See All Reviews
Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not a smart phone, but a great touch screen phone. I've talked to a great deal of people who all have varying opinions of cell phones and cell phone manufacturers. In my view, LG makes the most intuitively functional phones on the market. I've owned several LG phones in the past and when replacing my last LG phone, the one I wanted was not available, so I settled for a Motorola. Huge mistake. Using the Motorola compared to the LG phone was similar to going back to using stone knives and bear skins. As soon as it was convenient, I ordered the LG 800G touch screen phone and was instantly back in the 21st century. It should be noted that this phone is NOT a smart phone. Its web browser is definitely not an Android based browser as you'll find on a smart phone. If you want web browsing similar to a PC on your phone or you'd like to watch You Tube videos on your phone, DO NOT buy this phone, as the web browser is functional, but only for basic needs. It is a fully functional touch screen with an excellent camera/video that also provides a full screen QWERTY keyboard. The gallery feature allows you to view your photos full screen and unlike the Motorola, the calculator, calendar and alarm features are very easy to see and to use. This phone accepts up to a 4GB microSD card and has a full featured MP3 player with a head phone out jack so you can plug it into a car stereo for mobile music. The ringer is very loud and it comes with a good selection of ring tones or you can use your own music as a ring tone. I get excellent reception with this phone and calls are crisp and clear. It should be noted that I keep this phone in a belt holster as I do not recommend carrying it your pocket. 07/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchase of LG 800g and LG 505c Purchased two LG 800g's [hubby & son] - after trying for a week, I'll update. I got LG 505c to have a different carrier from them - that way we should have service [hopefully] when traveling in WV and OH. ... Go Mountaineers! Had Verzion before for over six years and paying just for talk - our bill was as much as we are paying now for talk, text, and some data. Porting of our numbers was very easy [did on our computer] and very fast - couldn't believe how fast and we did this in the evening hours - in a matter of 15 minutes each. So far, we are liking the phones but new technology gets complicated - we haven't had texting or data plus touchscreens - wow, what a way to confuse older folks! 08/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL! I Love this phone it is all you need in a basic touch screen.( It is not a smart Phone) I will recamind this phone to my friends 08/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Straight Talk LG 800G This would be a GREAT phone if it worked inside my Office Building!! Where I spend the majority of my "Waking hours". For some reason I cannot get a signal inside the Police Department where I am employed. Unfortunatley, I never know when My phone is "Trying to Reach me", as I don't have ESP. If I need to make a call, I use an office phone. It didn't do me any good to pay as much money as I did, to NOT be able to use it during the day, if need be!! 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can't say enough good things about this phone, I simply love it! For under $40 you get a touch screen phone, reasonable in price but doesn't feel cheap. Very sturdy phone. Excellent sound quality and also has a pretty decent camera. And as for the straight talk network, I wish I had switched years ago! I'm yet to have a call dropped, all my text messages go through and I can get on the internet. I paid more than double the price with Verizon and didn't get as many minutes! go figure 09/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the price & the way I use it, it is a great buy. I am retired person & use it as a phone, it is nice to have the camera should u need it. I would recommend this to a friend. Both my wife & I have this phone & we have did away with our land line, we don't need it. 09/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent little phone My husband bought us these phones because they happened to be the only option in-store. Since we knew we could return within 15 days and switch phone, he went ahead and got them. I previously had a smartphone (Samsung Galaxy S) and I hated that phone because I had so many problems with it. Plus, I didn't use all the bells and whistles that smartphones provide, so it was pointless for me to have the bill along with it. I knew someone who had Straight Talk and loved it, so we dropped T-Mobile and came on over. This phone is a good phone for anyone who wants the basic talk and text phone. It is small and sleek. The only thing I didn't like was that the icons on the screen looked generic (if you can imagine that). However, that's probably only because I have been looking at a Galaxy for 2 years and just used to those graphics. But, hey, if it works good - a phone is a phone. This phone is fine if you don't plan to use the web, since its web capabilities are somewhat limited. We have ordered an upgrade online but only because I use the web for my job alot, and so does my husband. 09/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by when i got the phone. I had to get it program from straight talk with several different key codes. The touch screen is hard to press. The carrier is At&t in which where i live i don't get good reception. When someone calls it goes straight to voice mail and I have to stand in a certain part of my house to get a signal. I took it back a day later to get my refund back. 08/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor user manual My first touch phone, and the user manual that comes with it and the one on line are very poor for first time users. Other than that I like it. 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 A nice touchscreen phone for the price... While anyone who buys this expecting a smartphone will be disappointed, it will please those who are looking for an inexpensive entry into the world of touchscreen technology.The display features imitation apps, but the camera & video camera are real enough! Expect to do some experimenting to figure out how phone works as no instructions or manual are enclosed and you have to play w/ it a bit to find more "apps" that are hidden on bottom display bar. Overall - phone is lightweight & stylish and hard to beat for the price... 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great phone great reception at 39.95 was a great deal 09/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I was extremly upset when I bought the phone and it did not work in my service area. From what I understand it would work in every other service area except mine. Even though I have my local store location saved to the walmart website. Maybe walmart could provide some information on wether or not it would work in my area, but they didn't. 08/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great phone this is a gr eat phone to have if u want to ave facebook n touch screen 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a Steal!!! I am BLOWN away at the price! My birthday was 2 weeks before my fiance's and he got me this phone in our Walmart store for $60, then I found the EXACT same on online for under $40, I was a little upset that I had to spend an extra $20 plus dollars for mine but anyway.. SERIOUSLY this phone is INCREDIBLE, and for $40 bucks I'm just amazed! I was expecting to spend 100 on a touch screen phone when we went to buy mine, they are cheap but very very good and the screens don't scratch hardly at all, I have a few scratches on mine already but I had a touch edge on my fingernail and I didn't know it, but I love this phone SO much! The camera is pretty great, you can edit pics on it and everything! Don't hesitate to buy this phone you will love it! And I stay on the internet on it all the time, it took me a while to find a plce to download apps but I found one! LOVE MY PHONE and fiance loves his as well!! 10/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not work in my area I purchased this phone for a family member and it did NOT work. While on the Walmart.com website searching by zipcode, we saw this phone and liked it. The Walmart.com website said that the phone would work in the area where my family member lives...NOT! I called strighttalk and the representative said that NO the phone will not work in your area. Well I told the representative that we live 30 to 40 minutes from the nearest Walmart and that is just getting there. Well he said that the Walmart store will refund the phone and that "they" were sorry. The Walmart.com website needs to be updated beacause the phone DOES NOT WORK IN THE 36769 area NOR 36726. 09/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great features easy to use I got a defective phone that would flip between service and no service with 3-5 bars of signal. BUT the phone is very easy to use. I liked the on screen QWERTY key board. The layout and size of the buttons are good for larger fingers. Everything is available from the home screen. No menues having menues having menues like someother phones. Battery life good. Pretty much all the features you can get in a non smart phone. My local walmart did not carry the LG800 so I had to get a LG505. The LG505 is not as easy to use and does not have half of the features the LG800 has, and at 2x the price. I hate it. PLEASE CHECK THE STRAIGHT TALK WEBSITE FOR COVERAGE for the phone you want. Walmart website does NOT have accurate coverage information by zip code. ST customer phone service usually has a 20 minute wait time. Using the web has never been suscessful for me in activating a phone. ST web will say that your phone has been activated but it actually has not. 10/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by had the phone for all of like 3 days and now it wont even turn on 09/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It doesn't connect where I need it to. It doesn't pick up in the area I need it to pick up. AT&T needs to install some towers if they are going to sell these phones. 09/22/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is a touch screen and the pad does not respond. I am unable to so setup voice mail since I cannot respond to the prompt. I am unable to get outgoing signals to make a call. When you try to go the internet it times out. It is completely frustrating to use. 09/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Returned in 7 days I read the reviews before ordering. I checked to see if it would work in the areas I was interested in. Didn't work well in my 2nd area & not very good in my home area. Had hoped the "Verizon" tie would be good but NOT. It is easy to use, good camera, slow on internet connection but voice quality was totally missing! Should have known better...don't think Straight Talk is a good fit for me period! 08/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by i got this for my son he hates it his thumbs are to big for the touch screen and its way to comlicated this phone stinks 08/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Phone and text work, but not a true "smartphone For the price this does what I wanted. You have a qwerty keyboard for text, but contacts are still multiple taps on the phone key layout - 1, 2abc, 3def etc. You can save stuff on a micro SD card so your contacts can be saved and retrieved if necessary. Phone reception and voice quality are good. It is NOT a smart, smartphone, internet is not very usable. Documentation is not very good even if you download from LG, so a little exploring is needed. For less than $40 this is a good buy if you know the limitations. 10/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by tis phone is not worth the time and trouble ive had with it you cant ger signal any where the enternet barley works with it and my over all point is DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY 10/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is not a phone for a avid texter It has the worlds most awkward keyboard. It also is low on memory. But I put a Sandisk 4gb card in it and it worked great 10/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 lg 800g phone does not work in the city i put in befor i paid for it i do not get service in most places 10/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The phone arrived in perfect condition for my mother. Security is very good. 10/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Phone Overall Like the phone features, however I am unable to hear (Phone is on full hearing capacity setting) when talking to someone unless I have the speaker phone on. And the dialpad does not stay up or have a lock when you are answering an automated response...it is very annoying and difficult to answer this type of telephone automation. Otherwise it is an LG and the battery life is great and it takes really nice pictures. 10/08/2012
1-28 of 28 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew396
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp