Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by reviews are trustworthy I spent a LOT of time reading reviews of this product and comparing it to similar items. After considering the pros and cons, and the price, we decided this was the best value for the money. We knew going in that it was not going to be perfect, so we had realistic expectations and are satisfied so far. Even the best products have some horrible reviews and some of the worst products have great ones. Just know what you want and what to expect for what you are willing to pay, and what you are willing to sacrifice in order to save money. This is a family tent intended for mainstream campers, not the professionals that do long-term or extreme conditions. It was a little more difficult to set up than our previous tent (a Coleman), but then again it's much bigger too, so with practice I'm sure it will get easier. We've used it just once so far (we just got it) in cold and slightly breezy weather, but no rain or heavy wind (we try to avoid camping in that kind of weather all-together anyway!). Temps did get in the low 30's and even the high 20's one night, but we didn't have any poles break or anything like others have said. I can't wait to summer camp in this and take advantage of the HUGE screen top for star-gazing and summer breezes on a hot night. We loved the size of it, which was the primarey reason we got it, our old tent was still fine but we wanted more wiggle room. We are a family of 5 and have to pack LOTS of gear for our 3 kids. With this tent, you really can stand up and walk around in the whole thing (maybe not the very edges for a man or tall lady, but only at the edges). It has more than enough room for our two queen air mattresses, leaving plenty of room along the sides for everything else. There was still a 3 foot space between the beds for changing, getting in and out, etc. We didn't feel the need for the room divider, I think it would be in the way personally, but it could be useful if you needed some privacy between parents and older kids or are camping with guests, two couples could each have their own side. We did have 2 of the plastic tent stakes break, and when we took it down most of the remaining stakes were badly bent. I would listen to the many reviews that suggest getting some extra tent stakes to have on hand. And after reading reviews of zipper problems, I was sure to be aware of them just to be on the safe side, but we had no problems there. Also, the pole that supports the fly over the door entrance is an odd design. It was a VERY tight fit that put a lot of strain on the door zippers and the side seams where the tent clips to the poles. We ended up taking it off because I was sure it would split a seam or zipper or something. All in all, we are pleased with this purchase. Any others in this size category are at least twice the price. We'll see if it lasts, but so far so good. 11/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, Roomy, but leaky in a rainstorm I should start by saying that my family and I are not regular campers -- we bought this tent thinking that it was a good, low-cost way to get our feet wet. We just got them a little wetter than we expected. The tent is big and room -- no problem for our family of five. It was a breeze to set up and take down. I was able to do it myself when I had to. Overall we were very happy with it. But...we got poured on our first night out. We huddled inside quite comfortably until the ground below us saturated. Then the bottom seams started leaking. All-in-all it wasn't a flood. But we did have to stuff some towels along the edges of the tent. I suppose my advice would be to seal the seams yourself before using. It might help. 08/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tent! Great value! Took tent out to Yosemite and it was easy to put together.. Rained 2 days and had no leaks.. Definitely a good buy.. 06/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weekend Bought this tent for my son for camping, we thought we would put it up in the back yard for the weekend before going camping, what a pain, it took four people to get it up, poles cheap, felt like they were going to brake. we had 10 mph winds, keep blowing the tent down , very thin material, felt like a kite, went to stake it down. and one of the loops riped, once we got it up, it had plenty of room for 8 people, but I think I will buy a smaller dome tent for camping, a lot less work, overall the tent took us about 20 minutes with the wind to put up. lot of work for a tent,, 06/08/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Sewing Job We found at least six places on this tent where the seams were not sewn properly. In several places the stitching veered off so that it did not even attach the two pieces together. Two of these were where the anchor loops for the tent stakes attached to the tent. Not sure if this was just a lemon or if this is indicative of Wenzel craftsmanship, but we didn't want to take any chances and returned the tent. 10/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tent! This tent is huge!!!!!!!! I could stand up in almost all of it except for a bit on the sides and I'm about 5' 2". We had 2 queen size air mattresses in the tent and 4 adults and still had tons of room for about 5 or 6 bags! Great air circulation because the ceiling is mesh and the rain fly gives great protection from the rain. It rained once when we were camping and only a few things got a little wet but I couldn't figure out where it leaked from or if it was a spill from something in the tent. Super easy to put up and take down. Only 2 people needed. 07/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good We've taken this out twice so far. Set up is quick and easy with two people. Tear down and pack away is just as quick. The all mesh roof rocks! On a warm, clear night, we just skipped the rain fly and lay in the tent looking at the stars. Roomy and comfortable. The description says nine people. Yeah, right - nine dwarfs without any luggage. Our family of 5 (three children between 8 and 3-years-old) fit comfortably with room for a couple others if necessary. Haven't yet faced a hard rain. I'll have to update the review when we do. 06/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large tent, small price After looking around for a large tent (one that I could stand up in at 6'2") I settled on this one and ordered it from walmart.com. It arrived site to store in 6 days, I picked it up, packed, and left the next day. We set it up for the first time in the dark, and even in the dark and half drunk it went up easily and quickly. There are many nice features such as a gear loft, and a center loop for hanging a light or a light/fan combo. The tent is very large and there was plenty of room for our queen inflatable, all our gear, and all three of our dogs. Breaking down the tent was just as easy, and it is the first time that a tent actually fit back into the carrying case without a shoehorn and 5 gallons of KY. Overall I am very pleased with this tent, I havent found anything that I dont like, I dont think you can find a tent this size for this price anywhere. 04/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a large family Easily can fit two king sized mattresses (one on each side) with plenty of room to move around. Not to complicated to put up (but we are experienced campers), took about 15 minutes. The curtain is a nice feature, but realize that it doesn't meet the front and back wall tightly. A person can easily slip through each side of the curtain. It allows for a certain level of privacy though. Overall, we are very happy with our new tent & plan to use it for years to come! 08/13/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by you get what you pay for. very nice looking tent, until it rains then it leaks like a sieve, and when the wind blows the loops on the side of the tent rip and youll have to chase your tent all over the campground 05/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Tent So Far Bought the tent online, set it up in the back yard to try it out. (Put it up at 7 in the morning, took it down by 10:30 AM. Sleep in it? In this heat? Are you nuts??) Tent was straight forward in its set up; I saw no flaws or issues. Had my 13-year old daughter help me. Sealed the seams and sprayed areas below the rain fly line with waterproofer. Plan to take it to the mountains in a week or two. 08/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommend this tent. Easy enough to set up. Recommend this tent. Easy enough to set up and tear down considering the size and it is big!!! We did use the seam sealer before we set out on and 11 night trip. Had two heavy rain storms in Georga and one in Alabama, no leaks and it took some strong winds, but have to set it up correctly. This tent is really BIG and a real value at the current sale price. 04/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by grrrrrreat!!!!!!! Goes up very easy, very good quality. Haven't had it in any rain but sealed correctly it should be dry as a bone. Two queen size beds and PLENTY of room for gear and then some. 10/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied This was the first time I ever bought/slept in a tent. It was fairly easy to put together (I had an experienced camper help me). It was very spacious. It fit 3 air mattresses with room to walk around still. 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Huge family tent Easy to install or disarm. It has several ventilation windows and double door, which are A+. We used two queen and one twin airbed and still have plenty of space for stuff and move around. The rain fly is thinner than expected, so we topped it with a large plastic sheet bought at home Depot, and had no problem in the rain. Our friend envied our big tent. 07/13/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by You get what you pay for At $100, this is a steal. However, don't expect it to last. I used this tent three times in a month and a half. The good - the design is great. 4 poles and up in under 10 minutes, down in about the same. Super spacious inside. I love that the top is totally open - lets you see the stars at night and doesn't get hot in the morning. It poured the first night and with the rain fly on there were no leaks from above or the sides and the inside stayed dry (sort of, see below). The bad - A seam has already ripped where a stake loop attaches. Really ripped. I'm not even sure how I can fix that as it's not a tear in the fabric. The bag ripped somehow, directly on the bottom. Not a big deal but it will be if it gets any bigger. The night it rained there were pools of water around where the seams are, the same seam that ripped but also all of the other ones (8 or so). Fixed it with seam sealer, but it was the first time the tent went up and I hadn't had a chance to do it yet so the morning was awkward and wet. I wish there were more storage pockets. It doesn't make sense for a tent this size to only have two storage pockets, and that's it. Bottom line, if you're looking for a cheap tent for one season this is a great deal. But if you're looking for a tent to last you and your family for years to come, you're not going to get it at a $100 price point and this isn't what you're looking for. 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tent and great value This tent is huge! I fit a queen sized air mattress and two deck chairs in it and still have plenty of room inside. My wife and I set it up in under 45 minutes. We went camping in the rain with about 40 MPH winds. The tent held strong, I did need to purchase extra spikes because of the winds. Perfect for a family or an extended camping trip. 09/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Went camping in washington for 3 days. everyday, it rained, so i figured we would be fine using our brand new tent here. no, of course not. we wake up and all around the edges, theres puddles. the seams weren't correct so we had leaking all over the tent. we had the rain cover over our tent and that was fastened very well on top. It was a disaster. we would wake up and out sleeping bad would be soaked at the feet area from being too close to the edge. i would say to anyone that wants to buy this to steer clear!!! 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really spacious, sturdy and weatherproof!! This tent is huge!! We did not put up the privacy thing and were able to fit two queen size double high air mattresses with a bunch of space still left between and around them! Our first night camping in the tent we slept through a three and a half hour thunderstorm, pounding rain, falling leaves etc. We stayed completely dry the entire time. The fly that goes over top of the ceiling that has lots of built-in ventilation holes really kept the rain and bugs out. We do suggest having extra metal stakes because the stakes did seem a little weak just for a little more stability. It was really easy to put up especially with four people helping. Can't wait to camp in this tent again! 08/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the money. For the money this tent was not bad. It rained pretty hard the first night I had it up and we had only a few minor leaks where some of the kids had their pillows next to the wall. The door zipper also likes to get caught in the zipper cover if you are not careful. It was very easy to put up and spacious inside. 08/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value Great value for what we paid for. It was fairly easy for myself and wife to set up. The rain cover was also simple to take on and off. I would recommend this for anyone who needs space. 07/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value for a good product We just used this product recently and loved it. Easy to set up and take down. My husband is a very experienced camper and he loved it. Ventilation is excellent. Plenty of room for two queen size air beds. Bought it on sale and is worth every penny. Have not used it in rainy conditions so, can't rate it. I'm very happy with it! 07/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY ROOMY lots of room inside this tent. Just make sure you don't pull the sides too tight or you will get some damp corners. other than that, it was great. Used it for 10 days and only leaked once during a HEAVY HEAVY Thunderstorm/Downpour. 07/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good tent It was easy to put up. Lots of room. 06/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tent I purchased this tent for a campout with extended family. Since we aren't frequent campers, I didn't want to spend alot of money, but I wanted to be comfortable. This tent was easy to put up and take down. I love the open air feeling and being able to see the stars at night. It is was big enough for four grown ups with cots to sleep and store stuff and move about nicely. A good product for occasional campers. 08/07/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Large, but not water tight This tent was massive, and really impressive, it looked great and was super easy to setup. The divider wall was kind of cheap, but they all are, and the gear shelf seemed nice. This also had lots of windows, but it did manage to get extremely hot at the top as the rain cover did not let out much heat. I applied seam sealer per the directions, and then tested the tent with hose water gently falling straight down. The point where the extra durable tent bottom meets the thinner tent material is at the very bottom corner; it does not wrap up the sides like other tent brands, and this seam leaked all around. The vertical seams were hit or miss, and the doors seemed alright. I returned this and spent nearly double on a similar Coleman Weathermaster. All of my complaints with this tent are resolved by the Coleman. I did not even use seam sealer (per Coleman's direction) and we didn't get a drop of water in our tent despite multiple heavy storms. The only reason I didn't give the Wenzel the lowest ratings is because it is dirt cheap, and maybe if someone did an amazing job sealing the seams and coating the material with silicone, it could become a good deal. This did not ship in a box and did not have a packing slip, but as usual, Walmart was awesome with the return. 07/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very spacious, easy to erect and it actually will fit back in the bag when your'e done. Thought it was a very good tent for the $$$. 07/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The tent appears to be very durable. We have only three times. I wish the stakes were the metal or made of harder material, but these stakes are still better than many of the competitors. With the proper care wqe plan on having this tent for years of enjoyment. 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product for the price. Easy to assemble. Good ventilation. 06/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tent for price I was really surprised and happy with this purchase. We camp only once or twice a year and my husband has been asking me to get a larger tent. The tent was easy to put up and there was so much room. We had 2 queen size blow up matresses with room for chairs, luggage, blankets and so much more. The top was a mesh see trough which made the night sky awesome to look at. I don't know how it would handle in severe weather but we don't camp that often and never in severe weather. It was windy but we didn't have any problems at all. For the cost it is perfect, small enough and light weight. We received in 2 days shipping to our house. 05/31/2012
1-30 of 32 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew331
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp