The Dark Horse

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
  • Browse Related Products
  •  
Advertisement

The Dark Horse

Format:  Paperback,

318 pages

Publisher: Penguin Group USA

Publish Date: May 2010

ISBN-13: 9780143117315

ISBN-10: 0143117319

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$11.29

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.
Walt doubts a confession of murder in this novel from the "New York Times "bestselling author of "The Cold Dish "and "As the Crow Flies," the fifth in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for "LONGMIRE," the hit A&E original drama series Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love" The Dark Horse "is the fifth installment in "New York Times "bestselling author Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire mystery series, the basis for "LONGMIRE," the hit A&E original drama series. Wade Barsad, a man with a dubious past and a gift for making enemies, burned his wife Mary's horses in their barn; in retribution, she shot him in the head six times. But Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County doesn't believe Mary's confession. Leaving behind the demands of his upcoming re-election campaign, Walt unpins his star to go undercover and discovers that everyone-including a beautiful Guatemalan bartender and a rancher with a taste for liquor-had a reason for wanting Wade dead.

Specifications

Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Publish Date: May 2010
ISBN-13: 9780143117315
ISBN-10: 0143117319
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 318
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.55
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.25 x 7.75 x 0.5

About the author

Biography of Johnson, Craig

Craig Johnson was born in West Virginia on January 16, 1961. He is the author of the Walt Longmire Mystery series. Another Man's Moccasins won the Western Writer's of America Spur Award for best novel of 2008. The A&E TV series Longmire, which is based on his novels, started in 2012.

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2009-06-01)

In his fifth outing (after Another Man's Moccasins), Sheriff Walt Longmire goes undercover to prove that Mary Barsad, confessed murderer, did not kill her husband after he shot her horses and set the barn on fire. Walt finds that there is a lot more going on in Wyoming's remote Powder River area, as he meets a cast of characters with much to hide.

Verdict: While not as hard boiled as C.J. Box's crime thrillers nor as humorous as J.M. Hayes's "Mad Dog and Englishman" series, Johnson's deft, twisty storytelling immediately grips the reader. His latest has a heart as big as a Wyoming sky.

(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

Walt doubts a confession of murder in this novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies, the fifth in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love The Dark Horse is the fifth installment in New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire mystery series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series.

Wade Barsad, a man with a dubious past and a gift for making enemies, burned his wife Mary's horses in their barn; in retribution, she shot him in the head six times. But Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County doesn't believe Mary's confession. Leaving behind the demands of his upcoming re-election campaign, Walt unpins his star to go undercover and discovers that everyone-including a beautiful Guatemalan bartender and a rancher with a taste for liquor-had a reason for wanting Wade dead.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now