See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by initial impressions I looked on line for quite some time and liked the idea of a cordless trimmer. I have a relatively small lawn, so I felt comfortable with short battery life (if that was indeed a problem ). Had my heart set on the B&D lithium battery product, but when I went to the store, I found the weed eater to have a better quality fit and finish. The handle is thicker and more comfortable, and the plastics seam thicker and look more durable. The lack of a second battery was a concern, but is reflected in the price difference. As for use, one opportunity so far and I am VERY pleased. Comfortable, powerful, and never hinted at loss of battery. I was so pleased I looked for more to do. I use commercial trimmers every day at work, and I love this unit. No more mixing gas, or playing with filters or carburetors, and it is SO light. 05/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by i am impressed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am sick of gas prices! I decided in a small way to start doing something about it! Convert everything I owned that was gas powered to electric battery,I own several electric battery powered tools. One of my friends bought a battery powered trimmer from home depot, it took 9 hrs. to charge the battery,he got 2 with the purchase.I can say that it trims grass,but a whole lot slower and dosen't see to have the power the one i bought today.MY battery charged less than 1 hour and i used it for a good 30 minutes and its still at 75% and it cut some thick grass,and never once choked! The only thing would I improve on is the size of the string! It seemed to use a lot of string, thicker would be better. So far I''m IMPRESSED ! 05/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected Cordless is definitely the way to go and the Weedeater exceeds my expectations. I have a large corner lot and figured I would need two batteries to complete edging and trimming. Walmart had the Weedeater blower (with battery and charger) for just $20 more than the battery alone. With the two I can complete the edging and trimming, clean everything up with the blower and still have battery charge to spare. Both units work at full power until the battery charge is totally gone, I get about 40 minutes of trimming per charge. Having the power meter on each battery is very helpful. And the greatest bonus is no more cords to drag around and get caught on everything in the yard. It is so convenient, that I find myself just pulling out the blower to clean up many things, without uncoiling and recoiling 100' of cord. I've used both items 4 times and have had no problems. Great products. 07/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a woman! I am 59 years old and this is the easiest weed eater I have ever used! Lightweight, relatively quiet, and convienent to use. No more yanking your arm off trying to start a gas weeder and no cord! The charge lasts 30 to 40 minutes, which is all I want to do at one time anyway. It charges in an hour or 2, just enough time to rest, and you are ready to go again! String roll is easy to change or you can re-roll your empty one very easy too, and save money. Makes it possible for me to do my own yard work, when I want it done. I use a .080 refill string for more durable weed eating. I love it!! 03/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy Dad! Purchased this for my husband for Fathers Day. His old trimmer lasted about 15 years and he loved it so I was a little nervous about getting the right one. He is very happy with his new weed eater! Whew! The whole experience of site to store pick up was great, super easy. 07/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by look elsewhere took a chance on this hoping it would still have some oomph. not only didn't it, the string kept wrapping up so you had to take housing off and re-feed it. 4x in less than 10 minutes. i spent more time with the string than cutting with it. avoid. 07/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and versatile This string trimmer / edger is easy to adjust and use. No tools are required to change shaft length, handle position and head position. It works well as both a conventional trimmer and an edger. It trims cleanly with the thin line and the auto feed works great. The battery lasts way longer than I need to complete each job and it recharges quickly. The only shortcoming is that the spool only holds about 13 feet of line as opposed to 20 feet on bigger units. A replacement pre-wound spool costs about $8, but I found 40 feet of 0.065 inch line for $3.25 instead which is sufficient for 3 rewindings that I will do myself. I am pleased so far with no complaints. 02/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great battery operated trimmer The Weed Eater 20-Volt electric trimmer is really a very nice, easy to use trimmer. It is light weight and very quiet versatile. I have used the trimmer 4 times and the battery is still showing 75 percent charged. I am absolutely very happy with my purchase. 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great cuts better than i thought it would, glad i bought it instead of a gas powered one 05/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes weed eating a breeze! This weedeater is light, easy to operate, and really gets the job done. Had another brand weedeater before this that was bulky, heavy, and not so good at cutting. This trimmer takes all of the work out. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll never use my gas trimmer again.. Well I might use the gas trimmer for the wooded area in back of the barn once or twice a year. But around a 3 acre horse fence, the house, sidewalks pool, pavilion, etc. I use two batteries. The first battery does the entire fence which is pretty big. The gas trimmer was so heavy and walking for 35-45 minutes carrying any of the three gas models hurts your back...This little puppy does the majority of the fence on a battery, and because I also have the Dual Speed blower, with the same battery, by the time the battery needs charged, the other one is ready to go... I can't believe these existed and I didn't about them. I'm getting both the weedeater electric trimmer and blower for my parents.. 07/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cordless Weed Eater Easy to set up and adjust for comfort, battery charged per instructions, and amazed at the power and control of the cutting line. I will rewind my own line, so finding refill spools will not be an issue for me. Very pleased with purchase. Use is not going to be heavy duty but frees me from stringing power cord to trim front yard and sidewalk. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WORKS AS EXPECTED I BOUGHT THIS TRIMMER BASED ON REVIEWS FROM ONE OF THE TWO MAJOR HOME STORE RETAILERS. I HAVE A 1 ACRE LOT WITH THE AVERAGE AMOUNT OF TRIMMING TO DO. THE BATTERY IS MORE THAN SUFFICIENT TO COMPLETE THIS WORK. THE TRIMMER IS RELATIVELY LIGHT AND EASY TO HANDLE. ABSOLUTELY NO COMPLAINTS. 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by well worth the money The battery-powered weed eater works well and saves me so much time now that I don't have to wind and unwind electrical cord. I LOVE IT! 06/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The battery did die on me before my lawn was finished, but if you read the directions, they do say it will take 2-3 times using it before you will see its full potential....AND it did. by the third use, i was able to finish my whole lawn. Just for reference, I do not have a large lawn. The rated the expectations a "4" because I wish they would come out with a weed eater that an 80 year old could use. This weed eater is pretty light, but still hurts my arms after a while. Other than that, this was an excellent purchase. 06/08/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not for little old ladies I am a 64 year old widow & purchased this for easier method of weedeating and edging. I never could get it to work! I finally got it assembled, charged for 48 hours then duh, it would not work. The battery ran down within 2 minutes each of the 3 times I tried to use it. Also, the factory wound line kept getting wrapped around the housing. I took it back for a full refund! 05/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk from the box The battery or charger didn't work from out of the box. I brought it back to the store and got a SunJoe Trimmer, and it works fine. 07/08/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Battery Charge I just purchased this weed eater to get in some tight places around my house, it seems to work alright but the battery needs charged after about 20 min. . 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powerful Battery charge doesn't last that long. Powerful for battery powered trimmer 07/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this for my 9 yr. old grandson. The adjustable shaft length just fits him. It cuts very well. It will be great for women who are shorter and who have problems with the long shaft on other brands. 06/18/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good trimmer for small - med sized yards. Overall the weedeater is a pretty good one, but if you have a big yard and alot of edging to do you may want to either buy an extra battery or keep a cheap gas weedeater handy. (batteries are $70+). An improvement would be if they added an adapter or something so you could switch from battery to a corded weedeater. So if your battery dies in the middle of using it you could just use the cord to finish. Hope this helps. advantages: -cordless ( no need to worry about gas or an extenstion cord) -battery life is good for electric - (20-30mins) -short charging time(about 90mins) disadvantages: -seems to be made with cheap plastic( motor casing has the feel of a toy, but most electrics are the same). - line too thin (.065) ie..buy some tougher line - line doesn't feed all that great..I found myself having to manually hit the button on the spool to feed most of the time. - power..won't cut through heavy grass and you may need to go over twice if you edge with it. 10/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Light weight and has advantage over gas units that can start and stop it between one patch of weeds and another . Haven't exhausted battery in any of my uses - which are only about a half hour at a time . Would be nice if it used a heavier weight sting tho . Can't hack wild rose stems . 07/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very light and easy to use. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is perfect for me as I am not a spring chicken anymore and it is very lightweight. It also does a great job for the areas I need it for. Not sure how good it would do on really thick stemmed weeds though. I use it so much my husband calls me weed eater mama. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to keep their yard trimmed and looking nice. 06/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Easy to use I bought this for my husband, he said it was the easiest and best weed eater he has ever used. 08/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Replacement Parts Can't get a cap for the string housing. Discontinued already 08/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like the weed eater, very easy to use 07/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by As far as I am concerned, this is the best cordless trimmer made(at any price). The Lithium Ion battery allowed me to trim my yard and never slowed down. It is the best bang for the buck I have seen. 07/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SUPERB PERFORMANCE NO GAS,NO OIL,BUT RUNS AS STRONG AS IF IT WAS GAS OPERATED..QUIET,STRONG EASY TO HANDLE..ADJUSTIBLE SHAFT TOO.. 07/06/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Auto-feed doesn't...you know...auto-feed In many ways this is much better than my finicky gas-powered trimmer. It's lighter, easier to start, stays running, and my arms don't feel like they're going to fall off when I'm finished from the vibration. The charge lasts long enough to do my entire yard. The edging feature is good, but really effective only if you're maintaining an existing edge. If you're looking to edge for the first time, it doesn't have enough power. The major disappointment is that the auto-feed doesn't auto-feed, and it goes through line like crazy. I'll be looking to see if I can find tougher line or tips from anyone else to fix this. 06/26/2013
1-30 of 55 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw471
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp