Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 23 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by great media box i bought this mainly for netflix,and because (WD) western digital is one of my trusted brands for computer hard drives.it has alot of features and the rubberized feel of the remote is awesome!.only thing that would make the remote better on one of these is a slide out qwerty keyboard like on a phone.the box itself gets fairly warm,but i guess that is ok.i bought this will all intentions of running an ethernet cable straight to it after hearing others talk about weak wifi connections,but my router is in the basement and im getting a perfect wifi signal on this box upstairs,and have never had a connection issue.i have a 16mb cable internet speed,so no problems there.only problem i have really seen is from time to time i have to unplug (reset) the box before it will become responsive...a firmware update may fix this problem idk....overall i am completely happy with this product. 03/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product for basic high speed internet sevice this device performs very well,and i have windows7 home premium,so when i connected the unit to my NETGEAR ROUTER WNDR3700v3,wich is worth every penny!the device automaticly loads,and updates if required!very easy to set up and use!trust me this device will perform well,steaming content such as NETFLIX,and all the rest.the device will detect your hdtv settings so you can set to your preferences,like mine,wich is 720p 60hz,so i set OK on that setting!bottom line the device works very well,and there is NO lag at all!!!smoth sailing movies!and the OPTICAL cable connection sounds great,you can also set sound prossesing optomizing also!i only have dolby,and dts checked,because other settings checked may prevent sound out put to your speaker system!all i have is a soundbar speaker,but i'm sure an a/v reciever will process other two settings!all i have is century link basic high speed service,1.5 mbps:with 660 dsl modem,and still perfoms with no problems at all!!and also the ethernet wired connection makes all the difference,all around.very conveient feature to have, 05/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really great product Gotta be honest, I've only used it for streaming (netflix, facebook), but once connected, stays connects for me. Accuweather is nice too. One drawback, even though I've saved my netflix sign-in info, I have to re-enter a few times a week, but that's more likely a netflix issue. I now keep an extra keyboard a 04/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great Out preformed my Expectations 02/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this like the plague, very disappointing I wanted one of these for 2 years. I finally got one 2 weeks ago and what a huge disappointment it has been for me. First off, i'm a computer technician so my skill level is high... and if i have problems with this thing... imagine what the average person is going to experience. I purchased it because i wanted to be able to stream netflix as well as my own movies that i keep on a 2TB wd mybook. What a terrible idea that was! I only purchased the box because it was cheaper than building a new HD computer to do the job. Well, two weeks later i am so fed up with this box that i'm returning it tomorrow. I'm more excited about getting rid of the thing than i was when i first got it... and that's a shame. The WDTV LIVE has a history of firmware issues. I discovered this AFTER the fact. It has a lot of problems LOCKING UP and it seems the developers and WD know about these issues and haven't done much to alleviate them. Go check out the wdtv live forums and you'll see what i mean. Or do a quick google search on WDTV LOCKUP PROBLEMS. My box locked up the first time on day 2 of owning it. It locked up when an ethernet cable came lose from the back of it. Instead of just knocking the system offline it locked the entire box up. It has no physical reset button so when lock up occurs all you can do is pull the power plug. I was using a bad ethernet cable so i replaced it... shouldn't have been a big deal... but it was. Immediately after replacing the cable i had to fiddle with NETFLIX to get it to connect again. It took an hour of turning on and off the box before netflix would cooperate. Seems like the loose ethernet cable caused the netflix software to act up. From that moment everything else went downhill. It took 2 hours for the device to read and "COMPILE" my external hard drive. Not a big deal... i expected it to take long. It worked great for a day. The next day it FORGOT my entire library of files and i had to "COMPILE" the library again. Really strange. So, I set out to compile it again and i was willing to excuse this weird glitch.... but then it just locked up... again and again. It never did recompile my movie library. I tried time and time again, each time it would lock up during compiling after about 2 minutes. I tried 3 more times in total to get it to read and compile my library. Each time it just locked up and i had to pull the power plug. The device is just not cut out for the job. My external hard drive is brand new. I purchased it the same day i purchased the wdtvlive. The problem is not the hard drive. I suspect that the device can't really handle any more than say 500 gb of data without it acting up. It's not made to handle a real library (all i have is a 2TB drive of music and movies -- all of which have NO PROBLEM playing on multiple computers in the house). Very disappointing. The media library is a terribly written piece of software. The developers should be ashamed of themselves for producing something with so many holes in it. Sure you can operate the device without the media library software, by turning it off. But that's really lame. I bought this because i wanted it to MANAGE my media... i wanted the use of the media library software. Save yourself the headache. If you want streaming... get a ROKU or some other device, and if you want something to read your external media STAY AWAY from this thing. It's just not worth the trouble for the price. I'm going to just spend the extra money and build a new computer like i originally wanted. This thing just wasted my time. Don't let it waste yours too. 06/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I use it with the WD livewire powerline network Got it mainly for Netflix - works perfectly. There's many other channels available; for me the most useful was Pandora which gives Crunchyroll ( though not premium with no ads ) through Flingo. Don't know how it would work with wireless; I've found wd livewire much faster and more reliable than the wireless. 09/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does everything I need. Bought to hook up an external hard drive that I have all my 80s cartoons loaded on in VOB format. Works great and good video/audio quality. The only complaint is the remote isn't to powerful. Over all this device works great and helps me relive Saturday morning cartoons and listen to my favorite music with hdmi quality. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and fast WD streamer definitely installs easily and downloads media quickly. I tried 2 other brands and had to set up an acct on one if I wanted to use and the other was so slow on the downloading and was not dependable as 1st day it over heated and would not stay on more than a minute. Very happy with WD. 05/25/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor reception between wifi and the wd media player. For those who are looking for average to poor quality this product is for you. I returned the product to walmart did not meet just the normal standards. 07/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great WDTV Works like a CHARM! it also works well with Sea Gate hard drives as well. i am very impressed. great quality 06/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Media Player!!! I purchased the WD TV Live Media Player after having purchased the original WD Media Player a few years ago. This is an excellent media player that works wonderfully. The only drawback is the limited number of online services. Has the main ones such as Hulu, Netflix & Vudu, but could definitely use a larger selection. Other than that this is a great Media Player that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great device for streaming videos and watching your digital library. 06/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed This player requires a router (not included). So frustrating! I returned it because the router cost almost as much as the player. 07/28/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Locks up, and won't respond. Unit locks up and refuses to budge. You have to unplug unit to reset. Not happy at all. 10/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Device, Download Updates 1st Make sure you connect this device to the internet via Ethernet 1st and download all the updates. If not, a few faults you will come across is: remote response is lacking. It takes >5sec per button push for the unit to respond. Press the button too many times, it will catch-up and be on an option you don't want. Plus the wireless reception is weak. Won’t receive wireless N from the next room well. 10/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I originally was looking at the Apple TV before I stumbled upon this gem of a product. Unlike Apple which strives to create the most restrictive technology possible, this product does everything it possibly can to be a true media player. It is a great media player, can handle mkv files and a whole bunch of other files. I wholeheartedly recommend this product. Only slight con is that the interface is not as smooth as the one on the PS3. 09/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does what I need it to do After making countless DVDs and experiencing recent DVD conversion problems, I decided to try this. At first it was frustrating, I couldn't connect to my PC through the network, so I made use of my old external hard drive (also WD) and transferred onto it all the video files I want to watch, and it works like a charm. The menus leave much to be desired, and it's not perfect but the thing does what I really need it to do, so I can't complain too much. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product, except one thing. This is a good media player except that it does not change audio/language option. And I change to the play mode that can change the audio/language option then it won't skip chapters. That's not what my primary purpose of purchasing this player. Hopefully, I can research online further to find a way to do it. Other than that, it's a great product! 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The is a great media player This is the best media player I have found that allows you to use so many differant media sources . 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Setup It networked with my other media devices instantly without creating an IP address conflict. Easy setup. It connected to the Internet instantly. It has Netflix and two pages of other online services. I do wish it had Amazon though. Great product. 05/03/2012
1-20 of 20 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw281
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp