Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 48 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used this dutch oven for a while and I have never had a problem. I use low heat on my induction stovetop. The foods you cook will leave browning bits that can then be used to make flavorful sauces. You also need to use oil to cook with this. It does not have a non stick surface, and that's the point...to get those tasty brown bits. I use this dutch oven for braising, browning, frying, and recipies that call for stovetop to oven. It's awesome. Clean with a non abrasive sponge. Soak if there are stuck on bits. I dry mine right after washing, and it still looks beautiful. It's a heavy piece of kitchen equipment. But it conducts heat evenly, and is oven safe, too. Don't expect a flimsy covered pot. By the way, America's Test Kitchen listed this Dutch oven as their best buy. After testing different brands of Dutch ovens, they presented this Dutch oven as the value alternative to the LeCruset $300+ dollar Dutch oven. Visit their website for great recipes you can use with this essential piece of kitchen equipment. 12/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love mine! I asked for a cast iron dutch oven for Christmas. My son bought me this one because the red matched my kitchen. It is not a bright red but not quite a brick red. I LOVE it! I am seeing complaints that it is heavy. It is CAST IRON of course it will be heavy. I let it warm up prior to use and add just a spritz of oil. I don't have issues with anything sticking or burning. If you don't know how to use cast iron or don't like it, this isn't the item for you. I would like to have more pieces for my kitchen! 01/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by QUALITY and SAVINGS! Shopped for months researching other Dutch ovens that cost as much as $200. This Dutch oven is as good as those! Love the quality, easy clean up and yummy meals I've served. It's MADE IN AMERICA. Can't lose with this purchase. 01/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME Never mind the great price, this pot is awesome works just as good as the expensive ones. 02/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite new pot A very heavy pot but love it! I've only used it a few times and intend for it to be my go to pot and am very happy with it so far. I asked my husband to get it for me for Christmas because I couldn't bring myself to pay $60 for a pot just because at any other time of the year which is why I gave a four star rate on the value. Time will tell if it's worth five stars at the cost of $60. With that said, it seems to cook evenly and a little faster using less liquids than my usual dutch pots and sticking so far isn't an issue. I try to make sure also that I use either a wooden or plastic spoon to keep from scratching the porcelain to ensure it's proper durability as suggested in the care manual. I can't wait to see how it cooks up other recipes. So far it's my new favorite and I have a feeling it'll stay that way. 01/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just get it you'll be happy you did! I have wanted an enameled dutch oven for years but I just couldn't swallow the price of the other French brands, and other store and generics I looked at just didn't make the cut for quality. I was thrilled to find that Tramontina made this line of enameled cast iron. I have been using Tramontina stainless tri-ply cookware for over a decade and I am familiar with their products quality and value for the money. With over 20 pieces of Tramontina cookware in my kitchen getting heavy use for over 10 years, I have had only 1 warranty related issue with a lid handle. I found the customer service easy to work with and eager to help. With this in mind I jumped at this dutch oven hoping the same quality would follow through to this product line. Let me tell you, I am not disappointed! This dutch oven is everything I hoped it would be! I found no flaws in the manufacturing: the sides and bottom are even, the ceramic is flawless, the lid sits perfectly and the stainless steel knob on the lid is nice and tight. It is a dream to cook with. Nice even heating, holds heat well and super easy to clean up afterward. And it looks so pretty on the stove. I am so happy with this pan that I just came back to order the 4 qt. brazier and the 3.5 qt dutch oven as well. In the end, I will have 3 good quality pieces for less than I would have spent for one decent sized piece by Le Creuset or Staub. I couldn't be happier. 12/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by HEATS UP NICE AND STAYS AT TEMP. VERY EASY TO CLEAN. GREAT DUTCH OVEN, WORKS AS WELL AS SOME LE POTS ON THE MARKET AT A VERY NICE PRICE.THANK YOU. 04/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have for anyone that loves to cook! My son gave this to me for my BD. I loved it so much, I bought him one for his BD too. I love that it could safely go in the oven with it's steel knob. It cooks everything very evenly on low to medium heat. The color is fab, we bought the red. Be sure to buy a high temperature spatula with it so you do not scrape the finish, and be sure to season it as directed. I would not recommend it for a frail person, as it is quite heavy. Great value for the money. After comparing prices elsewhere for this product, I saved $30.00 buying it from Walmart. 03/16/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not perfection! Received pot in good timing. After examining the pot - noticed that there was imperfections in the making of the pot "dimples". Near the handle there is missing glaze and on bottom of pot some glaze is missing. But - this is not LeCreuset!!! I guess I got what I paid for. Used it to make baked beans and it worked fine. Overall for $49.00 - it is OK. I am going to call the company directly and relay the above to them. 12/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product at a great price. I've been looking for a cast iron Dutch oven that could go from stove top to oven. This one had everything I wanted. It had a steel cover knob which was a must for me. It only came in red but it adds color to my kitchen and looks beautiful as a functional accent piece in my kitchen. The cast iron retains heat for more efficient cooking. I checked this item on many other sites and the Walmart price was half the amount of other sites. The only thing one needs to be aware of is that that metal knob gets very hot even when cooking on the stovetop so you need to warn others not to lift the lid unless they use a hot pad. 01/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a welcome improvement over the composite-knobbed predecessor. Before, of one wanted a stainless steel knob, one had to buy a "replacement" Le Creuset knob, and then shop at ACE Hardware for the required metric machine screw for knob attachment. The built-on stainless knob avoids a "make do" (with the composite knob), and the hassle of ordering a repair part from a competitor. 05/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was looking for a heavy Dutch Oven to use for lamb shanks. This dutch oven delivered the goods and was well worth the price. 01/04/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value for the price I needed a dutch oven, but paying over $200-300 for a hunk of painted iron seems crazy to me, so was very happy to find this from tramontina at a quarter of the price. The finish perhaps isn't perfect, and I don't love the red-to-black coloration (would have preferred all red), but really, it's to cook in and it does the job. And with the stainless steel knob, there's no worries about melting in a hot oven. The mfg recommends seasoning the bare metal along the rim and lid, but make sure to use a higher temperature (at least 425 rather than 350), otherwise the oil doesn't harden correctly and you end up with sticky goo that you need to clean off. 01/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product so far. Very pleased. Care instructions are a little confusing. It says not to heat empty but to put in oven to season egde of pot and cover. 02/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I was looking for a new cooking pot as my old one has worn out. The old pot was coated with teflon from inside but it didn't last long. So I decided to get something more durable. After few weeks of googling I came to conclusion that Tramontina would be the best choice. I'm glad that it was right decision. When I received it it was carefully packed and it didn't have any scratch or chipping on the surfaces. I definitely recommend this pot to the friends. 11/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better built then older models Arrived well packadged, a box within a box within a box. No scratces, dings or cracked enamel. Made split pea and ham soup yesterday, and it did a fantastic job. It seems to be lighter the the 5 1/2 Quart model and that is a good thing. This dutch oven will last forever. 02/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for a handsome Dutch Oven. We use the Tramontina Gourmet 6-Quart Cast Iron Covered Dutch Oven primarily for baking bread...for which it is an ideal size. The exterior is handsome in red and the white interior provides an attractive contrast. Bread recipes often bake at 400 to 425 degrees and this Tramontina Dutch Oven can be used up to 450 degrees which is an asset. We can't comment on durability since we have had it less than a month. However the workmanship appears to be top notch and it fully meets our expectations. 12/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by an in home workout! This cast iron pot is quite heavy but it is a great cooking tool. It does the same job as the most expensive Le Cruset model, but will not break the bank. If labels are not important to you and lets face it, who is going to pick up a hot pot to see the label, then you will not be disappointed. You can do some heavy cooking ( and lifting) with this cookware! Enjoy 11/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I read the reviews and was excited to purchase this - loved it so much went back the next day and purchased the 3.5 qt for every day use. We've used one or the other every day since - and we have nice Calphalon stainless pots and pans! 11/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by heavy duty pot I purchased this as a gift so I really cannot say more about it. It is heavy and I have regular iron pots and know how to use them. So, I assume it will be just fine. 12/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best Even though I have not used this dutch oven yet I went ahead and gave it the highest marks. I did an extensive search of reviews on dutch ovens and on Americas test kitchen which is connected with Cooks magazine they gave this oven a highly recommended rating. It came in just under the much more expensive french ovens and on top of the Lodge brand which was also rated very high. I bought the oven in the red color and it is very pretty. They recommend seasoning before you start using the oven which I intend to do. Last but not least, the price. I was surprised at the low cost on this quality of a dutch oven. Very happy! 02/03/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissatisfied I am not at all satisfied with Walmart’s quality control with this product. Although the Dutch oven seems to be a capable pot, it arrived with a large chunk of the outside enamel missing. Since it was not in the packaging, I would have to assume that it was missing prior to the pot being packed and shipped and that it did not occur in transit. I will be returning the Dutch oven and feel that I cannot take a chance on an exchange for fear that the identical scenario can recur. 07/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good service. Received it promptly. Great price. 09/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I returned the Dutch oven. The enamal was badly chipped around the exterior edge so I returned it to store. 02/01/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too heavy Way too heavy for me to handle. Could hardly pick it up. Returned. 11/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pretty, but thats it Purchased this beautiful pot in the local store. Tried to cook one meal in it and everything was sticking, so I ended up having to use a different pot. When I washed it, the bottom of it stained, so I ended up returning it after the first use. Maybe if it had additional coating for non-stick, it would be the perfect pot. 11/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible construction! First one had paint chips in the lid! Returned it and ordered another - lid was not cast properly, edge was chipped (cast iron - not paint) in 4 places! I'm done!! 07/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking 4ward 2 making fabulous spaghetti sauce! I used this Dutch oven for the first time a few days ago to make chicken cacciatore. Browned the chicken thighs (skin on) in a little olive oil. They stuck to the bottom, but it is possible that I needed to leave them alone a little bit longer before turning them. No sticking after I turned them over. Very easy to clean because of the enamel coating. The only negative about this item is that it is VERY HEAVY!!! 07/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great pot second one of these that I have purchased 05/31/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this pot!!! I bought this for a gift but I have one exactly like it! It is my go-to pan all the time. You can make sauces, soups, stews, roasts....just about anything. It can be used on top of the stove or in the oven. It is just a great pot and I just love it! It's very easy to clean, also. 05/08/2014
1-30 of 45 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew364
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp