small, too meek This is probably great for small kids. I'm 6'3, so in order to hang anything I had to remove the center bar. On my girlfriends, she's small so she has the center bar in place. We have it filled, not over stuffed, with cloths and it's not strong enough to hold them all. We've had these for a few months now and I wish I'd spent a couple hundred to get a product that would last instead of cheeping out. 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by sturdy,clean lines, very useful Having read some reviews saying that this clothes rack fell down, I was skeptical. The box says no tools installation. If you use no tools, it likely will fall down. It is nearly impossible to get the metal rods into the plastic holes all the way with nothing but your hands. A rubber mallet does the trick. I don't think this rack would fall apart if hit with a vehicle now. I bought it as my only clothes closet, as I just moved into a 24 foot yurt and did not build in a closet. Attractive, good quality. Highly recommend. 03/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good overall This product definitely met my expectations. The only criticism I have is that it bends a little where the shelving unit meets the closet rails in the middle, which might be partly my fault during installation. This causes the entire structure to shift a little to the left. It not too noticeable on mine, and like I said, it's probably due to the fact that I didn't make sure all of the pieces were very tightly snug when I put them together. The directions say to get a very tight fit between the plastic connectors and the metal polls- do not take this lightly! It is vital if you want the frame to be sturdy and stand perpendicular to the floor. Other than that, though, it holds all of my summer clothes, along with a few dresses, and the lower rack for pants is perfect for skirts, sweaters, pants, etc. The shelving on the side is very roomy- large boxes or crates could easily fit into the room provided. Overall, an efficient use of space and very helpful if you live in an apartment with no closet! 08/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Option I bought 2 of these. They are very easy to assemble, and fit in my closets perfect, I got one for each closet. The material is excellent, and they look very good. This is an excellent choice to do a closet make over and a better organization without having to measure, or do installation. I am very happy! 08/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is wonderful! I bought this closet because there is only one built-in closet in my whole house and it isn't in my bedroom. I got tired of either having to go through the house to get clothes or having piles of clothing stacked around my bedroom. The Whitmor closet is much bigger than I expected, especially after seeing the little box in which it was shipped. It said "no tool assembly", but having read at least one review that said the connections had to be solid or the closet would fall apart, I used a hammer (gently) to make sure everything fit together and would stay together. It looks nice and definitely does its job. The side shelves are quite large also and hold my shoes and other accessories quite well. The only complaint I have is that the top hanging rod is too close to the top shelf, so one has to hold the hanger horizontally to get it over the rod. What I did was put on all the hangers I wanted to use, then hung the clothing on them - I use the top rod for button-up clothes that don't require taking the hanger down. Other than that one complaint, I am completely satisfied with the Whitmor freestanding closet. 08/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by stay away from looked good on the screen and on the box. Was exactly the right fit for the closet. cross member supports are plastic and all but one was damaged before I even got started putting it together. I returned it and went to Lowes and got something different. I especially love the do not return note if things a wrong. Does anyone honestly thing I would wait weeks for replacement parts. 11/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I downsized and moved into an older smaller home. There is only one closet in the house. This supplements my lack of closet space. I thought I had a lot of clothes. It holds everything plus I still have room. It's sturdy and handles a good amount of weight. 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome for orginization! I bought this for my boyfriend as we live in a house built in 1935 and it lacks closet space. He has hung over 100 shirts, jerseys, and hoodies on the two racks and filled the shelves with hats and shoes. I couldn't be happier. It holds the clothes and my house is orginized. 06/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by very dissapointing this product looked exactly what i needed. got it home and it was a major pain to put together. once it was together i started to hang my clothes on it. whoever designed this did so for kids clothes. regular adult clothes do not hang right. when hung from the top bar they over lap the bottom bar. when hung on the bottom bar the clothes drag the floor and get rinkled. its next to impossible to take it apart to return it either. 01/23/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I purchased this via walmart.com in Jun of 2011. Didnt have any trouble putting it together once arrived. Was happy with the appearance, it was what I was looking for as my son had moved in with me and I didnt have any closet space for him. Here it is Sept 3, 2011 and the top plastic piece that holds the top bar broke. My son and I were talking and heard metal hit the floor, went to investigate and found his clothes in the floor. As he tried to put the bar back up is when he noticed it was broke. He only had about 5 shirts on it and 4 pair of jeans on it. I have to call wal mart to see if they will let me return it to them because I didnt save the box, as I was happy with it after we set it up and thought it would work just fine. Another thing that bothered me, was the fact that the clothes on top rack hung over the bottom rack, I thought there would be a little space between the two bars. 09/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased With Purchase! I ordered this online & it was shipped quickly! Our son (24) has used it in his room for a few weeks now & likes it as well. It holds all his clothes plus his dragon collection on the side shelves! Assembly wasn't too bad, just time consuming. Be sure to push the pieces together all the way!! 04/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than expected set up was simple the poles click into place and much more sturdy than expected...thinking of ordering a few more...in the next couple weeks..right now i have 20 jackets hanging on the top and 15 sweats on the bottom ...been using it for about a week..so far so good!!!! 02/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for college apartment... I bought this for my daughter's apartment at college instead of a dresser and we both love it, love it, love it! Good price, holds a ton of clothes (we used cloth bins on the shelves to hold socks, underwear, shorts, pajamas), and it was easier to transport than a heavy piece of furniture. Did I say we love it? 01/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked out great for a closet!! This product exceeded my expectations! 09/26/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor quality When I unpacked this box there were several missing pieces and no instructions. I had to return this to the WalMart store. I had no problem returning this, customer service was very helpful. 09/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect for my small apt This was very easy to put together...perfect for the area in which I needed it..gotta love walmart...my fav store 07/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed I ordered this for my toddler son. We live in a very old house, so closets are rare. We brought it home and had it put together in about 20 minutes. I loaded it up with all his clothes this morning and I am very happy with it. It is a little unsteady, but still 100% functional. We are going to get tethers to help secure it to the wall (my son is starting to climb) so it can't be pulled down. I am very happy I bought this, it is exactly what I needed. 03/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product This product was very easy to put together. It did require a hammer to make sure that the brackets were fitting snugly with the metal bars but once we put it together it looked great! It is very sturdy- just make sure you have a hammer to assemble. I would order this product again. 03/08/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not For Men's Size T-Shirts Horrible, I purchased this for my 15 year old son’s clothes. His shirts that hang on the top rack droop over the shirts on the bottom rack. After the trouble I went through to purchase and put together the closet I do not have the strength to take it down, pack it up, return it and start all over. Not for men's size t-shirts! Poor product that they do not allow for the distance of a men's size t- shirt from one bar to the next or inform you of the distance from one hanging bar to the other. 08/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Handled Everything I needed We purchased 2 of these and my husband found a way to combine. We had our shoes, coats, jeans, slacks and shirts. It is worth the cost and I did a lot of research and found this would be the best. We've had for well over 12 months and it never tipped or came apart. 09/29/2012
1-30 of 348 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew209
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp