Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 43 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE GREATEST! THIS TRIMMER IS JUST WHAT I NEEDED. I WAS TOO FRUSTRATED USING THE STRING TRIMMER. YOU SHOULD HAVE THIS IN YOUR STORE. SEVERAL PEOPLE STOPPED ME AND THE WAY OUT OF THE STORE AND ASKED WHERE I GOT IT. 07/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exactly what expected I was excited to purchase this product because of the stringless aspect and that it was an edger and a trimmer. I would suggest ordering a replacement blade as another person suggested. You really need it after you learn how to use it, you may grind down the plastic blade like I did on the first time. It's pretty awesome that it trims and edges. Easy to put together, took me about 10-15 minutes. 08/24/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Blade does not last long Blade wares down after two uses. And the replacement is $20 plus shipping. 08/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Trimmer! We just bought our first house and are new to lawn care. All I remember growing up when helping my parents care for the yard was the troubles they had with the wire in the trimmers/weed wackers. I recall trying to help out many times and got so frustrated with having to deal with the string. We decided to go with this stringless trimmer. We were very reluctant since it is the ONLY stringless trimmer available. We really couldn't compare it to any others out there. But, after talking to many people that deal with stringed trimmers that end up either returning the one they bought or buying a new one after 6mo - a year, we bought it. Great price and knew Walmart is great with returns if we weren't happy with it. I've used it 2 times so far and I love it! We had about 7-8 inch grass in the corners of our lot and it cut through it without any problems. The blade isn't showing any wear, just looks dirty. 08/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get an extra blade This trimmer does a really nice neat job. What I accomplished was attractive. But I hit a small rock the first time I used it and broke the tip of the blade off. That in itself was unfortunate. When I shopped to get a replacement blade, Walmart did not carry them and the manufacturer said they were currently out of stock and instructed me to return the trimmer to Walmart for a refund. So I am guessing they are well aware of the breaking blade. I wish they could have had an extra blade in the origional box, or replacement blades readily avaliable for purchase. I returned the trimmer. Now I have to look about a new trimmer, and I would like this one, it extra blades were included. 04/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good product BUT..... This is a very good product, assembles easily, good power. Cuts grass and weeds well but do not try to use as edger against paved walkway or street. The first use was great until using as edger. Blade will quickly wear and I have already ordered a replacement. There is the SHOCKER - $19.95 for a synthetic (plastic, nylon, or whatever) blade. Very overpriced but then they have no competition. If replacement blades were reasonably priced I would give it 5 stars in every category but as it is , I could not recommend it. 03/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 above average product The trimmer works well, I don't have to change string and it was priced well. Overall it was worth the money. It was a little more difficult to assemble that trimmers I bought in the past. 07/08/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by sorry-sorry Unit is very bottom heavy. A replacement blade [plastic] is almost half the price of the entire unit. I contacted the company about this with no reply. 04/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good item ... good value, too. Very pleased with the blade instead of string on the trimmer... would have been nice to have wheels for the edger function and it should probably be sold with an extra blade instead of having to order another, after the "learning experience"! 07/09/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by While it performed the trimming task fairly well it's protective cover refuses to stay on place and the cost of the replacement blade, including shipping is prohibitive. 08/27/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing It has enough power but the shaft is too short. I'm 5'6" and had to bend over to use it. The second handle should be lower on the shaft for better balance. The way it is now, it's difficult to control. I like the idea of the blade over string. But this one doesn't seem to be as durable as one I had on my old gas trimmer. I've only used this one three times and the blade has already worn down two inches on each end. I don't mind paying $30 a blade if it lasts me a season but obviously this one won't. If I hadn't already destroyed the box, I would return it to Walmart. 09/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by No power to cut There is not enough amperage to keep the blade going even through short regular grass. Bad product and I will be returning it tomorrow............ 07/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by needs cord extender, not all cords fit into trimmer plug 06/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by trimmer easy to put together but can't find a place to get new blades. will update after I have used it a few times 01/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by over-rated the blade part and the blade on this trimmer broke the first time i used it!! 09/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems ok so far. This product seems ok so far. Have not used it much yet so I really cannot provide much feedback. It is a plus to have a trimmer with a blade vs. a line (that gets tangled, does not feed properly, etc). I am hoping this product performs well over time and more. We'll see. Thanks. 09/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ended up returning after one use. Parts attached without hardware. Shield popped off every time contact made with anything. 09/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great For the Price I can't stand fighting with the string trimmers and my husbands gas trimmer is too heavy for me. This was just what I needed. I figured it was a great price and worth a try. I used it pretty heavy the first 3 times because my trimming was so far behind. The gas trimmer wouldn't start. And it works great. I figure Ill need a new blade by next summer but its worth the balde reolacement price to trim all summer without the hassle of string!!!!! 08/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy Customer. I was needing a grass trimmer that was easy to start. This is why I chose the electric trimmer it requires dragging my electric cord around the yard but I don't have to stop and try to restart motor also don't have to mix fuel. The plastic cutting tool beats the nylon strings! 08/05/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by save your money we returned it after one use 09/02/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by No blade in box I received this in a timely manner. However, when I opened the box to start assembly, there was no blade. Returned to store and got my money back. I really would have liked to try it, but was afraid if I ordered again, it would be missing a part again and I didn't want to make repeated trips to the store. 09/02/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by AWFUL ITEM Impracticable, inoperable, nonpractical, unusable, unworkable, useless. There can be no economy where there is no efficiency. Beaconsfield 07/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like this product. It is reasonably priced and it is not heavy. 06/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The motor burned up after 30 minutes use. Product warranty is extremely slow. 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product, but so far only used once. I was a little skepical about the stringless weedwacker, mostly afraid that the blade that was put on it was expensive, but only about $20 for the replacement. I was just fed up with the string trimmers that have broken every season. Finally, had enough. Hope this is a good product, so far so good. 06/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not enough power, not a good design to trim edges. 1) Plastic blade is extremely soft and does not cut the grass edges. If you want to trim free standing grass that is not bundled together, it will sure cut it. 2) You have to constantly keep depressing the button to get more power from the trimmer since this tool purely depends on your pressing power. Of course, until you reach its maximum power. It will come to a point your finger will get tired, and the trimming work goes very very slowly. 3) The power of the tool is not enough either. The blade stops when it encounter enough resistance, contrary to even simple plastic line trimmers that keeps swinging without giving you any resistance and sliding on grass bundles that will eventually cut the grass and trim edges. Sorry, but this tool is intended good but not designed well. I would not recommend this tool to trim the edges of a yard. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I bought this because the trimmer/edger I had broke. But it was a string loading one and I spent every other minute fixing the line because it would break so easily. This is light, easy to use and the blades work great. The telescoping pole is useful also. The only down side is now I am missing those little breaks I was getting with the old one every time string broke. 11/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is a terrible product. In my opinion, the Sun Joe - Sharper Blade Stringless Electric Trimmer and Edger is awful because the motor is not powerful enough to trim around the sidewalk. Plus the motor overheated and started to smoke the first time that I used it. I had to return the trimmer to Wal-mart. 09/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by They should go back to the drawing board The plastic blade is a great idea, but unfortunately the minute you touch concrete the ends will break off. Since most edging is done around walks, driveways etc, I would think a little more research would have gone into the material selection. In addition, once this is used for several minutes, the motor warms up and it increasingly loses power until it just barely turns. If you purchase one of these I would advise you to save the box so you can return it the next day. 09/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save Your Money I just cut the grass today with the product for the third and last time hopefully. The blade that comes with it will wear out after 2-3 uses. I live on a military base and the yard is not that big people. The blade just gets smaller and smaller. The blade does not cut the grass cleanly. The grass looks like it was ripped to shreds! Not visiually appealing and very bad for the grass. (see picture) This is a plug in electrical device. The pro is it starts easily. Con, the blade rotate fast for a while once you turn it off. I cut through my sneaker while the blade was still rotating slowly. I am already shopping for something else. 08/23/2011
1-30 of 43 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew213
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp