Surtur Rising (CD/DVD)

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
  • Browse Related Products

Surtur Rising (CD/DVD)

Release date: 03/29/2011

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $5.98 (37%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 3)

1. Listen War Of The Gods
2. Listen Tocks's Taunt/Loke's Treachery Pt. II
3. Listen Destroyer Of The Universe
4. Listen Slaves Of Fear
5. Listen Live Without Regrets
6. Listen The Last Stand Of Frej
7. Listen For Victory Or Death
8. Listen Wrath Of The Norsemen
9. Listen A Beast Am I
10. Listen Doom Over Dead Man
11. Bleed For Ancient Gods (DVD)

Disc 2 (of 3)

1. Listen Bloodshed Over Bochum
2. Germany: Dec. 28-Dec. 31 2008 (DVD)
3. Ride For Vengeance (DVD)
4. The Dragons' Flight Across The Waves (DVD)
5. Without Fear (DVD)
6. Victorious March (DVD)
7. Friends Of The Suncross (DVD)
8. Abandoned (DVD)
9. Amon Amarth (DVD)
10. Once Sent From The Golden Hall (DVD)
11. The Last With Pagan Blood (DVD)
12. North Sea Storm (DVD)
13. Avenger (DVD)
14. God His Son And Holy Whore (DVD)
15. Metalwrath (DVD)
16. Legend Of A Banished Man (DVD)
17. Bastards Of A Lying Breed (DVD)
18. Masters Of War (DVD)
19. The Sound Of Eight Hooves (DVD)
20. Risen From The Sea (DVD)
21. As Long As The Raven Flies (DVD)
22. A Fury Divine (DVD)
23. Annihilation Of Hammerfest (DVD)
24. The Fall Through Ginnungagap (DVD)
25. Releasing Surtur's Fire (DVD)
26. Death In Fire (DVD)
27. For The Stabwounds In Our Backs (DVD)
28. Where Silent Gods Stand Guard (DVD)
29. Versus The World (DVD)
30. Across The Rainbow Bridge (DVD)
31. Down The Slopes Of Death (DVD)
32. Thousand Years Of Oppression (DVD)
33. Bloodshed (DVD)

Disc 3 (of 3)

1. And Soon The World Will Cease To Be (DVD)

About the Album

Amon Amarth's eighth full-length album is an important one in their discography, because it follows their breakthrough disc, 2008's Twilight of the Thunder God. That album, laden with guest appearances (Children of Bodom's Roopi Latvala, Entombed's LG Petrov, the cellists of Apocalyptica), was the Swedish band's most elaborate and powerful statement to date. Shockingly, on Surtur Rising they haven't fallen short of the mark they set for themselves three years earlier. The album's ten songs are typical anthemic Amon Amarth tracks, built for headbanging and chanting along with the powerful, warrior's-code choruses. Some, like "Destroyers of the Universe" and "War of the Gods," but particularly "A Beast Am I," are among the fastest songs the group has ever recorded, while others, like "Tock's Taunt: Loke's Treachery, Pt. II" and "The Last Stand of Frej," are slow, even brooding. The production has a bit more aggression than Twilight had, but the songs are arguably even catchier this time out, with some surprisingly clean guitar leads and atmospheric melodies emerging from the hair-spinning roar. A few subtle production flourishes -- the sounds of clashing swords on "War of the Gods" and crying ravens on "Tock's Taunt," plus some strings on "For Victory or Death" and the album-closing "Doom Over Dead Man" -- bolster the sound somewhat, but other than that it's up to the five members of Amon Amarth to keep the listener happy with nothing but guitars, bass, drums, and Johan Hegg's barrel-chested roars, and they do that with admirable skill. They're one of the most consistent bands in metal, and this is a terrific example of them playing to their strengths. ~ Phil Freeman, Rovi
Artist: Amon Amarth
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 2
Release Date:
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.27
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 0.66 x 5.0 x 5.59
UPC: 0003984149722

Customer Product Reviews


Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms

Surtur Rising (CD/DVD)
Surtur Rising (CD/DVD) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)