Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 128 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice of external harddrive I am not a computer whiz, but even I know the value of an external harddrive. Even with the hype for cloud (online) storage, an external drive is so much simpler, more private, and offers a lot of memory space. I choose the Toshiba dCanvio Connect due to favorable reviews from both Walmart and Amazon. I used gift cards to bring down the price to a mere $35! Can't beat that deal! But really, 1 TB is a lot of space and $70 with free shipping is a fairly good deal--even Amazon didn't offer a better price. The device itself is really small, so if you needed to take it with you, you would have no problem slipping the shiny, wallet-sized drive into a purse or zippered pocket or whatever. I plugged the device into my laptop and was able to use it right away--I put loads of pictures and MP4 music and video files on it with no problem, and didn't even use up much space! The device now sits on my desk's keyboard tray, ready to be connected with my laptop at any time. 01/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by quiet cannot be heard. mine has been running for over 1 year steady storing and showing movies without a glitch. 10/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds My Expectation I had a Toshiba before but I misplaced it so I was so excited to find that this was so cheap for such a high space. It shipped incredibly fast. It was very easy to install and setup (just plug in, click setup and pick what options you want to install). I only downloaded Pogoplug, which is very easy to maneuver. It backs up your PC and your phone so you can control your backup from either electronic device. It comes with 931GB of free space, so don't think it's exactly 1000GB. The transfer time is not as fast as I expected (I researched the timing initially) BUT that could have been because I tried to transfer 45GB of info all at once and I am using a 2.0 USB port. Either way, it took about an hour (that was my fault because the other device I was transferring from seemed to be going on the fritz that day) and everything went on smoothly. The usb cord is lengthy (the longest I've ever had) so that is a plus. All in all, I am, definitely, considering ordering another one just for backup. The pricing is amazing, it's very easy to use and no problems so far. 11/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! I saw online that this item was available in store so I went to my local Wal-Mart to pick it up. I brought it home & plugged it into my netbook without even touching the small instruction book and went straight to work copying files over. It's small, lightweight & FAST! If you have a computer - you NEED to back-up your important files. I recently had a scare & thought I lost everything which is why I hustled to pick up this little beauty. Think of how many times people complain about their computer crashing and how they lost everything! Be smarter than that & back up your files =0) PS: Walmart...if you're paying attention...PLEASE put all your external hard drives together so we don't have to check every shelf to find an item. Thank you! 01/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really good product....Exactly what I expected. Because I was anticipating getting another, much newer and much faster desktop computer, I needed a secure and easy way to move information from my old computer to the next one. Someone suggested an external hard drive. I had 12 GB of data to remove from my old computer and move to my new one. Moved everthing to the EXT hard drive in 2 hours...now ready for the new computer. Excellent product. Easy to use. Great for system backups..... 11/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great little portable device I use mine to store my Movies/TV shows/Music. All of it is on the drive and room for more. I do recommend that unless you are using a USB3 port/hub that you plug directly into a USB2 port. I found it improves the device transfer rate immensely and I am reasonably sure the same can be said about a USB3. 06/24/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Toshiba Canvio Hard drive Unit worked as described and is fast, was easy to setup and it was plug and play for my windows 7 OS. I am very happy with this unit and it's performance. Have used it on all 3 of my computers with no problems! (One thing for setup) after you have installed the soft ware, (do not use the setup Icon when you open the files on this drive for setup the first time, instead go to the NTI file, open and use this setup file to start unit setup. After setup you will get the registration window before your program runs. You will also find your users manual in the NTI file. Have fun you will like this unit! 03/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All The Storage You Need! I absolutely LOVE this hard drive. I have transferred the data from my laptop, desktop & work laptop and I still have a massive amount of space. I will never leave home without it! This is the best purchase I have made all year! 11/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy setup;works well; fast USB file transfers Very nice, small, compact, quiet, large capacity drive. Setup was quick as easy. AA+ 05/31/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this product at all costs! Immediately after installing supplied software, the Windows 7 operating system on my computer was corrupted. All attempts to use backups, restore or re-image hard drive failed. With no other option, I took computer to local computer repair shop. Scan of new drive I purchased from Walmart indicated seven (7) viruses embedded on the drive. It took specialized software to clean my computer. My computer was at repair shop for 3 days. Cost me $75.00 for service. Do yourself a favor and run away from this product! 03/04/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Software doesn't work. First time I installed the software -- located on the actual drive -- after required reboot, the software couldn't find it's own brand new drive which I just installed from. I went to File Explorer - sure enough the drive is not there. Unplugged and plugged back in several times, the drive is lit up but does not show up to the software or Windows. Uninstall, reboot. Reinstall, reboot. This time the drive is available to the backup program and Windows, however backup doesn't work. It immediately says "completed with errors". There is no way to see the errors. Nothing shows up in Event Viewer. Back to uninstall, try Windows Backup I guess. Plus, the default is to user their "cloud" service. Why have a backup drive if you're using their cloud? 11/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great USB Hard Drive (Windows and Android) I bought this to back up my HP Touchsmart All-In-One. It worked great. Almost silent and a white "ON" and "Operating" light. Small and compact. The "Quick Install Guide" is too quick. It says nothing! After I used it on my Windows computer I tried it on two Android Devices. A HP Android All-In-One and one of my Tablets. It worked great on these devices also (I could not find any USB Hard Drives that say they work with Android). It shows as a usbdrive of .91TB and works with the file manager. 11/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Good value and very portable I bought this for use as a back up device in multiple locations. It is physically quite small which helps in portability and desk space. Seems to work just fine. My only problem was that after running set up and accepting the defaults, it wanted to immediately start an initial back up. That was Ok, but I would prefer to be able to review the default settings and then intiate the back up. 12/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for backup I have used this to backup all my files and still have plenty of room. Great product for the price. 07/23/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Portable hard drive by Toshiba is great! One terra byte is amazing for backing up my files for two computers! No extra charging cables or cords for wall plugs to worry with. Plugs right into the computer for use and charging too. Did not have to charge before use as it came with enough power to start it up. Thankfully this is a great buy for a quality item. P.S. I found a hard case for it to keep it from harm when I need to take it with me-- on the move. It does not come with a case of any sort. 12/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a not so computer savvy user! Was very easy to hook up and use. It's main purpose for me is to back up the files on my laptop. Definitely does the job, set it to do automatically. 11/11/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Included backup software program is inferior I bought this particular drive because of the included software program. The drive itself is OK, but the software program it came with does not work at all. I installed it on three different computers with no luck at all. There are no updates for the program and no tech support available. So, if you are looking for a great drive that goes hand in hand with a great backup program, DO NOT BUY THIS. I ended up buying a nice backup program from EaseUs. Works very well. 02/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home user Very easy to install and download data 07/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great external hard drive! I have backed up 2 IPADs a desktop AND a laptop with mine. It is great. 11/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this compact Hard Drive This external hard drive is so compact. It's almost as small as my smartphone. It is easy to use and is fast too. I've downloaded 4,000 pictures and have only used 4 percent of the storage. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a compact portable hard drive. The price was great too 08/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great bargain for it's storage capabilities! I needed an external hard drive to be able to free up space on my computer from pictures and music. After searching around, I settled on the Toshiba Canvio External Hard Drive; for it's capabilities and price, I think I made a great deal! It was very easy to intsall and then to begin downloading pictures and other items from my computer hard drive. I was able to free up quite a bit of space on my internal hard drive within minutes, which allows my computer to go faster, which was my main goal. 03/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE FOR THE MONEY RECOGNIZED WINDOWS 8.0 & WORKS BACKWORD WITH A USB 2.O WITH NO PROBLEMS. ATTACHMENT CABLE INCLUDED. 12/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by . a little harder to set up than a wd 11/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the price! If you need lots of data storage space, this external hard drive is a good choice! 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best value (price vs quality) on the market. Checked almost every conceivable website; definitely best value. 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for its size. This hard drive works great, and is so small, and the best part, no external power supply. 11/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed for a good price. Very happy with purchase! 11/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just plugged it in and followed instructions. Not particularly tech savvy, and to be honest, not sure what I did, but I followed instructions and hoped for the best. I didn't think it really copied and backed up my files, as I seldom get these things right the first time. But when viewing in Windows Explorer, there they were. I even clicked on several files to make sure I could retrieve them. Even ran a few applications from the Canvio. I am happy. 06/23/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use and save space I really enjoy this product so I bought 2 of them 11/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I needed more storage space this meets my needs I have a lot of PDF files and videos that I was storing in different USB sticks, I wanted to be able to keep them organized all together in different file folders but didn't want to use up all my memory on my PC. This is perfect, out of the box plugged it in and moved all my files to it and have plenty of space to add more. It's very easy and convenient to use. Would buy again without reservation. 09/22/2014
1-30 of 128 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw125
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp