See All Reviews
Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV
Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV
$228.00
List Price: $238.00
You Save: $10.00 (4%)
Special Buy
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 130 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just right. TV was perfect size for my bedroom. Excellent value for the money, would recommend this product. 12/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this for my bedroom and I love it. Nice picture, good sound, and I love the sleep timer feature. Now I can fall to sleep and let it turn itself off. :) 12/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good The picture quality falls-off quickly when you are viewing off center. This is more of a problem when watching at close distance. Front speakers give good sound but there is no adjustment for Base & treble. Stand is nicely engineered - better than most. Biggest picture for the overall size. 12/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very satisfied. There are a few quirks I am still learning (old guy). I sit slightly below picture level, so picture is not quite as good as it could be. However, I am going to purchase a wall mount for the tv and will be able to angle the screen to a more ideal position. Over all, great buy. 01/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Good Secondary Television I had a 40" HDTV in a small room which was too large for the space. Moving it to a larger room, I bought this model to fit the smaller. It's basically the size I wanted with two caveats: 1. It has no base, only a support bar on the back and thus sits on your stand or table, etc, setting slightly lower than eye level; 2. due to its LED technology and thinness, the display appears smaller than other TVs of the same "class." Love the svelte design but where the previous TV looked too big, this one can look to small for the room. On a higher stand or wall mounted, it may be a better fit. Neither are dislikes, just considerations to make when buying for your space. Connectors: 2 HDMI, 1 component, PC, coaxial/antenna, USB. There is also analog (yellow, red, white) support using three of the five component connectors. This is a nice space saving solution, however, it means you can't have an AV device connected at the same time as a component. I find the display not quite as crisp though my other TV is 1080p, so it may just be the difference between resolutions (despite difference in screen sizes). I think there's a bare hint of ghosting of images. Hasn't been a problem when watching frenetic action, but noticed, on solid colors like text on a solid background (think categories introductions on Jeopardy!). No real issue though I haven't watched any action movies or played any video games on it. Terrestrial programming looks good on it and I found that it's built in converter picked up more channels using the same aerial than previous TVs tried. Speakers are nice though not a stellar feature. They are loud enough and, maybe because of the thin casing, do not rattle and reverb at high volumes. I didn't expect much. I needed a cost effective TV in my smaller room. Vizio is a lesser known name but one I've heard nothing but good things about. It was an impressive price and the set looks really, really good, stylish. In fact, one person seeing it for the first time thought it was a computer monitor, not a TV (size and price, you may want to consider using it as one). If you're on a budget, this is a something to consider. For the majority it probably isn't the best for your main viewing but it's fine for a guest room, bedroom, a bit too big for kitchens. I truly have no regrets in this investment. 01/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vizio 29" LED HDTV Great picture, good sound, easy set up, very thin and light weight. You could spend more, but why? I did shop the price on Amazon and found it for the same price. However, I purchased it from Walmart on the ship to store free shipping offer. It was ready for pick up within a couple of hours. Where with Amazon I would have received it in two days and again shipping would have been free. But, with Amazon I would be at the mercy of UPS or FedEx leaving a boxed TV on the front porch until I either found it there or found out it had been delivered, but was no longer mine. I went with the more secure route. Also, if there was any problem with the TV my local Walmart store is closer to the house than a UPS/FedEx drop off location. 11/14/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great TV for the price Ordered this TV as a Christmas present from Walmart.com. They promised delivery by December 24th so I figured that it would show up on Christmas eve. I was surprised when the shipment arrived two days later. It was in good condition and kudos to Wal-Mart for exceeding expectations. 12/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't be a brand name snob If you are looking for a nice looking TV set which gets a GREAT picture, look no further. The big brand names are also nice, but pricey. This set is the perfect size for our kitchen since it fits on the counter and beneath the upper cabinets. Love the stand since it takes virtually no space. The only weakness for this set (if there is one) is the sound quality. We have it connected to external speakers, so that problem is solved. The price for this TV is reasonable. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a small TV for bedroom, small living room, or kitchen ... 11/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good tv for the money. This tv is all I expected it to be and more. It has excellent sound quality and great picture quality for the money. It was easy to set up and has a sleep timer which is a must for me. I would definitely reccomend this television to anyone. 01/27/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm using this tv in my dining room. Good value for the price. Only thing I have found so far on the negative is the stand tilts the tv back, so will have to find an alternative mounting system. Don't have my HD connected yet, but looking forward to seeing the difference. 12/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 29 " diag only 13.3lbs fits in a 27" wide space None of the VIZIO TVs have the option where CC comes on when mute is selected as my old TV did. Must go into a menu and select from a dozen CC options every time. No signal strength indicator in this model which is necessary to tell which way to turn antenna for best reception. No manual (printed or on CD) came with this only a quick start guide. I had to download the manual to see how to get to some of the options. No RCA audio outputs. The 1/8 jack turns off the speakers. Tuner is not as strong as the old converter box I was using but it is close. Fits in a 27 inch space and sports an very nice 29 inch diag screen and only 13.5 lbs The stand is not conventional as the TV is not raised up but rests on its bottom edge with the stand sticking out the back for support. I did not use it but mounted TV to bedroom wall since it is so light. I used the VideoSecu TV Wall Mount model ML10B 1E9 for 14.99 from Amzn which worked great. Overall a great TV for the bedroom 02/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by TV has died after 5 months Only had TV for 5 months and it has died. Appears that power supply may be bad. Power indicator comes on but no picture. Called VISIO and comfirmed TV was only 5 months old (registered on their website when purchased) but now to cover under warranty they want me to mail it to them in California from North Carolina after receiving a box from them. I have to pay for shipping to them and they will repair and mail it back. I asked if they have a service center closer and they informed me NO! Saving a little money didn't save me anything. Will not buy another VISIO product EVER! 12/12/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very loud static The picture on this tv is great, but about two weeks after purchasing this model it began to give off an extremely obnoxious static sound that can definitely kill whatever you are doing on the tv(especially games.) For the price you're paying, it's a good deal, Just better hope your audio doesn't go screwy otherwise you're basically out $250. Better get a protection plan, you will more than likely need it. 10/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice picture, mount requires some though Attaching the mount a minor difficulty (helps to read instructions). Good value for the money, lightweight, easy to move around. Adding a small stand is probably a good idea. Will probably get a second one. 01/28/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor picture quality I purchased this Visio because my previous tv was a Visio and I was happy with it. However, probably due to the fact that it was not on a pedestal,the picture was such that, unless you were facing directly into the set, the picture was distorted and blurry. Since my family did not choose to sit on each other's lap to watch tv, I returned this to the store. Very disappointed 07/10/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by When viewed from off center the picture appears to washout. 05/31/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good TV for the cost. I have two other Vizio televisions, a 50" and 55" 1080p. While this is a 720p, it cost was 85% less than the other two - it definitely serves it purpose. Plus it fit perfectly in the space in which it was intended. All three Vizio televisions are worth their costs. 02/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by TV is working great. This is the largest TV that will fit under a kitchen cabinet (normally 18"). TV is slightly under 17" high. Rated features as only "good" because some of our older TV's have "on" timers that turn the TV on at a set time, we use one as our alarm clock. TV's now only seem to have off timers as this one. 01/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very good. Got this 29 inch because it was going to work perfectly in the space we had for it. Overall, pleased with it. Sound is pretty good and picture is as good as can be expected on a 720p t.v. My only complaint at this point is that the picture gets poor from any angle other than straight on. The other Vizio and the JVC we have keep good picture even pretty far off to the side. Overall, a good value. 03/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV for bedroom I bought this TV for a bedroom. It has a nice quality and decent sound, and the value can't be beat, I looked around before making this purchase for a couple months. It stands on my dresser and is sturdy and looks nice. Very satisfied with this purchase. 11/29/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by If you are watching the TV from an angle as opposed to looking at it directly in front of you, the picture quality is less than optimal as the color, contrast, and sharpness appear faded. I like the sound quality regarding the fact that there is no difference between the program and the commercials, especially the volume. It has some nice features, but way too many options regarding adjustments of the TV picture which is mind boggling to some degree as I prefer to not have to waste a lot of my time regarding all these options. The size of the picture is perfect for viewing especially with a smaller frame size. Overall, I like it more the longer I have it. 03/02/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of junk This TV was a big disappointment. I needed it quickly so drove an hour away to pick it up the same day. When it was brought out I could tell the box had been opened and re-taped. I told the associate I did not want a display or otherwise used TV. She un-taped it and showed me everything was in the box. She told me to take it home and try it and return it if not satisfied. Well, that is exactly what I had to do. The batteries were already in the remote and were dead; the TV had a very dim picture which could not be adjusted to a satisfactory level. Also, I did not like the way the stand tilted the TV back; I much prefer a level stand. There were a couple of pieces missing from the box as well (the rubber bumpers for the bottom of the stand), so it was quite clear that someone had used the TV and then returned it. Perhaps a new one would have been fine, but I was not willing to take another chance on it. Ended up returning it to my local store and choosing a different brand. 04/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Visio E291-A1 is Top Gun! I've only had this TV for a few weeks, but being a previous Visio owner, I think it's safe to go ahead and write a review. I'm not using this as a TV, although it's hooked-up for it. I use this bad boy as a PC monitor and it rocks my home office. Every time a monitor goes south, I buy the next bigger size. I've gone from a 22" to this 29." Everyone that stops by says, "WOW, THAT'S HUGE!!!" I rated the sound quality excellent, because I wanted to give it a perfect score. I don't use the TV's speakers, but an external amplified speaker system geared for the PC itself. I've never owned a LED TV before, and compared to my 42" in the living room... BOOM! This is computing at HD quality! Also I get most of my international news- Fox, NBC, ABC, CBS, CNN, etc.- online, and it's like watching it on my 42 incher. This is cool: when my PC goes to sleep- as it does several times a day- the screensaver plays on for 30 minutes at first, then my PC automatically goes to sleep. Well, this Visio detects a loss of signal from my computer and shuts itself off until the PC wakes up. The TV doesn't go to sleep... it powers down completely. The TV then turns itself back on by the signal feed from the PC. Energy saving: A+ I am so pleased with this TV. Visio is a terrific brand, but like all things: some people swear by it... some people swear at it. And there's at least one lemon in every truck load. I say "Buy It." But be safe and smart, get the added warranty. 03/21/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by good quality TV Disappointed that the stand was not part of this TV, as shown in the photo. Measurements 'with stand' were also given at the time of purchase. Purchasing a stand from one of the recommended vendors that Vizio offered proved to be unsuccessful; they couldn't verify that the stand would work with this particular TV 06/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value We wanted a TV for the living room that was not too large yet had a decent size screen. The Vizio was the perfect size and it also had great sound which was important to us since we did not want to purchase a sound bar (space limitations). I highly recommend this product. 06/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by never worked The TV never worked. I called Vizio and they wanted me to send it to them so they could repair it. I told them it was a new TV(less than an hour old) and that I paid for a new TV not a rebuilt one. They said it is not their policy to recommend that I return it. I laughed and brought it back to Walmart and got a different TV. 12/18/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Junk My wife and I bought this thing and got home unpacked and set it up, To find out it didn't have any sound. My wife spent half the afternoon on the phone with Vizio to find out that we had to return it to Walmart for exchange or refund, So we drove 40 miles to Walmart to exchange it. Got back home and went through the same thing, hey it worked even had sound for about a week, then the new one got to where it wouldn't shut off, Called Vizio on Sunday the Dec 22 and was told to return it again!!! Well no more Vizio TV's for me two in a row is enough.....We have a 42 inch one and haven't had a problem for now anyway. 12/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Returned due to terrible picture quality The picture quality of this set was terrible, like looking thru a grey fog. Never could get good color set on it either, and even it seemed to be changing itself. Returned the Vizio next day to Walmart for a refund. Inspected the picture quality of the same model on display vs. a 29" Phillips Smart TV that cost $20 more. Was still not impressed with the Vizio so I bought the Phillips. This was a gift for my parents and they are much happier with the Phillips. 12/27/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by received with cracked case TV seemed nice, but it was received with a cracked case so had to return it and order another one. Big hassle and now have to wait again... 01/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV for the bedroom The Vizio 29" flat screen was a great addition to our bedroom. Picture quality, sound quality are great and Wal-Marts price made it a steal and a perfect Holiday gift. Comes with a remote and sleep timer ++++ numerous other features. Set up was a breeze. 12/12/2013
1-30 of 111 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw57
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp