Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 37 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by TomTom 1435TM GPS By far the best gps unit I have ever owned tomtom done its homework on these new Via models I love all the new features and the lifetime maps and traffic updates that come with all TM models could not ask for anything else from this one to do because it does everything to do with navigation and for what I paid for the new unit it would have costed me that just to update my old tomtom 2 times I am glad tomtom stepped up to the plate with the new lifetime map updates and traffic updates also this should put them on top on the GPS market... 06/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Compact easy to use GPS I am a previous Tom Tom gps owner, so wanted to keep with that brand because my last one gave me no problems in the 5 years that i owned it. The main reason i wanted this model was because of the lifetime map updates and trafic. Also was looking for a bluetooth capable unit for my cell phone when driving, this one works very well and is compatible with my Samsung GT5500. I see a lot of negative reports about this GPS unit (even on TomTom's web site) all i can say is that some people are not using it right, because i have had sucess with it even when doing the first map update (some people say it takes 3 or more hours to update) it took me 22 mins. the only thing i have not had success with yet is entering an address with the voice command. The voice command otherwise works very well with POI entry and my cell phone calling which is the main reason i wanted this. Directions and spoken street names are very clear and understandable, this unit is very accurate and even tells you which side of the road your destination is on when you get there (my old one did not) It is a nice big easy to read screen, and easy to operate. Just remember that when using the voice command option that you can not have the radio on too loud otherwise it will not pick up your voice. All said i would recomend this unit to anyone wanting the features that this offers. Very good value for $150 The intergrated mount is also a good plus with this unit, as the screen automaticaly turns around to whatever way up you have this weather it be on your dash or up on the windscreen. I even was able to transfer all my voices, favourites and POI from my old TomTom one into this new unit using a programe from TomTom's web site. I use this in my 2011 Camaro because i stopped the onstar service (hands free calling is to costly with onstar) hence the bluetooth hands free option of this GPS with my phone. Another thing i like about this as opposed to my old unit is the way it shows you the lane guidence when comming to a junction on the highway, in which lane to use. 04/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 I have owned several Tom Toms which worked for me, I especially like this one, enough to get one for my Grandson. The life time maps and traffic are great. It was a little hard at first to pair with my cell phone but with a little help from the Tom Tom support online it was solved. I like the visable road speed limit and warnings when driving too fast. Voice reconition program has a lot to be desired. It understands basic commands. I have not been on any long trips with it but looking forward to it. 07/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing! Felt like a down-grade! I was very disappointed with this Tom-tom. I loved my last one. Right away, as mentioned in other reviews, the design seemed clunky and slow. Then, I noticed the touch screen was not very responsive compared to my previous Tom-tom. I couldn't believe the voice quality. It sounded so poor, I thought it was 5 years older than my previous old model. I immediately investigated online, thinking I mistakenly ordered an older model. No, to my astonishment, this is a recent release! Compared to my 3 year old tom-tom, the function is clunkier, the voice quality is much worse, and the touch screen is terrible. Sadly, I'm returning this today. 07/21/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrating Got this for my wife because you could say the place you wanted to go rather than touchscreen input. It doesn't work well. You have to have the exact address for it to work. You can't just say "Walmart in x city". 01/01/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice if it would have worked! Great features...good price It did not work right out of the box. Tech support is an email extravaganza. Several days of emails and no closer to a fix...Returned and biought a Garmin, my fourth. 12/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Go with Garmin, TomTom is not reliable I bought 2 of these GPS units - I already had a Garmin. There are 4 of us in our family and 3 were relocating to different states, so I gave the Garmin away to one, a TomTom to another and kept a TomTom for me. It made me long for my Garmin. This GPS got us lost over and over with misdirections, alerting to turns 3 to 5 miles before reaching that point (distracts you when driving bec you are looking for that street name!) and it is not as user friendly as my Garmin. Now that we are all relocated, I am keeping my Garmin and the 2 TomToms are going for yard sale. Never again will I listen to people recommend a GPS unit when it is the ONLY GPS they have ever owned. Once you have a Garmin, you will never want a TomTom. Although lifetime maps was the only good feature, the constant alerting of gas stations was annoying (like every 3 miles or so). I was led to more dead ends and roads that were no longer there that it is a wonder this GPS is still being purchased. Save your money and curiosity - buy a Garmin! 06/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Very disappointing. Tom Tom told me that I couldn't update it on my computer network so I went to another network, still couldn't update. Then it would not turn on and we were leaving for Florida in about 2 hours. I returned it and bought a garmin. It was wonderful! 06/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall higly recommended!!! Perfect GPS unit i have ever, Quick response, fast processor, life time update option,real traffic update, On the negative side speaker its not power enoght to hear especially bluetooth connect to i phone 02/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome GPS for the money, and got it so quick it surprised me 12/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very good GPS not perfect but very good. This is a very good GPS. The IQ Routes feature is my absolute favorite. In some cases it will signal you that you can save a few minutes by taking an alternate route. You can travel through unfamiliar cities like you've live there all your life. I really enjoy the advanced lane guidance especially when I am going down a freeway at 65 MPH. I never miss an offramp and I navigate much more surely. Two flaws one is the accuracy of maps. Once in a while it is off on directions. It says my house is on the right side of the street when it is on the left hand side. Sometime it is a couple hundred yards off address. Taking advantage of some of the special features is also unnecessarily complicated. 07/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product TOM TOM Corp does have a very good Blue tooth compatibility with Verizon phones. There are NONE on their list that will work. The Verizon Rep.Called them without any success. 07/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Product This is a very good product.I travel to a location that you would call no man land. I could't believe that it new every road and even when I went the wrong way it still brought me back to my destination. I am very satisfly with this product and love the bluetooth capabilites. It's very easy to use. 07/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by user friendly dont like the way it plugs in - awkward also the map updates are difficult to accomplish 05/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by EASY TO USE I HAVE THE VIA 1435TM AND ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT IS REALY AN AMAZING DEVICE. IT DOES EVERYTHING ITS SUPPOSED TO DO AND MUCH MUCH MORE! THE BLUTOOTH WORKS GREAT, I CAN MAKE AND RECEIVE CALLS AND I DONT HAVE TO USE MY CELLPHONE, IT SOUNDS GREAT. THIS FEATURE ITS AMAZING..IT LOADS ALL MY CONTACTS FROM MY PHONE!!!! LIVE TRAFFIC UPDATES,AND LETS YOU KNOW OF ALTERNATE ROUTES IF THERE IS DELAY OR TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS!!! LOVE IT! JUST MAKE SURE YOU PLUGGE INTO THE COMPUTER EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE TO KEEP UPGRADING AND TO LEARN OF NEW THINGS!!! WORTH IT! 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Upgraded from XL 330S WOW!!!!!!!!! As a truck driver this unit has never let me down, as I work urban and rural areas even dirt roads, it always leads me to my destination. Very accurate and easy to use. Traffic info is also very helpfull especially in areas I don't travel often. Updates are easy and simple. Thank you. 03/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great info and deal easy and well detailed.. alot of benifits and a great price 03/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product sucks. Never update your maps. They corrupted my 1435 and now I have to send it back... 12/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Simplistic I bought the TomTom Via 1435M several weeks ago after having used the TomTom ONE 130S and the TomTom XL 335S. I've used the XL 335S for 2 years; I was looking to update to newer hardware as an alternative to purchasing map updates for my existing device. The Via 1435M seemed ideal in that it has 2x the RAM (4 GB#, an expansion slot for a micro SD card, voice recognition, a Bluetooth interface for use with a cell phone, and lifetime map updates. I find the following: - the user interface has been simplified/streamlined; overall, I MISS features that were available in the XL 335 user interface - it can be slow for the GPS to get a fix on the satellites after it is turned on #the GPS Fix capability of older TomTom devices seems to be gone# - the latest map #that I downloaded right after buying the device, contains a map error in one of the routes I use#; reporting a map error is extremely cumbersome - the device does tell you - when you get to a destination - that it's on the LEFT or on the RIGHT; the phrase it uses to speak this is awkwardly worded - the voice recognition is cumbersome; it's far easier to just type the address of a destination in than trying to speak it #for me# - the device is not very customizable - they have switched from TomTom HOME software for updating the device from your computer to a web-based interface; there are far fewer customizations that you can make #I miss in particular being able to load up a custom set of Points of Interest POIs# - it is my impression that the web-based interface for updating the Via is actually incomplete at this point in time; they appear to be promising #on the website) that missing customization capabilities will soon be forthcoming At present I am trying to decide whether to keep the device on spec that missing features will soon become available, or take it back & wait for a bit / get something else. 12/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful I love that this GPS has OVER ONE MILLION TRACKED roads in the USA and Canada. I have never found one that had such an amazing amount of roads mapped out in one GPS unite 12/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need to get one I like that it is Eco friendly, easy to use for me and my family going on trips. Can't wait to get one. 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by tomtom I love that my mornings are so much easier that i can find my way to all my jobs with such ease. 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Use it Everyday! Although I know where I'm going while @ Home, I still use it everyday just to see how accurate it is. I luv my new TomTom it was a BD gift frm my wife who also has one! 10/29/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by It has problems My device freezes up then won't shut down for a while. It is very susceptible to heat, I never leave it in the vehicle but just driving a few miles causes it to overheat. I was able to connect my phone but can't answer calls through the device? I do like the new features though. It is much nicer than my old one. 10/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by TomTom Via 1435 TM Most of the unit can be learned through it's intuitive interface. Overall I found it very accurate, actually it's a little scary how accurate it is. Spoken directions very timely and almost eliminate the need to look at the unit. It talks just the right amount. Not too much, but not too little. Perfect for navigating a densely populated mega city like Vancouver BC, which is where I found myself recently and was in bad need of some serious help. Best investment I made. TomTom Via 1435 TM. Lifetime updates, real time traffic, Bluetooth, makes driving enjoyable when you would otherwise be lost in an unfamiliar area. Was up and running right out in the store parking lot. Got us back to the hotel, and found good restaurants, government offices, shopping, fuel, everything you could dream up is in this device. Buy it. I did and no regrets. 09/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by not up to tom tom standard can get adderss right. have to tell it ten time. and still not right. can load maps right. road is 3330 it as old road of oak road . can find houses 09/14/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 Slow and doesn't function well. When entering a destination POI or address each screen takes forever to function. Using the keyboard each keystroke takes anywhere from 3 to 20 seconds to register and double hits and wrong keystrokes are VERY common. Getting back to the Nav screen when looking up something takes you back through every screen you took to get there and those screens don't load very quickly either. No direct option to get to the home screen, you HAVE to back out. Voice recognition is a WASTE OF TIME. I ask for a restaurant and I get a parking garage. I even speak slowly and clearly and it doesn't get it right. The zoom button has changed from the past not easy to operate and it doesn't register your touch very well at all. The touch screen isn't very accurate at all either. You have to really press down on the screen, too hard if you ask me, to get your option entered. I like TomTom but this one is a piece of garbage. DO NOT BUY THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 06/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 its ok it does have a few quirks-my one complaint is the sound-its not good at all--and your car cannot have the radio or loud heater fan on-the voice will not recognize your voice for directions then you must input by the menu-which is a 5 step action. it does have auto traffic with it which does your route and gives updates on delays-nice ! the phone feature is iffy at best-but bluetooth is expensive by itself-so to get it with the unit is a good thing-though the sound isn't good. 06/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Via 1435TM First Week in Calif. This is my second TomTom GPS and I am very satisfied so far. The unit comes with an integrated traffic receiver that has provided updated route info while driving and saved time. The user interface is improved over my previous unit and the customized start up screen allows me to set shortcuts that save time and allow me to concentrate on driving instead of operating a piece of technology. As this unit is relatively new not all features are supported yet in the MyTomTom application but I experienced this as an early adopter with my last unit and found that all features were soon available. The advanced lane guidance feature sells this unit by itself and addressed a critical issue in complex freeway navigation. 05/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by TomTom VIA 1435 TM After several attempts with TomTom Support, I managed to register for lifetime maps. My previous TomTom Go 630 had the option to enter a lock code but this unit does not have that security feature. Satellite capture is slow, much slower than the Go 630. 05/19/2011
1-30 of 35 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew314
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp