See All Reviews
Stearns Puddle Jumper
Stearns Puddle Jumper
$11.09 - $11.10
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 65 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Stearns Puddle Jumpers! This is a MUST have item for anyone with a pool and kids or grandkids under the age of 4. Perfect for the pre-swimmers in your life because it holds them up and out of the water. The clasp is behind their back, so they can't take it off by themselves. They are one size fits all. I purchased one for a two year old and three year old. They bob around like corks and learn to kick and blow bubbles. All of my friends have them for their kids or grandkids. It will make the difference in the pool experience. 05/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great item to have for little ones. It gives my son the confidence to have fun in the water and me peace of mind to let him. Works great, much better than a traditional life vest. Also FYI since there aren't pictures of any but the pink one - the loch ness one is green and the lobster one is blue. 07/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT!!! Wasn't sure she would even put it on, but she doesn't even fight it. She loves it! It gives my average sized 15mo old the freedom she wants to swim around on her own. 06/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We're all happy with this! I bought this puddle jumper for my 21 month old daughter. I was a little worried because the weight is 30+ pounds. (My daughter is only 22 lbs.) It fit her well - we adjusted the belt to the smallest size. At first she got a few mouthfuls of water but she quickly learned to keep her head back. This is a great investment because I can see this growing with her over the next few years. She loved that she could swim on her own without help. At this young age and being so small we stayed very close to her side but it was nice to be hands-free in the water! Both parents and child are happy with this purchase. We bought the kissing fish - it's bright and super cute for a little girl! 12/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for preschool age children. Kids still have a lot of freedom to move but are kept well above the water. 06/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE this product!! We use this product several times a week at the local pool! My 3 year old daughter and 3 year old brother love the independence it allows them in the pool, as does my five year old sister! My 3 year old only weighs 30 pounds and it works great for her! They jump in the pool and swim all around with the Puddle Jumper on! I have included pictures of the Loch Ness and Lobster because as we were looking, there were no pictures of these anywhere on the internet and we bought them blindly. I decided to add photos so people could see what they looked like! 06/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great but not what I ordered This has worked well for my daughter. She is learning how to use it, but I ordered the blue fish pattern and while it has fish on it... it is yellow and orange. I was okay with this, but diappointed. 06/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great float for children I am very pleased with this flotation for my 3 year old. For 2 summers we tried all sorts of rings, wings, jackets, tubes, etc for learning to be comfortable in the water and learning to swim/move. This puddle jumper is perfect for my child in the swimming pool. It keeps her above water without squeezing her arms. It also does not ride above her neck and head like a traditional life jacket/vest does to her. She has full range of movement with her arms too. Plus since it is not an inflated item, I don't have to worry about patching holes. I am very glad to have finally found something that works for our pre-schooler. Her Aunt saw how well it worked and said she needed to purchase a puddle jumper for her 4 year old. Thanks Stearns and Walmart Site to Store. 06/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Midwest Mom The fish option is fishes kissing. I hate to put my girl in all pink so this was perfect. We have yet to try this in the water, I'm just getting prepared for a vacay. My 20 month old is tall 35" and skinny 21lbs but this fits her snugly around the waist. 02/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Puddle Jumpers I purchased this puddle Jumper lifejacket to add to the one we already had, purchased from a walmart store three years ago. I searched all over the web for the cheapest price, and Walmart was even cheaper than Ebay, plus I used site-to-store and got free shipping. I love these life jackets, they hold up my two year old perfectly out of the water, no tipping over on her face or on her back. She can kick freely, and has learned to "swim" around the pool without momma holding on to her! I highly reccommend any Puddle Jumper life jacket for any child. They are simple to put on (only one strap/buckle), they STAY on (no sliding up to their chin, choking them), and they hold their upper body actually OUT of the water, not just making them roll around from face to back. The color I got was the "fish" one, and it is a deep orangeish yellow, with yellow and pink fish on it. I think it's definitely a girly color, just fyi, since the page to choose your color didn't have pics for each design. :-) 08/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for independent child who can't swim My son is 19 mo old and is very independent. We have tried other swim helpers and he just gets frustrated. With this one he can let go and move about confidently and I don't feel like I have to hold him constantly. Freedom for baby=Freedom for mom. I feel safe letting go and that is the big thing! 07/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the money I got this for my three year old daughter who loves to swim but at public pools floaties are not allowed. this was wonderful. she sill has open movement but keeps her further above water than what floaties do. The only problem is my daughter is really small in the chest area and i have it as tight as it will go and it still has a small gap. it is for above 30 lbs and she is 33lbs. but overall very satisfied. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coast Guard approved for safety. The Puddle Jumpers are absolutely the best swim vest we have found in over two generations of looking! After reading numerous reviews, I finally ordered her Puddle Jumper and we received it a couple of weeks ago. Our two-year granddaughter, Stella, loves the water and beared constant following around the pool in the event she would tumble in. Although we will never leave her unattended, at least now we can sit back and relax while watching her roam. She loves this vest and the freedom it offers her. She has learned to her delight, that she can jump off the pool's edge, go under and immediately resurface. An added benefit is that she has really improved on her swimming strokes/kicks since using her Puddle Jumper. And while working with her without the vest I noticed she is learning the art of treading water and swimming toward the ladder. I am so impressed with this item that I ordered two more as gifts for little ones. 06/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This is an excellent way to let your children learn to swim. My 12 month old used it all summer and it didn't take her long to start swimming with this on unassited. After getting use to it, she was like a fish. She didn't want me to hold her. This does not take the place of an adult in arms reach though. It didn't take much for her to get flipped onto her back. This is very scary for anyone that doesn't know how to swim. Please be right beside them to assit. 10/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really good even for non swimming toddlers My 3 yr old son has never been to the pool before the use of this product and it was great for him! 08/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was not pink like the one I ordered it was green and had a dinasour on it, so my granddaughter doesnt like it. She had a blue one and loved it but I think its the dinasour she doesnt like. The whole reason I ordered another one online was because it was pink. So, yes I was a bit disappointed but the product itself is awesome just the wrong color. 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Flotation Device Available Both my 2 year and and 5 year old are non-swimmers. They each have a Puddle Jumper which keeps them upright in the water way better than any life jacket. It gives both of them the confidence to swim without parent assistance. It looks a little goofy but works GREAT, and is Coast Guard Approved, so you can wear it to just about any public water park or beach, even those that don't allow rafts, tubes, and water wings. I would definitely recommend this product!! By the way, the "Loch Ness" version is lime green with a Loch Ness monster on the front. Definitely intended for a boy. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome floatation device! These work great! They allow both my sons, who are 2 & 6 and both on the small side, to stay afloat while moving their arms freely. The boys are able to float on their backs & practice swimming with them on without worrying about going under. I was concerned they wouldn't stay in place with the use of sunscreen or a swim shirt. But they work just fine. Well worth the $16 I paid for each of them. 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for new swimmer This is so much better than the swimming vests we used with our older children. The child is able to swim somewhat independently and you don't have to worry about them going face first into the water if the haven't learned to balance themselves in the water. 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great swimming product This is an awesome item. I bought the puddle jumper for my great-granddaughter, age 2 years. The water at the YMCA pool is well over her head, and she shows no fear. She jumps into and goes down the slide at the 10 feet end of the pool as though she were a fish. She is able to maneuver on her own. The vest is made in such a way that she will be able to actually swim with it as she becomes more coordinated. I love it, and more importantly, she loves it. Over the years, I have purchased many items for kids, grands and greats, but this is, by far, the best swimming product I have ever purchased. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by worth it's weight in gold This is the best safety item I have ever come across for toddlers. No fights to get it on and it fits great so no worries about her slipping out of it. We ended up buying one for home and one for grandma's. 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by All I Could Ask For In a Toddler Flotation Device I bought this for my daughter to use at the pool, so I didn't have to always hold her in the water. It works wonderfully. She started using it at a little over a year old and is still using it now, at almost 2. I highly recommend it. 05/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product!! This is great !!! I highly recommend it over the regular arm floatys. My 3yr old and 5 yr old swam with confindence even though their feet couldn't touch the bottom. It gave mom peice of mind too!! 04/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wonderful product. I purchased the Puddle Jumper for my granddaughter and it gave her such confidence in the pool. It is a great product that is good quality and well worth the price. 03/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this I bought this on avacation to oklahoma to visit my mom for my them 2 and 1/2 year old and she swam right away and had all the confidence in the world gtreat product infact we are going to buy another one for my 18 month old because she is tipped over every float we ave bought and this will hld her up she uses her sisters because the arms are a little bigger due to sister wearing it in we need to buy a new one to fit baby. 02/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well, kid can't worm out of it. We've tried many kinds of swim floaties, suits, etc, finally I got this one hoping that my 3 year old daughter would like it and keep it on. She did decide she'd rather not wear it, but since she can't get it off she's coming to accept it haha. And when she stopped screaming about it, all of a sudden she was swimming around the pool in proper laying down position and jumping in and having a lot of fun. She'd still rather walk around in the shallow end with no floatie, but this one lets me have a little peace of mind and lets me move around etc., and take it off when I'm ready to stay right at her side. She's pretty average in terms of girth (35lb), and the strap fits fine with a bit left over. The arms are tight, but there is also a lot of room in there since they are shaped more like an oval. We got the lobster, and it is a dark blue splash background with two red lobsters. Overall, it seems to be much more comfortable than the kinds that have a strap in between the legs, holds the kid in a good position, keeps their head up, and stays on. It's given me a lot of peace of mind in the pool. 12/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I absolutely love this. It gave my daughter so much confidence and helped her to actually swim. I can swim next to her without her clinging on to me. This really helps to keep her parallel and in the "swim" position rather than up and down. I highly recommend. 10/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this! My daughter is swimming away now thanks to this!!!!!!! 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for transition this is the first set of "floaties" my son would actually use and liked. Unlike the full floatation vests this keeps him properly upright(doesn't float him on his back or face like the vests), didn't ride up and stayed in it's proper place and allowed him to "swim" without someone having to constantly hold him. He is just about to start real swimming lessons and this device is great for getting him used to being in the water without needing help from someone. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best life jacket!!! I was using another life jacket for my son who is three years old. It was the kind of life jacket that was part of his swimsuit. The life preserver was inside the shirt. It was getting kind of small on him so I decided to try out the sterns puddle jumper. The lifeguard at the YMCA recommended it because it is coast guard certified. My son loves the puddle jumper. My son was did not feel safe using the life jacket that he was using that was part of his life jacket. When we went to the pool, he would not let go of my side. However, within about two minutes of being in the pool with the sterns puddle jumper, he felt safe enough he told me to let him go. He can swim across the pool by himself, and doesn't feel like he needs to hang on me. It is great. It fits him just fine at three years old, but we tried to put it on my five year old daughter and it does fit, but is a little tight. There was no picture of the lochness puddle jumper. For those that are wondering it is green with an orange dinosaur looking character. Perfect for a boy. 09/10/2011
1-30 of 60 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw141
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp