The Keeper of Lost Causes

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
  • Browse Related Products
  •  
Advertisement

The Keeper of Lost Causes

Format:  Paperback,

407 pages

Publisher: Penguin Group USA

Publish Date: Jul 2012

ISBN-13: 9780452297906

ISBN-10: 0452297907

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$9.04

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of "The Absent One"--perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo"
Carl Morck used to be one of Copenhagen's best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl--who didn't draw his weapon--blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl's got only a stack of Copenhagen's coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn't dead ... yet.
Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, "The Keeper of Lost Causes" introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.

Specifications

:
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Publish Date: Jul 2012
ISBN-13: 9780452297906
ISBN-10: 0452297907
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 407
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.65
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.5 x 8.0 x 1.0

About the author

Biography of Adler-Olsen, Jussi

Jussi Henry Adler-Olsen was born in 1950 in Copenhagen. After graduating from the state school in Rdovre, he studied medicine, sociology and film making. In the late 1970's, he worked in various areas of publishing including cartoon-scripting, proof-reading and journalism. He went on to write two books about Groucho Marx (1984-1985). His first successful novel, Alfabethuset (The Alphabet House), followed in 1997. It tells the story of two British pilots on a secret mission who are shot down in Germany during World War II. It was followed in 2002 by Og hun takkede gud erne (The Company Basher), a thriller set in Iraq in which an Indonesian specialist in destroying large corporations is persuaded to bring down an oil company.

In 2006, Washington Dekretet (The Washington Decree) begins with the assassination of the Democratic front-runner on the eve of an American presidential election. His first novels in the crime-thriller series about Department Q, Kvinden i buret (The Woman in the Cage, US title - The Keeper of Lost Causes) and Fasandrberne (Disgrace) were published in 2007 and 2008. Both are set in Denmark where they increased his popularity, appearing at the top of bestseller lists. Then followed Flaskepost fra P (Message in a Bottle) in 2009, and Department Q book, Journal 64, was published in 2010. His title Absent One made The New York Times Best Seller List in 2012.

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2011-06-15)

Following the success of other Scandinavian authors, Denmark's best-selling crime writer makes his American debut with this first novel in the Glass Key Award--winning Department Q series. Department Q is a new section of the Copenhagen Police, dedicated to resolving Denmark's most notorious unsolved crimes. A political solution to a bureaucratic problem, Department Q is further hampered by its only detective, Carl Morck, who has lost his friends, his health, and his spirit in a recent shooting. His first case is to investigate the disappearance of a popular politician. After five years, everyone assumes she is dead, but Morck and his assistant, Assad, who has his own political past to protect, begin to unravel her secrets.

Verdict: Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbo, and Stieg Larsson but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction.

[See Prepub Alert, 2/14/11.] - Cathy Lantz, -Morton Coll. Lib., Cicero, IL

(c). Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms