Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 241 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Monitor ....Great Value! This monitor has many of the bells and whistles of the more expensive monitors, but is in the more "mid-line" price range for video monitors. Some of the "bells" we LOVE.... 1) You can talk back to your child through the parent's monitor 2) You can zoom in and then you can adjust your camera angle from the parent's monitor 3) It has different options for the screen display to adjust according to your preference 4) Great reception and portability 5) Thermostat reader & alarm (you set the range you want). We have really loved it thus far! It also has some lullabies you can play, but our son is a toddler, so we don't use that function. Also, you could add 2 more cameras to the monitor if needed, which will be helpful if we have another baby soon! 03/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommend This Monitor! I bought this monitor 2 months ago & really love using it! I have no complaints. It has so many features that the more expensive monitors have without having to pay their higher cost! It is well built--solid--not cheap looking. I love the large screen view for 1 camera, which is all I need, but it has the split screen viewing capability of up to FOUR CAMERAS at one time. I don't know if the reduced size of multiple camera views would be sufficient or not. I also like the zoom & PAN control of the camera from the parent unit. It has a clear picture day or night & a 5 level ADJUSTABLE BRIGHTNESS CONTROL to turn down the screen if you keep it plugged in all night. If you don't want the screen on all night you can operate it on battery power & set it to be SOUND ACTIVATED & it will be turned on automatically whenever there are sounds detected from the baby units. The parent unit screen will turn off automatically when no sounds are detected from the baby units within 30 seconds. There is a 7 level volume control plus MUTE OPTION for the parent unit & 6 SOUND INDICATOR LIGHTS, and you can use the parent unit to change the SOUND SENSITIVITY LEVEL of the baby units from 1 to 5 (max.). The higher the sensitivity is, the more sensitive the baby unit is in detecting sounds for transmitting to the parent unit. NOTICE: This maximum setting is the only level that does produce white noise as it picks up background sounds also. The battery will last up to 10 or 11 hours when the screen is left on constantly, if the brightness level is kept at the lowest setting. The BATTERY is a 3.7v LITHIUM ION POLYMER (research told me that these are the best for holding a charge the longest) & recharges fully in just a few hours. Four AA batteries keep the nursery unit working in a power failure, a nice plus I didn't find in other monitors. The parent unit has BUILT IN FOOT RESTS to make it stand up. Unlike other monitors, it does NOT have a clip to wear it on your clothing, but I don't miss this option. It has up to 1000 ft. range OUTDOORS or 150 FT. RANGE INDOORS, according to the manual. I tested the outdoor range & walked down the road to my neighbor's house before getting an out of range alert. V Tech's digital transmission provides superior sound quality with no interference by using a Frequency Hopping Digital Spread Spectrum System that automatically changes channels between 52 of them to eliminate any interference. This system is also beneficial for receiving ultimate privacy & security by encrypting your monitor's video & audio transmissions so they are not seen or heard through other monitors within range of yours. Knowing this fact alone was a high selling point for me to decide to buy a V Tech Safe & Sound Monitor. So far, I've not been disappointed that I did! I typed in all CAPS the features that are not listed on Walmart's description list of this product. 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth It! I received a very cheap Graco monitor at my shower and I used that for a while, but I had to keep it plugged in and the static was horrible. I researched other monitors and this was the best price for all the best options. I absolutely love this monitor. The parent unit is portable, it tells you, like a cell phone, when you're getting out of range. It comes with a rechargeable battery, tells you the temp of the room and my son loves the lullabies. My absolute favorite thing about this monitor is the sound. There's minimum static and when the baby is asleep it completely shuts off the sound and as soon as the baby makes a noise it comes back on. My nights have gotten so much better since I bought it. 04/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by freedom! This is a must have for parents of any age child. As a mother of four, I have tried other products, this one bieng the best. I now have the freedom to go outside and around the house at naptime and can see (very clearly) that my baby is still sleeping or starting to wake up! I can talk to the baby or older children from a distance. I tested the range as well, and am happy to say that the range is every bit of 1000 feet maybe more. It's definately farther than I would need to go. Temperature sensor is cool too. Also the vibrating alert is great when the baby makes its first noise. I like this product so much, I'm considering adding another camera. Also the camera has a good field of view which helps me see farther in the room. excellent monitor at a great price! I highly recommend this product to everyone. 03/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Monitor (best I've owned) BACKGROUND Had only had this monitor for about 2 to 3 month so can’t speak to its durability. I’m currently on my six monitor so I have some experience with these – unfortunately. Here’s what I’ve owned with most recent on top: VTech Safe Sound 2 4GHz Full ColorVideo and Audio Monitor {favorite so far but only had it for 3 months} Summer Infant Secure Sight HandheldColor Video Monitor {mediocre} Levana - Deluxe Digital Video Baby Monitor (x2) {had two, they both broke within 6 to 9 months} Levana - BABYVIEW20 {it broke after about 1.5 years} Sony babyTalk (or something) {this one is sound only. Had it for 3 years and still works great. Good sound quality} ?? forget model {brought it home and range was really limited} THOUGHTS Good features, good quality picture/sound, and good physical design. I'd recommend it. I’ve been through various monitors and in comparison, the features and quality on this one are very good for the price. I just hope it doesn’t break. We’ll see. Video quality is pretty good – for a baby monitor. If this is your first monitor, lower your expectations. It has zoom feature which is useful sometimes. But it is digital zoom, not optical so it will be grainy. I has a sound activated screen if that interests you. Probably saves on battery life if you’re off the charger. Sound quality is pretty good. You can turn the sound all the way off (unbelievably, you can’t do this with all monitors). You can also turn off sound but turn on a vibration mode so that monitor will vibrate if sound occurs. Great feature. (or have both vibration and sound on like we do). You can also set the sound sensitivity so that you only hear sound at higher levels. Great feature as we have a sound maker in the room so don’t want to hear that all the time, just sound activated when baby cries (or loud truck goes by). The thermometer is a really nice feature, I think. You can have up to four cameras on one unit. Nice feature since additional cameras are only like $50 so cheaper than buying separate unit. Plus only one unit to carry around. Battery life. I haven’t gone more than about 2.5 hours with it off the charger so I don’t know just how long it will last. Range seems reasonable. No problem in the house (two story). I can outside, I’ll guess around 50 feet from the camera unit before it starts to loose signal. What I’d like to see changed. 1) While in multi-camera mode you cannot hear sound. You can only see the words “Sound Detected” on the screen, and feel/hear the monitor vibrate (if you set it to do so). Preferable I’d like to be able to hear babies in any room crying. 2) Temperature will max out at 87 (or something, I forget). Why limit this? If the room is hotter, which in the summer happens, I want to know. 3) While in multi-camera mode with only two camera the screen is split into 4ths, not 1/2s. Why? I want a bigger view not needlessly smaller. 4) the mounting bracket gave a decent amount of flexibility on where you can put it but needs a universal joint type swivel. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not only for babies I LOVE THIS MONITOR but, I don't use it to keep an eye on my kids, their grown. I use this V Tech monitor to keep an eye on my mother who has alzheimers/dementia. I have one set up facing her favorite chair, and one in the vestibule between the storm door and the main door, which is great because I can still do what I need to do in the yard when she doesn't want to go out back. Between the monitor with sound, and the alarm I have on the door, I can be sure mom is safe. I plan on getting two more cameras, one for her room and the other for the kitchen. I have to say, I didnt read about this monitor, but wow, I was surprised when I got it. I like that I can set up 4 camers. Its very easy to pair another camera, easy to switch from camera to camera, looks great even at night, plug in or batt. Use, color during day, blk and white at night, sounds great, music for the kids, and I can talk to mom without stopping what i'm doing. 06/30/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I suppose its a good monitor if you have 1 child The whole reason I purchased this monitor was to monitor 3 children at once, I am expecting twins in 2 months and also have a 4 year old I want to monitor, this monitor claims to be able to monitor up to 4 kids at once but the thing is, you can't hear them! If your in multi mode, it goes completely silent and does not alert you if one of the children is crying, it just flashes words at the top of the screen that says "sound detected on camera 1, 2 or 3"...completely worthless if your sound to sleep, I have to now return these, I bought the parent unit and 3 camera's, but its no good to monitor more than 1 kid, what kind of sorry design is that? 12/20/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great monitor until you add a camera This is a great monitor for the price. I have owed a Summer Infant Best View for 2.5 years which recently broke. As we are expecting twins this summer, the Vtech with 2 cameras seemed to be a great fit. However, once you add an additional camera to monitor 2 separate sleeping areas the sound is muted. To clarify, you are not able to hear any of the sleeping children once a second camera is added. The volume goes to mute and the only notice you get is a flash of words (silently, no alert available either) on the screen. This is a huge issue unless you plan to stare at the screen all night long. Otherwise, this monitor is exactly as advertised. 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SERIOUSLY FABULOUS Recieved this as a gift after i added it to my baby registry. Got the extra camera too because im pregnant with #2. A little disapointed i couldnt add the cheaper "bundle" of two cameras and a parent unit to my registry so my MIL purchased the second camera seperately (losing out on roughly $30 in savings) but i LOVE the system just the same. We are upgrading from the Fisherprice one-camera system and its a BIG difference in quality, for sure. You can definitely feel in your hand its made very well. Ive taken it all over the house and have yet to face a loss of signal (hasnt gone lower than two bars actually) the kick stand on the back gives it a nice tilt on a counter or coffee table so you can easily see the screen. And i love that the antenna lays flush when not in use, making it all the more convienent. Seriously i could go on all day. NO cons so far coming from me! 11/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product! I have been researching video monitors for almost a year now. Now that my son is 6 months old and transitioning him into his crib with a multi level home I really needed a good monitor at a reasonable price. This monitor has been great thus far. All of the features have worked and I use them reguarly. I plan to add an additional camera for my toddler to make sure he is staying in bed and not trying to play with toys during bedtime. 03/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peace of mind! I was hesitant to purchase this video monitor because of the reviews that said this monitor had horrible video quality. I'm sure there are video monitors with crystal clear picture but this one isn't horrible. I have our camera set up on a tripod (yep it has a tripod connection) 2 feet away from our baby's crib and the picture quality is good. I can see everything, even enough detail to see his chest moving up and down from breathing and this is in black and white video because it's dark in his room. The video color when there is light is a bit washed out (meaning it's not vivid color) but you can still see everything perfect. The sound is fine I can hear him when he wakes and that's good enough for me. For the price I think this video monitor works great. I'm sure the 200+ monitors are great too but this monitor is a great deal and serves its purpose well. 04/17/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good construction but terribble video We had a summer monitor and wanted to upgrade our monitor and have two cameras. So we bought this item thinking that it would be superior to our old system. This item comes with nice packaging and is very portable, which was very appealing to us. I also like the way the camera looks. However, the thing that made me return it was the quality of the camera picture. It was so unbelievable how bad it was. Not only was the picture grainy and delayed, but at a distance of more than four or five feet from the children, one cannot make out their face. While I don't want a clear picture, it would have been at least good to be able to tell if their eyes were open or not. Terrible picture and sound is not that great either. Save your money and buy a summer product that has a good video quality. That's ultimately what should be key: Whether you can hear and see your little one. pros: good construction, sleek portable viewing unit cons: terrible picture quality and sound. Recommend to others: NO 12/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Monitor I live overseas where we aren't allowed to use 900 MHz-frequency in our homes. I was nervous that this monitor, which operates at a different frequency, wouldn't work as well but was pleasantly surprised. While the screen is quite as clear as the image here portrays, I would still say it's good quality. I love that I can zoom and talk to my daughter. The built-in lullabies are nice, too. Overall, it's a really wonderful product and a great price! 09/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works perfectly! I love this! I read a lot of reviews before I purchased this video baby monitor and found that the biggest complaint was that the battery life was very short. I specifically bought one that could be plugged in to avoid that problem. The instructions said that computers, laptops, printers, cell phones, cordless phones, etc. could interfere with the reception of the baby monitor. I have not had that problem. I have the monitor sitting between my my laptop and printer - with my cell phone and cordless phone nearby. The camera can be adjusted so it will point exactly where you want it. I have two cameras and I have the option to view one or the other or both at the same time. I could add up to four cameras, which I am considering doing so I can see outside (I would put it on the window sill). I am very happy with this video baby monitor. 10/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good deal - Good monitor This monitor is a great deal for a video monitor. It works great. The screen has a good pictures both in light and dark situations. The voice activation works very well. I have really enjoyed the intercom feature and see it coming in very handy next week when my child gets moved to a big kid bed, not to mention being able to talk to my husband when he is the the baby room without having to yell across the house. I have no complaints about this monitor and have infact bought another one for my next child due in July. 05/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't see my kids! I decided after searching for a long time to get this monitor system because of the option to view all of the cameras on one screen, I wasn't able to find any other system with this option. However I was very disappointed as I couldn't see my kids in their beds because of the built in light for night vision. Had to return the monitor and keep looking. 12/08/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy I had my first monitor for about 3 months. After 3 months passed the battery capacity just seemed to drop off from almost 12 hours to barely 1. A couple weeks after that there was a problem with the parent monitor where the screen wouldn't stop flickering as well as major interference in the with the sound. I returned the monitor with no problem and then ordered another on-line. I received my second monitor a couple days ago and already returned it due to the following. As soon as I plugged both parts in it linked like it should have, but there was no video and the sound was very choppy at best. I went through all the troubleshooting procedures and nothing helped for about an hour. (Un-pairing and re-pairing the camera) Upon trying to re-pair the camera it would only try to pair for about 1/2 a second and then stop. I called vtech customer support and waited on hold for almost an hour until I got help. They were useless to say the least, all they could tell me was the same stuff that could find in the manual that comes with the unit. The only way I would recommend you buy this unit is if Wal-Mart carries it in store because with the amount of problems I had with mine you're probably going to have to take it back to the store and return it a couple times. I had to wait almost a week to get my second one just for it to be broken. It was good while it lasted, but 3 months isn't worth $100 in my honest opinion. 10/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a good monitor but the picture quality is nowhere NEAR what the picture shows. It really looks black and white to me and is not as detailed as the picture shows. I mean its good enough to see your child....put it this way - sometimes we're not sure if his eyes are open or closed - but it serves the purpose. 05/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Cool! No background hissing!!! It was so quiet I kept on checking it. This is my second monitor, I had a Summer Slim Pink for my first child. And I just got use to the back ground hissing. Now the second is almost here and we are doing a test run on the toddler! Its quiet and there's no popping from the Wi-Fi too. I love all the fun stuff on it. I use the intercom on there to communicate with my husband upstairs too. I am looking at getting an additional camera for this unit now. Just way cool!!!! 05/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great monitor for the price I purchused this (for newborn) along with a second camera for my (2yrs old) toddlers room. I installed the camera in the toddlers room in the top corner of the room so i could watch him play and sleep, the video quality is not that great in the dark from that far away. The camera in the babys room is much closer the bed and has a better picture in the dark. I love the option to talk to the children, I can allow my toddler to play in his room alone. The distance it went was not 1000 feet from inside the house to outside it was more like 300ft i believe the 1000 feet is only in open space but it does work every where in my home. I would recommend this product if you are on a tight budget, i have seen a more expenisve ($199) video monitor that had higher quality video, you get what you pay for. 04/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I got the 2 camera pack. I really love being able to keep an eye on my 3 year old while having the other camera in the nursery for the new lil one. Night vision is a little grainy and the intercom feature is somewhat "robotic", but overall its a great product.. daytime picture is great and you can watch both cameras at the same time. It also has a noise detector so if your kiddo is watching a movie or singing while playing, it adjusts to the noise level, but kicks on when there is a difference in noise level. (You can also turn the audio to "on" and listen to everything.) After pricing similar cameras, this is a really good value for what you get. 01/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well over all. All the features meet or exceed expectations, except the color display. Its supposed to automatically switch from black and white night Vison to color during the day. Mine stays black and white most of the time, It'll flicker in color, but go back to black and white shortly. This could be because I keep her blinds closed, but they are white blinds and the room is well lit, it would be too bright for her to nap with them open. I haven't been too concerned with this issue because the black and white is still very clear. As I said all other features work well. The lullabies are pretty and not too electronic sounding, I just wish you could play them from the parent unit, not just from the baby's room unit. The talk back feature is cool, but perks our daughter up more then soothes! The battery lasts for several hours,much longer then I thought it would. I purchased this moniter to replace one that I broke and I like this one much better then my old Summer Infant one. Overall I'm very pleased with this product. 09/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Quit working after a month! I bought this because I read the reviews and they all said it was a great monitor. This was NOT my experience. After a few weeks it quit in the middle of the night and I didn't find out until the next morning. We shut it off for the day and that night it worked. Last night it did it again, I've had the monitor for one month and three days! Needless to say, it went back to the store. 10/13/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It serves the purpose We've only been using this monitor for about 2 weeks. It replaced an ancient Graco video monitor that I pick up a couple years ago from a baby resale store. The monitor is used to aid in the care of my 102 year old Grandma. What I like about the the product - #1 the reception is absolutely amazing!! My Grandma lives in a brick & steel building. I can take monitor with me closing behind a steel door & a solid glass door & down 4 levels of stairs & still see her on the screen!! & she can hear me using the talk feature. Which is the 2nd feature we love about the product! These were the two major features that were the selling point for the product & we are very pleased with them! So for us it was a good buy. Also, the rechargeable battery on the parent unit seems to hold it charge quite well! What I don't like about the product - #1 the picture is HORRIBLE!! H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E!! Grainy & pixel. NOT AT ALL LIKE THE PICTURES THEY SHOW IN THE AD OR ON THE BOX! Honestly, the ancient monitor I originally had has a much clearer & sharper picture! The size is not an issue as we were expecting a small screen it is the picture! # 2 the menu is not user friendly to navigate in my opinion #3 there is limited mobility on the camera. You can move the base but are limited in movement of the actual camera part. # 4 - VOLUME!! My Grandma is not hard of hearing but when I use the talk feature I have to speak loudly otherwise she can't hear me. The volume adjustment on the camera simply does not give us the range we need. Which also is an issue with listening to the lullabies. The volume on the parent unit is not an issue. Would I buy the monitor again. Yes. Simply because it was affordable & meets our basic needs. Would I recommend the monitor ... honestly, it would depend on the situation. I have 2 small children & would have been unhappy with this as the monitor system - the grainy picture is a huge issue to me. & I am deeply disappointed that Vtech advertises it with a very clear picture. The major flaw with my old unit was the reception & thus the reason for the new purchase. If you need a long range monitor this is a great monitor! 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I love this product and would recommend this to anyone looking for a great, but reasonably priced video monitor. I love that it blocks out the noise on the recieving end unless it's the baby crying. I love that it is mobile and the screen is big enough but yet not too big to carry around! Great product! 04/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall it is a good product for the price This product is nice, reception is great, picture and sound are clear. I was disappointed that when I got it, it did not have a feature that I was looking for, I was mislead at the store about it. The camera does not tilt unless you manually move it. I was looking for the monitor to control the tilt of the camera so if the child moved you could move camera to stay with child. The Zoom is not as good as I was expecting, but overall, for a toddlers room, a playroom, just an extra set of eyes this is a great product for the price range. 03/07/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It meets my needs I only have a couple problems with this camera: 1) you can't scan the room, you point it in the area you want to view and that's it. My last monitor allowed you to scan the room from the handheld. 2) The picture is very nice until you use the zoom option. It is fuzzy. Other than that, I love this camera. It allows me to talk to my toddler when he's in his room and it has clear lullaby music for our next baby. 09/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended! Great big LCD; clear reception; easy to use; easy to mount. I have used a couple of other brands and this is by far the best i've used. Just plug in, add battery, and go. Buttons and menu are minimal and easy to navigate. They are also quiet buttons! Some others are too loud in the middle of the night. The parent unit linked to the baby unit easily and the range was amazing. Reception was clear downstairs, upstairs, and in the backyard. I thought I would run into some interference but I have not yet experienced an issue. Love the clip, makes it so easy to be portable. Battery is much better than other units I've used. Usually I have to plug a parent unit in the middle of the night even if it started with a full charge but this still runs well into the morning. I recommend this product for every new parent. The video units are very helpful because you can see your child and determine if baby is crying because baby is wide awake and up, or if baby may have had a dream, is still sleeping, and therefore does not need an intervention. You can also turn on a lullaby or talk to baby thru the voice feature. You can also pair addl cameras for your other kids and use the same parent unit to toggle between each one. The mounting is easy - once the bracket is mounted onto the wall, the baby unit can be screwed into the tripod mount and removed just as easily. 07/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE using this, great for the price! I really love using this camera! We didn't use any type of monitor with our first child (small townhome, I could always hear her), but we wanted to use one now because we figured it would be hard to hear a little baby over the happy squeals of a toddler ;) I'm someone who reads reviews for WEEKS before I make a purchase-- the reviews on this product were so mixed, but for the price it was worth a shot. If you plan to use this with one child, it's AWESOME. It has a super clear picture (no, it's not HD, but I figured it'd be pretty grainy; however, it's easy to see all of the baby's features or even if her pacifier falls out.) I live in a townhome, so I don't need to constantly be taking the parent unit with me everywhere since I can hear sounds throughout the whole floor, so I can't speak on how "mobile" it is, but it's very loud (especially when baby is crying) so I would imagine you could hear it from a few rooms away! The 2 way communication is really cool- my husband and I use it when we're on different floors so we don't have to yell up the stairs! Also, it's really quiet (as in "no annoying buzzing or cracking). A lot of people have complained about the sound not working once you add more cameras. It WOULD be nice if they mentioned that in the product description, but it is mentioned in the instruction manual. We didn't plan on adding extra cameras so it was not a problem for us. Overall, very glad we bought this. 06/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an awesome monitor, especially for the price. The picture could be better when using the "night vision", but it is pretty good. We had a Summer monitor where you could move the camera. It cost twice as much and the range was a third of this one. And we never even used the functionality to move the camera. It stopped working after about 15 months and we replaced with this one. I love the talk function. You can communicate with someone in the room, great feature! Lullabies are cool too but I wish you could activate them from the parent unit. Overall an excellent value and great range. 05/25/2012
1-30 of 217 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw167
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp