The Essential Johnny Cash 3.0 (Limited Edition) (3 Disc Box Set)

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
  • Browse Related Products

The Essential Johnny Cash 3.0 (Limited Edition) (3 Disc Box Set)

Release date: 11/04/2008

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $27.98
You Save: $13.10 (47%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 3)

1. Listen Hey Porter
2. Listen Cry Cry Cry
3. Listen I Walk The Line
4. Listen Get Rhythm
5. Listen There You Go
6. Listen Ballad Of A Teenage Queen
7. Listen Big River
8. Listen Guess Things Happen That Way
9. Listen All Over Again
10. Listen Don't Take Your Guns To Town
11. Listen Five Feet High And Rising
12. Listen The Rebel - Johnny Yuma
13. Listen Tennessee Flat Top Box
14. Listen I Still Miss Someone
15. Listen Ring Of Fire
16. Listen The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
17. Listen Orange Blossom Special
18. Listen Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord) - Featuring The Carter Family

Disc 2 (of 3)

1. Listen What Do I Care
2. Listen I Got Stripes
3. Listen Understand Your Man
4. Listen What Is Truth
5. Listen Oney
6. Listen Any Old Wind That Blows
7. Listen A Thing Called Love
8. Listen Without Love

Disc 3 (of 3)

1. Listen It Ain't Me Babe - Featuring June Carter Cash
2. Listen The One On The Right Is On The Left
3. Listen Jackson - Featuring June Carter Cash
4. Listen Folsom Prison Blues (Live)
5. Listen Daddy Sang Bass
6. Listen Girl From The North Country - Featuring Bob Dylan
7. Listen A Boy Named Sue (Live)
8. Listen If I Were A Carpenter - Featuring June Carter Cash
9. Listen Sunday Morning Coming Down
10. Listen Flesh And Blood
11. Listen Man In Black
12. Listen Ragged Old Flag
13. Listen One Piece At A Time
14. Listen (Ghost) Riders In The Sky
15. Listen Song Of The Patriot - Featuring Marty Robbins
16. Listen Highwayman - Featuring Willie Nelson/Waylon Jennings/Kris Kristofferson
17. Listen The Night Hank Williams Came To Town - Featuring Waylon Jennings
18. Listen The Wanderer - Featuring U2

About the Album

Issued in commemoration of Cash's 70th birthday, this double CD is a good survey of 1955-1993 career highlights (and a different release than the similarly titled three-CD The Essential Johnny Cash 1955-1983). Is it a good place to start? That depends on what you have or don't have already, considering that so many greatest-hits compilations containing some or much of this material appeared prior to this, yet another repackage. All of his very biggest hits are here, and it leans very heavily on his first 15 years of recordings, with just eight of the 36 tracks postdating 1970 (and only one of them, his 1993 U2 collaboration "The Wanderer," postdating 1986). For that reason some may complain that it doesn't give some phases of his career proper weight, and certainly not evenly distributed weight. But let's be cold about this: Cash's best records were between 1955 and 1970, and focusing on his early work, as this compilation does, means higher overall quality. It's too bad nothing is included from his acclaimed, unadorned 1994 album, American Recordings, but otherwise this will serve as a quite satisfactory best-of for those who want both the familiar hits and a few good, not-so-overplayed ones, like his versions of "It Ain't Me Babe," "Jackson," and "If I Were a Carpenter." [Columbia/Legacy's Limited Edition 3.0 appeared in 2008 and included a bonus CD -- in addition to the original, two-CD set.] ~ Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide
Artist: Johnny Cash
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date:
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.2
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 0.4 x 4.9 x 5.6
UPC: 0088697290892

Customer Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5★ by 2reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5★ by This is a really good CD, A lot of this is older Johnny Cash music, that was recorded when he had his little 3 piece band. It has a lot of songs that I love, and a part of his music was my childhood. I was a fan of the man before he became so popular. It has brought back a lot of memories. 03/11/2012
See All Reviews

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms

The Essential Johnny Cash 3.0 (Limited Edition) (3 Disc Box Set)
The Essential Johnny Cash 3.0 (Limited Edition) (3 Disc Box Set) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)