See All Reviews
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 332 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by ***Best Straight Talk Phone I Have Purchased*** I recently had the Proclaim and I loved the lay out of the phone since it was my very first android; however, I had a lot of internal problems with the phone and had to receive several replacements. When i went and bought the ZTE Majesty, I was very sketchy due to my past experience with Straight Talk's Androids. Surprisingly, I am extremely pleased with this phone. It is very easy to operate and has some great features. The camera takes excellent pictures and it has both a forward and rear camera. Best of all, I can use my phone all day(getting on the internet, texting, talking) and later that evening my phone still has 3/4's of battery left! 10/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone for all! This is my first smart phone. I have been on Verizon since the first cell phone came out and was so afraid to change. I didn't think the service provided by Straight Talk would be any good. I did research and found this Majesty 796C worked on Verizon towers. I purchased the phone and found cases available on line. I have had this phone since Christmas and have not had any problems. Customer service was so helpful in transferring my old Verizon number to this phone. I love this phone. It is simple to use, pictures are very good and it is easy to download apps. Most importantly, there are no dropped calls and no dead zones. I don't know why I waited so long to switch. Now my son, who is on a Verizon plan until June is going to get this phone. He takes it from me all the time when we are out because mine runs faster than his and mine is $45 a month his is $110 for one phone and 2 on the data. I get it all. unlimited everything. Would never go back. 02/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best smart phone for your dollar Bought this phone after Samsung Transform Ultra phone from Boost started to die. Had it for 3 years so it had served its time. What interested me the most about this phone was that it does use the Verizon Network where Boost uses Sprint and my area is best served by Verizon. So far very pleased with the coverage, there hasn't been a place where I have not had service. Some things that I wasn't expecting, battery life has to be 4X better then my Ultra. Even texting, making calls, and surfing the web all day doesn't use the entire battery up. The other positive was the screen size, bigger is better and of the cheaper end phones this has the largest screen. And another pro is of the cheaper phones,you're getting the most recent Android Operating System.Even switching my phone# from Boost to Straight Talk wasn't that big of a deal given the horror stories with Straight Talk customer service. All in all,a good phone for the money and the cell service has been very good as well. 11/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best phone from straight talk If you're looking for a high end smart phone like the s3 or iPhone and don't want to shell out the money, this is the best phone for the straight talk user. It uses Verizon towers, large screan, faster processor and has a flash for the rear camera and has a front facing camera as well (no flash). My only qualm as of now with this phone is that it doesn't take a micro sd card. That would be my only issue. So if you're looking to save some money and have a good top of the line phone.... I would recommend this. Also, very important, I highly recommend the replacement plan. We bought one for a previous phone that we had for a year and a half and then began to have issues with it. I called it in and literally no questions asked they gave me a gift card for the value I PAID for the phone. So I got this phone with my rebate money and merely paid for the replacement plan. Highly recommend that for any phones, it even covers owner accidents. So yes good phone just always get the replacement plan! 10/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone, great value! This is a very good phone for the value. It has plenty of memory, an LED flash, front-facing camera, SD card slot to hold up to 32GB card, 9 customizable home screens. The only thing it's missing is a slide-out keyboard. It's a good phone, runs fast, does everything I ask of it. But with it being so new, it's still a little buggy. My phone call reception is fuzzy in about 25% of my phone calls, but hanging up and calling back seems to fix it every time. The thumbnail preview of pictures on my SD card are not the pictures that show up when I open the picture. The ringtones reset when I unmount the SD card, but that could be due to my ringtone app. The camera is very good quality and it's hard to find an LED flash on a decently-priced phone these days. I love that I can have a different wallpaper for my "lock screen". I also love that I can choose to have a normal wallpaper that doesn't scroll when I scroll through home screens. Overall, a great phone for a great value! 10/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! I've had this phone for about a month now - upgraded from my Galaxy Proclaim. So far it has been reliable and fun to use. The bigger screen has been a pleasure to use and I haven't found the larger size to be a problem at all ... still very pocketable. Call quality, speed and sound from the speaker have all been good. Although the speaker is plenty loud for ringing and streaming, I have found the speakerphone not as loud as my old phone but has not been a problem. I was not liking the camera very much until I explored more of the settings in the camera software and found I did not have it set for the full 5 megapixels and could also adjust the color saturation, sharpness, etc. Now I'm liking the camera a lot more...have seen better but it's not bad at all. Friends and family members are jealous and want one too. Really glad I got this phone and would do it again and recommend it to anyone. 11/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really like this phone!! This is by far the best Straight Talk phone around. It's fast (dual processor)has a big beautiful screen and it's running Android 4.1 which is a big improvement over my last straight talk phone running 3.2. Was able to use a free app called gcloud to move everything over which was a blessing. So far I'm very pleased with this phone, I always order my straight talk phones from Walmart because of the great return policy in case of any issues or I just didn't like the phone. But this phone is a keeper, it's even a good phone gets way better reception and signal strength then my last phone which was a Samsung. My only complaint so far is no cases available for it yet. I just ordered a ZTE force case, the phones are the same size so I'm hoping it fits well enough till somebody makes cases for this phone. I will try to post up the results of my case progress. OH yeah and the biggest reason this phone uses Verizon towers which work the best in my area. 10/28/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I really wanted to love this phone but I can't. I thought that the ZTE Majesty would be my final phone with Straight Talk (I have had 4 good phones). It had a big enough screen for my thumbs, a fast processor running Android 4.1 and even a front facing camera! Boy was I wrong. I have had two Majesty models. The first one I picked up from Site-to-Store. After about a day or two I pulled the phone out of my pocket only to find what appeared to be a bubble of air under the screen. I was able to squeeze the phone and let the air out of the phone and this fixed the issue. However every time I put the phone in my pocket for an extended period of time this would happen. I returned the phone because this was bothering me and hoped that things would be different. Not only 2 hours after I got the second phone this started happening again. This time I was just going to deal with it since it didn't affect me using the phone at all. Then the phone started crashing. I would try to call someone or send a text and the phone would just crash, even if I didn't have any other apps open. I did a factory reset and this seemed to fix the issue. THEN, the phone started messing up calls. My girlfriend called me 3 times one morning and my phone only rang once. When I would be able to talk to her she was garbled and she said that I would cut in and out. I'm done with this phone. Returning it to the store today! DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! 11/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome for the cost! This is my first smart phone - For the price I thought it might be low end and cheap, however, that does not seem to be the case. I love new tech devices but am not picky in what I have so I went middle of the road (not an iPhone but not a standard phone) and I love it so far! I love the screen size, logic to navigate (seems like a mix of Windows with a task manager to manage what is running and Mac with the click and drag to the trash app management). I wish it came with plugs for each port to keep gunk out and am a bit annoyed with the apps that are constantly running that I have to stop in task manager (not that this has slowed the phone at this point or drained the battery. Other than those 2 minor things, I love it! I am not one to spend a ton of money on a phone to have all of the features so this phone is a steal. Battery seems great so far, found some great custom cases online for it already and the processor seems pretty fast. I would say go for it. 01/02/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Phone Using my email all the time and texting can use a lot of space and this is the reason I decided to try this phone. I had a LG Zip and liked it. The texting was great on it but there just wasn't enough internal memory so that is what I looked for. The processor on this phone is one of the fastest offered by straight talk and the internal memory was MUCH more than my previous phone so I took a leap of faith and ordered the phone. I have had the phone about 2 weeks and all my google contacts and information transfered effortlessly which is a PLUS since I hate transfering info from one phone to another. The speed is great and I haven't had a single issue so far with storage even after approximately 200 text messages! Camera with a flash was a big bonus too! I would definately recommend this phone for someone needing a phone capable of handling lots of email and text. 10/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with this phone! I bought this phone for my husband a few days ago, after finally convincing him to get rid of his dumb phone (verizon prepaid) and get a smart phone. I have the Optimus Showtime for Straight Talk, but now I'm a little jealous of his phone. It's larger than mine and has a faster processor. The ZTE Majesty also works on Verizon towers, which is a big plus for us. It also has a flash and zoom on the camera, and Android 4.1, which I didn't expect for the low price. I hope cases are available soon! 10/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Straight Talk Phone I've been with straight talk for a few yrs now and out of all the phones that I have had through them, this one is the best, by far. I love all the features of this phone, and I love that it is a big phone, its easier to handle and to text that way. Its about time straight talk comes out with a great phone, that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Dont waste your time on the other phones. Buy this phone. U won't be sorry. 10/13/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by EHH not happy with camera fls when sending to comp I upgraded from a proclaim to this zte majesty we did lots of research and read lots of reviews by other customers. I got because of the bigger screen and the better camera due to this had a flash an I love my photography. I love the size and screen, its amazing, HOWEVER the camera is good but when I send my photos to my computer to further edit its HORRIBLE!!!!! The file gets shrunk and its all pixelated. This never happened with my proclaim, I even changed the settings to the 5mega pixel settings and still the same. This is just a sad day for me. I love my phone but this is a HUGE PROBLEM for me. I don't know why its doing this. If anyone has any ideas please help. Or this needs to be addressed by the company, I fear its a software issue. BELOW is a photo I took, just off my porch. Look at how pixelated the branches are. NEVER happened with proclaim 12/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great smartphone at the price I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones. 10/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first smart phone, and I love it! I have moved up by getting a smart phone. I use to think I didn't like advance technology and/or need all the features my new Straight Talk ZTE Majesty offers. I surprised myself in how much I really love this phone. It is so easy to operate. I now love getting on the internet with my new phone. Before I had internet service but never used it due to having difficulty in searching and using it on my old small phone. I am very pleased with my phone. Oh, the neatest thing about this phone is that it has voice text. I can't tell you how frustrated I was when others texted message me because I had to take the time to enter each letter and it seemed to take forever to reply. On a scale of 1 to 10, it is diffidently a 10! My husband researched all the phones and chose this one for me. Thank you sweetheart, You picked a winner. I have a great husband and now I have a great phone. 11/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome phone! Love the phone, so much better then my galaxy proclaim! Big screen, awesome screen quality just like those expensive phones but half the price. I would definitely recommend this phone. 10/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Phone for the price Purchased last night; had a Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim prior. Larger screen, faster processor, Android 4.1.2 and has more internal memory than the Proclaim (4GB ROM, 768MB RAM; 2GB ROM 512MB RAM with the Proclaim). Comes with an external 4gb microSD card for your photos, etc.; up to 32GB microSD accepted. Doesn't come with Swype installed as the Proclaim did, but Google Play does have Swype Free (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.swype.trial&hl=en) and Swype full (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.swype.dtc&hl=en) version for $0.99. Also recommended is Nova Launcher (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.teslacoilsw.launcher&hl=en) for your customized launcher; allows for multiple docks at the bottom, etc. Free download, but more features with the purchased version; $4.99. One issue I had was the use of customize sounds; alarms, notifications, and ringtones. Phone easily connects to your computer, but if you want to use these, (I know, sounds odd) copy them to the "Music Folder" on your SD Card. When you want to change to a different notification/alarm/ringtone, select the Music tab at the top and your sounds will show up here. Other issue (not with the phone) I've found is the lack of cases and screen protectors; they're non-existent currently. I'm sure there'll be more options as time goes on, you just have to wait for them to come out. Overall, very happy with this phone thus far. 10/19/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for basic users but.... I love that this phone offers more features than most other verizon based phones available for straight talk, and it was somewhat affordable but it is not for everyone. Thoughts to consider.... PROS: Large screen Smart phone Decent camera Runs on Verizon network CONS: Music player just randomly stops or fast forwards on its own, especially with activity the icon in text are LAME sound for alarms or the phone have a lower volume than my other phones even when maxed sound choices and quality for rings and alarms are lacking in sound quality and choices phone seems to just randomly restart ALL THE TIME. No rhyme, no reason. Just restarts. Sports apps that use GPS for tracking seem to work but doesn't track accurately. Ever. Period. Running or other heavy activity seem to cause issues with the phone. Stops running apps Doesn't have a swype keyboard but that is easily fixed with an app 11/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great specs, but big problems... I'm on my 2nd Majesty in just a few days...and it's going back to the store too. Here's why: I'm a long-time Straight Talk customer. I decided that I wanted to switch from the T-Mobile network phone I'd been using to a Verizon network phone, to get better coverage...so this seemed like the phone to get. It's specs are wonderful for a phone in this price range. My brother has an LG Showtime, which is a nice phone, but this phone is actually slightly better (in specs, anyway), and slightly cheaper...so I went to give it a try. Picked one up at Walmart and switched my service. In the day that I had that first phone active, it spontaneously rebooted at least 6 times. Also, the screen was noticably less vibrant than the Samsung Galaxy Relay that it was replacing...I even tried a couple screen adjustment apps, but it just didn't have the color vibrancy there to work with. If you never saw a better screen, you probably wouldn't care...but it's definitely an issue. Based mostly on the rebooting issue, I returned that Majesty and got a 2nd one. Have been using it for a couple days now. The good news is that it hasn't rebooted itself once. The bad news is that it doesn't charge well - and let me expand on that a bit. I ran the battery down playing some basic games on it, and got the battery warning. No big deal...I just plugged it in and kept playing my games. Then I got a 2nd battery warning, and shortly thereafter the phone died. I let it charge back up a bit and tried again...died again. I went through several cycles of this to make sure it wasn't a fluke - the fact of the matter is that it charges slower than it drains the battery if you're doing anything on the phone...even just reading news. You have to leave the phone completely alone to get any net charge into the battery at all. Otherwise you're draining the battery faster than it charges, and it will still die. Also, on that same issue, leaving the phone charging all night while I sleep does not result in a 100% charged battery - it gets to maybe 75% overnight. *Maybe* if you turned the phone off while it was charging, it would get to 100% overnight...but that defeats the purpose of having a phone, and being accessible if someone needs to get ahold of you. And the issue with the screen is the same on the 2nd as on the 1st...same lack of vivid colors, especially noticeable when playing a game...which is when you kind of really want your colors to be vivid. So that seems to be simply the way it is. Again, if you aren't used to a better screen you may not notice. If you are accustomed to a better screen, you may find it annoying. Other than that...I really want to like this phone. Processing speed is good. Screen size is good. Onscreen keyboard is good. Really, everything else seems to be good...and I could probably live with the sub-par screen if it wasn't for this charging issue, which is really kind of a deal-breaker. So this one is going back to the store too. I'm conflicted about trying a 3rd Majesty...may or may not at this point. We'll see. On the whole, at the moment I really can't recommend the phone to anyone because of these issues. A phone that reboots all the time is useless, as is a phone that refuses to charge properly. No matter how good the rest of it's features are. 11/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really good phone for a non-techie I have had this phone for almost a month now and so far I am very pleased with it and its function. The only complaint thus far which is very minor is the sound quality when playing Pandora or other music sources. If turned up all the way while playing music it doesn't sound real loud but the ringer and notifications are very loud. The battery stays charged pretty much all day as long as your not using much data which is the case with most phones. Screen is a nice size and all the functions on the phone are really easy to use. I can't say enough about the camera, really nice quality pics and many options for the camera. I am one of those people who refuse to pay over $300 for a phone that will need replaced in a few years (like any cell phone) and for under $200 this phone is just as good as those high dollar ones in my opinion. Add in the fact that you're only paying $45 a month for unlimited everything including data and you can't go wrong with this phone. 06/05/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product, BUT do buy the product replacement. This is the best straight talk phone and the price is great. The speed is awesome. I thought the camera took terrible pics until I realized that if you touch the screen it will auto focus. Now my pics are crystal clear and there is a flash!!!!! Best straight talk camera/pics phone!!! The speed is 5x faster than the Galaxy Centura which I gave to my boyfriend since he is upgrading from a flip phone. I've used unlocked AT&T IPhones w/straight talk & go phones but the best service you will get on straight talk is buying one of their phones and the best they've got. With my at&t unlocked Iphone I had problems w/getting signal & picture texts going through and data being slow. With straight talk phones and the better ones they have, I"ve never had any problems w/losing calls. My data is fast. The only problem I noticed with this phone is it feels like the screen has some issues. It feels like it is almost broken underneath or bubbly. I purchased the protection plan so if I have any problems I will just trade it in for the same product. If you want the fastest and the best and the newest then don't do straight talk. If you are like me and don't have to any of that and are suffice w/being able to text a lot & talk whenever and use several different apps then straight talk is for you because it is a great savings. 12/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by just picked it up replaced my Samsung Galaxy Proclaim with this phone, used G cloud to transfer every thing so far its better than expected, but I have only had it a hour or so. its big but that makes it easier to text with. so apps I have been trying to use on my old phone are already installed on this and good to go. get the warranty phones never make it two years. 10/08/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by An OK Starter Smartphone, but major limitations I made the move to a Smartphone because I was leaving my old AT&T plan where texting was not free and I had an opportunity to pick up this phone at a bargain. If all you do is text and surf and use social media, it's a good starter phone, but with 768MB of RAM, you won't be loading many apps on the phone. If you max out the MicroSD slot at 32GB, you'll have some room for multimedia storage, and you can move some of your apps to the MicroSD card as well, but the preloaded Google apps won't move to SD, and even the apps you move may still store data in the internal memory and it will fill up quickly. Battery life is abysmal. If you turn off GPS and WiFi when you aren't using them, it gets better, but if you use your apps, you'll be plugging it up within a few hours. Even if you use it just for talk and text, it will have to be charged every night. I initially had a complaint that no OS upgrade is available, but the reality is that there's not room for an expanded OS, so it's fine. 06/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best value not much different from the galaxy 3 the ZTE Majesty 796c I bought is a very good phone and I am very happy with it. .I was looking at 2 phones with straight talk the ZTE and the Galaxy 3. the ZTE was selling for $ 179 that had a 1.2 cpu and the galaxy 3 was selling for $399 and the cpu was only a 1.5 cpu not much differents there between the 2 phones .well just compare them. the ZTE has the same features has the $ 399 galaxy 3 for way less money.you can use this phone also with out putting minutes on it just use your wifi or free wifi out there. you can watch netflix ,youtube,facebox down load music and text messages when you down load text message now it is a free program. there is so much more you can do with this phone ZTE Majesty 796c and this phone WILL WORK ANYWARE... THIS IS THE BEST VALUE HANDS DOWN. 02/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Really nice phone! I switched from an LG Optimus Showtime to this phone about 2 1/2 weeks ago and it is a vast improvement!!! The battery life on this thing is AWESOME! The phone itself is very appealing, nice rounded edges and the charge port is located on the side (which I really like -- my old phone had it on the bottom). The phone for me has been very fast, responsive and I've had no issues with it. The camera quality is very good and I have no problem posting pictures on FB, Instagram, etc. The face of the phone is plastic and not gorilla glass, which I like. I was lucky and picked up a really nice case/plastics film cover on Amazon for $6.00. All in all, I really like this phone and have no hesitations recommending it to other people. 01/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ZTE Majesty New Straight Talk Phone I purchased this phone approximately two weeks ago and I have loved it since the day I first received it. First, it has a 4.5" screen which makes it convenient to text and watch movies and videos. Also, the screen appears to have a really good resolution and video looks superb. The camera is pretty good and it also has flash on the front-facing 5 MP camera. In addition to all of this, the phone has Android 4.1 so everything is fast and smooth. Even better, this phone also runs off of the Verizon network so in most areas the service will be fantastic. My only minor complaint about this phone is that the home, menu, and back buttons aren't centered vertically so it's easy to miss them with your fingers. But overall a great phone! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who doesn't want a cheap smartphone but can't afford an expensive plan. 10/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone! I have had Straight Talk for a couple years now, moved from a Droid with Verizon to a Samsung Precedent, the most up-to-date phone ST had at the time. I sorely missed the big screen and the updated android OS I'd gotten used to. The ZTE is awesome! It runs quick, has a sturdy feel, a big screen, and I love that I have a ST phone with android 4.1OS. There are no cases for it yet, but I've found that cases for the ZTE Source fit perfectly. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone, especially those paying at least twice what I do with ST for the same services. 11/03/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by About as many pro's as cons Ok, so Hubby and I each bought one of these on Feb 1st, so almost three months ago. They are our first smartphones. They were a pain to activate, his went through but I had to spend a half hour on the phone with a rep. They are ok, but do have issues. Cons: randomly beep, flash a red light, and "restart" themselves once or twice a month. This can happen when using an app or laying on a table. No clue why, but it has happened on both of them. call clarity will be fine, and then if you or other person turn your head 1/4 inch you will hear only digital gurgles. Often we have to text instead of talk due to this. Speakerphone... why bother? you will not hear each other no matter how hard you try. Ram... 597MBS, not much once a lot of it is used by settings, keyboard etc. This causes the phone to run slow. Internal memory is small, but it comes with a SD card. Problem is a lot of apps cannot be transferred to the card. pros: nice size clear screen decent speaker for music and ringtone ( which is stored on sd card) decent price for a smartphone talk to text/search/fb messenger google play store has all the apps you could want plenty of cases on amazon and ebay 04/30/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the most part I like this phone. I have never used an android phone and was able to transition sort of easily. It would have been more helpful if there were a better users guide. I could not find anything besides the quick start manual even when I searched on line. Also it is cruddy to sell phones that have no accessories available yet. To invest in a phone and then find that you can not get screen protectors and cases for is disappointing. I'm scared I am going to drop it or scratch the screen. The cases which are presold out will not be shipped until Nov. first at the earliest. When I tried to connect to my computer I had to purchase an adaptor for the mini storage card and only figured this out after spending a large amount of time online looking for answers. I am assuming they will at some point come out with a program for the computer to interface with the phone....Would have thought they would have done that before they sold the phones. Having said that I am still giving it 4 stars because these seem like issues that will be addressed. I am completely satisfied with how the phone functions and feel it is a great deal for the money. 10/14/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I am disappointed First the only comparison I have is to a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone was excellent, though a bit dated. The reception was only about as half as good as the above. The bluetooth connectivity connected well, but voice quality was terrible. Not just to my headset, but to both vehicles. The recipient couldn't understand me and at times I could not recognize the voice on the other end. Also while playing music through the Bluetooth, it would continue to pop and pause as if it was a record that was skipping (for those who remember this). I was advised to restore the phone. This was a waste of time. Conditions still existed. I called ZTE, they refused to talk to me. They said it was Straight Talk's problem. Talking to Straight Talk was as you know, useless. They continued to tell me to 'adjust the volume'. That was the first thing I tried. But I did notice after restoring the phone, I now had the ability to make short cuts for speed dialing. Interesting how that wasn't available before. Maybe I'll restore the phone for the 3rd time or give it back. On the positive side, the phone is very fast. It responds easily to every touch command and I've never had a hesitation or a freeze-up. The voice quality without the Bluetooth is very good. The volume is good. The music through wired headset is outstanding. 10/28/2013
1-30 of 332 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew373
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp