See All Reviews
West Bend Hi-Rise Breadmaker
West Bend Hi-Rise Breadmaker
$75.00
Was: $99.00
Rollback
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 287 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by West Bend Breadmaker My first loaf of bread was a flop, but that was before I discovered that you need to measure the ingredients ACCURATELY. I made more accurate measurements using the measuring cup provided with the machine, and my second loaf turned out great using Pamela's Gluten-Free Bread Mix. The machine makes great bread, it's pretty easy to clean, and fairly quiet. I like the dual knead bars and the shape of the loaf pan which is similar to a loaf you'd buy at the store. The only very minor negative is that the breadmaker takes up a fairly large space in my small kitchen. 12/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC BREADMAKER I have had this breadmaker for about a month now. So far it has been GREAT! I bought it to make Gluten Free Breads for my child, who rejected all the store pre-made GF breads. It's Well Priced, Simple to Use, Clean up is Extremely Easy, it's Quiet, Doesn't Move/Walk when kneeding and Makes Delicious Bread with Pamela's Gluten Free Bread Mix. I follow Pamela's pkg. directions, use the Basic setting on Medium Temp, and 2.0 lb. Loaf. The breads have been Fantastic! I look forward to trying other settings. Finally my child can have Light, Tasty Bread that is not grainy or dense. I also LOVE THIS BREAD and I am not restricted to a GF diet. I Highly Recommend the West Bend Hi Rise Breadmaker! 09/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Replacing old bread machine This one more than met my expectations. This makes better bread than my Sunbeam did. The breads go fast around here now. It also matches beautifully with my decor. I also want to add, it doesn't vibrate and move around on my counter during the kneading process. My only complaint (and it's pretty minor) are the kneading things coming out in the bread. However, with a careful hand, one can cut around them to remove from the bread. Piece of cake! Unlike my other machine where the kneading thing stayed in the pan and was impossible to remove to wash. 11/13/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bread maker I like the 2 paddle feature and the shape of the pan, which is more like a store bought loaf shape. I've only used it once so far so I can't say much else. It worked nicely the first time out of the box, and it also comes with a nice hook which is handy for pulling the paddle out of the bread if it gets stuck. 11/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Bread Maker Ever My husband bought me the West Bend bread machine for our anniversary. I had a West Bend bread maker when they first came out in the 1990's and I enjoyed it. This one is much nicer and has all the features of the more expensive machines such as two mixing paddles and the warming feature that keeps the bread warm after it is done. I have made six loafs so far using my old recipe and the bread comes out perfect. I have found by adding an additional quarter cup of bread flour to my recipe the bread does not fall in the center. I also use Rapid Rise yeast. I have been making basic white bread and the two pound loaf looks like it is from the bakery. I think it is very quiet running and very easy to operate. If you like home made bread you can't go wrong with this machine. 08/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by strong machine I have used this machine about 8 times to make french sourdough using the dough function. The dough is very wet and the motor does not strain mixing the dough. I have not yet baked with the machine. The only thing I'd like to add is that the instructions state there is a pause function, but when I called the company, they said this is a misprint. There is no pause function. Also, the custom function is not entirely programable, as there are minimum number of minutes for each part of the bread making (rise, knead, etc.) 10/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT BREADMAKER!!! This is an early Christmas present from my husband and I just love it!! I like the flexibility of making the different size loaves for my family of five or if I want to make a loaf for a shut in I can choose a smaller loaf. I have had this maker for 5 days and I have experimented everyday with it. My husband is pretty proud of himself to get me such a great, usable gift that he gets to enjoy also. Don't forget to go to the website and download the additional recipes and helpful hints, it is really worth printing it out and putting in a binder. 12/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of dough! I love this machine. I got it for my birthday last month and I have already used it several times. In fact, just yesterday I made a triple batch of dough for pizza and it held the whole thing. Mind you, it wouldn't be a good idea to cook a triple batch in the machine though. I love the fact that it has two kneaders and you can lift the lid without the machine stopping (just to have some fun and watch). It does have two clear holes in the top to see how things are going, but it sometimes gets covered in a thin puff of flour. 11/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by First loaf Great This is the first loaf I have baked but the directions were very easy and the basic white bread turned out great! Made for a great complement to dinner! The unit cleaned up easier than other bread makers I have had. 11/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great love it (BUT) before you make bread in it wash pan well and paddles and wipe inside of breadmaker and lid well. then run maker on #8 setting bake only because there is oil or something on the metal. that needs to be baked off. before making anything in it. the first time you run it it will smoke and give off a very nasty smell like burning car oil. repeat that 2 or three times washing everything each time. then your ready to make bread. my very first loaf turned out great. the crust was hard but that was my fault. paddles do get stuck but no big deal getting them out. will be buying another one for my daughter. 12/22/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gluten Free Breads I have tried many gluten free recipes in this machine including the ONE in the manual. Twice I used pre-mixed packages and followed the direction for the breadmaker and/or the package directions. The basic setting still kneads the dough several times and lets it rise twice. Each time the bread was either underbaked or fell after coming out of the machine. I have used the same recipes in 'hand baking' and they turned out fine. I am returning this bread machine. the manual says you can set your own mix and rise times but doesn't say what each setting will do so I can't calculate any of it. The time I tried that, I got a mushy loaf.\ and it took me over an hour to clean up that mess out of the machine. Gluten free flours are too expensive to keep wasting on this machine. 10/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving it! Upgraded from a 1.5 lb. West Bend bread machine husband bought me for Christmas about 10 years ago. I love everything about it. I usually have to increase ingredients in recipes by about 50% (ie, 3 cups=4.5 cups) as it's a little harder to find recipes that make 2.5#. Note: The mixing blades at the bottom sometimes bake right into the bottom of the loaf, so you'll have to remove (easily) when you take bread out. Also, I find the bread comes out a little easier if I rub oil on inside of pan before adding ingredients. Don't try to run a butter knife around edges of pan to "help" resistant bread come out quicker-I ended up scratching the teflon a little. I found a lot of great recipes at this site: www.bread-machine-recipes.com Enjoy! 11/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great breadmaker for gluten free bread I read so many reviews, on all the brands of bread machines, before I chose this machine. I wanted a breadmaker that was good for gluten free bread as I have a gluten intolerance problem. Although the West Bend does not have a gluten free cycle, it does an excellent job of preparing and baking both Gluten Free Pantry Sandwich bread and also Pamela's Gluten Free Bread mix. I tried following the instructions in the manual, and the bread came out edible, but not the quality I wanted. So, I used the Super Rapid cycle (#4 on the menu, with light crust) on the machine and it comes out perfect every time. I like the double paddles which mixes gluten free ingredients much better than a single paddle, and I'm glad they included the little tool to pull the paddles out of the bread after baking - it works great. I've had no problems with the machine, the paddles, the pan - they have all been excellent to use. I'm very glad to have decided that this was the machine to purchase. 03/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought the Bread Maker for my Son and his wife for their Birthday,They use it every day making diffrent kind of bread and can't thank me enough for giving them a such a useful gift. 09/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I am immensely pleased with this product! It meets and exceeds every expectation I had. I purchased it to replace a Sunbeam bread machine that I had for ten years before it died. I use the bread maker at least twice a week so the old one had a lot of "miles" on it. This one shows every sign of being as long lived. This one has features my old one didn't and I'm loving playing with these features. If you buy this bread maker, make sure to go to the website and print the recipes (35 pages). The loaves bake up beautifully rounded on top, the texture is great, and it's so easy to use. 09/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I purchased this West Bend breadmaker to replace my old West Bend breadmachine with vertical loaves that gave me 154 great loaves in 15 yrs before it died. So i was hoping for another great bread machine in this one. So far it has been wonderful, my 1st 4 loaves have been large and delicious. I did find the machine larger than my old one but it is quiet and solid and has more options that my old one ever thought of. I find that coating the pan prior to adding ingredients with 1 tbs of veg oil made the loaves slide out easy, though i do need to remove the blades with the wire tool from the bread after it is baked. I also washed the pan and inside of the breadmachine with a soapy wash cloth prior to it's first use, in hoping to prevent any burning oil smells that i read in previous reviews, so there was no smells at all... except wonderful fresh bread. You do need to put in ingredients in the order that the recipe books states for the best results. I did notice some uneveness to the loaves with one end larger than the other, but i am not use to horizontal loaves and with practice i will find how to fix that. It has now found a permanent spot on our counter. 07/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Bread Maker - Highly Recommend!!! Let me start by saying that I am a horrible baker. Hard as I try, everything turns out horribly:( Imagine my dread when my son was diagnosed with Celiacs and rejected (can't blame him - they're pretty bad) all the frozen store-bought gluten free breads available. I knew the next step was to try and bake at home some of the gluten free bread mixes available. I proceeded to read hundreds of reviews for the top 10 or so bread makers available on Amazon. I picked the West End Hi-Rise bread maker because of its many positive reviews, the fact that it bakes a "normal" looking horizontal bread loaf and because of its many features and stylish appearance. I AM SO HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE! It couldn't be easier to use and it bakes a beautiful store-bought looking loaf. The loaves I have baked have come out perfectly by simply following the package instructions. I agree with other reviewers that say that the two knead blades specific to this bread maker really contribute to a well mixed and beautifully shaped baked loaf. The one thing I learned from a reviewer on Amazon that is not in the manual but is VERY IMPORTANT is to run a #8 Bake cycle in a well-ventilated area (I did it in my garage with the door open) to burn off any manufacturing oil smells before you bake your first loaf. I am so glad I did, my garage stunk to high heaven! I washed the loaf pan after doing this and baked my first loaf later that same day and the smell was totally gone and the loaf came out perfectly. I highly recommend this bread maker! 06/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overwhelming, Persistent Odor I shop on line a lot and have never been motivated to write a review before, but this purchase was so disappointing I want to let people know of my terrible experience with this machine. The West Bend bread machine I received was a total disaster. The instructions did not advise running the machine on empty before using it to bake. I even emailed the manufacturer before proceeding to use it, and they stated this would not be necessary. Based on this advice I baked two successive loaves of bread. Both the loaves, and the entire first floor of my house, were permeated with a very strong and obnoxious metallic/electronic odor; the breads were inedible. I emailed the manufacturer again and they changed their position, and advised running the machine on empty, assuring me this would solve the problem. After approximately 20 empty runs, the odor is less strong but still very noticeable, and I still have no homemade bread. I plan to try to return this machine to my local Walmart store, since I had thrown out all the packaging, based on the company's assurances that the problem could be solved. 04/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! No preservatives! I have had this bread machine for half a year, and I quit buying loaves of bread at the store. It's great to have homemade, preservative-free bread, but I like the smell of the baking more than anything! Our go-to recipe is from the manual, the "Wheat 'N Yogurt Bread". I have a system in place...I pre-measure all my dry ingredients (except yeast) and place in gallon plastic bag. I make up 10 bags and put them all in my freezer. Then, whenever I want a loaf of bread, I put water and yogurt in the bread pan, add the dry premade bag from the freezer, add butter and yeast, and bake. Saves me a lot of time and mess to just measure the dry ingredients one time. And making bread is no burden, even with 3 little kids running around. I have also used the dough feature to make pita bread -- so much easier to make pita bread with a bread machine doing the hard work. Next, I plan to make egg noodles with the dough setting. I am getting so much use out of this -- I had feared I would not use it much, but I do! Two cons, but they're minor. 1) Sometimes the paddles are difficult to get out, so I need to let the pan soak before cleaning (do not immerse your pan in water). 2) My high loaves, when sliced, don't fit in the toaster. So I have to cut the pieces of bread in half. Not really a big deal...if I cared that much I would make the 1.5 lb size! We go thru a loaf of bread every other day. Again, bread is cheap at the store (some brands are) but they're loaded with preservatives. Sometimes we laugh at how long the store bought bread would last without getting moldy; it's unnatural for bread to stay 'fresh' for days and days! I read someone added a teaspoon of lemon juice as a natural bread preservative. Our bread doesn't last long enough to test that theory, so I don't add it. But give it a try if you don't go thru bread fast. 06/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome bread machine This is my first bread machine and it will be the only type I will ever buy. First off I researched all the machines out in cyber space and found this one to be the best in reviews. It has the two paddles which mix my Pamela's G/F bread mix perfectly. No bouncing around either. I do take the paddles out on end of last kneading cycle to avoid "holes" in the bottom of the bread. I could not be happier with this machine. For the money, you get alot of bang for your buck. No need to buy the over priced Zo. 12/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by makes great bread I have been very pleased with this bread maker. It did take a few loaves to get it down pat. I found when making bread I needed to check after 5 minutes into the 1st kneed, making sure there was enough moisture. Sometimes, I had to add more water. I also found that mixing the dry ingred. in a zip lock bag and gently shaking it really helped. I really like the horizontal shape of the loaves and you can adjust the size to the recipe. This breadmaker doesn't have a gluten free setting. I was disapointed with that, but the basic setting works very good. I've made the best gluten free bread that actually tastes like bread! The recipe book isn't all that great they are better at www.redstaryeast.com. I'm glad I bought it! 11/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by West Bend Hi-Rise Breadmaker It took a while to get used to this thing. I had to throw a few loaves of bread out. But when I finally got used to it, it was GREAT! Now, I absolutely love this machine! I'm glad I took the time to try and try again with the different recipies. I guess different altitudes make a difference on how much liquid to use, etc. My mother in law suggested I cut back on the liquids since I am in Florida (below sea level) and that worked. Since then, everything has turned out perfect! Love it, love it, love it! 04/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Problems I got this and tried making bread with it. I used the 100% whole wheat recipe included in the book. I forgot the paddles in the beginning the first time I tried it, so the ingredients got a little mixed. I ended up kneading it by hand the whole time, but still let the machine do the rising and baking. The loaf turned out. I tried it two more times with the same recipe but letting the machine do the kneading, it didn't turn out either time. Also, when I used the handle to grab the pan out the handle just popped off. The pan is very flimsy. I personally don't recommend this item. I bought it because my best friend has it and has had good results but it just didn't work for me. Maybe it was defective? But I wasn't willing to go through it again. 08/22/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did NOT work We tried three loaves of bread using two different reciepts from the book that came with the product. They all raised and looked good BUT during the time for them to bake the bread fell and did NOT cook - not even the sligest sign of brown. 10/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT BREADMAKER This West Bend Hi-Rise breadmaker is far better than my Zojirushi breadmaker and my 11 yr. Williams Sonoma breadbaker. The loaf pan is designed to be more like a real loaf made in a breadpan baked in your homeoven. It's easy to use as well. It has several bread options and a delay cycle. You can bake a 2.5 lb. loaf but I have only done a 1.5 lb. loaf and it comes out perfect each time. I don't think I would go larger than that. I ordered the double loaf pan (each loaf is for 1 lb. only and it bakes 2 at a time -simply ingenious) and there is a coupon in the box that basically pays for shipping. I'm reserving that to make flavors that my kids don't like (ie roasted garlic, feta bread, etc). The hook to get a paddle stuck in the loaf works very easily so you don't damage the shape of the loaf. I am so happy with this purchase. It simply is better than the $200 breadmachines out there. I have been using breadmachines for 11 yrs. and have several breadmaking books. A great one is Better Homes & Garden Bread Machine Baking. You will not regret this purchase. I have literally baked a loaf a day since I got this two weeks ago. Delivery took 3 days -regular shipping. The texture and crumb is finer and better than the Zojirushi and Williams Sonoma. The loaf really takes like you knead it yourself and baked it in your oven. I am really impressed with West Bend. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bread Machine This bread machine is wonderful, after I figured it out. The first two loaves didn't do to well, they were disfigured and thick dark crust. I then discovered that after the last knead cycle take a spoon and smooth the dough out through the pan to make it even. I also found that when you remove the bread and try to shake it out of the pan it doesn't come out. If you have on oven mits(the pan is very hot) you can hold with one mit and twist the bottom of the paddles with the other mit to help the bread come out easier. I always use the light crust and it is golden brown. Now the loaves are great! 11/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted and more I spent days reading reviews about breadmakers and a friend loaned me her Zo to use. I didn't want to spend that much money so I settled on the West Bend. I have used it for 3 months making at least 2 loaves of bread a week and so far it is working fine. The only problem was getting the loaf out of the bucket (every breadmaker has that problem). After experimenting I now remove the kneading blades right before the final rise. I gently lift the dough, grease the posts with Crisco, lay the dough back down in the bucket and let the loaf bake. It works! The loaf easily pops out of the baking bucket. Yes, I love my bread machine and highly recommend it. 04/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice! The last time I had a bread maker was when they first came out on the market and were huge and only made round loaves. I used it so much it finally wore out. After much research, I decided on this one based on the price and customer feedback. The first loaf I made came out perfect! Pamela's gluten free mix. You DO have to use exact measurements for success with bread! My only complaint is the strong, plastic smell that almost overwhelmed the wonderful baking bread aroma! Hopefully, it will go away after a few more uses. Other than that, this is easy to use and a great value. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quality breadmaker for a great price. 04/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for gluten free Pros: Makes really big loaves. I tried the lemon poppyseed gluten free recipe in the manual and it turned out perfect. Cons: the blades get baked in the bread, but are usually easy to remove with the hook they provide. 03/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Loaf Every Time I didn't know anything about making bread but after approx 2 weeks of researching and reading reviews on different bread makers i decided to buy this one and glad i did. It is fool proof and I will tell you what to do to make a perfect loaf every time. Step 1 : Purchase Hodgson Mill bread mix http://www.hodgsonmillstore.com/en/Bread-Mixes.aspx ( they have about 8 varieties including Gluten free ) all you do is follow the easy directions. cup warm water, and your choice of using butter, veg oil or i just use Nutiva organic coconut oil instead. the fast rising yeast package comes in the box Step 2 : dump package of flour along with the above and set unit to 1.0/1.5 lb, select type of bread, select light,med, dark crust. Step 3: press start That's it in about 3 1/2 hrs you got a perfect loaf of bread that tastes amazing 07/27/2011
1-30 of 263 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw105
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp