Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 195 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This cast iron pot is fabulous. I now have all the plusses of cast iron, and REALLY easy cleanup, without all the chemicals to worry about. I've wanted one for a long time, and this is as good, if not better, than the fancy french one that costs more than $250. Thankyou, WalMart. 11/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cooking assistant and a great price! These pots ARE Good! I always heard they were ...so, decided to try one for myself. Everything I've cooked in it so far is great. I wonder..........could the pot be helping? Yes, I recommend this way of cooking. Don't forgret to season it though.....a little oil in the body and around the edge.....in the oven for an hour and its ready to go. Only thing the knob came loose but I tightened it up and its been okay. The Trivet is handy to have too. 11/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Used right away and it performed perfectly (after "seasoning" it in the oven as recommended). Cooked pasta sauce with sausages for hours on top of the stove. I washed it by hand, but admit to bumping my sink and no chips! Can't imagine why anyone would spend hundreds of dollars on Le Creuset when this dutch oven was just as good. Can't wait to use it again. Got the blue color and it's really a nice shade of dark blue. 11/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous! I waited a very long time before finally deciding to purchase a cast iron dutch oven with the enamel finish. I didn't actually 'need' one and as a frugal person had difficulty justifying the expense. I did considerable research and read at least two hundred reviews/testimonials. I am a fan of America's Test Kitchen. ATK has never once let me down. ATK recommended Le Creuset as the number one and Tramontina as a very decent number two recommendation. I went for the Tramontina and for Walmart. On a scale from one to ten, I would rate the Tramontina dutch oven a number TEN! I have quickly recovered from the 'I-don't-really-need-one' issue. I use it at least once per week. I have cooked soup, stew, paella, arroz con pollo, congri, rope vieja, picadillo, fricase de pollo, black beans, navy beans, etc. etc. It is very easy to clean (I wash and dry it by hand) and I've slowly adjusted to the weight (it is quite heavy). I highly recommend this product. 02/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I was looking for! I am in love with my new dutch oven. I threw out my old non-stick pots because the surface was beginning to peel away and really wanted something different. I could not be happier with the pot. I am the kind of cook who likes to use the same pot for everything; therefore, I have made hamburgers, boiled eggs, cooked soup, prepared rice, prepared a casserole, and more in this dutch oven. Each time it has cleaned up beautifully and looks wonderful gracing my stovetop! My one concern before purchasing was regarding the fact that the pot was manufactured in China. I e-mailed Tramontina and received a prompt reply. Here is a portion of their representative's explanation regarding lead & cadmium: "All of the Tramontina Enameled Cast iron is made in China. One good thing is that it is NOT farmed out to a Chinese company but made in OUR plant in China. They have to meet all of the same rules and regulations that our plants in the USA and Brazil have to meet, so there is a lot more control over our products. All of Tramontina products must pass the Prop 65 regulation regarding Cadmium and lead so that they are safe when taken to market." 02/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value! Exactly what I have been wanting at a VERY reasonable price. Was delivered about 3 days sooner than I expected also. 11/15/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice but not detailed properly. This product looked great. However, the details on the website appear to be incorrect. It specifies that it can be used in an oven at up to 450 degrees. When I received the Dutch oven the product information says 400 degrees. The knob is plastic, thus why it can only be used up to 400 degrees. Will be returning and will lose the S & H I paid. 01/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dutch Oven - Very easy to use Used this dutch oven twice this first week to make dinner. It is perfect for one pot meals. Cooked a chicken meal one night - browned the chicken removed it, prepared saute and sauce in the pot after removing the chicken - then returned the chicken to the pot to finish cooking - no leftovers. Another night used the pot to cook pasta, removed pasta to drain in colander- made alfredo sauce in the pot, added shrimp cooked them until pink, then returned the pasta to the dutch oven to cook an additional 5 minutes with the alfredo sauce and shrimp - dinner was done. Tomorrow going to make a Coffee Pot Roast in the dutch oven. I have two of these pots one 3.5 quarts for soups or for cooking for two and this 5.5 quart oven for family meals. These are extremely versatile cookware. 10/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I must have gotten a dud since most other reviews are stellar. I ordered this with the triply clad bundle. I was so excited to get this deal because the price was amazing and the reviews for the items were great. However, the inside of my cast iron dutch oven had big bumps all around the sides. The inside was not fully covered with the enamel coating either. I definitely returned the item and am not going to buy another one. If the cast iron was sold in stores I would buy it again because I could inspect it myself. If it's in your local walmart I would suggest going in the stores to purchase it. The colors are fabulous and the value is spectacular. Too bad I got a defective one. :( 01/07/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great price, not so great performance Wanted to replace a similar pot that had been recalled. Price and size were what I was looking for, and the online purchase and in-store delivery process went well. Upon opening, I noticed a small chip in the lid. Then after I followed the seasoning instructions, the enamel cracked in a few places afterwards, though no chips came off. White interior is discolored tan after just two uses. 01/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Initial use was very good. Seems durable and holds heat well. Finish was better than I expected for the money. Medium heat was all that was required. Worked as well as a 250 dollar pot made by a french company. No complaints so far and this shipped fast for standard shipping. Clean up was average. 11/23/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by i used the dutch oven for the first time to bake bread in the oven and the knob broke off of the lid 12/16/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The main reason I purchased this was because it says on here •Oven-safe up to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. However on top of the box and written on the paper inside that came with my dutch oven it says "Oven-safe up to 400 degrees Fahrenheit". I'm really disappointed but I know I'll try to find some use for this thing. 12/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC!!!!! This is a wonderful dutch oven at a fraction of the price of other name/chef brands. I love the green color. It matches my kitchen. Cooked in it for the first time yesterday and believe this is one of the best pieces of kitchen cookware I have ever bought. Very sturdy and just as good as the higher price ones. It will outlast my lifetime. 12/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Dutch Oven This is an excellent Dutch oven. I previously purchased a 6.5 quart capacity Tramontina Dutch oven because America's Test Kitchen's magazine rated it as a best buy. (Le Crueset is the best, but it's too pricey for my budget, around $300 for a 5 quart Dutch oven). I had to return that 6.5 quart capacity pot because it was way too heavy. I'm almost 60, and I found I had trouble lifting that one when it was full of water, never mind a pot roast. The 5.5 is much better. I can lift it. It fits evenly on my stovetop. It looks great and the matching trivet will come in handy. Make sure before you buy one of these enameled cast iron pots that whoever will be doing the cooking can lift it. You may be younger than I am, but does your mother ever come over and help you cook? If so, she may not be able to maneuver the pot, if need be. 04/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I absolutely love this pot. Great size & great value for the money. As good as any of the pots like this that are twice the price ( or more). It works for so many things, at least for me, that I don't know how I went without this pot for so long. 11/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Expected From stove top to oven, this dutch oven is exactly what I was looking for. I kept looking at other more expensive dutch ovens but the price always stopped me. I did a search on Tramontina and found rave reviews so I purchased this dutch oven and am happy I did. My first pot roast in it came out so good I knew I made a wise purchase. 11/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have used my 5.5 qt. dutch oven less than 6 times and the handles are all chipped and now there is a small area on the bottom of the pot that is coming loose. Thought I always wanted one of these! 12/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value No need to spend 5x as much for a French named Dutch Oven. Tramontina delivers just as several reputable online cooking sites have reported! Some may want a larger capacity but for us this size is perfect for a 5 pound pot roast, pork shoulder, or similar meal. 01/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice set This is my second set of Tramontina cookware. I am satisfied. All the benefits of cast iron cooking without having to worry about seasoning. And it's easy to wash. My only disappointment is that the cover does not fit the dutch oven perfectly, almost as if it's not perfectly round. It seems to work OK because the lid is heavy, but some steam does escape while cooking. No big complaints, though, especially considering the price. 01/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by retains heat well. Read the directions before use. You must cook oil into the seal of the lid before using it. 12/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love making stews and sauces in this dutch oven. I recommend this item highly. 11/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beartiful as well as functional Got this in green and it looks so rich. Love the Tramontina products... 11/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cooking necessity This 5qt pot is just the right size, I am able to make soups, stews, sauces and roast and then transfer to the oven if necessary. 12/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal! I got this on Cyber Monday for almost 50% off. Cast iron dutch ovens can be very expensive, especially for a quality product. I bought this online & figured if it wasn't good quality I would return it. This is a great deal! Even the regular price is much lower than some of the expensive, high end name brands. But this dutch oven is great quality. Very heavy & made well. It even comes with a trivet so you can take the whole thing to the table! Give it a try! 12/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This thing's awesome! I've made deep pan pizzas, apple pies, stuffed bell peppers, fajitas, and so many different kinds of cuisine in this pot and it has never failed me. Food is always cooked perfectly, never undercooked or burnt. You get the benefits of cast iron (temperature fluctuations are minimized) and the benefits of porcelain (easy to wash) in one unit. I definitely recommend this to anyone with interest in the culinary arts. 12/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good This is my first dutch oven, but this one was independently rated very highly and my first use was very successful. It held up well in the over and cleaned fairly easy - no stains like I have seen in some other reviews. It has a nice appearance, although not as fancy as Le Creuset. There are some minor defects (a speck bump on the bottom and a small abnormality on one handle) but both appear to be cosmetic thus far. For $200 less than a fancy dutch oven, I am very happy so far. 12/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have Tramontina frying pans and they are just the "Top Of The Line" in my book! I used the Dutch Oven only once in the week and a half I have had it, and it worked very well as I expected. Tramontina is an excellent product. The price for the Dutch Oven also was outstanding. 12/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Defective Dutch Oven I had to return it because when I washed it, upon returning home with it, I noticed that there was a place where the enamel didn't cover the cast iron. It was clearly a defect. I took it back to the store and ordered a replacement on line, the same day. that was three weeks ago. I was told to pick it up in two weeks but have received a notice that delivery is delayed and they don't know when it will be delivered. So, I haven't received it yet to be able to review the actual product which will hopefully arrive without a defect. All round, not a very good experience. 11/17/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a bad product. I really would have preferred something that was just pure cast iron, at least on the inside. The finish on everything is very nice, however. Aside from the fact that it was not really what I wanted, its "Chinese heritage" shows its ugly face in that the knob for the lid does not fit perfectly flush and perpendicular to the top. The stud seems to be a little whacked out, and I think I'd strip the knob if I tightened it any more. 01/01/2013
1-30 of 145 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw57
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp