Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

4.0 stars
67 reviews ratings
Q&A
By: Sun Joe
Walmart #: 550266482
$86.99
FREE shipping
FREE pickup
Care plan (optional):
Sold by Walmart.com
 
Showing options for 07095
Type
Value
Data unavailable
Free
Standard
Data unavailable
$4.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$29.83
Rush
Data unavailable
$34.98
 
Showing options for 07095
 
1 more seller from $125.29
| Learn more
  • 5 steel blades
  • 6.6 gal detachable grass catcher
  • 9 position manual height adjustment
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    About this item

    The compact design of the Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower makes it very easy to push and maneuver on small lawns. This versatile manual lawn mower is maintenance-free and quite easy to assemble. It offers a nine-position manual height adjustment, so you can customize the push reel mower to suit your preferences. The Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower comes with five steel blades, two large 10" wheels and two small 6" wheels. The 6.6 gal grass catcher collects grass clippings, and detaches easily for convenient disposal.


    Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher:

    • Compact design
    • Manual lawn mower is maintenance free
    • Environmentally friendly
    • Easy to push and maneuver on small lawns
    • Push reel mower has a 6.6 gallon detachable grass catcher for convenient disposal
    • 5 steel blades
    • 9-position manual height adjustment
    • Tailor cutting heights up to 2.63" (6.7cm) deep
    • Mows an 18" (45.7cm) wide path in one pass
    • Two large 10" front wheels
    • Two small 6" back wheels
    • Comfortable foam grip
    • Push reel mower is very easy to assemble
    • Manual lawn mower comes with a 2-year warranty
    • Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower Model# MJ501M

    Specifications

    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
    Model No.: MJ501M
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 34.15
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 24.6 x 28.3 x 49.2
    Assembled in Country of Origin: USA or Imported
    Origin of Components: USA or Imported
    Walmart No.: 550266482
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 4 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    67 reviews | 4 out of 5

    5 stars
    30
    4 stars
    21
    3 stars
    5
    2 stars
    7
    1 stars
    4
    82%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    excellent mower for small area
    5/22/2012

    Customer review by golferbill

    5.0 stars by golferbill

    This mower is very easy to use and does an excellent job. It was very easy to assemble and ready for use. It is almost effortless to push.

    Was this review helpful? (65) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    golferbill
    myrtle beach, sc
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Age:65 or older
    Usage:A few times per month
    Loving this mower!
    5/28/2012

    Customer review by auntienay

    5.0 stars by auntienay

    I have only used this mower twice, however it has met my expectations and then some. I love how easy it is to start mowing-don't have to worry about storing the gasoline, buying oil for the motor, getting killed by rogue rocks, having my eye impaled like a shishkabob by a sharpened, flying stick, or annoying the neighbors with all the noise. I have at least two different types of grass on my lawn - one is super soft and stays pretty short due to growing in the shade. This is very easy to mow, and probably the preferred type of grass for these push reel mowers. The other type of grass is very thick and hardy, and littered with fox-tails and other thick weeds. After I was done mowing this part of the lawn, it looked like a terrible hair cut. I suggest that you know your grass before you get this mower, just so you won't be disappointed. I paired this purchase with the Expert brand electric trimmer to get rid of the aforementioned hardy weeds that the reel mower just can't cut. And as long as you stay on top of the lawn-don't let the grass get too high-it makes it soo much easier to cut. The grass catcher really wasn't needed, but that is just my personal preference and it definitely can be a plus for people that don't enjoy raking and/or leaving the grass clippings on the lawn. Assembling the mower was easy and simple, I built it in my living room within 15 minutes. The only cons for this product is that it does not cut as well as a power mower, and the pros (noise reduction, cost in upkeep and fueling, ease of take down and storage, and reduction of air pollution). Buy it and Captain Planet will be your bff!

    Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    auntienay
    Mishawaka, Indiana
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Age:25 - 34
    Usage:Once per week
    Walmart associate
    8/1/2012

    Customer review by latinwidow

    5.0 stars by latinwidow

    works wonderfully. If grass is high, put on highest level and then lower when you go on the second pass. With the 9 different settings you can adjust to the height of the growth of grass. Even with carpal tunnel it was easy to push. If pushing for long periods - just use wrist braces- so as not to do overdo pressure on wrist. easy to push-even grandkids pushed it- some of the younger ones also wanted to push it. Great on the pocketbook (no gas), good for excerise and even better for the environment!!

    Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    latinwidow
    kissimmee, florida
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Age:45 - 54
    Usage:Every few days
    1-3 of 56 total reviews See all

    Customer Q&A

    Have questions? Get answers from experts and customers who own this product.

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    by deebs024 6/17/2012
    • If you're asking whether the grass catcher can be removed, the answer is yes.
      by graceforsale9/10/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • grass catcher is pretty much for decoration it doesn't really catch the grass that is cut. You have to go back and rake up the grass that it cuts when you finish.
      by SUGMAMAMA7/27/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • No, as a matter of fact, if I had it to do over would not have gotten it. If the grass is heavy you might want it though.
      by catwil545/31/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • No
      by 04gsxr5/13/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • Nope - the grass will just end up on your freshly cut lawn.
      by Notsohappywiththemower10/28/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • No it can be used without the grass catcher. If you have rough ground it is better to use without it.
      by jas19569/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • no i thought it was a pain to use
      by einchimaymoz8/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • no you don't so if you want to get the one without it you can save some money. It is helpful in that you don't have to rake it up afterwards.
      by latinwidow8/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • No, it's not necessary.
      by Rainsga7/15/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • the grass catcher is removable.
      by lou597/8/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    I hate unscrewing nuts and bolts. Also I'd like a 1/2" lowest height if possible.
    by an anonymous customer 7/21/2012
    • no screws. just a lever on the side of each wheel. very simple. has so many levels. around 6 or 7 different. get very short if you want
      by MTIMESTHREE6/2/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • No it has levers that you manually adjust near the wheels
      by arthobby6/19/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • It adjusts height at the wheels, I don't think it goes that low.
      by tdig2/17/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • I'm not sure what the lowest setting is but it cuts it close to the ground. You have 2 levers one on each side of the back wheels. You have to lower them to the same height but I have carpal tunnel in both wrists and had no problems lower them.
      by JTMF72/15/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • The cutting height is adjusted with two easy to use levers on the drive wheels.
      by RyeGrass11/21/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • This Reel Mower does NOT require Nut and Bolts to be changed....Has lever at the wheels for easy adjustments!!
      by Nen83/26/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • It has an adjutment lever on each back wheel. I'm not sure exactly what the lowest height is but it cuts low.
      by TNSenior1/16/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • no screwing of nuts and bolts, after initial set-up.( about six) very easy to set-up within 5mins. you are set. yes it cuts to about 1/2". make sure no sticks, pinecones and such are on the ground when mowing they will get stuck, but if you are careful, I just use my foot to pull back on blades to unleash sticks and so on.
      by latinwidow8/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Does this also work OK for larger lawns? I have a yard that seems to kill a gas mower about every 2-3 years & am sick of buying them all the time. I don't mind the extra workout, just wondering how it holds up over time for larger areas.
    by unowhoandwhy 5/18/2012
    • Our yard is a little over an acre but its easy terrain and it works fine but as I said in my review, do not let your grass get too high
      by Barelilly6/4/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • I have a third of an acre and im still living
      by MTIMESTHREE7/12/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    • It would work for large yards, but it'll sure give you a workout. The nice thing is that, with the grasscatcher, it has 4 wheels so if you stop for a minute it won't fall over!
      by ckeating7/12/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • If you really don't mind getting a good work out you could use this on a larger yard, but I think you would be better off with a gas mower for a larger yard.
      by Summer945/18/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • No! Especially not good if you have thick grass! It literally just stops!
      by Qtsmom6/4/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • yes, it does. Since I have some health issues it does take me a longer time, but here in florida with the heat, afternoons are best if not raining but in one afternoon front yard can be done and part of the back yard as long as it is already short. If it's high like mine it takes several afternoons with this heat.
      by latinwidow8/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • It takes me about 20 minutes to cut my lawn. i do not have a huge area to cut but this mower would be able to cut much larger area with no problems. it does not cut tall weeds very well however but does great on grass.
      by golferbill7/12/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    1-3 of 5 questions See all

    Policies & Plans

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase . Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty: 2 Years See details

    Supplier Warranty: Two Year Warranty
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list