Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 46 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dude, I like this grill. This is your basic 22 in kettle with a lot of bells and whistles. If cost is a factor you can get the same culinary results on a cheaper model. If not this is a pretty good option to spend your money on to reap the flavor of charcoal with as little hassle possible. Assembly is pretty easy, took me an hour including unpacking. The propane fired charcoal ignition system is very nice. 7-10 min burn to light the charcoal and another 10-15 min for the coals to develop and you are ready to grill. Yes it is not as easy as propane but the payoff is in the added flavor charcoal brings to the party. You could use a chimney to achieve the same results, but it’s pretty nice to open the gas hit the ignition button and walk away in the rain and snow. The ash collector is well sealed and has good capacity so you can grill on your deck for hours even in windy conditions without the worry of burning little holes in the finish. Another great feature is the attached work surface. It’s a solid and stable piece of heat resistant plastic, something you would expect to be Weber quality. It is very smooth so it’s easy to clean if contaminated. The cooking grate is hinged on both sides so you can add charcoal during cooking with out removing the food from the grill; this is great for smoking large pieces of meat. The charcoal hopper is nice to help try to contain your grilling operation to one place, but when full it really inhibits this grills mobility with the added weight on substandard wheels. The thermometer in the dome a nice feature and is fairly accurate. There is a top and bottom air vent for temperature control. They are well insulated for easy adjustment. The bottom one can be tricky as there are no markings to indicate a true open and close of the vent. I took a sharpie to mark out the exact location of a full close and open position. This kettle holds high heat like a champion, so you can grill and sear to your heart’s content. Holding the temperature stable at lower temperatures is more of a challenge, so smoking is a bit tricky. I did a 12 lb turkey for thanksgiving at 220 F no problem, but it was warmer out with no wind. If you want tight low and slow temperature control for smoking, go for something ceramic like a green egg or a true smoker. One last advantage is that this grill is sealed pretty well. When you are done cooking you can close both vents and put the remaining charcoal out for use in the future. I would buy this grill again, but I will not have to because it’s a Weber and will last forever. Enjoy! 11/26/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful replacemen No let down here this is wonderful replacement for a fifteen plus year old weber kettle grill that is still in good shape.This grill was a recommendation from a co-worker and his rave review of this grill was no let down.The quality of this product is great.The ease of lighting the charcoal is superb.I have no regrets,Looking forward to many years of grilling.There is a different taste to the food grilled on this grill,I assume maybe it could be not having to use lighter fluid.I highly recommend this product to those who have to have charcoal. 04/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Grill On The Block! I decided to get the Performer and really impressed on how easy it was to assemble. It solidly made! Love the work counter and charcoal storage! Charcoal was very fast to heat up (10 - 15 minutes), it's like owning a gas grill but cooking with charcoal. Fine product. I highly recommend this grill for those who love to cook on charcoal and don't have the patience to wait for charcoal to heat up. 07/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth Every Penny This grill does cost more than other grills, but worth every penny. I had it shipped Site to Store which doesn't take long to get. I thought the box would be real big, but was not. I was able to fit it into my car with no problems. It took me about a half hour to assemble the whole grill. It takes about 10 minutes to get the grill nice and hot. Grills perfectly even. The work/prep surface is a nice addition for lots of room. I have cooked chicken, burgers, and steak and they all turn out great. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good grill that will last a long time. 04/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by The taste of charcoal with the ease of propane I really love my grill, the built in gas ignition takes the hassle out of lighting the charcoal. I have been using a gas grill for the past 10 years and I really missed that charcoal taste. I had switched to gas years ago after tiring of the hassle of lighting the charcoal and scooping out the messy ash afterward. This grill is easy to light just turn on the gas press the ignitor and after about five minutes your coals are evenly lit and you shut off the gas. It's about another 15 to 20 min before the coals work up to temp but that's just enough time to go and get your meat ready. Unlike gas it cooks very evenly, the vents work (and seal) very well which allows very good temperature control and the ability to snuff the coals out quickly after you're done cooking which allows you to reuse the charcoal again the next time you cook. Clean up afterward is a lot easier with the quick release ash pot that comes off easily, you just dump it and your done. I have to say I'm very happy with what Weber did with this grill and there are so many accessories available such as a smoker and a rotisserie, I'll never go back to gas. 07/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great grill! It took me about 45 minutes to put the grill together.Very easy to do. Son and I could not believe how well it lit and how evenly it cooked. This is not like any other charcoal grill that you have ever used. Highly recommend this grill and 2 of the adult children asked me to remember this grill on their birthday..... 04/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by read instructions I assembled wrong with the bottom shelf, I thought the curves and all in shelf was clearance for axle but it was for bbq briquets, it plainly shows which end to put it too, so just read and follow. 03/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet !!!!!!!! I just went to work for Kingsford Birquets in Springfield OR. It is a given that i had to put the gas grill aside and go with birquets. The company alows us all the birquets we need. I purchased the Weber Performer the day before the Super Bowl and haven't looked back since. I have done hambergers, chuck eye steaks and a 6 lb prime rib on it so far. I can't believe how much better the flavor is when cooking with birquets. The Performers gas ignite is an awesome feature, as well is the easy clean ash system and built in thermometer. I also love how they built the holder for the top of the kettle right on the base so you don't have to sit the lid down while checking your food. 02/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great purchase Very glad I purchased this grill! It makes charcoal grilling so much faster. It's a bit pricey, but saves so much time. Plus, my husband is actually offering to cook dinner...need I say more ladies?! It's a Weber, so I expect it to last quite a while. All you need to get it fired up is a small propane bottle and some charcoal. That's it! We grill year round, so this is the best bet for us in the winter months. And the results are fantastic. Quick, efficient and delicious meals - no nasty after taste from lighter fluid - just chargrilled goodness! 01/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy I bought this grill for my husband for his birthday. He loved it! Small amount of time spent on assembly. Very soild and sturdy after assembled. Easy to use! He has grilled on it almost every night since recieving it. The small gas tanks are cheap and we still are on the first tank after using the grill for 3 weeks. Do hesitate to buy this grill! 08/19/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Igni Way too many pieces, should have been more assembled! 07/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Grill I am a Weber fan, great products. We had a smaller charcoal grill and upgraded to this grill. Love how large it is, love the large prep area. Would recommend this grill. 07/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Grilling! This charcoal grill has it all - propane tank supplies gas to get charcoal started with an easy push of a button (no matches), large prep table, storage of charcoal underneath the grill, Weber design with easy ash disposal and good size surface area. High quality (strong cart). A bit heavy to move. Can hang 3 BBQ grill tools from hooks on side of table, keeping them in easy reach. Assembly directions were clear and easy. Price is lowest I could find, and free shipping to store saves more. 07/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great grill Couldn't fing the Weber grill anywhere I looked. I had to buy it on line. Walmart had it at a great price, lower than anywhere else I looked. The site to store feature worked great. I ordered my grill and it was delivered for free to the store in a few days. This Weber Performer is an awesome grill. I really love the temperature guage on the lid, what a convenience. So easy to assemble, I had it going in no time. This is a great product at a great price. I really like the Site to store feature which includes free shipping! I recommend this service and product to anyone that wants a premium grill at a great price ! 07/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, great price! A super nice grill. Easy to assemble. Built in thermometer. Can hardly wait for the chicken to be done! 07/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Performer really performs! I love my new performer grill! I have always owned a Weber, but this innovative design is fabulous! It looks great, cooks great, it's sturdy... You're gonna love the gas starter!!! If you are looking for a really nice charcoal grill, this one is the best, and it's worth the money spent! 06/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! I LOVE this grill! It's easy to start and everything tastes like the charcoal that you're wanting when you grill. 05/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Investment! I have had my weber performer now for 2 yrs. It replaced a 16 yr oldie but goody weber that was still in great condition. If you love to grille with charcoal this is the way to go. Coals are ignited with the push of a button, they are ready in 10-15 minutes, it's extremely easy to clean, no more lifting grille to pour in trash. This last week end was Easter and I slow cooked a leg of lamb, so easy and extremely tasty. The only drawback to it. is that I wish I had two! Buy it you wont be disappointed. 04/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Grill! This is a wonderful grill! It addresses all the issues one usually has with a charcoal grill. The gas ignitor is a huge benefit- you don't have that lighter fluid taste and it heats the coals evenly and most importantly- QUICKLY! There is a work surface that is very handy and a convenient bin to keep your charcoal bag in. Love the meat thermometer too. I would highly recommend this product. It's perfect for those who prefer the charcoal taste, but likes the convenience of a gas grill. 03/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this grill Got this grill for my husband and he loves it... Food taste better to me. Food seems to have a better flavor in my opinion. 03/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love This Grill! This is the best grill we have had! My husband had the original weber kettle, but it was falling off of the base, and was just a mess in gerneral but he would never part with it, "Weber is the best" he says. This grill was enough to change his mind, the ignitor is awesome, built in temperature guage is a fabulous idea, the storage area for your briquettes and teh hard surface to cook on is all-in -all a great package! Definately lives up to the weber name! 01/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Grill This Weber makes it all so easy from starting the charcoal, without smelly lighter fluid, to emptying the ashes. I t works great! It is probably overpriced somewhat, but it is worth it for the ease of use! 10/13/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old school but better I used to use gas but Weber is making it a little less of a hassle to use charcaol with the gas starter, ash catcher and the charcoal holder. I love using it and the flavor charcoal and smoking brings to food. This is a great buy. I would recommend this grill. 10/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome. This is the best grill I have ever owned. The gas ignite system takes five minutes to get the coals perfect. Make sure you buy some small propane tanks though, they are not included. Grill also comes with hinged grate and two charcoal baskets. It took me thirty minutes to put together and I had no problems. I love this grill and you will too! I also bought the matching cover from Weber and it works great too. 09/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by a real grill I was scared at first buying this grill because I had always had gas grills and wasnt sure what it would be like making the switch but I am so glad I took a chance buying this grill. It was easy to assemble, I had the perfect results I was looking for the very first time I used it and cant wait to cook on it every chance I get. The grill has the convenience of gas but the best taste of charcoal plus the kettle gives you so many more ways to grill than a gas grill does. I cant wait to cook on it this weekend!!! Thanks Weber! You rule!! 09/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Great Grill! Easy assenbly and use. Walmart staff was great 09/08/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great design and function. Nice to have bench for food. Need to take time with install as you could easily miss something. Used it 3 times now and its great. 09/06/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had to have this grill. Not available in any of the major home stores. Got it at Walmart at a great price not to mention free ship to store... Fantastic.. The grill is also fantastic... 08/20/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by WEBER PERFORMER Nobody else makes chacoal grills like WEBER... This Grill is very well built and balanced. Using it now again for our hurricane party. ( Tropical storm, expected to become a low grade hurricane "EDOUARD" ) 08/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product! We recently built a new deck so to go with it I wanted to get my husband a bigger charcoal grill. In doing research I found that we already had the biggest Weber grill available (always Weber). Then I found the Weber Performer Grill and I was excited. The one touch clean up, propane start, cart with food prep table, the reviews...EVERYTHING was exactly what I was looking for and I knew my husband would be stoked. I surprised him with it and he was elated. We've used it 4 times since we got it 2 weeks ago and he absolutely loves it and raves about it. The convenience of the propane start is wonderful Highly recommend to anyone who loves charcoal grilling. 07/28/2008
1-30 of 39 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew332
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp