The Science of Doctor Who

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
  • Browse Related Products
  •  
Advertisement

The Science of Doctor Who

Format:  Hardcover,

307 pages

Publisher: Johns Hopkins Univ Pr

Publish Date: May 2010

ISBN-13: 9780801895609

ISBN-10: 080189560X

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$18.63

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.

Almost fifty years after he first crossed the small screen, Doctor Who remains a science fiction touchstone. His exploits are thrilling, his world is mind-boggling, and that time travel machine--known as the Tardis--is almost certainly an old-fashioned blue police box, once commonly found in London.

Paul Parsons's plain-English account of the real science behind the fantastic universe portrayed in the "Doctor Who" television series provides answers to such burning questions as whether a sonic screwdriver is any use for putting up a shelf, how Cybermen make little Cybermen, where the toilets are in the Tardis, and much more.

Taking the show as a starting point--episode-by-episode in some cases--Parsons dissects its scientific concepts. In addition to explaining why time travel is possible and just how that blue police box works, Parsons

- discusses who the Time Lords are and how we may one day be able to regenerate just like them- ponders the ways that the doctor's two hearts might work and introduces us to a terrestrial animal with five- details the alien populations and cosmology of the Whovian Universe and relates them to what we currently know about our universe- compares the robotics of the show with startlingly similar real-world applications

This slender, equation-free discussion is penned by a Ph.D. cosmologist and is ideal beach reading for anyone who loves science and watches the show--no matter which planet the beach is on.

Specifications

Publisher: Johns Hopkins Univ Pr
Publish Date: May 2010
ISBN-13: 9780801895609
ISBN-10: 080189560X
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 307
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.25
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 6.5 x 9.5 x 1.5

Chapter outline

Preface
Acknowledgments
The Eleven Doctors
Doctor in The Tardis
Who Is the Doctor?
Time and Relative Dimension in Space, or Tardis
Into the Vortex
Regeneration
One Giant Leap for DIY
Partners in Time
Aliens of London and Beyond
Other Worlds
Carnival of Monsters
The Cybermen
The Daleks
The Slitheen
The Autons
The Silurians and the Sea Devils
The Sontarans
Martians, Go Home!
The Krynoid
Stupid Apes
Exile to Earth
The Human Empire
Invasion Earth
Robot Dogs, Psychic Paper, And Other Celestial Toys
Scanning for Alien Tech
Just What the Doctor Ordered
K-9 and Company
Psychic Paper
Space-flight
Space Stations and Moonbases
Bombs, Bullets, and Death Rays
Force Fields
The Matrix
Mission to The Unknown
Event One
The Eye of Harmony and Other Black Holes
Journeys through E-Space
Strange Stars and Mirror Planets
The More Things Change
The End of Time
Epilogue
List of Episodes by Doctor
Further Reading
Index

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2010-09-01)

In the tradition of Lawrence M. Krauss's The Physics of Star Trek, Jeanne Cavelos's The Science of Star Wars, and similar works, Parsons's book takes a semiserious look at how many aspects of the Doctor Who world may or may not be physically, biologically, or technologically possible. An astrophysicist like Cavelos, Parsons has written an engaging work accessible to lay audiences and interesting even to those not fanatical about the long-running BBC series.

Organized into four sections with short chapters, the book discusses characteristics of the Doctor, the Tardis, other aliens and mechanical beings, and missions in space and beyond. A wide range of scientific research and news sources are cited, including bit. Dy shortened URLs. The book has sketch illustrations and a robust index. Originally published by a UK imprint, it now contains a preface covering discrepancies in airtimes on each continent.

Verdict: Accessible and entertaining, this is suitable for public and academic libraries and possibly also high school collections.

-Sara Tompson, Univ. of Southern California, Los Angeles

(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

Almost fifty years after he first crossed the small screen, Doctor Who remains a science fiction touchstone. His exploits are thrilling, his world is mind-boggling, and that time travel machine—known as the Tardis—is almost certainly an old-fashioned blue police box, once commonly found in London.

Paul Parsons's plain-English account of the real science behind the fantastic universe portrayed in the Doctor Who television series provides answers to such burning questions as whether a sonic screwdriver is any use for putting up a shelf, how Cybermen make little Cybermen, where the toilets are in the Tardis, and much more.

Taking the show as a starting point—episode-by-episode in some cases—Parsons dissects its scientific concepts. In addition to explaining why time travel is possible and just how that blue police box works, Parsons

• discusses who the Time Lords are and how we may one day be able to regenerate just like them

• ponders the ways that the doctor's two hearts might work and introduces us to a terrestrial animal with five

• details the alien populations and cosmology of the Whovian Universe and relates them to what we currently know about our universe

• compares the robotics of the show with startlingly similar real-world applications

This slender, equation-free discussion is penned by a Ph.D. cosmologist and is ideal beach reading for anyone who loves science and watches the show—no matter which planet the beach is on.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms